User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 230
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    Just ignore the "Critic Reviews", they cant be Serious Professionals. Its a much more polished version of "abre los ojos" and Eduardo Noriega did a HORRIBLE work. Thanks Vanilla Sky, to transform this history into a masterpiece.
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    For a movie that is 13 years old now and is buried in the past, this is truly a great movie for those that like this kind of film. It really isn't meant for everyone and I can understand where the displeasure from critics and users alike. However, if you like science fiction thrillers, romance thrillers or mind-bending movies, this movie is for you. It's similar to the likes of JacobsFor a movie that is 13 years old now and is buried in the past, this is truly a great movie for those that like this kind of film. It really isn't meant for everyone and I can understand where the displeasure from critics and users alike. However, if you like science fiction thrillers, romance thrillers or mind-bending movies, this movie is for you. It's similar to the likes of Jacobs Ladder to put it in perspective. I'd at least say watch it through once and see what you think. Personally, I think critics were too harsh on this film and that follow the users score more since the users seem to actually understand this film more. I loved this movie and I hope if you watch it that you will too! Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    6
    Vanilla Sky is, fundamentally, a movie about lucid dreaming. And there is something about it that only lucid dreamers will recognize. Sadly, it's a bit downhill from there. While Vanilla Sky is a solid effort, it's unfortunately short of genius. The very project is a bit curious. Is Cameron Crowe, the permanent teenager responsible for perfectly good yet light-as-a-feather comedies likeVanilla Sky is, fundamentally, a movie about lucid dreaming. And there is something about it that only lucid dreamers will recognize. Sadly, it's a bit downhill from there. While Vanilla Sky is a solid effort, it's unfortunately short of genius. The very project is a bit curious. Is Cameron Crowe, the permanent teenager responsible for perfectly good yet light-as-a-feather comedies like Jerry Maguire and Almost Famous, up to the challenge of remaking a Spanish psychodrama? Crowe goes through the motions, and from time to time he proves that he can handle heavier material, but Vanilla Sky is too murky to be much more than a holiday distraction far from the cult classic that the original Abre los Ojos (Open Your Eyes) has become. However... Cameron Crowe's DVD commentary track is one of the best I've heard. While he's overly proud of the middling achievement, he's honest about the tepid reaction from test audiences, and he does provide a little extra context for the various interpretations of the movie. (Also of note, this is the first commentary I've heard with a musical score: someone (Crowe's wife, Nancy Wilson) playing acoustic guitar. Crowe also phones up his stars during the recording... bizarre.) Unfortunately, none of this can make Penélope Cruz a good actress. An interview with songwriter Paul McCartney, two featurettes, and assorted trailers round out the disc. Vanilla Sky has moments of brilliance and bears a certain style, but the movie is neither simple enough for sheer popcorn-thriller fun nor complex enough for true psychodrama buffs. It lies somewhere in a middle ground, and anyone that tells you different... needs to open his eyes. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    7
    There is some psychological pressure along the movie, but the story do not seem natural and honestly it is a bit boring in the middle and the ending from my point of view is the thing called deus ex machina, it does not look logical. Overall a decent movie.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. I feel that blending genres is a very tough, but interesting, way of portraying a story. You take the different aspects and you don’t have to necessarily have equal amounts of each, but you do need to try to manage the quality for each. If one part is mediocre, why even have it? Vanilla Sky was a blend of a number of genres including drama, romance, psychological thriller, science-fiction, and a bit of mystery. Vanilla Sky may have had all of this, but I will proudly say that I loved each and every unique aspect.
    Vanilla Sky begins with the wealthy and sadly narcissistic, David Aames (Tom Cruise) waking up in his bed and going about his average morning with that smug grin he has. He drives from his house on his way to work and to his surprise; the streets of New York City are empty. Once he reaches the uninhabited Madison Square Garden, he begins to run in panic from his car. After running a good distance through the streets, he screams up into the sky and he wakes up from the nightmare. This scene may have little to do with the overall story, but I think it was an important sequence to show you what you’re in for. I will tell you now, Vanilla Sky is confusing. The story chronicles the wide and deranged psyche of a man who goes insane, so it’s going to challenge your mind as well. But this scene tells you up front that reality and dreamscape will be jumbled together in this film and you’re going to have to figure it out. I make this connection because the movie begins with him in the dream, so you really don’t know that it’s a dream until he wakes up. Then throughout the rest of the movie you are tossed in and out of consciousness without warning, but it all adds to the experience.
    Another thing that adds to the experience is the stylistic choices in this movie. I have seen some pretty stylistic movies in my life but man, this one had some style. The cinematography, the set pieces, the props, and the things people did were all so cool. Cameron Crowe did a fantastic job directing it too. I am a fan of Crowe, I liked Say Anything, loved Jerry Maguire, didn’t care much for Almost Famous, but he’s still a fantastic director and it shows in this one. There is a scene where Tom Cruise is in the lobby of L.E. screaming for tech support and the camera is spinning around him as he is standing in this empty room with his reflections surrounding him and this is one instance where the directing is very impressive. It really adds something and so does the soundtrack. This movie had such a collective soundtrack and every song fit so perfectly to the scene it was in. I’ll talk about the same scene I did before and say that the choice of “Good Vibrations” to be in that scene was awesome.
    There are many interpretations of Vanilla Sky and they all are interesting, but everyone has their own opinion. The twist in this movie is that everything that happened after David fell asleep on the sidewalk was a dream that he was having in cryogenic sleep. He had killed himself after the car accident when he found a place called Life Extensions or L.E. where he could sleep contently forever with the perfect life. For a while, he does live a perfect life, he gets his face repaired and Sofia back and it’s all good (he doesn’t know he is sleeping at this time). But as we all know, we can’t sleep for too long or else the dream can turn into a nightmare and when David begins to suspect something, that’s when it does. I think this is a really cool concept and I really enjoy it in this movie. This mixture of subjects has never been done before and I don’t think it ever will be again. Then the ending has multiple interpretations too. I believe that he chose to live a normal life and he decided to wake himself up from sleep and the end of the movie is him waking up from that sleep which happened to be 150 years. The moral of this story is that you can’t run from your problems forever. David says that he wants to live a normal life and doesn’t want to dream anymore meaning that he wants to take in the world for what it is and not live the perfect life he had always wanted because his problems even caught him there. The present is 150 years later so he can start over and take on the world without his handicaps like his father’s inheritance. They even bring that up; his finances won’t last long in this time.
    Vanilla Sky did get mixed reviews from critics, but in the end, I do not agree with any of them. I think that Vanilla Sky may have a few flaws, but it is still an entertaining and intellectually rewarding movie that actually contains some beauty. It has a good message and there are a few others I didn't even mention. The stylistic choices were cool and the acting and directing were great. Vanilla Sky is a massive blend of many genres that come together to make a thought provoking and entertaining film that actually works.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no idea what the plot is...which characters or scenes are actually happening and which are an 'altered reality'...no idea of whether (SPOILER ALERT...) the Cruise character is alive, dead or in some suspended state...in general, no idea of what's happening at all. Still, for some reason, I really like this movie. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    You either understand this film or you don't.....and that alone would base the difference between a positive or negative review. This film is indeed a glorious mess........that's what it intends to be and yet, in the final few moments of the film, it bunches up into something that somehow works. In the end, the story hits you in the gut and calls into question every character that you'veYou either understand this film or you don't.....and that alone would base the difference between a positive or negative review. This film is indeed a glorious mess........that's what it intends to be and yet, in the final few moments of the film, it bunches up into something that somehow works. In the end, the story hits you in the gut and calls into question every character that you've grown accustomed to throughout the duration, and it asks you to let it all go. So devastating but so courageous and raw. Performances all around are top-notch, including Diaz, who does some of her best work here. Expand
  8. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I disagree with many 'reviewers' and feel that this version is a much more polished movie than the original spanish movie. The soundtrack is amazing and the suspense is real. An amazing achievement by Crowe.
  9. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    A well put together and interesting movie. Honestly, it is insane that it has such a low critic score. If you like movies that keep you guessing like Fight Club or Eternal Sunshine, then you will enjoy this movie. It's confusing because it's meant to be and it triumphs in being entertaining until the end reveal. And on a second viewing, everything makes sense and is one cohesive picture.A well put together and interesting movie. Honestly, it is insane that it has such a low critic score. If you like movies that keep you guessing like Fight Club or Eternal Sunshine, then you will enjoy this movie. It's confusing because it's meant to be and it triumphs in being entertaining until the end reveal. And on a second viewing, everything makes sense and is one cohesive picture. As others point out, there are many Fantasy vs. Reality films out there, many with more shocking "twists", but Vanilla Sky is a gripping movie in it's own right and me and my friends definitely enjoyed watching it even now, a decade after it's original release. Expand
  10. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Wow. A 45% from critics?

    This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me and stuck with me for years. To come here and see it scored below dreck like Doctor Dolittle and Zombie Strippers is an absolute insult. If you're a fan of high concept science fiction and have at least a triple digit IQ, you owe it to yourself to
    Wow. A 45% from critics?

    This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me and stuck with me for years. To come here and see it scored below dreck like Doctor Dolittle and Zombie Strippers is an absolute insult.

    If you're a fan of high concept science fiction and have at least a triple digit IQ, you owe it to yourself to watch this movie and come to your own conclusions. Criminally underrated.
    Expand
  11. CarlaM
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    I simply do NOT understand how anyone could say this film is anything but brilliant.
  12. EricT
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are hilarious; they remind me of AI, in particular the complaints about "too large of scope". If you can't wrap your head around epic, high-concept scifi, then go watch Animal House or something. This is a fantastically made and riveting film. Those scoring This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are hilarious; they remind me of AI, in particular the complaints about "too large of scope". If you can't wrap your head around epic, high-concept scifi, then go watch Animal House or something. This is a fantastically made and riveting film. Those scoring it on par with "The Hottie and Nottie" is deeply clueless. Expand
  13. MarcJ
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen. Raises many questions and evokes even more feelings.
  14. MichaelL
    Feb 26, 2008
    5
    A film which makes an attempt to pattern itself on the fantasy vs. reality films that had become popular at the turn of the new millennium - David Fichner's "Fight Club" and M. Night Shamalan's "Sixth Sense" both from 1999, Christopher Nolan's "Momento" from 2000, and David Lynch's "Mulholland Drive" released the following year (all of which don't surpass the A film which makes an attempt to pattern itself on the fantasy vs. reality films that had become popular at the turn of the new millennium - David Fichner's "Fight Club" and M. Night Shamalan's "Sixth Sense" both from 1999, Christopher Nolan's "Momento" from 2000, and David Lynch's "Mulholland Drive" released the following year (all of which don't surpass the reigning king of this genre when Terry Gilliam released his 1985 masterpiece "Brazil") - by no means fails in this respect since I found it both entertaining and intriguing for the most part, but is noticeably long and certainly may confuse the average '2hr-max-movie-goer'. Penelope Cruz and Cameron Diaz both stand out playing their respective, 'good gal/bad gal roles and Jason Lee is quite appealing as the best friend of our dashing lead Tom Cruise. Yet Cruise may be viewed as stretching this performance given the physical challenges that are demanded. I hesitate to reveal these challenges to those that have not seen the picture as they are indeed the focal point of the plot. Many good things like the witty Cameron Crowe retrospective soundtrack that is weaved into clever culture references and tributes which are indeed enjoyable and even necessary to solve the riddle presented in 'what's is going on?' scenario of the main character's pressing dilemma which may not be easy to access with a single viewing. But still the ride can be entertaining as Tom runs away and into trouble as he often does in quasi-action films that are laced with mystery and intrigue like Sydney Pollack's 1993 "The Firm", Brian De Palma's 1996 "Mission Impossible" and even the more cerebrally dark, "Eyes Wide Shut" from Stanley Kubrick. As noted by many educated critics as well as the tasteless tabloids Mr. Cruise may be biting off more than he can chew as he dives into the land of independent production. I applaud Tom for his efforts and are rooting for his 'comeback' yet do believe that his choice for future roles should include a return to comedic territory as a deviation/diversion to selecting elaborate/complicated efforts which could be prove a bit too risky and result in a poor reception at the box office. Expand
  15. CarlosS
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    A wonderful movie. Cameron Crowe really gets the perspective of the original "abre los ojos" and focus all the main ideas in this picture. Vanilla Sky make humans realised the meanning of their existence, it try to achieve a new level of understanding of the human mind by incorporate anormal fenoms in cuatidan life. As Cameron Crow said about the movie. "life, sex, emotion, sadness, love, A wonderful movie. Cameron Crowe really gets the perspective of the original "abre los ojos" and focus all the main ideas in this picture. Vanilla Sky make humans realised the meanning of their existence, it try to achieve a new level of understanding of the human mind by incorporate anormal fenoms in cuatidan life. As Cameron Crow said about the movie. "life, sex, emotion, sadness, love, crazyness, dead".This is Vanilla Sky. Expand
  16. Steven.
    Jan 24, 2007
    8
    Cameron Crowe really has outdone himself in some of the movies he's made. This movie is no exception. Let me just make a personal note before I make this review. I'm one of those people that saw this movie for the first time and understood everything, and something I have to note about is that this movie is a true Cameron Crowe masterpiece if you actually understand it. I really Cameron Crowe really has outdone himself in some of the movies he's made. This movie is no exception. Let me just make a personal note before I make this review. I'm one of those people that saw this movie for the first time and understood everything, and something I have to note about is that this movie is a true Cameron Crowe masterpiece if you actually understand it. I really went through a lot of emotions when I watched this movie, this is one of the more cinematic movies I've seen. From the music to the very clever lines, and to the story pulling all together on one very well made elevator scene. This movie has a really cool vibe to it from the moment it starts. Plus the ending is mind blowing. I really love Paul Mccartney's song played in the credits, it really brings you down to earth after seeing such a breathtaking ending. If you want to watch this movie go ahead, I think that some of the critics were a little rough on this movie. Heres a hint to watching this though, when you reach a scene that shows Tom in an Elevator with a man in a suit, pay attention to this scene, because it explains everything about this movie. Happy Watching. Expand
  17. AndrewO
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Superb, highly moving and deep when understood. Vanilla Sky is not a movie to watch just once and requires your full attention. Not everyone will get it; few will appreciate it on the first viewing. This is not a "Tom Cruise" movie, but definately one to watch several times if you enjoy complex movies.
  18. DonnaS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    8
    I'm still confused by whatever went on in that movie, but I loved it, and I was blown away by the ending which was made even spectacular by Sigur Ros' '"Njosnavelin". This movie toyed a lot with my emotions, and I don't think I can spite Tom Cruise for his role as David Aames, even if I loathe him (Tom) with a passion as of now.
  19. stevep
    May 8, 2006
    6
    This is one of those movies that had a great concept but didn
  20. JonathanR.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    One of the most interesting unique plots ive ever seen in a movie with an unpredictable ending.
  21. TravisM.
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie, one of my favorites. Starts off slow, but the ending blows you away. I loved it.
  22. Anima
    Oct 2, 2005
    3
    Well, before giving it a good rating, you gotta see the original ("Abre Los Ojos" by Alejandro Amenabar). Hate to disappoint you guys, but this one is total crap.. Unless you are one of those people without imagination, and you like all the answers being given to you, lefting no place for you to think, you should stay away from this remake. (Sorry for my English, I've only learned it Well, before giving it a good rating, you gotta see the original ("Abre Los Ojos" by Alejandro Amenabar). Hate to disappoint you guys, but this one is total crap.. Unless you are one of those people without imagination, and you like all the answers being given to you, lefting no place for you to think, you should stay away from this remake. (Sorry for my English, I've only learned it at school :) ). Expand
  23. resti
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Vanila Sky is in one of best. Cant believe wat the critics had said about this movie. Some of the critics see the scenes as a whole series of David's (the main character) life. Although the plot is puzzled,but the movie is well prepared, since at the beginning David says "We are all pretend that we are not going to die" and what happend in the next sceen is his fear of not finishing Vanila Sky is in one of best. Cant believe wat the critics had said about this movie. Some of the critics see the scenes as a whole series of David's (the main character) life. Although the plot is puzzled,but the movie is well prepared, since at the beginning David says "We are all pretend that we are not going to die" and what happend in the next sceen is his fear of not finishing or doing things well (his free lifestyle) since he thinks that he can finish it later. The film is a series of dreams or David's fear exactly. Started after the car accident, everything in the movie is David's fear (see it from its unusual lightning or setting). The character also symbolised many aspect in his life. Diaz symbolise his desire (sexual), Russel symbolize a steady adult man, His bestfriend symbolize his social life (where he can only tolerate hisself), and finally Cruz symbolize love (the only which hes been searching for: balance). Expand
  24. Joris
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    Fascinating and artistic in every way, and what a score (Sigur Ros, Radiohead, Bjork).
  25. Josh
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    One of my top ten films of all time. I loved this film, and believe that critics didn't because it undermined everything they always look for, and still turned out to be an abosolutely amazing movie. Music, performances, plot were spot on. The movie felt as if it came from out of a dream, and I felt in a dream when I watched it. Thank You Cameron Crowe.
  26. mike
    Feb 14, 2005
    1
    This movie fails big time! stay away.
  27. JohnS
    Jan 9, 2005
    8
    I liked it, but just saw "Open your eyes" and can see that the original is much much better. Go rent it. And it is pretty weird to see Penelope Cruz as the same character in both.
  28. HeffaN.
    Dec 19, 2004
    6
    I've just saw the movie, and give it a six because it really messed up my head ! The feeiling of not knowing what's real and what's not is very realistic. The same goes for the logic laws that's twisted over and over again.
  29. ErwinK.
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    It's really strange the negative reviews this film got. Jerry Maguire was the film that really didn't do anything for me. I got to say after reading the 45% metscore this movie got and then seeing it I was really surprised. It's not perfect, but the direction in this movie whirls around in spirals and twirls. The plot device towards the end is the least perfect thing, but It's really strange the negative reviews this film got. Jerry Maguire was the film that really didn't do anything for me. I got to say after reading the 45% metscore this movie got and then seeing it I was really surprised. It's not perfect, but the direction in this movie whirls around in spirals and twirls. The plot device towards the end is the least perfect thing, but when I think about it there is nothing wrong with something over the top. Groundhog Day and 'Eternal Sunshine' don't need to go in depth into explaining away their plot devices, and in this movie it is also less relevant. What is the core of this movie, is the wild fluctuations of Tom Cruise having it all and then losing it all and then having it all. Some beautiful scenes in this movie include Cruise stumbling around a nightclub with a prosthetic mask on the back of his head, and how the title of the movie relates to the end of the movie. Expand
  30. Patrick
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    I've seen this movie at least 10 times, and I will say (while holding onto my manhood) that this is the only movie I've actually shed a tear to multiple times. I fell in love with Penelope Cruz and hated Diaz's character: Julie Gianni. I will admit that Diaz acted incredibly well in this movie, actually allowing me to hate her character so much that it left a sour taste I've seen this movie at least 10 times, and I will say (while holding onto my manhood) that this is the only movie I've actually shed a tear to multiple times. I fell in love with Penelope Cruz and hated Diaz's character: Julie Gianni. I will admit that Diaz acted incredibly well in this movie, actually allowing me to hate her character so much that it left a sour taste toward her in my mouth. This is in my Top 10 favorite movies of all time. Expand
  31. AndrewM.
    May 12, 2004
    7
    I watched this knowing it had been panned all over the place, and afterward I walked out of the cinema feeling like I had just made a purchase for only half the actual price. This is a very good film and a very rewarding one for those who give it time of day. I thought Cruise was good in Minority Report, but he was even better in this one. A very dreamy thriller that will take you on a I watched this knowing it had been panned all over the place, and afterward I walked out of the cinema feeling like I had just made a purchase for only half the actual price. This is a very good film and a very rewarding one for those who give it time of day. I thought Cruise was good in Minority Report, but he was even better in this one. A very dreamy thriller that will take you on a perplexing trip, but one that will reach the light at the end of the tunnel. And what a perfectly-chosen Radiohead song for the opening credits...good one Crowe! Expand
  32. TomasS.
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    Best film i ever saw.
  33. KatieP.
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    This is an amazing movie that will stay with you long after the end scene. I do not understand how it has a 45 on metacritic. It was under-rated, clearly.
  34. LisandroL.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    I think this one is one of the greatest movies of the xxi century, it has all the elements.the sadest about the movie is that the end is very thrilled.great cast
  35. PatC.
    Jan 6, 2004
    4
    It's kinda neat being in a garage full of Rolls-Royce parts, but nothing was put together I could drive away.
  36. BenW.
    Dec 10, 2003
    9
    Terrifically acted and adapted incredibly well, not to mention near-perfect casting with the exception of Penelope Cruz since most people (including me) were probably perplexed as to why Tom Cruise would choose her over Cameron Diaz, who out-acted Cruz in every way. Still, I love movies that make me think and think but only allow me to find theories rather than solution (see Mulholland Terrifically acted and adapted incredibly well, not to mention near-perfect casting with the exception of Penelope Cruz since most people (including me) were probably perplexed as to why Tom Cruise would choose her over Cameron Diaz, who out-acted Cruz in every way. Still, I love movies that make me think and think but only allow me to find theories rather than solution (see Mulholland Drive, a better dreamy thriller than this one was) but had this movie not been given a solution at the end, it would've probably been shit. Best Hollywood movie in a very long time! Expand
  37. GillianW.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    My favourite movie of all time!! The first time you watch it - it's confusing and exciting. But watch it a second and a third time and you discover even more layers to the movie and a powerful message. Camron Crowe is a genius.
  38. raVen
    Nov 27, 2003
    8
    -A surprisingly accurate depiction of the cutthroat ice cream industry. As fascinating as it is fattening. One tip: when you watch this movie, "open your eyes." ...Not for the lactose or psychedelically intolerant.
  39. TylerC.
    Oct 29, 2003
    10
    Finally!!!! Finally there is a movie that will make the audience actually think instead of telling them what they should feel. I cannot begin to say how much of a great movie this was. This is not spoon fed happiness but it makes you make a conclusion of 3 possible endings that might have happened. My dreams have never been the same since.
  40. StaceyG.
    Oct 4, 2003
    8
    People will like this movie or hate it, i liked it. the acting was great and the movie left a powerfull presence in my mind. Jason Lee provided great support acting for Cruise and the other members of the cast put in great efforts that really show and keep the movie alive when youd think it would suck. As i said some will like this movie and some will hate it, nothing in between.
  41. Orecca
    Sep 25, 2003
    8
    I like it !!
  42. Marc-oO.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    This film is f**king amazing!!! Tom Cruise was great, Penelope Cruise was spell binding and the support was rock solid Jason Lee, Kurt Russell especially. The music was fantastic especially during the final scenes, i have seen this movie at least 5 times and still find it enthralling. Please Hollywood make more movies that make you think!!!
  43. MarkF.
    Sep 9, 2003
    9
    Eerie, suspenseful, and romantic, filled with a profound sadness I can hardly describe with words, Cameron Crowe paints a picture that is underrated and will haunt me for a long time.
  44. Uter
    Sep 7, 2003
    9
    I don't care what the critics say. This was a great movie. The story was deep and thoughtful, and there were some very memorable scenes. Walking through New York Times square in the day time with zero people for example. I would say it's definitely worth owning.
  45. J
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    The Best Movie I have ever seen.
  46. KevinV.
    Aug 22, 2003
    9
    Fascinating, haunting film that stays with you long afterward. One of Tom Cruise's best performances. The film demands close inspection and/or repeat viewings, and rewards either lavishly. "The little things - there's nothing bigger." Superb soundtrack. Terribly misunderstood, (and not at all an "erotic thriller"), it is one of the very best films of 2001. Brilliant.
  47. JulianL.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Vanilla Sky, by far, has to be my favorite movie of all time. From incredible casting to an unbeatable soundtrack that stays close to my player at all times. This movie does ask a lot of its audience however it paid me back ten fold, not only with a fantasticly original ending (which I realize it is Alejandro Amenabar's creation,yet Crowe perfected it), but with the type of love Vanilla Sky, by far, has to be my favorite movie of all time. From incredible casting to an unbeatable soundtrack that stays close to my player at all times. This movie does ask a lot of its audience however it paid me back ten fold, not only with a fantasticly original ending (which I realize it is Alejandro Amenabar's creation,yet Crowe perfected it), but with the type of love story and movie magic that only Cameron Crowe can do. There are so many facets and layers to this movie that makes me believe that no review or synopsis can ever do it justice, except for Crowe's audio commentary. It's a movie that stays with me throughout the day and I see staying at number one on my list for a very long time. Expand
  48. DildoBaggins
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen. Completely and utterly brilliant.
  49. MattZ.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    What a great film! The best part about the film is that you can interpret it several different ways. Was it fiction or was it reality. Or, was it both. Here is my take on the film. Everything before he flew off the cliff was real. Everything after he flew off the cliff was Cruise in a coma. Every wild thing that happened was a result of the coma dream like state. The nurse then flashes a What a great film! The best part about the film is that you can interpret it several different ways. Was it fiction or was it reality. Or, was it both. Here is my take on the film. Everything before he flew off the cliff was real. Everything after he flew off the cliff was Cruise in a coma. Every wild thing that happened was a result of the coma dream like state. The nurse then flashes a light in his eye to wake him up. Whatever your interpretation is, the film features excellent acting, a great cast and 100% total intrest throughout. Expand
  50. KayleighK.
    May 11, 2003
    9
    Not enough people have seen it, i feel that if more people watched it then more people could open there eyes, to see what a great film it is.
  51. AaronF.
    May 7, 2003
    9
    Horribly underated and misunderstood, this film is a testament to what is wrong with Hollywood today. On the other hand, that Crowe has the guts to make this film shows that us artsy weirdos do have a pinch hitter if we ever need him. GOD BLESS CAMERON CROWE! ADDITIONAL NOTE- Why wasn't Cameron Diaz nominated for an Oscar? She was eerily sexy, and psychotic, in this.
  52. Julie
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    What a great film! Second time around made it.
  53. AlexV.
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    A strange but artistic movie, i just watched it for the second time, and i think i understand the movie, but then again, i think....
  54. Funkymonkey
    Apr 11, 2003
    6
    A truly unsettling,mind-bending nightmare of a film. A solipsistic self-realization parallelled with a yearning for an unobtainable other. About as a pleasant as a heart-attack. But not without quality. Definitely worth watching.
  55. FrankC.
    Jan 1, 2003
    6
    Great Production, Great Acting and an excellent story line. The end is a real dissapointment and ruins what may have been a real classic. I don't understand the point why i ended like that. What a waste.
  56. OvidiuB.
    Dec 28, 2002
    9
    I have to see this movie for the third and maybe the fourth time. I will probably figure it out. Anyway it has this ability to keep me connected.
  57. Golbez
    Dec 14, 2002
    8
    Soundtrack is wicked. Movie is excellent. Tom Cruise performs well. Interesting story for us who find 90% of hollywood movies boring sh.t for babies.
  58. AaronG.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    This movie has many psychadelic twists that can only be appreciated by the more intelligent half of the world. In order to appreciate this movie in all senses it deserves, you must see it at least twice. Then the plot can be argued over and someone can take the several interpretations into consideration, and choose the one they think is best suiting for them and the movie.
  59. MarkM.
    Nov 17, 2002
    1
    This movie is annoying.
  60. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 7, 2002
    8
    A way underrated film.
  61. ToddJ.
    Sep 2, 2002
    0
    The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.
  62. ToddJ.
    Sep 2, 2002
    0
    The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.
  63. ViperV.
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    It's the gratest movie !!!!
  64. DAXY.
    Aug 14, 2002
    1
    This has got to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It tries so hard to be profound that it makes Disney seem deep! You want more meaning in your life?....wake up and don't waste your money on this one.
  65. JessieA.
    Aug 5, 2002
    10
    This is now my favorite movie! I am absolutely thrilled to see something of substance coming out in theatres. I fell in love with this movie and it professes exactly what I endeavor to show in the novel I'm writing. It is a fascinating testament to the reality of true love, and the power each person has inside themselves to achieve their dreams. Best movie EVER.
  66. MisslER.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    This movie has touched every part of my life and my soul. when i watch it my whole body becomes inthralled in the story. i am addicted.. i cant stop watching. and it gave me inspiration... " Every passing minute is a chance to turn it all around. " Penelope was wonderful as was jason lee. over all the movie was amazingly beautiful and worth watching over and over... and the soundtrack isThis movie has touched every part of my life and my soul. when i watch it my whole body becomes inthralled in the story. i am addicted.. i cant stop watching. and it gave me inspiration... " Every passing minute is a chance to turn it all around. " Penelope was wonderful as was jason lee. over all the movie was amazingly beautiful and worth watching over and over... and the soundtrack is to die for. ... Expand
  67. JoeJ.
    Jul 22, 2002
    9
    This movie simply ROCKED!
  68. JulieB.
    Jul 16, 2002
    3
    Good: David Helfgott Tilda Swinton The lawyer. Not-So-Good: Penelope Cruz Tom Cruise The ending ruins it all. You realize that you spent the whole movie thinking that the details and plot twists were important when they really didn't matter at all.
  69. MarkB,
    Jul 16, 2002
    1
    Barely watchable. Whatever the message is that this film is trying to get across, it was wasted on me. The film was boring; it was so detached from its characters that I couldn't have cared less about it.
  70. [Anonymous]
    Jul 12, 2002
    0
    Tom Cruise is mean, I don't like him.
  71. JeffM.
    Jul 8, 2002
    8
    Absorbing from start to finish, Cruise really shines in a role that knowlingly plays with his public persona.
  72. LuisS.
    Jul 7, 2002
    9
    It is a prove of the "spiritual awakening" and evolution that is sufering our planet earth, few years ago was crazy to think about a movie about the real meaning of happiness and/or anti-materialist.
  73. DeniseB.
    Jul 4, 2002
    10
    I am utterly haunted by this movie. It is artistically beautiful, the music fitting and grand, the acting fabulous. I am not sure whether to categorize it as a love, horror, adventure, mystery, sexual/intellectual thriller, and I like that. I am impassioned by its vulgarity, and fell in love with its romance. I have never been a Tom cruise fan until now.
  74. Jenni
    Jun 18, 2002
    1
    Too hard to follow. I cannot STAND Penelope Cruz and thought Cameron Diaz would be more prominent in the movie than airhead Penelope. Jason Lee is awesome as always though, but the film is just all over the place. Kinda like Traffic. I cannot STAND that.
  75. D.Migs
    Jun 15, 2002
    0
    The dullest movie I've seen in years. The dialogue is asinine and will leave you with gapping mouth at the shear self-indulgence of this caca. A kind of Mulholland Drive for the simple minded. I remember the buzz at the release was cheering Tom for braving a disfigured on screen presence. Someone pass the barf bag -- I'm getting sick.
  76. LaurieS.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! I think about it everyday and dream about it everynight. It Touched me like no other movie has. Vanilla Sky is a MASTERPIECE!!!
  77. SethB.
    Jun 9, 2002
    10
    Brilliant, though I didn't think so at first. It's a slight, slight bit like "Mullholand Drive" in that it's a 'multi-watch' kind of film. The problem is that unlike Mullholand, it isn't apparent that this is a movie that requires a 'second spin'. Most people probably think that they've pretty much got it, tee hee. Some advice: watch it again! Brilliant, though I didn't think so at first. It's a slight, slight bit like "Mullholand Drive" in that it's a 'multi-watch' kind of film. The problem is that unlike Mullholand, it isn't apparent that this is a movie that requires a 'second spin'. Most people probably think that they've pretty much got it, tee hee. Some advice: watch it again! I know, I know why watch it again if you thought it was so-so the first time? Watch it again, and like me you'll find out. This might be one of those movies you're gonna need to buy and veiw over and over again. There is so much hidden. Now for all those that think they're so great that they don't need a second viewing: I guess you know about the bike. Also the car. and the 'signs'. Expand
  78. JohnY.
    Jun 9, 2002
    10
    Wow. A thoughtful, emotional & psychotic mix of: Jacob's Ladder, The Matrix, Total Recall & and a bit of Sixth Sense. Tom Cruise's best.
  79. RogerE.
    Jun 8, 2002
    0
    This movie is so bad it does not deserve a comment.
  80. JonM.
    Jun 5, 2002
    8
    One of the better movies to be released to a full national market in recent history. While not quite up to par with the original Spanish version, this movie still carries a great deal more weight than the majority of mass-market movies. On a sidenote, if you're one of those individuals primarly concerned with Tom's pretty face, Cameron Diaz' as a sexual figure, or anything One of the better movies to be released to a full national market in recent history. While not quite up to par with the original Spanish version, this movie still carries a great deal more weight than the majority of mass-market movies. On a sidenote, if you're one of those individuals primarly concerned with Tom's pretty face, Cameron Diaz' as a sexual figure, or anything else pop-culture, don't bother with this movie. Expand
  81. BobbieF.
    May 29, 2002
    10
    I thought this movie was incredibly insightful and unique. cameron crowe was astounding and brilliant as usual, and i was even impressed by tom cruise (who usually doesn't do it for me). Overall, i think its one of the most innovative movies i've seen in a long time. Sure beats that teeny bopper crap that's been selling so well these days . . .
  82. NikoleD.
    May 29, 2002
    10
    It's a brilliantly creative torture of the mind and heart.
  83. HelenC.
    May 28, 2002
    10
    Fantastic...the music used with the images has been thoughtfully selected and written to create a very powerful combination.
  84. JesseS.
    May 26, 2002
    10
    I think the critics should take the opening line seriously. The opening line is open your eyes. To not like this film, they would have had to been asleep before the movie started. Seriously, this movie is not hard to understand. I understood as soon as the end credits started to roll. The critics can be so stupid!
  85. J.R.
    May 18, 2002
    10
    If you are an individual who believes that an $8.00 movie ticket should buy you a 90-minute ride down the well lit, well marked, and always comforting road of start to finish Hollywood blockbusters, this is not the movie for you. In order for this picture to be enjoyable, you are going to have to work with it, however if your mind will allow you, the experience can be far more provocative If you are an individual who believes that an $8.00 movie ticket should buy you a 90-minute ride down the well lit, well marked, and always comforting road of start to finish Hollywood blockbusters, this is not the movie for you. In order for this picture to be enjoyable, you are going to have to work with it, however if your mind will allow you, the experience can be far more provocative then that which is apparent with other films. . It is true unfortunately that for most of today?s moviegoers, their ability to interpret and internalize a film such as this, is limited, and the process unpleasant. Truth be told, for the 2+ hours I was in the theatre, and the 2+ days thereafter, I continually found my mind questioning and second-guessing that which I knew to be true, and I for one, am of this opinion that an experience such as this, make it the best $8.00 that I have ever spent. Expand
  86. MikeyG.
    May 13, 2002
    1
    Is this piece of crap still in the theatres? Who is watching this? The only reason I'm giving it a 1 is because Cameron Diaz is delightful in her role. However, she's barely in the friggen' movie! Penelope Cruz and Tom (I'm not gay) Cruise basically prove the Joey Tribbiani theory of acting and Tom's heterosexuality claims correct. Joey's theory, for those Is this piece of crap still in the theatres? Who is watching this? The only reason I'm giving it a 1 is because Cameron Diaz is delightful in her role. However, she's barely in the friggen' movie! Penelope Cruz and Tom (I'm not gay) Cruise basically prove the Joey Tribbiani theory of acting and Tom's heterosexuality claims correct. Joey's theory, for those who don't remember, is that a couple that exhibits hot chemistry on stage or on screen is not involved. Once they do it, the heat evaporates and there's nothing in the performances. Judging by Vanilla Sky, Tom can put all those homosexuality rumors to rest. Expand
  87. TroyP.
    Apr 27, 2002
    0
    This movie confuses. All Tom likes to do is have sex in movies. Revolting, and unattractive. What was was the point? The original Spanish version "Open Your Eyes," though foreign, makes a hell of a lot more sense. Cameron Crowe needs to keep good originals alone.
  88. JohnDoe
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    Spectacular!
  89. Marta
    Mar 29, 2002
    1
    This movie really disappoited me! It was one of the worst films I have ever watched! The storyline was terrible, and not forgetting the fact of seeing Tom Cruise's usually beautiful face distorted for 99% of the film!
  90. AndrewC.
    Feb 4, 2002
    2
    What can I say, get some big names and you get a load of viewers and a handful of them will like it.
  91. JamesG.
    Jan 1, 2002
    2
    I can only remember seeing one movie worse than this--"The Blair Witch Project." A total loss except for the close-ups of Penelope.
  92. BobS.
    Dec 27, 2001
    5
    Still don't know what it was all about.
  93. ChadS.
    Dec 27, 2001
    5
    First, Cameron Crowe made an audience-friendly film with no stars but nobody showed up. Now he follows it up with a stab at art-house with the golden boy of Tinseltown. Next time out, Crowe will get it right and have the commercial and critical success he enjoyed with "Jerry Maguire." Vanilla Sky earns 5 points because the smile on my face hasn't left since his last effort.
  94. YohannesA.
    Dec 20, 2001
    10
    I saw three movies the same day. None of them grabbed me like Cameron Crow's vanilla sky did. This movie is raw, gritty, very real (Crow has a natural insight on human behavior), and unyielding from beginning to end taking you on a schizophrenic rollercoaster ride like no other movie does. It's a study on what happens to the human psyche in the face of a traggic occurance I saw three movies the same day. None of them grabbed me like Cameron Crow's vanilla sky did. This movie is raw, gritty, very real (Crow has a natural insight on human behavior), and unyielding from beginning to end taking you on a schizophrenic rollercoaster ride like no other movie does. It's a study on what happens to the human psyche in the face of a traggic occurance midstream of life. It touches on sociological issues that we as individuals can relate to. The back and forth sequenes get confusing. I've seen it once and for sure gonna see it again. Very emotional piece, loved it. Expand
  95. DamianP.
    Dec 18, 2001
    4
    It wasn't challenging enough to warrant the word "psychological" or interesting enough to be a thriller. I was very disappointed that my mind wasn't the least bit boggled.
  96. ArnoldP.
    Dec 17, 2001
    3
    A gallant attempt by a terrific director, out of his element, finally results in a over the top film bore. Who really cares about this narcissistic playboy?, bravely played by Tom Cruise who resorts to smirking for too much of the film. Cameron Diaz does scores high job as a unsavory character. Why even remake this all too recent foreign flick?
  97. FatTony
    Dec 16, 2001
    10
    This is one of the greatest movies ever. I was overwelmed by its magic. Crowe has done it again a must see.
  98. DaveP.
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    I saw and viewed the film several times and I absolutely loved it. With Vanilla Sky, I was expecting something completely ripped-off, an uninspired remake. This, however, was not the film I was expecting. This didn't pretend to be a noir; it instead took the original themes and developed them in hyperdrive. It shows the same exact scenes as the original, yet it has a totally I saw and viewed the film several times and I absolutely loved it. With Vanilla Sky, I was expecting something completely ripped-off, an uninspired remake. This, however, was not the film I was expecting. This didn't pretend to be a noir; it instead took the original themes and developed them in hyperdrive. It shows the same exact scenes as the original, yet it has a totally different tone. Every misstep the film seemed to take ended up paying off BIG. This is a truly mind-boggling experience. This is from someone who said the same of the original. Expand
  99. PietroM.
    Dec 14, 2001
    9
    It keeps it's promise as a romantic/thriller...don't tell!
  100. Michael/RossFoster/Winters
    Dec 14, 2001
    9
    This film was incredible!!! Fascininating and I can't describe it's magic!!
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    38
    May not emerge as the biggest disaster of the holiday movie season, if only because we haven't yet seen all the other year-end films. But it is a huge high-energy misfire, bringing Tom Cruise, Penelope Cruz, and Cameron Crowe to earth with a thud.
  2. If Crowe's eyes are open, he seems to have directed most of Vanilla Sky with his mind wide shut.
  3. For all the filmmakers' efforts, this project is something of an artistic albatross. It's a conundrum that doesn't get answered until a sort of help-the-audience Cliffs Notes final scene, in which we learn Everything. But by then, more than a few of us may be wondering, was it all really worth the trouble?