Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
59
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HappymonkDec 15, 2011
Charming, emotional, hilarious, just some of the words that can be used to describe Disney/Pixar's Up. The opening of the film is the saddest thing I've ever seen in anything, and that's coming from a family film. Pixar continue to produce the best.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
hilariously uplifting adventure
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RichardS.May 30, 2009
A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.May 30, 2009
This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulianP.May 30, 2009
Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BhattsMay 30, 2009
breathtaking, frequently hilarious, practically life-affirming.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamE.May 30, 2009
Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyP.May 30, 2009
Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillPhuJun 2, 2009
While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein asWhile I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching, and some of the themes such as promises, loss and family may be lost on a younger (i.e. < 10) crowd, but that doesn't make this a bad movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarenJMay 29, 2009
Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeI.May 29, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatL.May 29, 2009
Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichelZ.May 30, 2009
Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.May 30, 2009
Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the experience and was seldom distracting. Despite the PG rating I found it to be appropriate for my 3 year old, who did get a little bored due to the relaxed pacing of the film and a mild cold. After 3 unbelievable home runs with Ratatoille, Wall-E and now UP, I am a little disappointed that Pixar will return next year with Toy Story 3. These are some of the greatest family films made. Every new and original story is a treasure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RachelB.May 30, 2009
Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HaroldB.May 30, 2009
Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvanB.May 29, 2009
A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bobrichMay 29, 2009
Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadBMay 29, 2009
WOW ! I once again bow at you Pixar. The entire family enjoyed it, and my kids really got something about the movie besides the laughs and gags. They talked about taking care of parents/grandparents, spending time with them, how the simple WOW ! I once again bow at you Pixar. The entire family enjoyed it, and my kids really got something about the movie besides the laughs and gags. They talked about taking care of parents/grandparents, spending time with them, how the simple things in life can be just as fun and memorable, and the like. We'll definitely see this again this summer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobE.May 29, 2009
This movie is not only heartwarming from beginning to end, but you will be wetting your pants throughout with the hilarious jokes sprinkled in. I'll admit that I doubted Pixar when I heard about the off-the-wall plot line, but I will This movie is not only heartwarming from beginning to end, but you will be wetting your pants throughout with the hilarious jokes sprinkled in. I'll admit that I doubted Pixar when I heard about the off-the-wall plot line, but I will never doubt them again. Pixar has once again proven that they are at the front line of animation development in the modern day. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimGMay 29, 2009
A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the air yourself. This was a movie filmed in 3D, not a 3D movie. The story is the star of the film by far, and you'll be wowed whether you see it in 2D or 3D. A magnificent addition to the Pixar library. We can all argue til we are blue about which Pixar is the best (my vote still belongs to Wall-E at this point) .But UP stands alone as Pixars most human story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
smijatovAug 12, 2010
This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just
This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just so moving that one cannot resist falling in love with it immediately.
The Academy Award winning score is definitely one of the highlights of the film, due to its ability to give depth to our perception of the scenes and of the film in general.

Surely, it is not Wall-E and it does not have such a "great idea" behind it as environmentalism and the future of humanity. But, in a way, it does more so: it is about the very basis of humanity - peoples ability to love beyond what is required of them and the realisation of love's importance in our lives. Maybe, after all, it is like Wall-E... or even better so, since through an ordinary person's story it can create a whole new world without having to make much effort. That's greatness.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
A brilliant, unique movie. One of the best children's movie I watched.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 21, 2012
Though it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow ofThough it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of an animation movie (which we all know that these movies are mostly for kids), where adults can relate. Yet again, Pixar has again produced an amazing movie and I am looking forward for more Pixar movies in the future... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 18, 2013
Another great Pixar movie that has characters that you can connect with. Especially Ed Asner's character, you really feel the love he had for his wife and the pain he goes through when she dies. Also the other characters including Doug theAnother great Pixar movie that has characters that you can connect with. Especially Ed Asner's character, you really feel the love he had for his wife and the pain he goes through when she dies. Also the other characters including Doug the dog and Kevin the snipe make for the fun adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JmsbppAug 5, 2013
Up es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entreUp es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entre otras de Pixar Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
Touching, hilarious, and really funny, not to mention that the opening part is so sad and heart-warming. This is a film that you need to see. It tells a great love story, has memorable characters, and is nothing but a great adventure.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Parappafan1996Jan 14, 2015
Up is a film that touches your heart emotionally with its great animation, touching story and loveable characters. A must watch for anyone, even the people who don't like animation need to experience this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
Pixar always makes the best movies that touch us, such as Toy Story, Cars, Finding Nemo, and The Incredibles. This movie made me cry and laugh. Every great movie gives you both. Another outstanding story made by Pixar, about always going forPixar always makes the best movies that touch us, such as Toy Story, Cars, Finding Nemo, and The Incredibles. This movie made me cry and laugh. Every great movie gives you both. Another outstanding story made by Pixar, about always going for your dreams, the limits are endless for adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJul 1, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Up truly embodies the spirit of Pixar, or rather the spirit of adventure. What life throws at us is not always expected, and only through the charming characters of Carl and Russell do we truly see what it means to to go on an adventure. There's something ethereal and magical about Up, and even if animation isn't someone's cup of tea, this movie should be.

"Paradise Falls, a land lost in time." Carl and Ellie have always wanted to visit Paradise Falls but just never got the chance. As we see through an enchanting and heartbreaking montage, it's up to Carl to fulfill this dream on his own. Or with some unexpected companions. The intricate details and complex storylines lead us to realizations throughout, not just about childhood dreams, but about life. This movie can be taken so many different ways, and I think that's really the beauty of it.

The imagination portrayed throughout is just as if a child dreamed it up. Which they did, several yeares ago. Now, being somewhat older and wiser, it's up to Russell to carry out this role.

I've watched this movie in theaters, I've watched it in my middle school and high school classrooms. I can't even remember how many times I've seen it. But one thing I can remember is how my feelings towards it have changed. I've always loved it, but the first time I saw it I distinctly remember wincing every time the house and his belongings got hurt and wondering why he let it go at the end. But now, having grown up, it's like Carl and I have both realized the value of experiences and of people over material items. That's a lesson that takes time, and I think also a sign of a good movie. It grows as you do.

The most substantial relationship we see is that of Carl and Russell. In a way, they support each other and learn to be more caring and more wise. They even share the boring moments together. "That might sound boring, But I think the boring stuff is the stuff we remember the most." That also eases the burden on Carl's shoulder for never actually taking Ellie there to Paradise Falls. The house may almost represent the weight of that unfilled promises, and a series of events eventually lets him let go, knowing that Ellie had her own adventure, and no matter what she's always going to be there with him. Even if our childhood heroes turn out to actually be villains, a dream is important to have.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews