Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A foreign traveler unknowingly picks up a rental car that makes him the target of a corrupt local police force.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 11, 2013
    63
    The trajectory consists of one damn thing after another, with the able Mr. Walker giving it all he’s got without getting out of the vehicle to catch his breath.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 12, 2013
    60
    A serviceable if silly B-movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean O Connell
    Jun 14, 2013
    50
    A lean, low-budget and claustrophobic mistaken-identity thriller that’s so stripped-down, it’s nearly nonexistent.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 13, 2013
    30
    A wrong place/wrong time actioner stupid enough to damage the art-house credibility of actor Paul Walker.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 13, 2013
    30
    This one is well photographed, yet it’s still just a lot of cars and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jun 13, 2013
    30
    Neither particularly fast nor furious.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 10, 2013
    12
    As one incoherent action scene follows another, one's left staring at a film with nothing to respond to, waiting for it all to be over.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    I was really not a fan of this movie. As you can see from the other ratings, it just really didn't have a great cast of characters or plot atI was really not a fan of this movie. As you can see from the other ratings, it just really didn't have a great cast of characters or plot at all. Testing. Collapse
  2. May 16, 2014
    6
    Very simple concept in which whole story takes place in a car. This low budget movie was not actually a bad. It is one of the last movies ofVery simple concept in which whole story takes place in a car. This low budget movie was not actually a bad. It is one of the last movies of Paul Walker. He was excellent, though the movie was B due to the poor production quality yet quite enjoyable.

    Paul Walker as Michael, an ex prisoner who goes to meet his girlfriend who is in a foreign country. All the sudden he gets trapped into some local criminal affair without his knowledge. So the hunt begins where he tries his best to escape it.

    The movie was not for everyone, you can get better movie than this though I must be honest that I saw it because of Paul Walker.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Vehicle 19 wasn't horrible but it was mediocre. It has drugs, cars and blood. What action junkies want, right? Well, yes and no, because ofVehicle 19 wasn't horrible but it was mediocre. It has drugs, cars and blood. What action junkies want, right? Well, yes and no, because of Paul Walker the film has the Fast And Furious type thrill. The film is very cheesy and with a low capacity for talking- it's get to the point action. What I didn't like was that the acting by all the other roles was slow and corny. In the end- not perfect, not bad but a time pass rental after a long night at work. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2014
    5
    A simple movie...but i don't like this.A boring story with a great actor.A simple movie...but i don't like this.A boring story with a great actor.

    ***************************************************************************
    Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2015
    5
    It's a ok movie for what it is the movie is in the car for the whole movie but if you liked this movie then check out a movie called "HOURS"It's a ok movie for what it is the movie is in the car for the whole movie but if you liked this movie then check out a movie called "HOURS" with Paul Walker so FASTEN YOUR SEAT BELT! Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2015
    4
    There's a movie out there called Locke starring Tom Hardy and in that movie he's in the car the whole time and well that's a better wellThere's a movie out there called Locke starring Tom Hardy and in that movie he's in the car the whole time and well that's a better well written movie then this (Just saying)

    The story is about a recently paroled man unwittingly picks up the wrong rental vehicle, having just got off a long haul flight. He soon realizes that he is the target of an entire police force that will use any means necessary to stop him and the tied up female "passenger" he discovers in the trunk, from getting to the courthouse to testify against top-to-bottom local corruption.

    I got to be honest here the only reason I watched this movie is because of the sad lost of Paul Walker. I normally do this when a big name star dies and their very last performance you every going to see them in that I normally go searching for the last role so I can see them one last time, and thank god Paul's last role was in Furious 7 and not this movie because Vehicle 19 is seriously not that good.

    Vehicle 19 tries to be smart and original and some how comes off a stick in the mood who framed me or who's after me story line that's turning into a cliche now as every movie is doing that.

    If you haven't seen my Furious 7 review (Which you should) I already give a little tribute to the late great Paul Walker at his finest, but in this movie he looks like his about to go to sleep feeling bored which is basically me watching this movie. He didn't do a bad job but he didn't do nothing outstanding. Paul buddy I miss you and I respect you as a person but you look like you don't want to be there and I won't blame you on that.

    The movie overall tries to do something groundbreaking and something new which back fired.
    Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2015
    3
    It becomes clear within the opening fifteen minutes that Vehicle 19 is fundamentally flawed. There's not much logic in the plot and it reallyIt becomes clear within the opening fifteen minutes that Vehicle 19 is fundamentally flawed. There's not much logic in the plot and it really needs audience to suspense their disbelief. Having Paul Walker doesn't help in the slightest as he's given so little to work with, not to mention there's no merit in cinematography as it's almost entirely shot in that one car. The overcompensating music is loud enough for monster truck.

    Michael Woods (Paul Walker) is a former convict, he goes to Johannesburg to see his loved one. Unfortunately, he takes a wrong car from the rental, containing some illicit packaged stashed inside. This revelation will plunge him into the city's conspiracy and corruption. Now most people would freak out if they find spiders on their cars, but Michael Woods chooses a different unnatural reaction. It's unclear if Paul Walkers was still engrossed in his Fast and Furious character and thought he could drift the trouble away or he's channeling Jason Statham's character from Transporter.

    Heck, even Transporter had the audacity of presenting goofy action, Vehicle 19 wants you to take it seriously as thriller despite the highly unrealistic script. This makes me wonder how the script got passed in the first place, why there was no one proofread it, point to a certain scene, any scene for that matter, and express how implausible it was. Furthermore, half of it is rambling and random shouting, but the characters still go along with the absurdity.

    There is not much development as it progresses, only stifling dialogues, strange change in behavior and a few unbelievable occurrences. By the time it reaches halfway point, the movie produces a numbing effect. The use of Johannesburg as setting is actually a good decision, it's exotic and adds to the atmosphere. However, since most time is spent on the car, it brings little value in the end. It's not like this is Collateral where the production incorporate the scenery into an integral part of the movie, it just drives by aimlessly.

    The end is just as bad, so without spoiling anything, it's not worth tolerating the entirety of the movie. Vehicle 19 is bound for junkyard.
    Expand

Trailers