Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 22, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
45
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RedfordstoNov 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The concept was good: show different perspectives of the same event. The problem is that it's unrealistic. Not the attempt on the President, but the terrorists plan would never unfold in such a way. First, the traitor secret service member is becoming cliche. Further, the secret service takes regular polygraphs to ensure loyalty. Second, the single special forces guy who is able to take out secret service control single-handed. The secret service are some of the best trained agents in the world, many of which have special forces training. It's ridiculous to think one guy could kidnap the President. And for some reason, no one was wearing bulletproof vests. Next, the meeting point had to be only a short way from the target so Forest Whitaker could save the little girl, but there is no way a terrorist group would do anything but run as far as possible. Lastly and what was the hardest to believe was that a terrorist who just orchestrated multiple bombings and murders who swerve and endanger his plan when a child stepped in front of his car rather than simply run her down. He most likely just killed a dozen children with bombs, but he hesitates to run another down. It's just not common sense. So while a good premise, terrible terrible execution. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
HPMar 5, 2008
From a reality standpoint this gets a 0, but from a fun time in the theater, at least after the 4th reset, this movie satisfies. Are there things I would do to make this better? Yes there's a long list, but going in with low From a reality standpoint this gets a 0, but from a fun time in the theater, at least after the 4th reset, this movie satisfies. Are there things I would do to make this better? Yes there's a long list, but going in with low expectations, I enjoyed the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
caseydibbsFeb 25, 2008
slightly entertaining, however mostly from the reaction by the audience! if you are ready to watch the same scene for an hour, with slightly different perspectives. the twist is actually pretty good, however there are so many holes with slightly entertaining, however mostly from the reaction by the audience! if you are ready to watch the same scene for an hour, with slightly different perspectives. the twist is actually pretty good, however there are so many holes with actors and scenes, that it makes for a dull ending. the line at the end with quaid is comical, i couldnt countain my laughter! At the end you realize that the car chase was not up to par, that you didnt know where the other supposed main actors and actresses went like sigourney weaver, and the secret service during the chase. it could have been a hit, but sadly there is no top performer to save the movie, the trailer is about the only thing here worth watching, as it usually always is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Aug 6, 2008
An interesting comcept is developed fairly well but never takes full advantage of its potential. Although I couldn't believe a minute of it, I wasn't bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MattG.Jan 5, 2009
This film starts very promisingly but quickly becomes increasingly tedious and unbelievable. There is some entertainment to be had from watching it but ultimately it leaves you feeling unsatisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrettPhillipsFeb 23, 2008
O.K, I gotta get this off my chest first. This movie could have been soooooo much more. I'm a huge fan of whodunnits, especially one with presidents and car chases. So, naturally, I figured that this movie would be awesome. O.K, I gotta get this off my chest first. This movie could have been soooooo much more. I'm a huge fan of whodunnits, especially one with presidents and car chases. So, naturally, I figured that this movie would be awesome. Unfortunately, this film came off as dry, and a little bit cheesy. Dennis Quaid, who I think is a pretty good actor, was so corny, I couldn't really listen to what he was saying with a straight face. Also, watching what we've seen before 8 times, was unique, but the directors could have mixed it up a little. It always ended with the same blinking digital lights. The whole theater was laughing by the last one. All that being said, it has a few moments where it twinkles. Not shines, but twinkles. Forest Whitaker was by far the best actor in the whole movie. I actually cared about what was happening to him, unlike most everyone else. In addition, the twists were kinda neat. You don't really suspect most of them (though there are a few that were so obvious, my 10-year old brother guessed 'em in the first half hour.) But most of all, in the last few minutes, there is about a 20 second shot that...well..I don't even want to give away any details. Did I mention that some parts twinkle? This shot is a freakin' supernova. I can't stress enough how amazing this last shot is; probably on par with the infamous "Exploding White House" from Independence Day, (though nothing like it in substance.) Too bad, it'll remain buried in this sub-par movie. Anyway, I digress. You'd probably want to spend your money on something else, like Be Kind Rewind. Better yet, stay home, and watch Independence Day. At least there, the president kicks some @$$. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EllenClancyFeb 24, 2008
A strange, less than credible mix of Groundhog Day and Crash--without the literate screenplay and superior acting--Vantage Point wants us to believe that Dennis Quaid is apparently from the planet Krypton and is completely industructible and A strange, less than credible mix of Groundhog Day and Crash--without the literate screenplay and superior acting--Vantage Point wants us to believe that Dennis Quaid is apparently from the planet Krypton and is completely industructible and that stampeding Spaniards can miraculously avoid runaway, high speed police cars, ambulances and gunshots. The audience in my theater literally talked to the screen during the last two "rewinds" in frustration--and the little girl, Anna, elicited giggles for her improbable and oh-so-obvious plot placement. This could have been a very interesting film in the hands of a better writer and director. Instead, Forrest Whitaker looks lost and embarrassed, and the starry cast has to work hard to sell this dialogue. I wanted this to work--but it's a bit of cheese. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillBFeb 27, 2008
You have to go into this movie knowing it uses the Groundhog Day scenario, but you don't have to go in hoping to get more than you asked for, which is a repetitive thrill ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
alexSMar 1, 2008
The movie was basically ok in terms of action however, I would like to point out that the next time a film is supposed to take place in a white european country such as Spain, that they shouldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ThomasB.Mar 1, 2008
I saw Vantage Point tonight. It's sad that this light action film made every critic wonder why it was "no Rashomon." Here's a tip: there hasn't been another Rashomon since Rashomon. I'm not saying this was a classic I saw Vantage Point tonight. It's sad that this light action film made every critic wonder why it was "no Rashomon." Here's a tip: there hasn't been another Rashomon since Rashomon. I'm not saying this was a classic action film, but it was hardly "dreadful" or an "unholy mess," as Travers and Morgenstern complain. Ryan Stewart provides the most accurate adjective: "serviceable." It's 40 probably should have been a 58-59. Nothing mindblowing, but satisfactory. I might not give it my fullest recommendation, but it was certainly not, as the metacritic score would have you believe, worse than Fred Claus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MiguelJ.Mar 2, 2008
Good concept/Bad execution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
kayleighmsMar 28, 2008
While the multiple
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DeniseB.Jan 12, 2009
Bearing in mind that I did not pay to see this movie (it was an On Demand feature), I give it a solid 6. My advice: watch the beginning ten minutes or so, in order to get a line on the plot and the players. Then skip forward to the last Bearing in mind that I did not pay to see this movie (it was an On Demand feature), I give it a solid 6. My advice: watch the beginning ten minutes or so, in order to get a line on the plot and the players. Then skip forward to the last twenty minutes, which is filled by a fantastic chase scene and implausible but satisfying ending. The middle bits are bloody boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulMFeb 23, 2008
There
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JudyTFeb 23, 2008
Had the possibility of being an interesting political thriller but the gimmick seemed to be a lot more important than telling a good story with decent characters. Ms. Weaver and Mr. Whitaker talents were wasted on this junk of a screenplay. Had the possibility of being an interesting political thriller but the gimmick seemed to be a lot more important than telling a good story with decent characters. Ms. Weaver and Mr. Whitaker talents were wasted on this junk of a screenplay. The so called thrilling, surprise ending I guess after the second rerun and the more they showed the events the more it seemed like a really bad rerun. Too bad lost potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
tankjJan 16, 2009
Nothing special here. I don't understand how Forrest Whitaker can win an Oscar and then do this junk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MoviebuffreviewJan 30, 2011
Vantage Point is a difficult movie for me to rate. It has good action, acting, and a good enough premise. However, going back in time 8 times makes the movie feel tedious and the conclusion is not satisfying enough to make the long 2 hoursVantage Point is a difficult movie for me to rate. It has good action, acting, and a good enough premise. However, going back in time 8 times makes the movie feel tedious and the conclusion is not satisfying enough to make the long 2 hours worth the wait. Overall, it isn't a bad movie, but compared to what it could have been, it is weak and unsatisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
One of the only films I've seen that starts out as a solidly written piece of cinema and gradually turns into a maelstrom of phoned in plot twists and forced dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
VyrasJul 23, 2013
Interesting, unique way to tell a story with a good cast. The different "Vantage Points" though get kind of annoying around the third time, once all the characters come together things move very smoothly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysJun 20, 2014
Vantage Point has an intriguing premise, but the execution is kind of poor. The acting is okay, bit the movie could've been a lot more than it is with a better screenplay, and a better director. After about 30 minutes, the movie loses itsVantage Point has an intriguing premise, but the execution is kind of poor. The acting is okay, bit the movie could've been a lot more than it is with a better screenplay, and a better director. After about 30 minutes, the movie loses its freshness, although it picks up a little after the real story is revealed a bit more. It goes from a repetitive thriller flick to a generic action movie (which isn't much better). Even for a movie about the same story shown from different points of view, it feels repetitive and dry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 22, 2015
" Vantage Point" was an electrifying movie but they repeat the same scene but with the experience of each protagonist of the movie , but was a bit low expectations , because the script or the degree of difficulty of the movie was good but it" Vantage Point" was an electrifying movie but they repeat the same scene but with the experience of each protagonist of the movie , but was a bit low expectations , because the script or the degree of difficulty of the movie was good but it was disappointing . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews