IFC Films | Release Date: July 16, 2010
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 103 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
18
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
TomB.Jul 24, 2010
Pathetically slow, formless film that includes little dialogue, and dull, hazy imagery to look at. The action sequences, when there is action, does capture the brutality of a Viking Warrior, but that is about it. No plot, no interest, no Pathetically slow, formless film that includes little dialogue, and dull, hazy imagery to look at. The action sequences, when there is action, does capture the brutality of a Viking Warrior, but that is about it. No plot, no interest, no see. I am a very patient movie fan, but this slothlike speed is just too slow for me to even consider watching for its 92 minute runtime. I applaud anyone who can make it passed 30 minutes. If you love slow, drawn-out, boring, monotonous viking movies (if I had ever heard of one) than this deserves your viewing and the extremely overrated score as well. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
1
GreggHJul 24, 2010
Far too slow and boring to catch any interest what so ever.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
MoviepwnererFeb 27, 2011
This movie made me want to cry, and not in a good way. Agonizingly slow, you get the feeling that the director wants you to suffer as a viewer and not in the vicarious way. No, you actually sit there and suffer, because the human need toThis movie made me want to cry, and not in a good way. Agonizingly slow, you get the feeling that the director wants you to suffer as a viewer and not in the vicarious way. No, you actually sit there and suffer, because the human need to foster the flame of hope wants you to believe that the movie will actually improve, but it never does. The filming however, is expertly done. The End. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
BloodBuzzJan 24, 2011
This is an exceptionally terrible film. Artsy without being artful, devoid of any plot or character development, "Rising" ultimately manages to be an overwhelmingly pretentious waste of otherwise good actors' time. The film fails to produceThis is an exceptionally terrible film. Artsy without being artful, devoid of any plot or character development, "Rising" ultimately manages to be an overwhelmingly pretentious waste of otherwise good actors' time. The film fails to produce any thoughtful musings on religion, mankind, and nationhood. Watch Planet Earth if you have a jones for beautiful nature cinematography, because this film offers nothing else. Collapse
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
FDT44Jan 5, 2011
About as dormant, dreary, drowsy, dallying, dim, and dead a Viking portrayal could be depicted. Dreadfully poor lighting amidst complete and utter darkness. If you haven't caught on by now, than your sloooooow of mind is the perfectAbout as dormant, dreary, drowsy, dallying, dim, and dead a Viking portrayal could be depicted. Dreadfully poor lighting amidst complete and utter darkness. If you haven't caught on by now, than your sloooooow of mind is the perfect complement to this disaster. Exaggerated "D's" only fitting for a "D" movie. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
thecount222Dec 22, 2010
Ok, I like high concept movies that lack a traditional ending and are hard to predict. That being said I was infuriatingly frustrated by the pace of this movie. The cinematography was amazing the characters were well acted. If you took theOk, I like high concept movies that lack a traditional ending and are hard to predict. That being said I was infuriatingly frustrated by the pace of this movie. The cinematography was amazing the characters were well acted. If you took the One-Eye character and put him in a different movie I'd watch it and the sequel. There were brief action sequences with a ton of dramatic music followed by characters staring at each other and then staring at the scenery for what felt like a half hour at a time, it felt like tension was being built for no reason. I wanted desperately to like this movie and even more desperately for something, anything to happen during the endless back and forth cut aways between characters. 2/10 Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
Dunny774Jun 22, 2014
A very dull film. Very slow and just doesn't really move anywhere. The setting and the shots of the landscapes is just about the only thing worth noting in this film.
The plot is very poor and just doesn't engross me as nothing really
A very dull film. Very slow and just doesn't really move anywhere. The setting and the shots of the landscapes is just about the only thing worth noting in this film.
The plot is very poor and just doesn't engross me as nothing really happens and the acting itself is not believable.
So much potential as it looks like they drew up what could of been an interesting set of characters but they seem to fail to exploit it. I also do not understand how people can call this a masterpiece.

Would of been better off as a documentary on landscapes and fog.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews