IFC Films | Release Date: July 16, 2010
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
17
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BroyaxJan 14, 2017
Le guerrier silencieux mais brutal ne dit pas un mot et son regard, son regard unique en dit davantage qu'un long discours. Il n'a pas de nom mais le gamin l'appelle le borgne. Il a des prémonitions, voilà sans doute l'ancêtre archétypal desLe guerrier silencieux mais brutal ne dit pas un mot et son regard, son regard unique en dit davantage qu'un long discours. Il n'a pas de nom mais le gamin l'appelle le borgne. Il a des prémonitions, voilà sans doute l'ancêtre archétypal des précognitifs... et "il est venu pour en finir".

Mads Mikkelsen est un acteur extraordinaire, littéralement, et le réalisateur Winding Refn réalise des films bizarres avec des fortunes diverses et lorsqu'ils ne le sont pas, ses "films" restent bizarroïdes quoi qu'il advienne. Et ici, on est dans la mauvaise fortune...

L'ambiance est dans la brume et les superbes paysages, les plans fixes, les contre-jours et la pose, car tous les acteurs prennent la pose à un moment donné ou un autre. L'esthétique est recherchée, la lumière est superbe, les dialogues sont rares et les quelques coups de hache font bobo dans de jolis "splatchs".

Devant cette absurdité surréaliste (mais pas complètement), on se retrouve à faire bon coeur, fasciné par cette ambiance visuelle, cet environnement sonore si travaillé. Un film sans queue ni tête, une sorte d'expérience ratée, une étrangeté aberrante, quelque chose de pas fini... la vérité est ailleurs.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
leelustigDec 8, 2016
I guess this is one that you either love or hate. What an unsung gem. A true masterpiece and one of a kind. Not exactly a film for mainstream audiences (someone gets disemboweled in the first 10 minutes) but if you're OK with gore, you'llI guess this is one that you either love or hate. What an unsung gem. A true masterpiece and one of a kind. Not exactly a film for mainstream audiences (someone gets disemboweled in the first 10 minutes) but if you're OK with gore, you'll feel right at home. This is a film that I loved from the first minute up until the credits rolled. Brutal, bold, visual, mystical, subtle, dark and yet oddly uplifting. If you're a fan of period pieces, vikings, violence, or Mads Mikkelsen, do not miss Valhalla Rising. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
demideOct 22, 2016
Valhalla Rising is a revelation of a movie. That said, it is far from an easy-watch. The slow pace, the visual blank space, the lunar ebb and flow of Refn's imagining, require the viewer to slow down and devote 1h and 30 mins to becoming aValhalla Rising is a revelation of a movie. That said, it is far from an easy-watch. The slow pace, the visual blank space, the lunar ebb and flow of Refn's imagining, require the viewer to slow down and devote 1h and 30 mins to becoming a passive observer. This is not an action movie, or a who dunnit, or a character study. It has elements of the above, yet it is truly a spiritual exploration, a stunning folk story capture in film. Mikkelsen's presence is pure charisma, shining as the hero, the villain, occasionally gracefully fading into the background when need be. The character dynamics powerful, the mood repressive and yet up-lifting. With the addition of the breath-taking Nordic backdrops and an evocative soundtrack, this is a must-watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 15, 2016
Valhalla Rising is about something along the lines of redemption, religion, forgiveness, and the human experience. Maybe. Honestly, I have no idea. You could tell me it was just some dude walking and splitting dudes heads open for an hour andValhalla Rising is about something along the lines of redemption, religion, forgiveness, and the human experience. Maybe. Honestly, I have no idea. You could tell me it was just some dude walking and splitting dudes heads open for an hour and a half and I would fully believe you. Mads Mikkelsen says nothing. No, I am serious. He says zero lines of dialogue. Easiest check he ever cashed. Yet, he turns in a great performance in this gritty thing from director Nicolas Winding Refn. Easily my favorite film by him, it is a film packed to the brim with his trademark violence against a truly gorgeous backdrop in terms of both imagery and score. The use of color in the film (red, blue, white symbolism) goes over my head quite easily, but is compelling to look at all the same. Overall, Valhalla Rising is like a nut that seemingly is uncrackable. It means something. Or maybe it does not. Who knows? Regardless, I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
clayscottbrownJul 21, 2014
Creepy film about a Killer from 1000 years ago in the Viking Mountains, who finds some Christian Crusaders looking to find Jerusalem but after a Mist find America...

The feel of the film is more Real, like from the 70's, and the scariness
Creepy film about a Killer from 1000 years ago in the Viking Mountains, who finds some Christian Crusaders looking to find Jerusalem but after a Mist find America...

The feel of the film is more Real, like from the 70's, and the scariness of new lands and strange things is inherent in the film...

VERDICT: IT WAS REAL/45 OUT OF 100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
docsavageJul 19, 2014
I'm pretty hard on movies in general. I watched it 4 times, and loved it more each time. The grit, the pacing, the plot twists. It is kick ass good. Such boldness, such warrior resolve. Beautiful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Dunny774Jun 22, 2014
A very dull film. Very slow and just doesn't really move anywhere. The setting and the shots of the landscapes is just about the only thing worth noting in this film.
The plot is very poor and just doesn't engross me as nothing really
A very dull film. Very slow and just doesn't really move anywhere. The setting and the shots of the landscapes is just about the only thing worth noting in this film.
The plot is very poor and just doesn't engross me as nothing really happens and the acting itself is not believable.
So much potential as it looks like they drew up what could of been an interesting set of characters but they seem to fail to exploit it. I also do not understand how people can call this a masterpiece.

Would of been better off as a documentary on landscapes and fog.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RinoFuryNov 16, 2013
This is one of the most underrated movie and I'm not surprised that people voted this badly, likewise some of the great critics, because is so stunning, is so suggestive and makes you asking continually "What the hell Am I watching? Where'sThis is one of the most underrated movie and I'm not surprised that people voted this badly, likewise some of the great critics, because is so stunning, is so suggestive and makes you asking continually "What the hell Am I watching? Where's the plot Than you slowly understand and you'll appreciate all the shades of this masterpiece Nicolas Winding Refn made a great job, Mads was simply perfect Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsJun 22, 2013
This film put me much in mind of Terrence Malick’s ‘The New World’ (2005) but nothing like as long and drawn out. I found it very atmospheric with the sound of the wind putting an edge on the, already bleak, visuals. There are moments ofThis film put me much in mind of Terrence Malick’s ‘The New World’ (2005) but nothing like as long and drawn out. I found it very atmospheric with the sound of the wind putting an edge on the, already bleak, visuals. There are moments of extreme violence but these are quite brief and I didn’t find them over the top or overly explicit. For a character that has no dialogue at all, I thought Mads Mikkelsen did a great job in conveying the emotions his character was going through. He’s quite stoic but you can see the rage underneath; really well done. I also very much liked the music by Peter Kyed and Peter Peter, there’s not much, but it really helps things move along, particularly towards the end. Over all, I found it quite a compelling watch but very atmospheric. Maybe too much atmosphere for some maybe, but worth sticking with until the end.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlienSpaceBatsJun 17, 2013
Otherworldly, artful and utterly symbolic; an imposing, monolithic soundtrack brutalizes the ears whilst the eyes are treated to superb cinematography, framing and beautiful locations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TomBeltranMay 27, 2013
Posted on 5/19/13 06:55 PM
I don't know I feel about this film I really like the way Refn films violence you know stylish and all i I even like the silence in his films. But this film borders the line between a slow pace and boring, I'll
Posted on 5/19/13 06:55 PM
I don't know I feel about this film I really like the way Refn films violence you know stylish and all i I even like the silence in his films. But this film borders the line between a slow pace and boring, I'll give it 3 and a half stars just because I admire the way he made the film have a certain feel to it ,a violent Opera is the best way to describe it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShowCriticJul 3, 2012
You must appreciate the art of film making and foreign film to appreciate this one , which i did very much. I critic if anyone actually watched this movie or much less any film without the hollywood circle.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
dangerJ1980Apr 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I first watched "Valhalla Rising" on Netflix. I came across it while browsing the Foreign Films genre and I thought the cover looked cool, plus the small description sounded interesting. I watched it right before bed, and after it was over I was not sure if I liked it or not. Still, something about it stuck with me. The next morning, I recalled the brief, violent action sequences and the haunting, lonely quality of the film and I wanted to watch it again. I didn't get the chance for a week or so. This time, for whatever reason, I was taken into the movie. It opened on the grey, desolate Scottish plains, and I could actually feel the biting wind and the cold mist on my face. I felt the brutality and desperate rage of the main character, One-Eye, as he was dragged from place to place by his captors and forced to fight for their entertainment. I felt the cruel elation as he escaped through bloody surprise and ingenuity, and then came the unease as he found himself amidst a group of Christians bound for the Holy Land. The claustrophobic boat ride across an endless, cursed sea was thought provoking and strange, as was their landing on the shore of an unknown land of ghosts and savages. "Valhalla Rising" is not a movie I would watch with my parents or girlfriend, or a group of friends. I think it is best watched alone, in the dark, and on a day when you feel down in the dumps. To qualify, this is the viewing scenario that worked best for me, I am not advocating it as the "only" way to watch the film. These were merely the circumstances that allowed me to fully enter the barren and bleak world that Refn has created. All in all, I think it is a good movie. I would not call it a great movie, but it is certainly a force to be reckoned with if you are in the right frame of mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
cabritaMar 28, 2012
It's one of those films that you feel cheated by when the credits roll. The time invested does not seem worth it even though there were some good elements in the film. Visually it is striking and full of depth. Thematically it is dull.It's one of those films that you feel cheated by when the credits roll. The time invested does not seem worth it even though there were some good elements in the film. Visually it is striking and full of depth. Thematically it is dull. Because the film demands itself to be interpreted because of nearly every word of it's dialogue being thematic the film should be expected to be deep and full of depth. However it is not. The film try's to make you like it by being confused by it but when you break it down there is not much to it unlike Hezog's aguirre which is quite similar to this film in story themes and visuals in a way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
surrealismedMar 20, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Given the (admittedly terrible) title, I expected a mindless actionfest with blood, guts, and plenty of Viking action. Instead, I got a moody little gem that didn't sacrifice action for art. There'sI was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Given the (admittedly terrible) title, I expected a mindless actionfest with blood, guts, and plenty of Viking action. Instead, I got a moody little gem that didn't sacrifice action for art. There's some beautiful, bleak cinematography in this movie, and the overall style is reminiscent of a Western. Surreal interludes break up the gritty realism as well. Worth a look, but it should probably be watched alone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dreamfarFeb 19, 2012
One of the best movies i've seen. A complex and relaxing masterpiece, with a great ambience and great music. Mads Mikkelsen does a great performance, and the ending is beautiful. Pure cinema.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
frontsquatsJan 5, 2012
Not everyone will understand or appreciate this movie; it's definitely not for everyone. Valhalla Rising is rife with Norse mythology and interesting metaphors (caveat emptor: the metaphors will be lost on those who lack understanding orNot everyone will understand or appreciate this movie; it's definitely not for everyone. Valhalla Rising is rife with Norse mythology and interesting metaphors (caveat emptor: the metaphors will be lost on those who lack understanding or knowledge of Norse culture and mythology and the history of the time period). The action and landscape sequences are beautifully shot; albeit the movie moves at a pace slower than many current movie-goers can handle. Overall a great commentary on Christianity's influence on pagan cultures and its misuse of religion to further misguided conversions of those cultures it deemed "pagan" and uncivilized. The irony of the ending is likely lost on many viewers as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
House0fWolves_Dec 18, 2011
One of the best films I have ever, ever watched. The lack of dialogue gives much time for you to immerse yourself into a dreamlike sequence and let your mind ponder on what is occurring. Very abstract, very different, VERY visuallyOne of the best films I have ever, ever watched. The lack of dialogue gives much time for you to immerse yourself into a dreamlike sequence and let your mind ponder on what is occurring. Very abstract, very different, VERY visually compelling, and the acting was top notch. It was also extremely realistic, portraying the time period perfectly. I felt like I was watching a moving painting. Thank you, Netflix. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 11, 2011
Nicholas Winding Refn's "Valhalla Rising" is quite, suspenseful, profound, and powerful. Its a movie strongly for the sophisticated audiences due to its silent dialogue and mind blowing scenes. I actually liked the smart director forNicholas Winding Refn's "Valhalla Rising" is quite, suspenseful, profound, and powerful. Its a movie strongly for the sophisticated audiences due to its silent dialogue and mind blowing scenes. I actually liked the smart director for providing us such viking movie in a time of explosions and guns. Kudos!!! Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
1
MoviepwnererFeb 27, 2011
This movie made me want to cry, and not in a good way. Agonizingly slow, you get the feeling that the director wants you to suffer as a viewer and not in the vicarious way. No, you actually sit there and suffer, because the human need toThis movie made me want to cry, and not in a good way. Agonizingly slow, you get the feeling that the director wants you to suffer as a viewer and not in the vicarious way. No, you actually sit there and suffer, because the human need to foster the flame of hope wants you to believe that the movie will actually improve, but it never does. The filming however, is expertly done. The End. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
BloodBuzzJan 24, 2011
This is an exceptionally terrible film. Artsy without being artful, devoid of any plot or character development, "Rising" ultimately manages to be an overwhelmingly pretentious waste of otherwise good actors' time. The film fails to produceThis is an exceptionally terrible film. Artsy without being artful, devoid of any plot or character development, "Rising" ultimately manages to be an overwhelmingly pretentious waste of otherwise good actors' time. The film fails to produce any thoughtful musings on religion, mankind, and nationhood. Watch Planet Earth if you have a jones for beautiful nature cinematography, because this film offers nothing else. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
FDT44Jan 5, 2011
About as dormant, dreary, drowsy, dallying, dim, and dead a Viking portrayal could be depicted. Dreadfully poor lighting amidst complete and utter darkness. If you haven't caught on by now, than your sloooooow of mind is the perfectAbout as dormant, dreary, drowsy, dallying, dim, and dead a Viking portrayal could be depicted. Dreadfully poor lighting amidst complete and utter darkness. If you haven't caught on by now, than your sloooooow of mind is the perfect complement to this disaster. Exaggerated "D's" only fitting for a "D" movie. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
thecount222Dec 22, 2010
Ok, I like high concept movies that lack a traditional ending and are hard to predict. That being said I was infuriatingly frustrated by the pace of this movie. The cinematography was amazing the characters were well acted. If you took theOk, I like high concept movies that lack a traditional ending and are hard to predict. That being said I was infuriatingly frustrated by the pace of this movie. The cinematography was amazing the characters were well acted. If you took the One-Eye character and put him in a different movie I'd watch it and the sequel. There were brief action sequences with a ton of dramatic music followed by characters staring at each other and then staring at the scenery for what felt like a half hour at a time, it felt like tension was being built for no reason. I wanted desperately to like this movie and even more desperately for something, anything to happen during the endless back and forth cut aways between characters. 2/10 Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
KundKAug 27, 2010
Viking movies used to mean horned helmets, Kirk Douglas, mead and fiery funerals at sea. This, however, is ultra brutal art house cinema with deliberately glacial pacing and an overwhelming sense of doom. Think intensely anti-ChristianViking movies used to mean horned helmets, Kirk Douglas, mead and fiery funerals at sea. This, however, is ultra brutal art house cinema with deliberately glacial pacing and an overwhelming sense of doom. Think intensely anti-Christian Tarkovsky on LSD in a blender full of blood and guts poured slowly over some of the most beautiful Nordic landscapes ever to grace a movie screen accompanied by the cold sounds of instrumental post-metal. I had almost no idea what was going on, but I was mesmerised the whole time. It is fringe, it is different, it is something you'll either love or hate. Collapse
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
1
GreggHJul 24, 2010
Far too slow and boring to catch any interest what so ever.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
TomB.Jul 24, 2010
Pathetically slow, formless film that includes little dialogue, and dull, hazy imagery to look at. The action sequences, when there is action, does capture the brutality of a Viking Warrior, but that is about it. No plot, no interest, no Pathetically slow, formless film that includes little dialogue, and dull, hazy imagery to look at. The action sequences, when there is action, does capture the brutality of a Viking Warrior, but that is about it. No plot, no interest, no see. I am a very patient movie fan, but this slothlike speed is just too slow for me to even consider watching for its 92 minute runtime. I applaud anyone who can make it passed 30 minutes. If you love slow, drawn-out, boring, monotonous viking movies (if I had ever heard of one) than this deserves your viewing and the extremely overrated score as well. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jul 23, 2010
Visually staggering, boldly brutal, a true form of art, Valhalla Rising may not be as action packed or character driven as many would hope, but still manages to suck you in and take you back to a time like this. It brings out the meaning of Visually staggering, boldly brutal, a true form of art, Valhalla Rising may not be as action packed or character driven as many would hope, but still manages to suck you in and take you back to a time like this. It brings out the meaning of life while making us feel the ominous nature of the film. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful