User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 111
  2. Negative: 38 out of 111
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CM
    Feb 12, 2010
    4
    No one really expected it to be revolutionizing comedies did they? It's 2 hours of fun. The script had some good points...and some real clunker lines. Though it was 20 mins too long-I think they should have cut out the little kid bit, shortened kutcher's role but whatever...maybe I'm too cynical for that amount of cheese The only part I laughed at was taylor swift's No one really expected it to be revolutionizing comedies did they? It's 2 hours of fun. The script had some good points...and some real clunker lines. Though it was 20 mins too long-I think they should have cut out the little kid bit, shortened kutcher's role but whatever...maybe I'm too cynical for that amount of cheese The only part I laughed at was taylor swift's (can launter act? he had what, 3 lines to say?) Given the reviews I thought she was going to be cringe worthy but hers was the only part the entire cinema was laughing at- Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Cliche, you know what will happen, generic romantic comedy, little superficial, you know the story, all the celebrities are just to get people to watch (Same with New Year's Eve which I liked more). Personally I have a love hate relationship with this. I mean it's a great movie in the Love Month (February), but any other month it's really just boring it's something you watch with yourCliche, you know what will happen, generic romantic comedy, little superficial, you know the story, all the celebrities are just to get people to watch (Same with New Year's Eve which I liked more). Personally I have a love hate relationship with this. I mean it's a great movie in the Love Month (February), but any other month it's really just boring it's something you watch with your boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, husband, kids, friends. But watching any other month it's really just eh. Watch it only in February. Expand
  3. ChadS.
    Feb 12, 2010
    5
    Anne Hathaway, one of the many, many, MANY stars in "Valentine's Day", plays a secretary at a sports PR firm named Liz, who earns extra money as a phone sex operator, for no other apparent reason but to honor the Robert Altman, whose "Short Cuts", a superior multi-narrative movie, was also set in Los Angeles. Played for laughs, Liz conducts her sexy business in the open, talking Anne Hathaway, one of the many, many, MANY stars in "Valentine's Day", plays a secretary at a sports PR firm named Liz, who earns extra money as a phone sex operator, for no other apparent reason but to honor the Robert Altman, whose "Short Cuts", a superior multi-narrative movie, was also set in Los Angeles. Played for laughs, Liz conducts her sexy business in the open, talking dirty to her clients within earshot of passing strangers on the sidewalk. No sane woman would subject herself to such scrutiny, and the joke falls flat. Then again, nor would a sane woman fake an orgasm in a restaurant like Meg Ryan did in Rob Reiner's "When Harry Met Sally", which informs Liz's uninhibited sexualized behavior. Hathaway's scene also comes complete with an observer's punchline that, unfortunately, falls woefully short of, "I'll have what she's having," the line famously delivered by Rob Reiner's mother. Since "Valentine's Day" doesn't take place in the real world, Liz's boss(played by Queen Latifah) simply laughs off Liz's sideline job when she catches her in the act on company time. In "Short Cuts", the phone-sex operator tends to her baby's diaper while she gets her client off, sounding bored and distracted, looking about as sexy as a barfly. The scene is funny because its grounded in reality. Hathaway's character, meanwhile, seems too intelligent and grounded for such unladylike behavior, so her actions seem movie-driven, therefore contrived, which isn't at all surprising, since she doesn't have Raymond Carver as her architect, but rather, a screenwriter with a Nora Ephron-like sensibility. If "Valentine's Day" is meant to be a love letter to the late maverick, the letter could stand a little revising. For instance, Jason(Topher Grace), who works in the mailroom at the same PR firm, shouldn't be such a prude about Liz's second job. It's just not Altmanesque. Try imagining him in Matthew Modine's place when he talks to a half-dressed Julianne Moore. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    I watched this with my sister and mom when we lost cable in our apartment, and I have to say it was one of the most boring and uninvolving films I've seen in a while. There are a million characters and a million storylines but you really don't care about a single one of them (at least I didn't). Everything is cliched and the actors are essentially giving throwaway performances that have noI watched this with my sister and mom when we lost cable in our apartment, and I have to say it was one of the most boring and uninvolving films I've seen in a while. There are a million characters and a million storylines but you really don't care about a single one of them (at least I didn't). Everything is cliched and the actors are essentially giving throwaway performances that have no resonation at all. There are a handful of funny moments, but that doesn't make up for an pretentious mess. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    6
    The performances in this movie were considerably enjoyable. Many of the actors featured delivered a decent performance, such as Hector Elizondo as the likable grandfather, or Eric Dane as the closeted football player. However, it cannot go unnoticed that at the same moment, some actors seemed to be included only for their glamorous names. Taylor Lautner and especially Taylor Swift's cameosThe performances in this movie were considerably enjoyable. Many of the actors featured delivered a decent performance, such as Hector Elizondo as the likable grandfather, or Eric Dane as the closeted football player. However, it cannot go unnoticed that at the same moment, some actors seemed to be included only for their glamorous names. Taylor Lautner and especially Taylor Swift's cameos seemed utterly pointless, and Patrick Dempsey's character was strikingly similar to the surgeon he plays on "Grey's Anatomy". As well, Hollywood should understand that Ashton Kutcher's limited talent in both comedy and acting makes him into an annoying lead for a film, despite the reactions his appeareance may cause among younger audiences. In the end, the story lines were cute and appealing to viewers with a romantic soul, but the point of Valentine's Day seemed to fade away more and more as the film progressed. The film's conclusion was pleasing to everyone, although Jessica Alba's ice cold and unmoving performance had the audience hate her more than they already did. I enjoyed the movie, but could 've done without quite a few of the randomly chosen stars appearing in it. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    5
    Story wise Valentines Day doesn't really have any problems. It has workable vignettes that at times interlink. Its what was expected and its what you are given. However this is also where the problem lies. The film only gives you a run of the mill anthology piece, it doesn't try to impress, it doesn't try to do something out of the ordinary, it just doesn't try. It runs through predictableStory wise Valentines Day doesn't really have any problems. It has workable vignettes that at times interlink. Its what was expected and its what you are given. However this is also where the problem lies. The film only gives you a run of the mill anthology piece, it doesn't try to impress, it doesn't try to do something out of the ordinary, it just doesn't try. It runs through predictable story arcs you mainly find in cliched cable movies and this film would be right there with them if it wasn't for the cast. The extremely well stocked cast provides some semblance of character to a film that doesn't try to create any in the first place. The director only puts half his effort into the film with the plot twists being predictable and the pairings uninspired. Hell, its Valentines Day. Do something inspired or at least something with a modicum of thought put into it. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    Although all the famous stars bring funny performances especially Taylor Swift, but they don't get enough time to even say it is a movie that blends because it ends up being like 100 different sitcoms in one movie. Which ends up being quite silly. I give this movie 48%.
  8. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    I actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would have. Having been forced into watching it, I suddenly found myself loving the inter-twining stories and character paths that would have them all live happily ever after. Funny in some places but not as funny as it would probably like to think. Then again, it isn't really aimed at me, so maybe it really was as funny as itI actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would have. Having been forced into watching it, I suddenly found myself loving the inter-twining stories and character paths that would have them all live happily ever after. Funny in some places but not as funny as it would probably like to think. Then again, it isn't really aimed at me, so maybe it really was as funny as it thought it was. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 15 out of 33
  1. Yet another Hollywood romantic comedy that's all but devoid of romance and laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    As gooey and lacking in protein as a chocolate holiday bonbon, Valentine's Day plays like a feature-length commercial produced by the Friends of the Valentine Promotional Society.
  3. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    30
    Shoddy enough within its primary genre, Valentine's Day becomes deadly in its attempt to be a Los Angeles Ensemble Movie.