User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 91
  2. Negative: 10 out of 91

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2014
    7
    Six short unrelated horror films sounds like a terrible idea, but they pulled it off. The first one knocked me on my rear. I mean they really came out swinging, but the second short made me want to go back to Netflix and find something else to watch. Luckily for me I didn't because the rest were pretty good. They stood in the shadow of the first, but they were entertaining. This movie doesn't break the mold or anything, but is definitely worth a look. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    5
    Like all anthology films, V/H/S is pretty scattershot. The frame narrative was uninvolving, and most of the segments are pretty lame. Two of the segments, however, were extremely well made: Tuesday the 17th and The Sick Thing That Happened To Emily When She Was Younger. They were very original and scary, but I wish the other three segments were just as good as those two. It's also very long; it's a little over two hours. I didn't think the film was terrible, but it's not something I can wholeheartedly recommend. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    7
    A surprisingly solid film. All though all of the parts of the anthology were not created equally several of the stories were very well done and contained surprising twists. The special effects in the film were also quite impressive. The main flaw with he movie however is the modern timeline that is used when setting up the film.
  4. Rem
    Jun 4, 2014
    4
    Allow me to start off by saying that the movie takes far too long to get any sort of momentum going. I was tense in many moments of the movie, but the scares ultimately fall short. This being a horror movie, that is a complete sin. But I did like how the 5 stories were not interwoven and just have that mysterious X-Files vibe as to nothing was going to be explained. The movie also does not hold back, but I did not enjoy its reklance on blood horror. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    Extremely fresh on the scares, definitely scarier than most of the found footage films. Although the plot remains unexplained and the camera work is sloppy, the movie delivers for the horror fans. 5.5/10 for me if judged fairly. 8.5/10 as a horror fan.
  6. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This found footage movie is amazingly awesome and spectacular! It is not perfect but its imperfections barely make this movie unwatchable. It has fun scares, creepiness, and gross-out disturbing imagery. It is only entertaining and a must watch for horror fans.
  7. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    this was an interesting movie. This had plenty of interesting stories.

    I would have given this an 8 or 9. However, the first person perspective was terrible. The shaking cam turned me off. I would have turned of the movie, but my girlfriend wanted to finish. The perspective killed the great action. Too much shaking and wondering what was showing the frame.

    I hope that the
    sequel doesn't film in the same way. You can have a first person perspective without the shaky camera work. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    V/H/S takes a completely different spin on the horror genre with multiple episodic plots loosely connected through the findings of VHS tapes. Though extremely dated, even for its release date I may add, the concept is refreshing in comparison to other "found footage" pieces of the past few years. Though several of the episodic plots are legitimately scary, inventive, and suspenseful, others seem to be thrown together to make V/H/S a feature length film. Had the plots connected in a more rewarding way, the main story line been explained more fully, and the question of "why?" been addressed the film would succeed on all fronts.

    Story discrepancies aside, the acting is decent for low budget performers, special effects are simple yet stunning, and the use of perspective is appropriately and creatively used. For those interested in the horror genre this is an interesting watch. The payoff falls short, but the individual stories are worth a view.
    Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Fun, shocking and jaw-dropping. V/H/S does have it's flaws; such as some segments being not as good as others, some bad acting and plenty of horror cliches. But it is one hell of a found footage film and is probably one of the better ones released this year.
  10. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    This is a movie that is extremely different than other horror movies, it is chilling and scary, at the same time it gets funny but ridiculous, the story is unexplained a lot, it is just a group of people, who broke into an abandoned house to steal a V/H/S tape, but they find collection of tapes and they start watching them, the tapes are wired and way too different, it is like short horror stories, and while they are watching them, scary things happen around them, things change, this movie is a good horror, but if you are looking for an explanation and detailed plot this isn't one of this explained movies, you just watch and enjoy, and yes, change your pants form one tape to another. Expand
  11. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Strongest segments- 10/31/98, Tuesday the 17 th, Amateur Night.
    Weakest Segments- Tape 56(Wraparound), The Sick Thing that Happened to Emily When she was younger, Second Honeymoon.

    Enjoyable fun. Creepy, funny but ultimately uneven. One-time watch.
  12. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    It is one of the scariest movies I have ever watched in my whole life, I watch a lot of movies, especially horror, I am a fan of horror movies, but this thing is beyond horror, it is way too terrifying and better than I expected it to be, but also, horror movies in general stand out, it needs to have some boring moments, V/H/S does have boring moments, but when it has these moments, the plot is planning for something terrifying, it has some silly moments and some bad acting, but overall, it is a decent horror movie, but it has a different mood than other horror movies, it is different, it is not like The Last Exorcism, or Saw, it is not just one horror genre, it has found footage style, blood, horror, funny moments, but on the other hand it has way too silly moments, boring ones, but positives are way more than negatives! Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This movie has all the right creep-factor going on, while avoiding slipping into torture porn territory. It's an anthology, with the stories all having significantly different tone. The acting might not be the best in the world, but none of it noticeably bad, and you never get pulled into disbelief due to someone not delivering their part well. By the nature of the stories being anthologies, each gets in, sets itself up, and delivers in a pleasantly timely fashion. Collapse
  14. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    Besides the first story the rest were pointless. V/H/S is not the worst horror movie of the year, but the gimmick in this movie doesn't make the movie better.
  15. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    This movie started on a high note, ended disappointingly. This is basically a anthology of horror shorts. The way they go in between the shorts is actually good. But unfortunately the shorts are far from good. They are entertaining but not scary at all. The first short with the woman from the previews is actually really creepy and actually kinda scary, the others aren't. Also this movie has a lot of nudity so don't watch it with anyone you'd be embarrassed to watch that with like parents. Expand
  16. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    I didn't really expect much from a film named "V/H/S" but to be honest i was surprised with the delivery. although there were a few stinkers in this film most of them were enjoyable and frequently scary. Would it be the best film of 2012? NO! is it close? maybe.
  17. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    as i can't think of any other way to do this, i will give each segment a rating, all of them deliver at least some scares, not all of them work as well as they're meant to, but hey, it's scary, violent, and quite fresh, ironically enough, because of it's nostalgic qualities, it puts every other found-footage horror film to shame, now, with the individual ratings: 1 - 8.1 2 - 9.2 3 - 7.6 4 - 9.1 5 - 6.5 6 - 8.9 Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This film takes the Paranormal Activity trilogy and Cloverfield where the sun don't shine. I loved this movie, a lot, but at the same time, don't want to watch it ever again. Good thing I didn't throw up mid-movie. Bravo, Magnet Releasing! Well, wait. The camera shaking in a few of the stories were way too up-there for a sober dude, and way too still for a drunk group of guys... there's always room for a re-try (sequel, hint-hint. please?) here, in my opinion. Great job, guys! Expand
  19. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    This movie arrives during an unfortunate time where found Footage movies are coming out in waves. However, this is a notch above most of them. It's not perfect but it does add some new fresh twists and in today's world that's enough to warrant a recommendation and put it above most movies in this genre. This is an anthology, so for those who've seen Creepshow it's like that except these are found footage movies or for those who haven't seen that movie, it's basically a bunch of mini movies(5 to be exact) all put into one movie. The story is really simple, it's a group of guys who get hired by some unknown party to break into some old man's house and retrieve a video. However, it's not as easy as it seems since there are stacks of VHS tapes so they have to start watching them in order to find the right one but that's not their only problem as something else lurks in the house. Before I say anything, none of these movies are ever boring. With that being said, some videos work better and are genuinely a lot creepier than the others. The second film, while intriguing is not scary at all. I see what they writers were trying to do(a side note: each video had different writers and directors) but it never came off as creepy or suspenseful, luckily it's not long. The 3rd film is also not that scary, but it does have two generally creepy shots and I like how they actually made the camera a crucial part of the video. The 4th film is scarier than the 2nd and 3rd as it does provide a nice "Boo" moment or two but compared to the first and last film, it's not as effective. The first, and last films as well as the actual film(the guys breaking into the house to search for the tape) is where the actual scares of the movie lie. The first and last movies are so well done, beautifully told, and creepy that they make up for the lack of scare in the movies in between. The actual story itself is extremely creepy too, as once they break into the house you know they're not alone. A lot of scary stuff happens in the breaks between each short film. I also like how(with the exception of the 2nd film and the main story) that they manage to incorporate the camera in a way where it's a crucial part of the film(hence the third and fourth film) or avoids the common found footage movie flaw, why can't they just put the dam camera down? In first and last film, the person either has the camera in their glasses or in their costume so they manage to avoid that pitfall. I'm trying to avoid describing each film because it's more fun when you don't know much about a movie. I should also warn that this movie is certainly not for everyone. I've never seen this much nudity in a film before(both male and female, both frontal and back) and some of these films are sick and twisted. So those of you with an easy stomach, you've been warned. n a time where found footage movies are coming out on a monthly basis(or so it seems), it's nice to see a movie like V/H/S that completely surprises you by putting a little twist on a genre that's become monotonous. Sure some films are better and more frightening than others but this movie is never boring, at least to me it wasn't. This is also a notch above most horror movies today because it's you know, it's actually scary, something lacking in most horror movies today. It's also a **** slap to those watered down, lame PG-13 horror movies(with the exception of Insidious and The Woman in Black of course) that are constantly coming out every week(at least, that's what it feels like). Horror fans should be pleased by this movie, and it's a nice edition to the found footage genre. Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    Not a horrible movie by any means, but not exactly a good one either. It has it's moments, incredible special effects and kills for a low budget horror flick. But the majority of the stories fall flat and some of the acting is just plain awful. I give it credit for trying something different in this as good as dead gimmick of found footage movies.
  21. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    The trailer makes it look more terrifying than it really is, but I love the concept, especially the way the stories are linked and the primitive nature of the "tapes." Unlike many horror flicks which spend the bulk of their running times in mundane establishing scenes, this one gets right down to business. There are some good laughs, and some truly gross and gory moments, along with some Paranormal Activity-esque jump-out-of-your-seat moments. The integration of sex is obviously nothing new to horror, but the recurrent sense of coercion makes the proceedings feel a bit more taboo & dangerous, which works with the rough and grimy feeling of the movie. I'd recommend it to mainstream horror fans looking for something a little different. Expand
  22. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    1.Tape 56 = 5.9/10 2.Amateur night = 9.4/10 3.Second honeymoon = 6.1/10 (disappointed in you, Ti West) 4.Tuesday the 17th = 9.1/10 5.The sick thing that happened to Emily when she was younger = 4.4/10 (should have been cut) 6.10/31/98 = 9.3/10

    As a whole = 8.2/10
  23. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    V/H/S again a new horror movie, what happen? The movie is very creppy, interesting, but the problem is the next: we watch much found footage movies, and the viewers can know everything that includes this films. In my opinion is the second best horror movie of the year -the first is The Cabin in the Woods- is funny, creepy and interesting.
  24. Oct 5, 2012
    4
    No, it's not different from any other horror anthology. The only satisfaction is that all the annoying hipster victims get deserving deaths. The VHS stylization is a welcome change, and the effects look decent enough to be believable, but the whole film approaches a campy horror film than a snuff film.
  25. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This movie is definitely something extremely different from any other horror anthology that I've seen in a long time. A lot of really original stuff and some good scares from time to time. If you like genre bending stories then this is the movie for you.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Like last year's "Chronicle," here's another reminder that in the right hands found footage still has plenty of capacity to surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 23, 2012
    60
    The problem with V/H/S, a compilation of sometimes scary horror shorts loosely bound by an overarching plot, is that, no matter how savage, evil or sadistic the killer, the victims almost always come off as bigger jerks.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 5, 2012
    50
    V/H/S comes across as a production that wants to be more than it is but, as they say, The Emperor has no clothes.