User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 893 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 893
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardS.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
  2. AlexM.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie!
  3. MegL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
  4. ValS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
  5. zacS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
  6. RichN
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
  7. JulianP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Collapse
  8. SamE.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
  9. DinoP
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple.
  10. StevenS
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
  11. KennyD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
  12. RandyM
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
  13. MichaelE
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
  14. FredB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
  15. JenniferK
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
  16. ThomasA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people.
  17. DeeThink
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
  18. JesseJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
  19. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
  20. IanS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
  21. FeliciaN.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
  22. MikeS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year.
  23. KellyP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
  24. AaronG.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
  25. AaronB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
  26. GeorgeM
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
  27. DamonP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through.
  28. JohnL
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
  29. JimR
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
  30. ArthurC.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
  31. RCR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
  32. AlfredH
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Touching and beautiful in every way. Best movie I've seen so far this year.
  33. AnOnymous
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film since Beauty and the Beast to get nominated for Best picture. WALL-E shoulda, so did gran torino, but those were good, not great like Up. It's sad when he talks to his wife, even i know that. i lost a four year old cousin to brain cancer and Up made me think hey, it is okay to talk with lost loved ones. Up, truly amazing, inspiring, and cute. Expand
  34. clint
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it.
  35. CharlesW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
  36. AnnaF
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
  37. EricB
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I didn't see any of the big twists coming. Overall, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Go see it RIGHT NOW. Expand
  38. LeRonN
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    A+ is not high enough for this one.
  39. Chris
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and heart warming
  40. LishD
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor and sadness, I enjoyed it completely. Expand
  41. ClariceT.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie that sums up the human experience. We all have moments of sorrow and sadness, but it is these moments that we come to accept and overcome, thus making the eventual happy times all the more joyous and memorable.
  42. DanielK.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    No movie is perfect, but this one is very close for what it is. It manages to be genuine even though it is animated, and it is just a beautiful movie and wonderful story.
  43. Eliasc
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar takes the next step and animate even more complex stories.
  44. TonyC
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome. the first Pixar movie to bring me within tears in the first ten minutes. A great tale, the kind Pixar has not failed to deliver.
  45. KatT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful storyline (great morals for the kids) and heaps of humor. Both myself and my 11year old were giggling throughout. Will be buying this on DVD and watching again! (by the way Niv, its called a "spoiler" for a reason)
  46. BryanL.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing.
  47. JD
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I didn't want too see this film one bit... my mate dragged me along... best film iv seen this year! loved it. its been a long time that iv actually agreed something was worth the money in this day and age. POINT!
  48. WillC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly moving and very touching. This film had me laughing one minute and crying the next.
  49. KarlT
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
  50. TonyO.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
  51. KarenJ
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
  52. JoeI.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
  53. PatL.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
  54. GabeS.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
  55. MelanieL
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
  56. MichelZ.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
  57. JoelW.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film.
  58. Stephanie
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie.
  59. RachelB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
  60. RachelJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
  61. HaroldB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
  62. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  63. DianaB
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
  64. LisaA.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
  65. PeterM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
  66. IanC.
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
  67. J.K.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
  68. KyleF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
  69. ChrisF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
  70. ChrisB
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year.
  71. Jassie
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE parents who finds talking and engaging their kids whenever something piques their interest too bothersome and tedious.
  72. DavidB
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    @Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as that of Wall-E, and the story was enchanting with the usual mindblowing animation.
  73. WonderfulLizard
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Great film. Yo, Memo T? That was a miscarriage. It was obvious that they were intending to have a baby and failed.
  74. AlexH.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This is an outstanding movie. I went into the movie theater not expecting much, but since it was Pixar, it had to be good. It's funny, touching, and exciting.
  75. RobertB
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars.
  76. Janus
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
  77. MarkA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  78. EwanM
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
  79. JeffS
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the reality would just dismiss it on their "indie" principle as yet another "corporate" money maker (such as certain reviewer from Salon.com who thumbs up "The Proposal" while trash talking "Up". The Proposal? For real?). Expand
  80. MarioW
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually give US audiences credit that we ARE capable of cognition. Expand
  81. GarryK
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Simply put, it's not just a great animated film, but a great film overall.
  82. DwayneH
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live action film wherein you park your brain outside and the movie just spoonfeeds you everything. Expand
  83. KazemE
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    The best Pixar movie I've ever seen. One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A very thoughtful movie.
  84. JustinH
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A great film. Some of you are complaining about the ferocity of the film and the very few sights of blood and stuff. GET A GRIP! Talk about nitpicking! You guys act like there have been no traumatic and dark elements in animated films prior to UP.
  85. HeatherY
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with endearing characters and a message both the young and old can take to heart. That is something that is missing in most movies nowadays. Expand
  86. MattF
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young kids giddy and bouncing off the wall with joy as we left the theater. UP is fantastic!
  87. KennyM
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A heartwarming and uplifting (no pun intended) tale of friendship, love, dreams, and aspirations.
  88. JuanG.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Very, Very, Very good movie! I don't like cartoons but this one won me over completely.
  89. IsaacS.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies rating before watching it, people have been giving it a bad score because of inappropriate things for minor, but it was all warned in the PG rating.
  90. Eduardo
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch UP because quite frankly its a great film.
  91. DanielH
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put you through, don't be. This movie is much ore enjoyable and heartwarming. Yet another steller movie from pixar, still waiting on them to make them a dud.... don't think it'll happen. Expand
  92. AdrianS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The best batman movie ever made.
  93. MichaelaM
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the emotions. Cannot wait to buy this one! My favourite by far!
  94. ScottS.
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared with The Wizard of Oz. It was fantastic.
  95. luish.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome. It combines everything, adventure, emotion, truth, intrigue, etc. This is really a pretty movie, for me the best in its genre.
  96. JoradT
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum the main theme over and over again. Overall the film is one of the best I have ever seen and is one of the few movies that I actually went to see AGAIN in 3D. Expand
  97. jesss
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults being a adult myself without children i think that ses enough. if its the last thing you do just go and see this film. Expand
  98. liser.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Never seen a Pixar movie before. In new territory, was somewhat bewildered with the sheer unparseable imagination of this movie, but utterly, completely charmed. Saw it twice. What a great experience.
  99. EvanB.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
  100. bobrich
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.