Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 22, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 161 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
70
Mixed:
44
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KalebF.Jul 2, 2008
Very realistic situation of a thriller. Reminds me of Real-life 9/11. Very intelegent way of perception this film has.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CCJan 21, 2009
I don't get why this movie was panned. I thought I would be bored to tears because of the way it was described by the critics, but I found it very interesting and entertaining, enough to want to know how it ends. And it does end I don't get why this movie was panned. I thought I would be bored to tears because of the way it was described by the critics, but I found it very interesting and entertaining, enough to want to know how it ends. And it does end satisfactorily, which is something I can't say for a lot of movies lately (Spanglish, Be Kind, Rewind, anyone?) Certainly not worse than most action films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Feb 20, 2008
The movie takes you to a thrilling ride only to take you back again without finishing, leaving you hanging. And when that cycle ends, you are blown away. Spectacular action sequences, brilliant editing, relevant plot, though too unrealistic. The movie takes you to a thrilling ride only to take you back again without finishing, leaving you hanging. And when that cycle ends, you are blown away. Spectacular action sequences, brilliant editing, relevant plot, though too unrealistic. But it succeeds more than any commercial post 911 film has done, because it immerses you on what the war on terror really is for normal people like us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheMovieCriticMar 7, 2008
This was an amazing production......it was a captivating thriller that kept you guessing until the end. Well executed and masterfully assembled. no moment of pause and amazing action scenes mixed with clever plot planning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HappySmithFeb 24, 2008
By far one of the greatest movies i've ever seen. It was suspensful and it had me itching for more. It was extremely creative that they showed the same thing 8 times. Different views of course. Dennis Quaid was extremely good and they By far one of the greatest movies i've ever seen. It was suspensful and it had me itching for more. It was extremely creative that they showed the same thing 8 times. Different views of course. Dennis Quaid was extremely good and they other actors were too. I gave it a ten out of ten, those who didn't didn't appreciate its creativity and action! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Granger44Mar 10, 2008
Not the best movie, but definitely kept me entertained. I liked that each viewpoint brought to light new information while including elements (including off camera sound effects!!) from the previous view points. However, while I'm Not the best movie, but definitely kept me entertained. I liked that each viewpoint brought to light new information while including elements (including off camera sound effects!!) from the previous view points. However, while I'm normally one to forgive some continuity and other editing gaffs, this movie suffers from some biggies. They usually only momentarily jarred me out of my focus on the movie, but it was frequent and obvious enough to be very annoying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimCMar 3, 2008
There was a lot of action and all the vantage points fit together. It was great!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArtMar 6, 2008
Not as bad as the critics claim. Just enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisA.Apr 21, 2008
AMAZING thriller and car chase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MLMay 20, 2008
Saw this at a $2 theatre...besides the rip in the screen, I was on the edge of my seat for the complete last half of the movie. The characters seemed to fit well into their parts and the car chase scene was well done. The conspiracy theme Saw this at a $2 theatre...besides the rip in the screen, I was on the edge of my seat for the complete last half of the movie. The characters seemed to fit well into their parts and the car chase scene was well done. The conspiracy theme wasn't too disturbing except for the poor untrained Secret Service actors...(they really are alot tougher and smarter than directors make them to be ((I'm ex-military)). I really enjoyed the last few minutes...how all the parts collided together...nice twist. Fairly nice plot altogether. Kudos to William Hurt's character for being the gentleman president with a little common sense and straight thinking. -not a warhawk, nor weak-knee kind of guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterK.Jul 3, 2008
Many people won't like the narrative arc, but I was totally mesmerized by it. The car case blows its rivals out of the water!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VasilikiP.Aug 16, 2008
The best movie since '' The Rock '' and '' Heat ''. Surprising and interesting. A good cast and good interpretations. Nice soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanZFeb 22, 2008
I think it would be a wise choice for people to actually watch a movie they are voting and reviewing before they do said voting/reviewing, please, kthxbye.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chadsFeb 23, 2008
This movie is not nearly as bad as the critics say and a good few of these user reviews say. If you are looking for a solid action movie and aren't expecting the Oscar winner for best picture then there is no doubt that you will enjoy This movie is not nearly as bad as the critics say and a good few of these user reviews say. If you are looking for a solid action movie and aren't expecting the Oscar winner for best picture then there is no doubt that you will enjoy vantage point. The car chase scene is very bourne esque and while the first 1/3 to first 1/2 of the movie is a little redundant with all the rewinding and then reviewing of nearly the same thing over again from a different vantage point the second half definitely makes up for everything and is extremely good. But like i said, its a good big screen action movie but not a departed or gladiator or braveheart type of quality movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChuckBarrFeb 24, 2008
Only time you see the same explosion five different times. This movie goes fast if you like action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcKFeb 25, 2008
I didn't think it was awful, yes it was drawn out, and a little predictable at some parts, but it was mostly well acted, good special effects and action, and a decent plot. it was an average film that i would of been a little more I didn't think it was awful, yes it was drawn out, and a little predictable at some parts, but it was mostly well acted, good special effects and action, and a decent plot. it was an average film that i would of been a little more disappointed if I had paid to see it. Also it draws out to a point that is boring, but brings you back in towards the end of the middle Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronMFeb 25, 2008
This movie deserves an 8, but i'm giving it a nine to increase the user vote. I think this movie achieved everything it set out to do. I don't think the same story would have been suspenseful or dramatic enough if told from This movie deserves an 8, but i'm giving it a nine to increase the user vote. I think this movie achieved everything it set out to do. I don't think the same story would have been suspenseful or dramatic enough if told from linearly or from a single point of view. It never got nauseated and there were quite a few edge of your seat scenes. Was it a perfect thriller? Of course not. Audiences have gotten used to the formulas and are smart enough to know it has to be tied up somehow. But stylistically, the movie worked and that's enough for a solid thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaSFeb 25, 2008
Exciting and smart and fun and full of action. I enjoyed every minute. I was surprised by all the negative reviews to be honest. I thought it was purely enjoyable. I wished the end was a little less "Hollywood" and stuck more with the Exciting and smart and fun and full of action. I enjoyed every minute. I was surprised by all the negative reviews to be honest. I thought it was purely enjoyable. I wished the end was a little less "Hollywood" and stuck more with the structure of the beginning. But overall, I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandanDiMauroFeb 26, 2008
the best movie ever. Its a great brian teaser. You cant watch it without finishing it. You should go see it. You will love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
COryFeb 27, 2008
Yes the first few vantages were not nessesary, but other than that this was a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KimL.Mar 15, 2008
Captivating and entertaining all the way through! But like most Hollywood output limited character depth and no reason for being other than just entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MitchellK.Mar 17, 2008
Before I saw this picture, as with all the movies I see, I checked Metacritic and noted that the scores from both critics and moviegoers were mediocre. My wife and I had to pick one for the night and we decided to try regardless. We both did Before I saw this picture, as with all the movies I see, I checked Metacritic and noted that the scores from both critics and moviegoers were mediocre. My wife and I had to pick one for the night and we decided to try regardless. We both did enjoy this movie. It was a thrilling story gaining momentum throughout the picture. I partially believe we liked it because we lowered our hopes due to the lackluster reviews. I think we should all try this technique before we see new movies. The fact is that like the old saying goes: "They just don't make em' like they used to" couldn't be more applicable than to describe modern Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenJMar 2, 2008
The editing is outstanding and the narrative crafting to piece together such a complex story is an amazing feat. Of course there was little back story... of course the actors didn't get much time to develop deep characterizations, but The editing is outstanding and the narrative crafting to piece together such a complex story is an amazing feat. Of course there was little back story... of course the actors didn't get much time to develop deep characterizations, but this is an action movie not an art house flick. Paul Greengrass shows once again that he is one of the most adept storytellers in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulG.Mar 22, 2008
Great Action Movie , very cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DC.Mar 9, 2008
I just saw this movie last nite, and personally found it to be a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BangellApr 21, 2008
A unique and interesting film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamO.Apr 25, 2008
This movie was very well composed and put together. The action and suspense slowly combine together to form the story and the driector does this very well. 10/10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauricioL.Jul 2, 2008
interesting movie, they look at it i lots of points of view and u really kick yourself for not noticing it , keep your eyes open and u will probably like it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
samdFeb 22, 2008
This movie was off tha hook.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TaylorCFeb 22, 2008
I was entirely ecstatic to see this movie, but was shocked when I visited Metacritic to see the low score. I began to second guess my plans to see it. I went anyway, and was not disappointed in the least. The rewinds to the new vantage I was entirely ecstatic to see this movie, but was shocked when I visited Metacritic to see the low score. I began to second guess my plans to see it. I went anyway, and was not disappointed in the least. The rewinds to the new vantage points get old after the first 2 or 3, but once you get past all the vantage points the movie gets exciting and entertaining. Not great, but not as bad as the critics may make it seem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful