Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Columbia Pictures' action-packed thriller Vantage Point, eight strangers with eight different points of view try to unlock the truth behind an assassination attempt on the president of the United States. Thomas Barnes and Kent Taylor are two Secret Service agents assigned to protect President Ashton at a landmark summit on the global war on terror. When President Ashton is shot moments after his arrival in Spain, chaos ensues and disparate lives collide in the hunt for the assassin. In the crowd is Howard Lewis, an American tourist who thinks he's captured the shooter on his camcorder while videotaping the event for his kids back home. Also there, relaying the historic event to millions of TV viewers across the globe, is American TV news producer Rex Brooks. As they and others reveal their stories, the pieces of the puzzle will fall into place...and it will become apparent that shocking motivations lurk just beneath the surface. (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Flat-out one of the more exciting and original gut-busters that Hollywood has produced in many a month. It's virtually all action, but the action is never mindless and it is full of marvelous surprises every step of the way.
  2. 70
    Is it art? Not remotely. But, up to the final scenes, it’s a tremendous piece of engineering. After all, the narratives have to synch up visually, which can’t be easy to manage. And the hurtling force of Vantage Point is fun to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Ryan Stewart
    63
    When Vantage Point is staying with Quaid and Fox as they hunt the suspected assassins (including the arrestingly beautiful Israeli actress Ayelet Zurer) it's a perfectly serviceable thriller with high production values and some better-than-average car chases.
  4. An overly gimmicky and fatally repetitive terrorist thriller that quickly wears out its welcome.
  5. 38
    By the end, Vantage Point is such a unholy mess of drooling sentiment and sloppy loose ends that you’ll hate yourself for being suckered in.
  6. 30
    What you won’t be able to ignore is the ridiculous way Vantage Point’s brings everything to an end.
  7. Why, beating the audience about the ears, eyes and brain with essentially the same sequence of events from eight characters' points of view, none of which adds much more than deafening hysteria and identically dreadful music. The filmmakers seem to have missed the point that each re-enactment in "Rashomon" provides new and conflicting information. It makes you wonder if they studied the wrong movie. Maybe they rented "Rush Hour," or a video on Rosh Hashanah.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 90
  2. Negative: 31 out of 90
  1. KalebF.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Very realistic situation of a thriller. Reminds me of Real-life 9/11. Very intelegent way of perception this film has.
  2. RJS.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    The movie takes you to a thrilling ride only to take you back again without finishing, leaving you hanging. And when that cycle ends, you are blown away. Spectacular action sequences, brilliant editing, relevant plot, though too unrealistic. But it succeeds more than any commercial post 911 film has done, because it immerses you on what the war on terror really is for normal people like us. Expand
  3. ML
    May 20, 2008
    8
    Saw this at a $2 theatre...besides the rip in the screen, I was on the edge of my seat for the complete last half of the movie. The characters seemed to fit well into their parts and the car chase scene was well done. The conspiracy theme wasn't too disturbing except for the poor untrained Secret Service actors...(they really are alot tougher and smarter than directors make them to be ((I'm ex-military)). I really enjoyed the last few minutes...how all the parts collided together...nice twist. Fairly nice plot altogether. Kudos to William Hurt's character for being the gentleman president with a little common sense and straight thinking. -not a warhawk, nor weak-knee kind of guy. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    5
    "Vantage Point" es una pelicula que no vale la pena ver, no tiene un buen argumento y tiene algunas malas interpretaciones de los actores, pero lo bueno de la pelicula es que utiliza las perpectivas de los principales personajes de la pelicula. Expand
  5. EllenClancy
    Feb 24, 2008
    4
    A strange, less than credible mix of Groundhog Day and Crash--without the literate screenplay and superior acting--Vantage Point wants us to believe that Dennis Quaid is apparently from the planet Krypton and is completely industructible and that stampeding Spaniards can miraculously avoid runaway, high speed police cars, ambulances and gunshots. The audience in my theater literally talked to the screen during the last two "rewinds" in frustration--and the little girl, Anna, elicited giggles for her improbable and oh-so-obvious plot placement. This could have been a very interesting film in the hands of a better writer and director. Instead, Forrest Whitaker looks lost and embarrassed, and the starry cast has to work hard to sell this dialogue. I wanted this to work--but it's a bit of cheese. Expand
  6. MeghanK
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    In spite of the over-promotion, I chose to give this movie a shot; the intrigue of many vantage points hooked me in. I thought "hey, this has the potential to be excellent". The concept was so promising, but its execution flopped dead on my living room floor. Every few minutes, time went backward to 11:59:59 and thought "Here we go again". Yes, there were many vantage points, but unfortunately the perspectives did not present anything new--- at least up until 47:00, when I turned it off, bored, drooling, and needing a nap. The acting was subpar. I laughed at Sigourney, who was downright silly playing her cheap role at the beginning. Forrest's character was sappy and almost soapish, and Dennis's character's paranoia was underdeveloped and overplayed. No depth whatsoever= no riveting movie= sleeping me. Expand
  7. AndyC.
    Feb 20, 2008
    0
    I am not judging certain aspects, but the motion capture was terrible. In the very first scene I just knew what the rest was going to be like. Vantage Point lacks on just about everything, and provokes the could-have-been good entertainment. Even sitting their for 1 hour and a half was stressful. My cheeks could not have been more aching, and frustrated. I can stand a long 3 hour movie, but not being able to stand 1hour and a half is ridiculous. This movie is ridiculous, the action was hard to watch, and weak too. I am very disappointed. 0/10 is my average, some might say thats way too low!!! Well trust me, this movie is awful, horrible, and terrible. It was a complete rip-off, with predictable ends, and no mysterious plots, it is obvious what happens. And the twists were not even mind-bending. Sorry if your confused but this movie was weak and terrible. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hail to the Chiefs: Metacritic's Best and Worst President Movies

    Hail to the Chiefs: Metacritic's Best and Worst President Movies Image
    Published: February 12, 2010
    In honor of Presidents' Day Weekend, we elect the best and the worst movies to feature the American president.