Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,070
Mixed:
63
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RichardS.May 30, 2009
A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.May 30, 2009
This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MegLAug 30, 2009
Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValSOct 15, 2009
What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zacS.Oct 17, 2009
Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichNOct 27, 2009
Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianP.May 30, 2009
Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamE.May 30, 2009
Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DinoPJun 10, 2009
If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenSJun 19, 2009
this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyDJun 2, 2009
Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyMJun 5, 2009
Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelEJun 6, 2009
I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredBJun 8, 2009
This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferKJun 8, 2009
A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasAJun 8, 2009
What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeeThinkJul 30, 2009
A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseJJan 10, 2010
AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahRNov 28, 2009
By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanS.Oct 21, 2009
Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaN.Oct 3, 2009
Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeSOct 9, 2009
Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyP.May 30, 2009
Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronG.May 30, 2009
A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronBJun 1, 2009
For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeMJun 17, 2009
UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamonPJun 1, 2009
Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnLJun 1, 2009
Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimRJun 1, 2009
Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurC.Jun 2, 2009
Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCRJun 3, 2009
This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfredHJun 30, 2009
Touching and beautiful in every way. Best movie I've seen so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnOnymousJun 30, 2009
Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film since Beauty and the Beast to get nominated for Best picture. WALL-E shoulda, so did gran torino, but those were good, not great like Up. It's sad when he talks to his wife, even i know that. i lost a four year old cousin to brain cancer and Up made me think hey, it is okay to talk with lost loved ones. Up, truly amazing, inspiring, and cute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
clintJun 8, 2009
UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesWJun 8, 2009
A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaFJun 8, 2009
A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricBJul 10, 2009
I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I didn't see any of the big twists coming. Overall, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Go see it RIGHT NOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeRonNJul 10, 2009
A+ is not high enough for this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJul 1, 2009
Hilarious and heart warming
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LishDJul 7, 2009
It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor and sadness, I enjoyed it completely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClariceT.Jul 8, 2009
A wonderful movie that sums up the human experience. We all have moments of sorrow and sadness, but it is these moments that we come to accept and overcome, thus making the eventual happy times all the more joyous and memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielK.Aug 21, 2009
No movie is perfect, but this one is very close for what it is. It manages to be genuine even though it is animated, and it is just a beautiful movie and wonderful story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EliascAug 2, 2009
Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar takes the next step and animate even more complex stories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyCAug 9, 2009
Awesome. the first Pixar movie to bring me within tears in the first ten minutes. A great tale, the kind Pixar has not failed to deliver.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatTSep 15, 2009
Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful storyline (great morals for the kids) and heaps of humor. Both myself and my 11year old were giggling throughout. Will be buying this on DVD and watching again! (by the way Niv, its called a "spoiler" for a reason)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanL.Nov 15, 2009
I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDOct 15, 2009
I didn't want too see this film one bit... my mate dragged me along... best film iv seen this year! loved it. its been a long time that iv actually agreed something was worth the money in this day and age. POINT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillCOct 19, 2009
Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly moving and very touching. This film had me laughing one minute and crying the next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlTDec 2, 2009
One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyO.Oct 26, 2009
Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenJMay 29, 2009
Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeI.May 29, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatL.May 29, 2009
Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GabeS.May 31, 2009
The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieLMay 31, 2009
The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelZ.May 30, 2009
Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoelW.May 31, 2009
This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieMay 31, 2009
I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelB.May 30, 2009
Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RachelJMay 31, 2009
A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaroldB.May 30, 2009
Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BryanK.May 30, 2009
After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
DianaBMay 30, 2009
A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaA.May 30, 2009
A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterMJun 12, 2009
Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanC.Jun 16, 2009
This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.K.Jun 17, 2009
This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleFJun 2, 2009
Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisFJun 2, 2009
A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJun 24, 2009
Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JassieJun 25, 2009
Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE parents who finds talking and engaging their kids whenever something piques their interest too bothersome and tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBJun 28, 2009
@Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as @Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as that of Wall-E, and the story was enchanting with the usual mindblowing animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WonderfulLizardJun 28, 2009
Great film. Yo, Memo T? That was a miscarriage. It was obvious that they were intending to have a baby and failed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexH.Jun 29, 2009
This is an outstanding movie. I went into the movie theater not expecting much, but since it was Pixar, it had to be good. It's funny, touching, and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertBJun 6, 2009
This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanusJun 8, 2009
A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkAJun 8, 2009
Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EwanMJun 9, 2009
It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffSJul 1, 2009
Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the reality would just dismiss it on their "indie" principle as yet another "corporate" money maker (such as certain reviewer from Salon.com who thumbs up "The Proposal" while trash talking "Up". The Proposal? For real?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioWJul 10, 2009
Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually give US audiences credit that we ARE capable of cognition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarryKJul 10, 2009
Simply put, it's not just a great animated film, but a great film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwayneHJul 10, 2009
Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live action film wherein you park your brain outside and the movie just spoonfeeds you everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KazemEJul 12, 2009
The best Pixar movie I've ever seen. One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A very thoughtful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinHJul 7, 2009
A great film. Some of you are complaining about the ferocity of the film and the very few sights of blood and stuff. GET A GRIP! Talk about nitpicking! You guys act like there have been no traumatic and dark elements in animated films prior to UP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherYJul 7, 2009
I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with endearing characters and a message both the young and old can take to heart. That is something that is missing in most movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattFJul 7, 2009
A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young kids giddy and bouncing off the wall with joy as we left the theater. UP is fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyMJul 7, 2009
A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A heartwarming and uplifting (no pun intended) tale of friendship, love, dreams, and aspirations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanG.Jul 8, 2009
Very, Very, Very good movie! I don't like cartoons but this one won me over completely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacS.Sep 25, 2009
A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies rating before watching it, people have been giving it a bad score because of inappropriate things for minor, but it was all warned in the PG rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EduardoSep 4, 2009
It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch UP because quite frankly its a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielHMar 22, 2010
I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put you through, don't be. This movie is much ore enjoyable and heartwarming. Yet another steller movie from pixar, still waiting on them to make them a dud.... don't think it'll happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Apr 14, 2010
The best batman movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelaMOct 11, 2009
Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the emotions. Cannot wait to buy this one! My favourite by far! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Nov 12, 2009
I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared with The Wizard of Oz. It was fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luish.Nov 17, 2009
This movie was awesome. It combines everything, adventure, emotion, truth, intrigue, etc. This is really a pretty movie, for me the best in its genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoradTNov 22, 2009
A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum the main theme over and over again. Overall the film is one of the best I have ever seen and is one of the few movies that I actually went to see AGAIN in 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jesssOct 18, 2009
Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults being a adult myself without children i think that ses enough. if its the last thing you do just go and see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
liser.Dec 12, 2009
Never seen a Pixar movie before. In new territory, was somewhat bewildered with the sheer unparseable imagination of this movie, but utterly, completely charmed. Saw it twice. What a great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanB.May 29, 2009
A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bobrichMay 29, 2009
Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful