User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 109
  2. Negative: 38 out of 109

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    I watched this with my sister and mom when we lost cable in our apartment, and I have to say it was one of the most boring and uninvolving films I've seen in a while. There are a million characters and a million storylines but you really don't care about a single one of them (at least I didn't). Everything is cliched and the actors are essentially giving throwaway performances that have no resonation at all. There are a handful of funny moments, but that doesn't make up for an pretentious mess. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of Julia Roberts' worse current movies. She hardly appears in the beginning,and it's very bland. I couldn't watch it for more than fifteen minutes.
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Gone with the Wind it is not, but anyone expecting it to have been needs to re-evaluate themselves. While apparently in the extreme minority, I have a soft spot for rom-coms. Valentine's Day, while attempting to blatantly rip off the format and appeal of "Love, Actually," American style, it may not succeed as an honest, heart-tugging rom-com, but it's entertaining, funny, cute and sweet enough so as not to completely fail. I adored it, actually. I've always enjoyed Garry Marshall movies, one of my favorite being "Nothing in Common," because Garry has a knack for displaying humanity quite well, even when masked with comedy. It was natural for him to do a movie like this. I just wish it hadn't been so easily comparable to "Love, Actually," which was remarkable. I think it unfortunately took the wind out of what could have been a pleasant movie. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    Overall I'd say it's a pretty good movie, a good cast with a lot of different story lines overlapping. A very light film and easy to watch. It kinda drags on a bit at the end but I still enjoyed it.
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    6
    The performances in this movie were considerably enjoyable. Many of the actors featured delivered a decent performance, such as Hector Elizondo as the likable grandfather, or Eric Dane as the closeted football player. However, it cannot go unnoticed that at the same moment, some actors seemed to be included only for their glamorous names. Taylor Lautner and especially Taylor Swift's cameos seemed utterly pointless, and Patrick Dempsey's character was strikingly similar to the surgeon he plays on "Grey's Anatomy". As well, Hollywood should understand that Ashton Kutcher's limited talent in both comedy and acting makes him into an annoying lead for a film, despite the reactions his appeareance may cause among younger audiences. In the end, the story lines were cute and appealing to viewers with a romantic soul, but the point of Valentine's Day seemed to fade away more and more as the film progressed. The film's conclusion was pleasing to everyone, although Jessica Alba's ice cold and unmoving performance had the audience hate her more than they already did. I enjoyed the movie, but could 've done without quite a few of the randomly chosen stars appearing in it. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    5
    Story wise Valentines Day doesn't really have any problems. It has workable vignettes that at times interlink. Its what was expected and its what you are given. However this is also where the problem lies. The film only gives you a run of the mill anthology piece, it doesn't try to impress, it doesn't try to do something out of the ordinary, it just doesn't try. It runs through predictable story arcs you mainly find in cliched cable movies and this film would be right there with them if it wasn't for the cast. The extremely well stocked cast provides some semblance of character to a film that doesn't try to create any in the first place. The director only puts half his effort into the film with the plot twists being predictable and the pairings uninspired. Hell, its Valentines Day. Do something inspired or at least something with a modicum of thought put into it. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    Although all the famous stars bring funny performances especially Taylor Swift, but they don't get enough time to even say it is a movie that blends because it ends up being like 100 different sitcoms in one movie. Which ends up being quite silly. I give this movie 48%.
  8. Sep 2, 2012
    1
    Valentine's day makes me sick to the stomach. Way too many characters accomplishing nothing and the humor is ridiculously bad. I hate these kind of movies who employee a bunch of actors playing worthless roles.
  9. Sep 9, 2012
    7
    This movie is pretty ridiculous and stupid. With all the different story lines it was hard not to find at least one of them to take a liking too. Some of the actors were horrible while others were much better. I still liked it though!
  10. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    I actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would have. Having been forced into watching it, I suddenly found myself loving the inter-twining stories and character paths that would have them all live happily ever after. Funny in some places but not as funny as it would probably like to think. Then again, it isn't really aimed at me, so maybe it really was as funny as it thought it was. Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Cliche, you know what will happen, generic romantic comedy, little superficial, you know the story, all the celebrities are just to get people to watch (Same with New Year's Eve which I liked more). Personally I have a love hate relationship with this. I mean it's a great movie in the Love Month (February), but any other month it's really just boring it's something you watch with your boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, husband, kids, friends. But watching any other month it's really just eh. Watch it only in February. Collapse
  12. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    i love this film very much because taylor swift OMG i love her but i cant watch this film i dont know i try try but not i cant watch it please can anybody help me you can sed you can watch it from i dont know
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 15 out of 33
  1. Yet another Hollywood romantic comedy that's all but devoid of romance and laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    As gooey and lacking in protein as a chocolate holiday bonbon, Valentine's Day plays like a feature-length commercial produced by the Friends of the Valentine Promotional Society.
  3. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    30
    Shoddy enough within its primary genre, Valentine's Day becomes deadly in its attempt to be a Los Angeles Ensemble Movie.