User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 210
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikhailR
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    This is a perfect example of critics giving a great movie a bad reputation. Thanks to the critics, I walked in with relatively low expectations, especially considering everybody who bothers researching this stuff already knows the ending. However, the movie itself was so amazing, that I simply cant describe what I enjoyed most. The casting was absolutely brilliant, the acting was This is a perfect example of critics giving a great movie a bad reputation. Thanks to the critics, I walked in with relatively low expectations, especially considering everybody who bothers researching this stuff already knows the ending. However, the movie itself was so amazing, that I simply cant describe what I enjoyed most. The casting was absolutely brilliant, the acting was remarkable from absolutely everyone, and the suspense absolutely refused to deminish. The only reason I don't give it a perfect score is because I left to go to the bathroon halfway through, which broke the flow for me personally. A must see for anyone who likes tom cruise, hiatory, WWII, or REALLY good suspense movies. Expand
  2. VictordeT.
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Historical and realistic. A very good film for people who are bored about American action mindless films.
  3. AlexB.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    A luring story of courage and defiance. obviosuly we know how it ends, so don't be critical of the rather straightforawd plot (as many are). and no, it's not a war movie so dont expect constant explosions and huge action scenes other. Above all else, it's a testament to the men who had the guts to defy hitler's germany. Perhaps the film could have explored their A luring story of courage and defiance. obviosuly we know how it ends, so don't be critical of the rather straightforawd plot (as many are). and no, it's not a war movie so dont expect constant explosions and huge action scenes other. Above all else, it's a testament to the men who had the guts to defy hitler's germany. Perhaps the film could have explored their motives more, but it did make clear the bravery inherent in them. Still, it was fascinating to see how close Cruise's "coup" came to altering history; this movie explores the chapter history books left out. Expand
  4. Brian
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    No Dark Knight, but it was still a well-researched and gripping film.
  5. jimboj.
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    I don't get all the negative reviews. This was a great film. Very suspenseful and gripping from start to finish. Tom Cruise does an excellent job as Strassenburg. The rest of the cast is great as well, except somewhat of a miscasting of Hitler. And the ending, though we already know what happens, is very powerful and emotional. Great movie.
  6. VladimirV
    May 25, 2009
    10
    A very good movie about real facts in history.
  7. SamS.
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    Ignore the newspapers and magazines who are simply too critical sometimes. Movies can occasionally be much more entertaining and enjoyable if you don't read the reviews first.
  8. MMCruise
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Tom Cruise is Beautiful and a grat actor ! Valkyrie is a movie fantastic !
  9. R.Lopez
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Amazing!! Valkyrie is an amazing, exceptionally well made true life suspense thriller. Valkyrie stars Tom Cruise as Col. Claus Von Stauffenberg a one eyed one handed German solider who while in the service of his country has betrayed his honor and dignity as a human being. Now with a banned of politicians and soldiers Stauffenberg sets out to take out one of the true evils of the world Amazing!! Valkyrie is an amazing, exceptionally well made true life suspense thriller. Valkyrie stars Tom Cruise as Col. Claus Von Stauffenberg a one eyed one handed German solider who while in the service of his country has betrayed his honor and dignity as a human being. Now with a banned of politicians and soldiers Stauffenberg sets out to take out one of the true evils of the world Hitler. Valkyrie is one of the best films of the year and probably the only true Mission Impossible. I very highly recommended this great war time thriller. Expand
  10. JayK.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    great movie. even though we all know whats going to happen its interesting to see how they try to pull it off.
  11. CarolS
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    I, too, have no idea why critical and public acclaim for this picture isn't better. I found the movie engrossing even though I knew the history behind it. Not every "action" flick has to have a constant barrage of bombing and things otherwise violent! Grow up, people. Cruise looks like the Colonel, and is restrained in his "Cruise-like" performance, and yet no less intense. Co-stars I, too, have no idea why critical and public acclaim for this picture isn't better. I found the movie engrossing even though I knew the history behind it. Not every "action" flick has to have a constant barrage of bombing and things otherwise violent! Grow up, people. Cruise looks like the Colonel, and is restrained in his "Cruise-like" performance, and yet no less intense. Co-stars were exceptional. Expand
  12. KristinB.
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    I loved that this movie gave Germany a different "look" than just the traditional anti-semitic picture painted in almost every other movie for this era.
  13. WanyM.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    This movie is getting a bum rap! I enjoyed it and felt it was thought provoking and very well done. I personally do not like Tom Cruise, but he played this part so well that I forgot it was him acting! The strategic scenes were super well done and kept my attention throughout. It was a surprise find considering the ratings being given by reviewers and fewer alike.
  14. MikeK.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    It was surprisingly a great movie. I especially liked the costumes and period wardrobes, uniforms, etc. You really felt like you were in WWII. Also, it gave a thoughtful look into the german side of the equation which is rare in most WWII films. Kudos!
  15. M.H.
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    Valkyrie was EXCELLENT! Not what I expected... Anyone that loves WWII movies and/ or period movies will enjoy this film. The Tom Cruise character was very interesting, while Hitler was exactly what he needed to be, the sick and scary human that he was. A must see...
  16. PeterK.
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable reenactment of the Generals' Plot - which 74 years later, very few people know about. Cruise was appropriately reserved and stoic, while the filmmaker's attention to historical detail was refreshing. If you are looking for Mission Impossible, rent that; if you want to see a piece of historical drama, this is the film for you.
  17. AustinM.
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    I have no idea, why scores are so low for this. It should atleast have a 80. This movie is awesome, Tom Cruise, does a good job on Col. Staffunberg. Although there's not much action, but my heart got racing right after, the bomb went off. I didn't know how this was going to end, except I knew that they lost, but I was like, come on, come on, win! This movie is one the best I have no idea, why scores are so low for this. It should atleast have a 80. This movie is awesome, Tom Cruise, does a good job on Col. Staffunberg. Although there's not much action, but my heart got racing right after, the bomb went off. I didn't know how this was going to end, except I knew that they lost, but I was like, come on, come on, win! This movie is one the best movies, I've ever seen, I would have cried at the end, if my friend wasn't right next to me. The reason, I gave this a 9 out of 10, was It didn't have as much as action, as the previews were trying to show, and I had hopes high for that. This film has awesome charcters and a great story (although already layed out). This is my top favorite film of 2008, and will be one my favorite all time films. Highly recommend. Expand
  18. BradA.
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    This movie is well worth your time, but it can be confusing if you don't know your history.
  19. annea.
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    Excellent film - beautifully acted, handsomely directed and historically accurate. Absolute heaven for period film lovers.
  20. LeventeS
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    I don't know why everyone hates Tom Cruise, he's not a bad actor and I don't see why the fact that he's a nut job should interfere with me enjoying his not-bad acting. Valkyrie doesn't have a lot to say about it except this: I knew every single detail of the July 20 plot before I saw this film and I was still on the edge of my seat for every second of it. Any I don't know why everyone hates Tom Cruise, he's not a bad actor and I don't see why the fact that he's a nut job should interfere with me enjoying his not-bad acting. Valkyrie doesn't have a lot to say about it except this: I knew every single detail of the July 20 plot before I saw this film and I was still on the edge of my seat for every second of it. Any picture that can do that is worth seeing in my book. Expand
  21. GordonD.
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    A great story plot with enough action to keep all of the family interested.
  22. ScottS.
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. There was ample suspense and good attachment to the plotters.
  23. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    A very interesting historical piece, and entertaining the whole way through. The end result seems to be worth the struggles endured in production, to film at some of the original sites.
  24. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Director Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) brings to life one of the most bold and daring plots in history. Colonel Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) rewrites Hitler's Valkyrie so that his band of German rebels, genuinely concerned for their country's future, may initiate it and bring about the downfall of Hitler, and consequently, peace. Overall, the film was excellent. It dramatized theDirector Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) brings to life one of the most bold and daring plots in history. Colonel Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) rewrites Hitler's Valkyrie so that his band of German rebels, genuinely concerned for their country's future, may initiate it and bring about the downfall of Hitler, and consequently, peace. Overall, the film was excellent. It dramatized the incredible events leading up to and during the assassination attempt very well, the acting was incredible, the characters very well developed, with a moving finale that is guaranteed to give you goosebumps. How many of us would actually stand up for what we believe in? Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    After I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie, I was kind of unmotivated to watch this one. However, right now I'm glad I did give it a try. This is one of the few cases where I believe the negative reviewers are wrong.

    A lot of historical facts pass by in this movie, during World War II. Those facts were well-researched, and I couldn't really find false facts. It gives a
    After I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie, I was kind of unmotivated to watch this one. However, right now I'm glad I did give it a try. This is one of the few cases where I believe the negative reviewers are wrong.

    A lot of historical facts pass by in this movie, during World War II. Those facts were well-researched, and I couldn't really find false facts. It gives a very good view on what Operation Walküre is about. I strongly suggest this movie to everyone who's interested in war movie's. No matter what, you will have learned something afterwards.

    There's also a continuous tensions that won't let you go. Don't let the negative reviews mislead you, I strongly recommend this one!
    Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Singer has crafted a fine film. One just wishes for greater details -- and a different ending.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Has visual splendor galore, but is a cold work lacking in the requisite tension and suspense.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Mendelson
    70
    Valkyrie just misses out on being a great film (it’s no Black Book), but it easily merits mention as a good one.