Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 22, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
70
Mixed:
45
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KalebF.Jul 2, 2008
Very realistic situation of a thriller. Reminds me of Real-life 9/11. Very intelegent way of perception this film has.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CCJan 21, 2009
I don't get why this movie was panned. I thought I would be bored to tears because of the way it was described by the critics, but I found it very interesting and entertaining, enough to want to know how it ends. And it does end I don't get why this movie was panned. I thought I would be bored to tears because of the way it was described by the critics, but I found it very interesting and entertaining, enough to want to know how it ends. And it does end satisfactorily, which is something I can't say for a lot of movies lately (Spanglish, Be Kind, Rewind, anyone?) Certainly not worse than most action films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Feb 20, 2008
The movie takes you to a thrilling ride only to take you back again without finishing, leaving you hanging. And when that cycle ends, you are blown away. Spectacular action sequences, brilliant editing, relevant plot, though too unrealistic. The movie takes you to a thrilling ride only to take you back again without finishing, leaving you hanging. And when that cycle ends, you are blown away. Spectacular action sequences, brilliant editing, relevant plot, though too unrealistic. But it succeeds more than any commercial post 911 film has done, because it immerses you on what the war on terror really is for normal people like us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheMovieCriticMar 7, 2008
This was an amazing production......it was a captivating thriller that kept you guessing until the end. Well executed and masterfully assembled. no moment of pause and amazing action scenes mixed with clever plot planning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HappySmithFeb 24, 2008
By far one of the greatest movies i've ever seen. It was suspensful and it had me itching for more. It was extremely creative that they showed the same thing 8 times. Different views of course. Dennis Quaid was extremely good and they By far one of the greatest movies i've ever seen. It was suspensful and it had me itching for more. It was extremely creative that they showed the same thing 8 times. Different views of course. Dennis Quaid was extremely good and they other actors were too. I gave it a ten out of ten, those who didn't didn't appreciate its creativity and action! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Granger44Mar 10, 2008
Not the best movie, but definitely kept me entertained. I liked that each viewpoint brought to light new information while including elements (including off camera sound effects!!) from the previous view points. However, while I'm Not the best movie, but definitely kept me entertained. I liked that each viewpoint brought to light new information while including elements (including off camera sound effects!!) from the previous view points. However, while I'm normally one to forgive some continuity and other editing gaffs, this movie suffers from some biggies. They usually only momentarily jarred me out of my focus on the movie, but it was frequent and obvious enough to be very annoying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimCMar 3, 2008
There was a lot of action and all the vantage points fit together. It was great!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArtMar 6, 2008
Not as bad as the critics claim. Just enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisA.Apr 21, 2008
AMAZING thriller and car chase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MLMay 20, 2008
Saw this at a $2 theatre...besides the rip in the screen, I was on the edge of my seat for the complete last half of the movie. The characters seemed to fit well into their parts and the car chase scene was well done. The conspiracy theme Saw this at a $2 theatre...besides the rip in the screen, I was on the edge of my seat for the complete last half of the movie. The characters seemed to fit well into their parts and the car chase scene was well done. The conspiracy theme wasn't too disturbing except for the poor untrained Secret Service actors...(they really are alot tougher and smarter than directors make them to be ((I'm ex-military)). I really enjoyed the last few minutes...how all the parts collided together...nice twist. Fairly nice plot altogether. Kudos to William Hurt's character for being the gentleman president with a little common sense and straight thinking. -not a warhawk, nor weak-knee kind of guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterK.Jul 3, 2008
Many people won't like the narrative arc, but I was totally mesmerized by it. The car case blows its rivals out of the water!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VasilikiP.Aug 16, 2008
The best movie since '' The Rock '' and '' Heat ''. Surprising and interesting. A good cast and good interpretations. Nice soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanZFeb 22, 2008
I think it would be a wise choice for people to actually watch a movie they are voting and reviewing before they do said voting/reviewing, please, kthxbye.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chadsFeb 23, 2008
This movie is not nearly as bad as the critics say and a good few of these user reviews say. If you are looking for a solid action movie and aren't expecting the Oscar winner for best picture then there is no doubt that you will enjoy This movie is not nearly as bad as the critics say and a good few of these user reviews say. If you are looking for a solid action movie and aren't expecting the Oscar winner for best picture then there is no doubt that you will enjoy vantage point. The car chase scene is very bourne esque and while the first 1/3 to first 1/2 of the movie is a little redundant with all the rewinding and then reviewing of nearly the same thing over again from a different vantage point the second half definitely makes up for everything and is extremely good. But like i said, its a good big screen action movie but not a departed or gladiator or braveheart type of quality movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChuckBarrFeb 24, 2008
Only time you see the same explosion five different times. This movie goes fast if you like action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcKFeb 25, 2008
I didn't think it was awful, yes it was drawn out, and a little predictable at some parts, but it was mostly well acted, good special effects and action, and a decent plot. it was an average film that i would of been a little more I didn't think it was awful, yes it was drawn out, and a little predictable at some parts, but it was mostly well acted, good special effects and action, and a decent plot. it was an average film that i would of been a little more disappointed if I had paid to see it. Also it draws out to a point that is boring, but brings you back in towards the end of the middle Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronMFeb 25, 2008
This movie deserves an 8, but i'm giving it a nine to increase the user vote. I think this movie achieved everything it set out to do. I don't think the same story would have been suspenseful or dramatic enough if told from This movie deserves an 8, but i'm giving it a nine to increase the user vote. I think this movie achieved everything it set out to do. I don't think the same story would have been suspenseful or dramatic enough if told from linearly or from a single point of view. It never got nauseated and there were quite a few edge of your seat scenes. Was it a perfect thriller? Of course not. Audiences have gotten used to the formulas and are smart enough to know it has to be tied up somehow. But stylistically, the movie worked and that's enough for a solid thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaSFeb 25, 2008
Exciting and smart and fun and full of action. I enjoyed every minute. I was surprised by all the negative reviews to be honest. I thought it was purely enjoyable. I wished the end was a little less "Hollywood" and stuck more with the Exciting and smart and fun and full of action. I enjoyed every minute. I was surprised by all the negative reviews to be honest. I thought it was purely enjoyable. I wished the end was a little less "Hollywood" and stuck more with the structure of the beginning. But overall, I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandanDiMauroFeb 26, 2008
the best movie ever. Its a great brian teaser. You cant watch it without finishing it. You should go see it. You will love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
COryFeb 27, 2008
Yes the first few vantages were not nessesary, but other than that this was a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KimL.Mar 15, 2008
Captivating and entertaining all the way through! But like most Hollywood output limited character depth and no reason for being other than just entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MitchellK.Mar 17, 2008
Before I saw this picture, as with all the movies I see, I checked Metacritic and noted that the scores from both critics and moviegoers were mediocre. My wife and I had to pick one for the night and we decided to try regardless. We both did Before I saw this picture, as with all the movies I see, I checked Metacritic and noted that the scores from both critics and moviegoers were mediocre. My wife and I had to pick one for the night and we decided to try regardless. We both did enjoy this movie. It was a thrilling story gaining momentum throughout the picture. I partially believe we liked it because we lowered our hopes due to the lackluster reviews. I think we should all try this technique before we see new movies. The fact is that like the old saying goes: "They just don't make em' like they used to" couldn't be more applicable than to describe modern Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenJMar 2, 2008
The editing is outstanding and the narrative crafting to piece together such a complex story is an amazing feat. Of course there was little back story... of course the actors didn't get much time to develop deep characterizations, but The editing is outstanding and the narrative crafting to piece together such a complex story is an amazing feat. Of course there was little back story... of course the actors didn't get much time to develop deep characterizations, but this is an action movie not an art house flick. Paul Greengrass shows once again that he is one of the most adept storytellers in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulG.Mar 22, 2008
Great Action Movie , very cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DC.Mar 9, 2008
I just saw this movie last nite, and personally found it to be a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BangellApr 21, 2008
A unique and interesting film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamO.Apr 25, 2008
This movie was very well composed and put together. The action and suspense slowly combine together to form the story and the driector does this very well. 10/10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauricioL.Jul 2, 2008
interesting movie, they look at it i lots of points of view and u really kick yourself for not noticing it , keep your eyes open and u will probably like it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
samdFeb 22, 2008
This movie was off tha hook.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TaylorCFeb 22, 2008
I was entirely ecstatic to see this movie, but was shocked when I visited Metacritic to see the low score. I began to second guess my plans to see it. I went anyway, and was not disappointed in the least. The rewinds to the new vantage I was entirely ecstatic to see this movie, but was shocked when I visited Metacritic to see the low score. I began to second guess my plans to see it. I went anyway, and was not disappointed in the least. The rewinds to the new vantage points get old after the first 2 or 3, but once you get past all the vantage points the movie gets exciting and entertaining. Not great, but not as bad as the critics may make it seem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnGavinFeb 22, 2008
This has to be one of the greatest movies I've seen in awhile. And I dont enjoy seeing movies and am hard to please when it comes to them. But this was very well done. Seeing that I am the only one who really thinks this,you probally This has to be one of the greatest movies I've seen in awhile. And I dont enjoy seeing movies and am hard to please when it comes to them. But this was very well done. Seeing that I am the only one who really thinks this,you probally wont take it seriously. But hey your loss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EliasProdigyFeb 23, 2008
The movie had a very interesting way of presenting the plot. Good action. Got a bit dull in the middle but made up for it in the end with twists in the plot. Very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousMCFeb 25, 2008
Starts out brilliantly with an intense and emotional scene. Then you watch it again from another perspective and you think, that's pretty cool. Then you see it from another perspective and you think, oh I guess that's what was Starts out brilliantly with an intense and emotional scene. Then you watch it again from another perspective and you think, that's pretty cool. Then you see it from another perspective and you think, oh I guess that's what was happening. Then you see it from another perspective and you see a little more of the puzzle, but the whole movie starts to seem comical. Then it starts over again from another perspective, and you really don't care about the shocking twist because the entire theater is laughing you have to see it again. Then you see it from the bad guy's persective, and 2 bad guys look exactly the same, and you've scene the scene a million times and it's more humorous than dramatic. Then they finally pull it all together perfectly, except for some plot wholes relating to the bad guys' motivation. In the end, the last 20 minutes are good enough you don't care. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
vidManFeb 27, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. I thought it had an interesting approach to tell its story and it was very exciting. Much better than any Bourne movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottHMar 22, 2008
While the concept of reliving the event from different perspectives seemed odd at first, the film managed to tie people and plot together once there were enough perspectives to see. This picture was a solid thriller, and by most accounts, While the concept of reliving the event from different perspectives seemed odd at first, the film managed to tie people and plot together once there were enough perspectives to see. This picture was a solid thriller, and by most accounts, was better than most of the genre recently seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TheQuietGamerJan 10, 2012
An interesting movie, with likable characters and an interesting plot that had me dying to see how it ended, some moments however feel unnecessary, and it does take a little while to get interesting, and the going back in time to see it fromAn interesting movie, with likable characters and an interesting plot that had me dying to see how it ended, some moments however feel unnecessary, and it does take a little while to get interesting, and the going back in time to see it from another persons point of view and can be a little jarring, and seems unnecessary until you finally see why they are doing it, but it all comes together in the end to create a surprisingly enjoyable movie, but only a certain audience will like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
After the 5th take of the same scene from a different "Vantage Point" started to become a bit annoyed, but the ending saved it. Vantage point can get a bit annoying with about an hour of the same scene but of different angles, yet if youAfter the 5th take of the same scene from a different "Vantage Point" started to become a bit annoyed, but the ending saved it. Vantage point can get a bit annoying with about an hour of the same scene but of different angles, yet if you stick with it, it turns out to be a fast, action packed who done it that should please most people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonNov 12, 2013
If there’s anything to complain about, besides the script’s occasional dependence on coincidence and unrealistic behavior, it’s that the movie’s vantage point gimmick serves no real purpose. It’s there because the script is too lazy to weaveIf there’s anything to complain about, besides the script’s occasional dependence on coincidence and unrealistic behavior, it’s that the movie’s vantage point gimmick serves no real purpose. It’s there because the script is too lazy to weave all its characters together into one narrative, and not because they’ve thought of some unique and interesting way to tell this story. It works, but Vantage Point would have worked just as well told traditionally, maybe even better. Sure the movie's multiple viewpoint contrivance is just an excuse to get to a car chase, but it's a good car chase. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrewgarcia732Nov 9, 2013
If you ever see this movie at a garage sale as I did, you should buy it. I loved this movie; it's interesting and unique. A very good film with an excellent ending. Entertaining and "riveting". The action's especially top-notch, with a greatIf you ever see this movie at a garage sale as I did, you should buy it. I loved this movie; it's interesting and unique. A very good film with an excellent ending. Entertaining and "riveting". The action's especially top-notch, with a great car chase. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JorjiCostavaApr 20, 2014
A clever, original yet unique thriller. While the acting is rather average, the film's narrative structure is very clever and the plot has a few well-executed twists, as well as a gripping finale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeFeb 29, 2016
With really great acting, well made action scenes and an interesting scenario, Vantage Point is a movie that hit pretty hard.Even though there is some minor plot holes and some situations are unbelievable, it's still a good entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews