Vanilla Sky

Vanilla Sky Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Snowboarding through life, David Aames (Cruise) appears to lead a charmed life. In one night David meets a girl of his dreams and loses her by making a small mistake. Thrust unexpectedly onto a roller-coaster ride of romance, comedy, suspicion, love, sex and dreams, David finds himself on aSnowboarding through life, David Aames (Cruise) appears to lead a charmed life. In one night David meets a girl of his dreams and loses her by making a small mistake. Thrust unexpectedly onto a roller-coaster ride of romance, comedy, suspicion, love, sex and dreams, David finds himself on a mind-bending search for his soul and discovers the precious, ephemeral nature of true love. (Paramount Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. A mostly fascinating, often frustrating, boldly uncommercial Hollywood version of a boldly uncommercial art film. It's very atypical of the previous work of both director and star, and it's as personal a film, I suspect, as Cruise will ever make.
  2. 75
    This is the kind of movie you don't want to analyze until you've seen it two times. Now that I've seen it twice, I think I understand it, or maybe not. Certainly it's entertaining as it rolls along.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    What works in a quirky foreign film can look silly with expansive Hollywood treatment. Crowe is smart enough to know this, so it's baffling he chose Vanilla over richer cinematic tastes.
  4. Though Vanilla Sky is smoothly and professionally done, even audiences who haven't seen the original will sense there is something off in the translation.
  5. For all the filmmakers' efforts, this project is something of an artistic albatross. It's a conundrum that doesn't get answered until a sort of help-the-audience Cliffs Notes final scene, in which we learn Everything. But by then, more than a few of us may be wondering, was it all really worth the trouble?
  6. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    38
    May not emerge as the biggest disaster of the holiday movie season, if only because we haven't yet seen all the other year-end films. But it is a huge high-energy misfire, bringing Tom Cruise, Penelope Cruz, and Cameron Crowe to earth with a thud.
  7. Overblown and idiotic, this new "erotic thriller" is neither erotic nor thrilling; it's long, boring and self-indulgent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 101
  2. Negative: 18 out of 101
  1. MarcJ
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen. Raises many questions and evokes even more feelings.
  2. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Wow. A 45% from critics?

    This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me
    Wow. A 45% from critics?

    This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me and stuck with me for years. To come here and see it scored below dreck like Doctor Dolittle and Zombie Strippers is an absolute insult.

    If you're a fan of high concept science fiction and have at least a triple digit IQ, you owe it to yourself to watch this movie and come to your own conclusions. Criminally underrated.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I disagree with many 'reviewers' and feel that this version is a much more polished movie than the original spanish movie. The soundtrack isI disagree with many 'reviewers' and feel that this version is a much more polished movie than the original spanish movie. The soundtrack is amazing and the suspense is real. An amazing achievement by Crowe. Expand
  4. EricT
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are hilarious; they remind me of AI, in particular the complaints about "too large of scope". If you can't wrap your head around epic, high-concept scifi, then go watch Animal House or something. This is a fantastically made and riveting film. Those scoring it on par with "The Hottie and Nottie" is deeply clueless. Expand
  5. Steven.
    Jan 24, 2007
    8
    Cameron Crowe really has outdone himself in some of the movies he's made. This movie is no exception. Let me just make a personal note Cameron Crowe really has outdone himself in some of the movies he's made. This movie is no exception. Let me just make a personal note before I make this review. I'm one of those people that saw this movie for the first time and understood everything, and something I have to note about is that this movie is a true Cameron Crowe masterpiece if you actually understand it. I really went through a lot of emotions when I watched this movie, this is one of the more cinematic movies I've seen. From the music to the very clever lines, and to the story pulling all together on one very well made elevator scene. This movie has a really cool vibe to it from the moment it starts. Plus the ending is mind blowing. I really love Paul Mccartney's song played in the credits, it really brings you down to earth after seeing such a breathtaking ending. If you want to watch this movie go ahead, I think that some of the critics were a little rough on this movie. Heres a hint to watching this though, when you reach a scene that shows Tom in an Elevator with a man in a suit, pay attention to this scene, because it explains everything about this movie. Happy Watching. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    7
    There is some psychological pressure along the movie, but the story do not seem natural and honestly it is a bit boring in the middle and theThere is some psychological pressure along the movie, but the story do not seem natural and honestly it is a bit boring in the middle and the ending from my point of view is the thing called deus ex machina, it does not look logical. Overall a decent movie. Expand
  7. ToddJ.
    Sep 2, 2002
    0
    The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Tom Cruise: All Films Considered

    Tom Cruise: All Films Considered Image
    Published: June 22, 2010
    It wasn't so long ago that Tom Cruise -- the star of this week's "Knight and Day" -- was a huge box office draw. We look back at his career to find the actor's best and worst films.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.