Veronica Mars

Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Mar 12, 2014
    60
    There’s something rather bland about Veronica Mars – even the murderers have neat hair and nice clothes – and the largely forgettable cast don’t help. But the one-liners are sharp, the plot unpredictable and the whole thing ticks along with a minimum of fuss.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 11, 2014
    60
    Anyone who has ever loved a television show can see that Thomas and his crew are working overtime to give VM aficionados everything they want.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    Thomas’ direction, especially of the villainous roles, gives a lot of the action a self-conscious, not-quite-real quality. Some aspects of the movie’s intentional artifice work better than others.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    It plays less like a meaty mystery than an extended thank-you to the fans who breathed it into existence. Still, it’s smooth and engaging enough on its own compromised terms, clearly informed by Thomas’ genre-savvy storytelling and unpretentious craftsmanship, and not without a certain self-deprecating sense of humor about its own immodest origins.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 13, 2014
    50
    A likable, unmemorable, feature-length footnote to the admired television series.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 13, 2014
    50
    As a movie, Veronica Mars looks and feels, well, like a glorified TV movie, with just decent production values, mostly unexceptional performances and ridiculous plot developments no more innovative than you’d see on a dozen network TV detective shows.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 13, 2014
    50
    They’re calling it a movie, but no matter how you squint at it it’s a TV show.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 13, 2014
    50
    Most of the clues in Veronica Mars pertain either to Internet sex tapes or the various surveillance uses of the latest tablets. Anybody who works in tech support will probably enjoy the film a tad more than I did.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Mar 13, 2014
    50
    Although most of the actors beyond Bell aren't big film stars, Jamie Lee Curtis gets a few minutes of screen time, and James Franco makes a spectacularly self-deprecating cameo. Whatever they contributed to the Kickstarter campaign, it was worth every cent.
  10. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 11, 2014
    50
    The best parts of this awkwardly paced film are Bell’s scenes with Enrico Colantoni, who returns as her private investigator dad, concerned she’s throwing away a bright future by getting sucked back into her old life.
  11. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 13, 2014
    42
    Veronica Mars, the movie, plays like a two-parter without commercials. Its uninspired framing and static action suits a TV screen better than a multiplex's.
  12. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Mar 17, 2014
    40
    Proves more footnote than fresh start.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    1
    As a huge fan of the TV series, I am disappointed on a whole new level in this movie and I think people who have never seen the TV show wouldAs a huge fan of the TV series, I am disappointed on a whole new level in this movie and I think people who have never seen the TV show would be even more bored and disappointed in this movie. It just feels really lame, it was extremely boring and it seems a too forced. I would liken it to the 9th season of scrubs - actually it's significantly worse than that. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone - especially fans of the show. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    6
    While dong a great job of offering a nostalgic experience for fans, the Veronica Mars movie fails to be a good movie or even a good VeronicaWhile dong a great job of offering a nostalgic experience for fans, the Veronica Mars movie fails to be a good movie or even a good Veronica Mars episode. The focus seemed primarily on reintroducing old characters and cameos who had very little to do with the plot. The plot that was there was overly simple and not up to the usual Veronica Mars quality. Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2014
    6
    My main issue with this movie is that it seemed like one not so special additional episode of the TV series. I watched every episode when theyMy main issue with this movie is that it seemed like one not so special additional episode of the TV series. I watched every episode when they were originally aired years ago and I enjoyed them. Despite the enthusiasm of the kick starter campaign it seems that the actors were simply going through the motions this time around. I never thought I would say this but Kristen Bell is much better as her character in house of lies than she is as the older Veronica Mars. And what the hell happened to Logan Echols? He either looked like a little boy or a shrunken headed bodybuilder in that Navy uniform. I will say that it was cool seeing Veronica's dad and weevil back in action. This is absolutely one for the fans only. If you haven't seen the show skip it. Full Review »