Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 7, 2004
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 210 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
61
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
TommiK.Sep 6, 2006
Noisy, fast paced, boring, lacking any depth. Very nice effects and lots and lots of actions. Also sometimes stylish design and lots of effort. If only it had plot and charisma.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Sep 1, 2005
To think 160 million dollars went into one of the worst movies i've ever seen. Blade II uses half that amount, and gives you twice the fun, and axes those annoying Transylvanian accents. Dracula's brides were cool when they To think 160 million dollars went into one of the worst movies i've ever seen. Blade II uses half that amount, and gives you twice the fun, and axes those annoying Transylvanian accents. Dracula's brides were cool when they didn't talk. That crossbow is a good use of Retro-futuristic imagination. But everything else is a total wreck. How could ILM screw up so badly? Those FX guys worked with Steven Spielburg, for heaven's sakes! Even the musical score fails to deliver. Oliver Stone's disasterous Alexander at least had uplifting, epic music from Vangelis, but this stuff was just garbage. Just watch the mummy movies for hollywood cheese. This blunder doesn't even qualify for those lowly standards. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CaseyK.Mar 30, 2010
Although great action scenes, Van Helsing is a pathetic attempt to create interesting monster characters but senseless with daft screenplay and terrible directing from Stephen Sommers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
J-ShapOct 7, 2011
To save you valuable hours of your life, here's a summary of the whole movie: Big action scene with monsters, Bad CGI, People talk fast, Big action scene with monsters, Big action scene with monsters, Big action scene with monsters, PeopleTo save you valuable hours of your life, here's a summary of the whole movie: Big action scene with monsters, Bad CGI, People talk fast, Big action scene with monsters, Big action scene with monsters, Big action scene with monsters, People talk fast, Big action scene with monsters, Bad CGI, Big action scene with monsters, faux-dramatic scene, Big action scene with monsters, Bad CGI, Bad CGI, Fin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
hoops2448Dec 12, 2011
Van Helsing is possibly the closest I have come to giving a film a 0. It is a lifeless corpse of a movie. The acting is dreadful bordering on laughable. The referencing of classic monster movies doesn't only fall flat but it grates. RichardVan Helsing is possibly the closest I have come to giving a film a 0. It is a lifeless corpse of a movie. The acting is dreadful bordering on laughable. The referencing of classic monster movies doesn't only fall flat but it grates. Richard Roxburghs Dracula is over the top in the worst possible way and the scripting is dreadful. If anything its one saving grace is a remarkably entertaining intro to the character of Van Helsing (even if Hugh Jackman is terrible as the title character) with the fight between Jekyl and Hyde being a fun piece of action. Its the films only saving grace and its only 5 minutes. The film lumbers on after that, slowly killing your soul. It's dire and thats before it gets to the end where you get to witness Lion King esque sky visions. Because copying Disney in a monster movie seemed like a good idea at the time. Don't watch it, and if you do, bring a pillow. Collapse
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
RodrigoBGCOct 17, 2011
If Bram Stoker resurrected and see what they did with his story, he kill himself! this movie is just, i don´t know, this movie simply have no reason to exist
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SEROJAug 26, 2013
Had very big expectations, because of the great opening 5-10 minutes, but i was disappointed! It could be so much better! 2/10 is my score for "Van Helsing"
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Van Helsing made me want to gouge my eyes out.
This was an extremely painful movie to watch, quite frankly a missed opportunity in ever sense of the word. A horrible script with actors simply reading their lines and waiting to get through it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
RichardG.May 10, 2004
This Movie is utterly ridiculous, has hollywood ran out of stories to tell? They have Van Helsing, Dracula, Mr. Hyde, Frankenstein's monster and the Werewolf running around. I almost died with laughter. I just wanted to see Frankenstein This Movie is utterly ridiculous, has hollywood ran out of stories to tell? They have Van Helsing, Dracula, Mr. Hyde, Frankenstein's monster and the Werewolf running around. I almost died with laughter. I just wanted to see Frankenstein bust a colt .45 revolver, that would finish off this movie. This movie should have just been converted into a spoof comedy during the production -- Oh wait it all ready is -- it just wasn't done intentionally Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PseudorantJun 17, 2016
Signed up on Metacritic after 15+ years just to leave my mark on Van Helsing. Instead of rehashing what's been said, I copied some of the bizarre comments made in the "positive" reviews. If you've avoided the movie for this long already,Signed up on Metacritic after 15+ years just to leave my mark on Van Helsing. Instead of rehashing what's been said, I copied some of the bizarre comments made in the "positive" reviews. If you've avoided the movie for this long already, don't break your record...

it was decent. (9) not Oscar material (7) I guess people hate this movie (10) story needs some help (9) plot could use some work (8) I don't know what everyone else was expecting (8) It sucks! (8) had no real story (8) who cares how the story works out? (10) it was a little long (9) not the best movie out, but it's not the worst. (7) Not a terrific film (7) It isn't necessarily great movie-making (7) despite its many flaws... (7) The ending isn't as good too (9) so amazingly bad, that it was good (10) Sommers doesn't have one iota of Buffymeister Joss Whedon's storytelling skills or wit (7) skips dialogue altogether. And the plot, while impossibly contrived, is nevertheless *novel* (9) The acting was decent (10) Dont expect more and some strange things. (10) character development isn't that good (10) Ok, so it's not anywhere near a masterpiece. (7)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews