Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Adam and Eden live on twinned worlds with gravities that pull in opposite directions. Their budding but illicit romance ends when Eden suffers an apparently fatal fall. But when Adam learns she is alive and working at a vast corporation whose towering headquarters connects their planets, he sets out on a dangerous quest to reconnect with her. [Millenium Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    This is one of the craziest films to come along in a while and I can confidently say that anyone who sees it will either hail it is some kind of crackpot masterpiece or dismiss it as one of the silliest damn things they've ever seen.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Mar 12, 2013
    75
    True originality is so rare that it’s a treat to welcome a movie as completely different and provocative as Upside Down. It’s unlike anything you have ever seen.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 14, 2013
    70
    At a time when so many movies look alike, and studio productions sometimes look aggressively ugly, here's a quirky vision at the intersection of sci-fi and romance. Upside Down can be beguiling if you're willing to invert disbelief.
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 13, 2013
    50
    This head-scratcher boasts visual imagination to spare even as its logistical complexities and heavy-handed symbolism ultimately prove off-putting.
  5. Reviewed by: Charlie Schmidlin
    Mar 12, 2013
    42
    Sturgess and Dunst are two actors who have the potential to excel; “Heartless” and “Melancholia” both hold notable performances from them that serve the story and its themes well. Here though, Solanas does the pair no favors.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 14, 2013
    40
    Its compelling conceit is immediately weighed down by leaden execution.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Did I mention that Upside Down is simply awful?

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film centers on a pair of lovers divided by a world with dual gravity. The two worlds are strictly separated: the rich people live up while the poor people live down. The only connection between this two worlds is through the company Transworld. Adam(Jim Sturgess)is from down but he has the fortunate chance to meet Eden(Kirsten Dunst). They fell in love but are forced to give up their love by the police of the upper world. After ten years they'll have the opportunity to meet again and fight against the gravity that separate them. The concept of two rigid separated worlds is an original metaphor of many people who had lived in difficult political and economical situations in which they were brutally used and forced to live a humiliating life. For this people there was no love, no emotions. They were merely an object, easily expendable to build a prosperous and cohesive society. It is undoubtedly a very pressing matter even in our historical situation. So Adam becomes the focus of our sympathy. We deeply understand his desire of redemption and quest of a long lost love who could give him some relief from a grim reality, even though he doesn't know her exactly. For this performance, Jim Sturgess deserves all the accolades. He is very moving and convincing. On the contrary, Eden is a little distant, only object of veneration and love-seeking. As for Kirsten Dunst, it is a much brighter and easier role after her dark roles in "All Good Things" and "Melancholia". She has no showy scene (aside from when she tries to remember in spite of her amnesia) even though she plays well as always. Timothy Spall as Bob ,who assists Adam and finally helps Eden in her final decision, is very good. Juan Diego Solanas, for his brilliant idea, can be considered a really visionary director. He created a film which has some elements similar to "Inception", "Gattaca" and "Stardust" mixed together which are well corresponded. The script is simple but nevertheless it deals with the question of gravity which may be at times a little confusing. The special effects are really astonishing and the soundtrack really suggestive. My vote is 8/10. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Upside Down is a fantasy romance movie taking place in an hypothetical twin planet system where one planet is prosperous and the other is poor and exploited
    by the first. It is one of those Jonathan Swift type of settings where the social commentary goes hand in had with a striking sense of wonder. The romantic story at the core of the film is nothing new, but the construction of this alternative reality, with its
    own set of physics is what will keep you in awe for the whole running time. Cgi never felt
    more organic (this was achieved by the seamless combination of computer generated graphics and
    practical effects), and Jim Sturgess gives a highly physical, touching and funny performance.
    Solanas proves to be a talent to reckon with.
    Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    After reading the reviews, I had modest expectations going into this one. I was so pleasantly surprised! This film packs in so many themes, the twin worlds embody so many metaphors, and it's simply an excellent love story. If you were at all interested by Dark City, Melancholia, Brazil, the Adjustment Bureau and other sci-fi films of their ilk, you'll be at least amused by this one. It's not extremely heavy or dark. but it's visually beautiful and entertaining. Expand
  4. May 8, 2013
    6
    To start with:It is not one of the movies that you must have see before you die but its not as bad as some people say.Its innovative at some parts.The gravity idea is fresh and the design is good.Of course the music is very bad timed some times and there some physical mistakes but i think that that doesnt pulled the movie down.In my opinion Upside Down is a average movie with an outstanding idea behind it.Its not the best but also its not the worst.All in all its good average.And Kirsten Dunst is absolutely stunning! Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ‘Upside down’ una coproduzione franco-canadese ad alto costo in cui forse sono stati spesi troppi soldi per la parte visiva e il cast tendente all’hollywoodiano mentre si posta poca attenzione alla costruzione della storia, di cui autore il regista argentino, ma da sempre residente in Francia, Juan Solanas. Travestita da film di fantascienza, ecco allora una fiaba che non altro che l’ennesima variazione della vicenda di Giulietta e Romeo: in un sistema binario, ci sono due pianeti gemelli ma dalla gravità inversa e gli abitanti del mondo di sopra sfruttano economicamente gli sfortunati che nascono di sotto. Gli unici contatti tra i due mondi sono il palazzo di un’avida corporation guidata da uno squalo senza scrupoli che si chiama quasi come un whisky (Lagavullan omaggio a Izzo? impersonato da James Kidnie) e le cime di alcune montagne che si avvicinano tanto da consentire l’amore impossibile tra gli adolescenti Eden e Adam (nomi fin troppo espliciti, si direbbe). Quando gli eventi li separano cioè la polizia, chè i rapporti intermondani sono vietati passeranno dieci anni prima che i due possano ritrovarsi soprattutto grazie alla buona volontà di lui, che vive in basso e ha un certo talento scientifico impiegato nella ricerca della formula che annulli i contrasti delle gravità. Dopo i bellissimi titoli di testa, realizzati dai francesi di Moustache Studio, e un affascinante prologo con i protagonisti ragazzi, il film resta sempre notevolissimo dal punto di vista visivo, ma perde la sua presa sullo spettatore perché incapace di coinvolgerlo dal punto di vista emotivo: le cause sono più di una e si va dal ritmo non certo trascendentale a dialoghi mai davvero memorabili, dai salti e dalle svolte telefonate della sceneggiatura a un finale frettoloso. A farne le spese la sospensione d’incredulità, che finisce per lasciare spazio alla voglia di fare le pulci da parte di chi guarda, con tanto di discussioni divertite sull’amore che non fa sentire il freddo anche in cima ai picchi più scoscesi o riguardo a come abbia fatto Eden a restare incinta. Al risultato non contribuiscono granchè neppure gli attori, che pare non ci credano del tutto neppure loro (a parte il fatto che, primo, comincia a nascermi il sospetto che Sturgess sia sopravvalutato e, secondo, che Dunst sembra più vecchia del suo partner mentre ne praticamente coetanea): anche i ruoli secondari non sono molto a fuoco, con la sola eccezione del personaggio di Bob grazie al quale Timothy Spall risulta essere il più convincente della compagnia. Per fortuna, a controbilanciare il tutto c’è la qualità delle immagini, grazie alla fotografia di Pierre Gill, a un reggimento di addetti agli effetti speciali e alla felice abilità di immaginare un intero universo: restano specialmente negli occhi la cupa decadenza del mondo di sotto che si direbbe ispirato a un Paese del socialismo reale, tra buio, archeologia industriale e strade percorse da Trabant (o qualcosa di simile) e carri trainati dai cavalli e le belle invenzioni visive consentite dalle inverse gravità dei due pianeti, dalle scoscese e iperrealiste montagne alla sala da ballo dove quello che il pavimento per gli uni il soffitto per gli altri. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2014
    4
    Love conquers gravity apparently, if it could only conquer stupidity...the movie could've been better...entertaining in bits and parts but doesn't do enough to win a favorable approval rating... Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2013
    0
    This movie was just plain bad. I don't know what movie the positive reviewers were watching. But, surely it wasn't what I saw. The amount of poor direction, bad editing, and bad sound, was enough to make me and everyone else I saw it with, scratch their collective heads in amazement. I can't even say the visuals were good. The overly digitized backgrounds, and sometime grainy, overly produced, foreground, was enough to pull this viewer right out of suspension of disbelief, into sheer disbelief. You would think that the powers that be could see how bad it was, and not embarrass the actors who are all good outside of this travesty, and just shelve it (or direct to dvd). I don't know what else to say, because I don't know where to start. Worst movie I have seen in ages. Almost as bad as that Travolta abortion 'Be Cool'. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers