Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 24, 2011
    70
    Anderson spends most of his energy creating a mood - making "Vanishing" more cerebral than white-knuckle, though a few more shrieks (mine) might have been nice.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 18, 2011
    70
    A highly respectable piece of genre entertainment, one with a little more class than most.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Feb 15, 2011
    70
    It is creepy enough to make you hope the theater parking lot is brightly lit.
  4. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Feb 24, 2011
    63
    The film's grand concept is betrayed by Anthony Jaswinski's clumsy, mediocre script and by Anderson's inability to manage the talents of a great cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    Not as elaborate or entertaining as Anderson's last feature, "Transsiberian," but it's got enough shocks for an entirely respectable addition to the post-apocalyptic genre.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 18, 2011
    60
    It's a slow time at the cineplex, and the sinister scares served up by Brad Anderson are just spooky enough to freak out undemanding horror fans.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Feb 17, 2011
    60
    The story, which starts promisingly only to stop, restart, sputter and come to a wheezing, disappointing puff of nada, proves the least satisfying part of the whole. The finale certainly isn't earned, but all the nasty, tiny jolts throughout the movie do prick the skin nicely.
  8. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Feb 17, 2011
    58
    Vanishing On 7th Street does work well as a kind of mood-piece, observing all the ways we surround ourselves with the illusion of warmth and security, before the shadows creep in.
  9. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 15, 2011
    50
    The actors work hard to convey terror-especially Mr. Christensen, who proved he could act when he played disgraced journalist Stephen Glass in the marvelous, underrated "Shattered Glass"-but the panic that overtakes the characters never quite grips the audience.
  10. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Feb 14, 2011
    50
    Whatever one's view of Christian evangelical beliefs, from strictly a horror-film standpoint the movie needs a better villain.
  11. Reviewed by: Tim Cogshell
    Feb 18, 2011
    40
    The dark is not threatening, and metaphorical darkness is even less so; as a result this movie is not particularly scary.
  12. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 15, 2011
    40
    Please. If you're going to ask audiences to submit to a dim theater themselves, at least greet them with the proper monster they paid for.
  13. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 16, 2011
    25
    Anderson has made a zombie movie without the zombies.
  14. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 24, 2011
    0
    This is a terrible movie. It has no business being as terrible as it is, because it boasts a perfectly acceptable horror premise and a perfectly acceptable cast.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    5
    "The Vanishing" is a unique story molded into a simple surprise. You expect something big, but only get that one item you were expecting."The Vanishing" is a unique story molded into a simple surprise. You expect something big, but only get that one item you were expecting. That's just how this film went. Take it or leave it. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I guess we now know where the so-so-but-still-entertaining 2011 movie "Into the Darkness" got it's premise: Brad Anderson's obscure "Vanishing on 7th Street." Anderson's other endeavors "The Machinist" (Hey, Christine Bale can get really skinny!), Session 9 (yes, abandoned mental health institutions are very creepy!) and TransSiberian (don't trust the suave Spanish guy or the Russians!) are all pretty good. And the premise of this flick is also decent. BUT SPOILER ALERT, and, CAVEAT! If you haven't seen the movie, watch it before you read my review. And if you have never seen the classic "Ghost" or don't know what "The Rapture" is, you'll probably really enjoy this flick. If this applies to you, go here for a good review: http://www.fearnet.com/news/review/tiff-2010-review-vanishing-7th-street

    The premise starts out promising. Nearly everybody disappears at one point leaving just their clothes behind. The "survivors" need to stay in the light which continues to dwindle as the movie progresses (batteries don't last that long, "daytime" gets shorter and shorter).

    Then, it get's very derivative. The ominous shadows which constantly encroach the antagonists sometimes appear as human figures. Anderson clearly saw the classic movie "Ghost," and the "shadow-monsters" have the same look-and-feel and ominous groans as "Ghost's" shadow-monsters had as they dragged the bad guys to hell. Then Thandie Newton's character starts praying and the shadow monsters retreat. People disappear and leave their clothes behind and that doesn't ring a "religious" bell? If you don't remember "The Rapture," it was an evangelistic (and absurd) belief that God will whisk the virtuous to heaven wherever they may be while leaving the rest of the planet to rot in hell. Well, I guess most of the planet is virtuous given that the majority of people get "beamed up" leaving their clothes behind, and a handful of folks are left to fight off the shadow-monsters. And if you are still unconvinced, why was the only survivor a kid who curled up in a church and the only other person left was a little girl (the new "Adam and Eve" to populate the planet). And they road off into the sunset, I mean, "shadows," together.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    1
    What a poor movie. That movie even has a story.
    At the end i told to my girlfriend "Oh god, sorry". Every fight she remember me "You make me
    What a poor movie. That movie even has a story.
    At the end i told to my girlfriend "Oh god, sorry". Every fight she remember me "You make me watch the Vanishing on 7th street".

    So deduce what wonderful that movie is
    Full Review »