Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: October 19, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 17 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
1
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CarolM.Mar 1, 2006
Awesome! Love this movie! So poignant! Got to get a copy! Can't get the song out of my head, either!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.May 14, 2006
This movie was superb. A most remarkable portrayal of the inherent beauty of faith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Sep 5, 2006
The filmmaker's unwillingness to go all the way like Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" in dealing with the volatility of unwelcome guests within a pacific household hampers, but doesn't do irrevocable harm to a very unique The filmmaker's unwillingness to go all the way like Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" in dealing with the volatility of unwelcome guests within a pacific household hampers, but doesn't do irrevocable harm to a very unique film-going(or DVD-watching) experience. These two uncouth friends from the protagonist's past are genuinely menacing, so when the inevitable is circumvented by a collective change of heart in their attitudes towards Jewish Orthodoxy; "Ushpizin" ceases to be a real film and more like a promotion of religious ideology, the Hebrew equivalent to Christian films like "Left Behind". For the sake of religious tolerance, however, "Ushpizin" should be seen, even though it fritters away some very uncomfortable moments between the sanctified and the heathens at dinner-time. But really, only a certain Aussie would want this film to end like "Funny Games". Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipF.Oct 17, 2005
Accurate in detail, well acted, poignent story. An inside view of how strong and complete a person's faith can be, and how each and every problem we encounter is but a test of our faith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilP.Oct 24, 2005
Normally I don't like foreign movies with subtitles, but I loved this one. It is a charming comedy-drama that the whole family can enjoy together. "Fiddler on the Roof" meets "Miracle on 34th Street".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylviaS.May 5, 2006
I loved this film. I laughed, and cried, and was lifted up by the love at the heart of this movie. The acting of Shuli Rand and his real-life wife, Bat-Sheva is superb. The film does a fine job of shedding light on the hasidic community I loved this film. I laughed, and cried, and was lifted up by the love at the heart of this movie. The acting of Shuli Rand and his real-life wife, Bat-Sheva is superb. The film does a fine job of shedding light on the hasidic community about which there is so much misunderstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patriciab.Dec 5, 2005
Great movie. A touching story very authenticly preformed. I loved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful