New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 12, 2010
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
35
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
JennyC.Feb 14, 2010
This film was quite enjoyable. It seems that Garry Marshall set out to make a simple, enjoyable date movie and he accomplished just that. I think the backlash has come due to the decency (lack of crudity) in the film and the fact that it is This film was quite enjoyable. It seems that Garry Marshall set out to make a simple, enjoyable date movie and he accomplished just that. I think the backlash has come due to the decency (lack of crudity) in the film and the fact that it is a huge ensemble cast that represents an easy target for critics to malign. The acting was good (Ashton Kutcher, who is sometimes insufferable, does especially well in creating the affable character Reed) and the stories are woven together in an interesting way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
CMFeb 12, 2010
No one really expected it to be revolutionizing comedies did they? It's 2 hours of fun. The script had some good points...and some real clunker lines. Though it was 20 mins too long-I think they should have cut out the little kid bit, No one really expected it to be revolutionizing comedies did they? It's 2 hours of fun. The script had some good points...and some real clunker lines. Though it was 20 mins too long-I think they should have cut out the little kid bit, shortened kutcher's role but whatever...maybe I'm too cynical for that amount of cheese The only part I laughed at was taylor swift's (can launter act? he had what, 3 lines to say?) Given the reviews I thought she was going to be cringe worthy but hers was the only part the entire cinema was laughing at- Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TimM.Feb 14, 2010
One of the worst movies i have ever seen! even my wife hated it. two hours of my life i will never get back. if you have trouble falling asleep, watch this movie, its like watching paint dry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CurtisD.Feb 14, 2010
Earned a 3 because my wife enjoyed it, otherwise would have been a zero. Too much going on, no real substance, too many characters, no attachment for any of them.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KevinCFeb 15, 2010
Each story is just as superficial, preachy, and crammed with cliches as any other chick-flick. The difference is that there are a ton of them put together into one. The only noteworthy performance from the legion of cameos was Taylor Each story is just as superficial, preachy, and crammed with cliches as any other chick-flick. The difference is that there are a ton of them put together into one. The only noteworthy performance from the legion of cameos was Taylor Swift's, and she's not even an actress. But It is not enough to save this disaster of a movie. I hope Swift gets better roles in the fututre, she has potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AliceE.Feb 14, 2010
If you went to see this film, then you know you got EXACTLY what you paid for. A generic romantic comedy that was hastily made under pressure for the sole purpose of making money at the box office on Valentine's Day. So yes, a cliche in If you went to see this film, then you know you got EXACTLY what you paid for. A generic romantic comedy that was hastily made under pressure for the sole purpose of making money at the box office on Valentine's Day. So yes, a cliche in the first degree. Just by looking at the promotional poster, you could tell that the plot was blatantly (and poorly) stolen from 'Love Actually', and therefore guessed that the story-line was going to be weak, if not non-existent, inconclusive and unsatisfying. In fact, the only people who thought that this movie was the best thing since the Twilight Saga was the 13 year old audience who's hearts exploded through their mouth every time Taylor Lautner or Ashton Kutcher were even mentioned. Not to mention the scene were it was suggested Lautner take off his shirt for a second time in his short career. Wouldn't the world be a scary, misdirected and angry place if hormonal teens were allowed to be critics! No, I can't even begin to imagine. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 3, 2010
This is one of Julia Roberts' worse current movies. She hardly appears in the beginning,and it's very bland. I couldn't watch it for more than fifteen minutes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
Overall I'd say it's a pretty good movie, a good cast with a lot of different story lines overlapping. A very light film and easy to watch. It kinda drags on a bit at the end but I still enjoyed it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 21, 2013
Cliche, you know what will happen, generic romantic comedy, little superficial, you know the story, all the celebrities are just to get people to watch (Same with New Year's Eve which I liked more). Personally I have a love hate relationshipCliche, you know what will happen, generic romantic comedy, little superficial, you know the story, all the celebrities are just to get people to watch (Same with New Year's Eve which I liked more). Personally I have a love hate relationship with this. I mean it's a great movie in the Love Month (February), but any other month it's really just boring it's something you watch with your boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, husband, kids, friends. But watching any other month it's really just eh. Watch it only in February. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Nurbanu_MertJul 9, 2013
i love this film very much because taylor swift OMG i love her but i cant watch this film i dont know i try try but not i cant watch it please can anybody help me you can sed you can watch it from i dont know
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MieschellB.Feb 15, 2010
I enjoyed each story line that wove around each one, and even threw in a twist that even at the end made me cry a little. LIfe is not what we expect it to be and this is what the story was giving the audience.. Would definitely own this one I enjoyed each story line that wove around each one, and even threw in a twist that even at the end made me cry a little. LIfe is not what we expect it to be and this is what the story was giving the audience.. Would definitely own this one when it comes to DVD and BlueRay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Feb 12, 2010
Anne Hathaway, one of the many, many, MANY stars in "Valentine's Day", plays a secretary at a sports PR firm named Liz, who earns extra money as a phone sex operator, for no other apparent reason but to honor the Robert Altman, whose Anne Hathaway, one of the many, many, MANY stars in "Valentine's Day", plays a secretary at a sports PR firm named Liz, who earns extra money as a phone sex operator, for no other apparent reason but to honor the Robert Altman, whose "Short Cuts", a superior multi-narrative movie, was also set in Los Angeles. Played for laughs, Liz conducts her sexy business in the open, talking dirty to her clients within earshot of passing strangers on the sidewalk. No sane woman would subject herself to such scrutiny, and the joke falls flat. Then again, nor would a sane woman fake an orgasm in a restaurant like Meg Ryan did in Rob Reiner's "When Harry Met Sally", which informs Liz's uninhibited sexualized behavior. Hathaway's scene also comes complete with an observer's punchline that, unfortunately, falls woefully short of, "I'll have what she's having," the line famously delivered by Rob Reiner's mother. Since "Valentine's Day" doesn't take place in the real world, Liz's boss(played by Queen Latifah) simply laughs off Liz's sideline job when she catches her in the act on company time. In "Short Cuts", the phone-sex operator tends to her baby's diaper while she gets her client off, sounding bored and distracted, looking about as sexy as a barfly. The scene is funny because its grounded in reality. Hathaway's character, meanwhile, seems too intelligent and grounded for such unladylike behavior, so her actions seem movie-driven, therefore contrived, which isn't at all surprising, since she doesn't have Raymond Carver as her architect, but rather, a screenwriter with a Nora Ephron-like sensibility. If "Valentine's Day" is meant to be a love letter to the late maverick, the letter could stand a little revising. For instance, Jason(Topher Grace), who works in the mailroom at the same PR firm, shouldn't be such a prude about Liz's second job. It's just not Altmanesque. Try imagining him in Matthew Modine's place when he talks to a half-dressed Julianne Moore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RowanJ.Feb 13, 2010
This movie is a great, feel good, date flick... of course if it was a great, feel good date rape flick, THEN the critics would be falling all over it. Ya know, sometimes folks just wanna have a laugh, feel ggod, enjoy themselves, and escape This movie is a great, feel good, date flick... of course if it was a great, feel good date rape flick, THEN the critics would be falling all over it. Ya know, sometimes folks just wanna have a laugh, feel ggod, enjoy themselves, and escape for a while and what's wrong with that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcFeb 13, 2010
This movie was really amazing, it was really funny and the actors really did an amazing job except Taylor Swift who really deserve a razzie for worst supporting actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendanM.Feb 14, 2010
This movie is adorable, sure to bring your depressing valentines day up, if you have one so as speaking, Garner pulls another spectacular role in this movie, but i couldn't help be annoyed by both Taylor's performance, Swift This movie is adorable, sure to bring your depressing valentines day up, if you have one so as speaking, Garner pulls another spectacular role in this movie, but i couldn't help be annoyed by both Taylor's performance, Swift disgraced herself so much, i would never let her into another movie, and Laughtner, hes is cute and all, but only just a cute face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryceS.Feb 15, 2010
Funny, but not so funny that your face hurts... Definitely a good movie... but you can wait to watch it when it's out on TV.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronMFeb 15, 2010
While you might not care for the relationships themselves in the movie, it is something about the story, the pacing, the direction, and tone of the movie that is overwhelmingly enjoyable! You'd have to be a grinch not to enjoy this While you might not care for the relationships themselves in the movie, it is something about the story, the pacing, the direction, and tone of the movie that is overwhelmingly enjoyable! You'd have to be a grinch not to enjoy this movie for the simple entertainment it is. Also, it also felt good to see a movie with so many stars where they seem to just enjoy acting and not everything is so heavy and burdensome. This movie is both a tribute to actors as well as the audience the movie invites along for the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnL.Feb 15, 2010
The crtitics are too hard on this one. I have seen many movies worse than this one, it wasn't even that bad. It was slightly better than average. Every single character had their own story arc, and most of them by themselves were great, The crtitics are too hard on this one. I have seen many movies worse than this one, it wasn't even that bad. It was slightly better than average. Every single character had their own story arc, and most of them by themselves were great, but on top of that they were all intertwined at the end. If you got tired of one of the actors and their character all you had to do was wait for the next one to come up. Each character, even though they are rich and live in Beverly Hills, represented a problem that any of us may face in our everyday lives. Most of these characters and their struggles with love were executed brilliantly on big screen. The only thing wrong with this movie, and the reason my score is a 7, is because I felt that a lot of the story arcs were brought to a effortless, easy ending that really made you disappointed. If you're going to put this much time and effort into a movie, don't do it half ass. Finish strong, its truely the ending that counts. In conclusion, whether you're single, in a relationship, or married, looking for someone, avoiding commitment, or have something preventing you from following your dreams, no matter who you are or what your status is, you will be able to relate to someone in this movie, and it is satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanB.Feb 12, 2010
While the movie did jump all over the place, I think its a great movie for singles, dating couples, and married people. It has powerful lessons on how to best find the right person for you, the consequences of being unfaithful, and that you While the movie did jump all over the place, I think its a great movie for singles, dating couples, and married people. It has powerful lessons on how to best find the right person for you, the consequences of being unfaithful, and that you have to love both the good and bad of the one you love. Most of all, the best message of the movie is don't rush in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YvetteK.Feb 12, 2010
I loved this movie! I walked in the movie theatre wanting a nice break from reality and got just that. It was cute, funny, sad, and just plain adorable. The only negative comment I have here is critics. Movies are just that movies and there I loved this movie! I walked in the movie theatre wanting a nice break from reality and got just that. It was cute, funny, sad, and just plain adorable. The only negative comment I have here is critics. Movies are just that movies and there is so much negativity in this world as it is. I never generally read critics reviews because I like to make up my own mind on a movie and I am glad I do. If I listened to critics I would never have seen so many movies I have enjoyed throughout the years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.Feb 15, 2010
Much better than expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeruFeb 16, 2010
This movie was better than I expected and did a good job on using the whole star studded cast in this movie and there were two twists that I had no idea would happen so it made the ending a lot better with having it half predictable and half This movie was better than I expected and did a good job on using the whole star studded cast in this movie and there were two twists that I had no idea would happen so it made the ending a lot better with having it half predictable and half unpredictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevonandJordynFeb 13, 2010
This was the best movie I have seen in a very long time. I was laughing throughout the entire film and a lot of the men were very sexy. I thought Taylor swift did an excellent job and I could not have asked for a better night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougD.Feb 14, 2010
Compared to other films, it was a pleasant change. No blood, no vulgar comments, and happy ending for Valentine's Day romance. Moreover, the theater was full and applause was heard at the conclusion of the movie. Bottom line, it was Compared to other films, it was a pleasant change. No blood, no vulgar comments, and happy ending for Valentine's Day romance. Moreover, the theater was full and applause was heard at the conclusion of the movie. Bottom line, it was better that most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulS.Feb 14, 2010
For Valentine fluff, it's perky and amusing. The reviews are a little hard on it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichieF.Feb 15, 2010
Basically, ignore every "professional" review you hear about this movie. I went in thinking it was going to be a mildly funny chick flick with an amazing cast. But it was more than just a guilty pleasure movie. It was fun and literally the Basically, ignore every "professional" review you hear about this movie. I went in thinking it was going to be a mildly funny chick flick with an amazing cast. But it was more than just a guilty pleasure movie. It was fun and literally the perfect movie to see on V-Day. While it wasn't a perfect movie, it was still cool to see each individual story tie in with each other, all leading up to the great, meaningful ending - when you see it, you'll know what I mean. I really do recommend this movie to basically everybody. If not for the storyline, at least go for the awesome cast! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
I watched this with my sister and mom when we lost cable in our apartment, and I have to say it was one of the most boring and uninvolving films I've seen in a while. There are a million characters and a million storylines but you reallyI watched this with my sister and mom when we lost cable in our apartment, and I have to say it was one of the most boring and uninvolving films I've seen in a while. There are a million characters and a million storylines but you really don't care about a single one of them (at least I didn't). Everything is cliched and the actors are essentially giving throwaway performances that have no resonation at all. There are a handful of funny moments, but that doesn't make up for an pretentious mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Mar 12, 2011
Gone with the Wind it is not, but anyone expecting it to have been needs to re-evaluate themselves. While apparently in the extreme minority, I have a soft spot for rom-coms. Valentine's Day, while attempting to blatantly rip off the formatGone with the Wind it is not, but anyone expecting it to have been needs to re-evaluate themselves. While apparently in the extreme minority, I have a soft spot for rom-coms. Valentine's Day, while attempting to blatantly rip off the format and appeal of "Love, Actually," American style, it may not succeed as an honest, heart-tugging rom-com, but it's entertaining, funny, cute and sweet enough so as not to completely fail. I adored it, actually. I've always enjoyed Garry Marshall movies, one of my favorite being "Nothing in Common," because Garry has a knack for displaying humanity quite well, even when masked with comedy. It was natural for him to do a movie like this. I just wish it hadn't been so easily comparable to "Love, Actually," which was remarkable. I think it unfortunately took the wind out of what could have been a pleasant movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
YumnyFeb 16, 2011
The performances in this movie were considerably enjoyable. Many of the actors featured delivered a decent performance, such as Hector Elizondo as the likable grandfather, or Eric Dane as the closeted football player. However, it cannot goThe performances in this movie were considerably enjoyable. Many of the actors featured delivered a decent performance, such as Hector Elizondo as the likable grandfather, or Eric Dane as the closeted football player. However, it cannot go unnoticed that at the same moment, some actors seemed to be included only for their glamorous names. Taylor Lautner and especially Taylor Swift's cameos seemed utterly pointless, and Patrick Dempsey's character was strikingly similar to the surgeon he plays on "Grey's Anatomy". As well, Hollywood should understand that Ashton Kutcher's limited talent in both comedy and acting makes him into an annoying lead for a film, despite the reactions his appeareance may cause among younger audiences. In the end, the story lines were cute and appealing to viewers with a romantic soul, but the point of Valentine's Day seemed to fade away more and more as the film progressed. The film's conclusion was pleasing to everyone, although Jessica Alba's ice cold and unmoving performance had the audience hate her more than they already did. I enjoyed the movie, but could 've done without quite a few of the randomly chosen stars appearing in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hoops2448Jan 9, 2012
Story wise Valentines Day doesn't really have any problems. It has workable vignettes that at times interlink. Its what was expected and its what you are given. However this is also where the problem lies. The film only gives you a run of theStory wise Valentines Day doesn't really have any problems. It has workable vignettes that at times interlink. Its what was expected and its what you are given. However this is also where the problem lies. The film only gives you a run of the mill anthology piece, it doesn't try to impress, it doesn't try to do something out of the ordinary, it just doesn't try. It runs through predictable story arcs you mainly find in cliched cable movies and this film would be right there with them if it wasn't for the cast. The extremely well stocked cast provides some semblance of character to a film that doesn't try to create any in the first place. The director only puts half his effort into the film with the plot twists being predictable and the pairings uninspired. Hell, its Valentines Day. Do something inspired or at least something with a modicum of thought put into it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Dec 31, 2011
Although all the famous stars bring funny performances especially Taylor Swift, but they don't get enough time to even say it is a movie that blends because it ends up being like 100 different sitcoms in one movie. Which ends up being quiteAlthough all the famous stars bring funny performances especially Taylor Swift, but they don't get enough time to even say it is a movie that blends because it ends up being like 100 different sitcoms in one movie. Which ends up being quite silly. I give this movie 48%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Sep 2, 2012
Valentine's day makes me sick to the stomach. Way too many characters accomplishing nothing and the humor is ridiculously bad. I hate these kind of movies who employee a bunch of actors playing worthless roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 9, 2012
This movie is pretty ridiculous and stupid. With all the different story lines it was hard not to find at least one of them to take a liking too. Some of the actors were horrible while others were much better. I still liked it though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Aug 24, 2012
I actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would have. Having been forced into watching it, I suddenly found myself loving the inter-twining stories and character paths that would have them all live happily ever after. Funny inI actually enjoyed this film a lot more than I thought I would have. Having been forced into watching it, I suddenly found myself loving the inter-twining stories and character paths that would have them all live happily ever after. Funny in some places but not as funny as it would probably like to think. Then again, it isn't really aimed at me, so maybe it really was as funny as it thought it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscDec 20, 2015
This film isn't quite not that bad (yes the script by Katherine Fugate, Abby Kohn and Marc Silverstein is formulaic the cast is waiting in line for their paychecks),but it has a idealized look at love, and the message is dopey but youThis film isn't quite not that bad (yes the script by Katherine Fugate, Abby Kohn and Marc Silverstein is formulaic the cast is waiting in line for their paychecks),but it has a idealized look at love, and the message is dopey but you appreciate it. It's Valentine's day! In Las Angeles and there is a bunch of love stories here a babysitter (Emma Roberts) tries to lose her virginity to a guy who she really likes, while her grandparents (Hector Elizondo and Shirley MacLaine) are struggling with their marriage. The grandparents grandson Edison (Bryce Robinson) wants to buy flowers for his special valentine. A sports reporter (Jamie Fox) gets to cover the Valentine's day story. A football star (Eric Dane) tries to contemplates his future. A female military captain (Julia Roberts nice seeing her back in a Gary Marshall movie) befriends a fellow passenger (Bradley Cooper). And there's a special "I hate Valentine's Day" party. Country singer Taylor Swift shows us her comedic talents, which I thought wasn't funny, and not a good actress. There are a lot of twist and turns here in the big finale ones you did not expect or thought it more clearly. Also nothing is funny in this movie expect SPOILER ALERT! When Garner beats the living hell of a pinata. A few good performances and a few dumb stories here. 3/4 stars Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews