Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 3, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 221 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
192
Mixed:
14
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
jordiMar 30, 2013
Obra maestra de Pedro Almodóvar, ofreciendo una historia totalmente dramática con el saber hacer de 4 buenísimas actrices españolas, como son Penélope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Dueñas y Blanca Portillo. Preciosa la interpretación de PeObra maestra de Pedro Almodóvar, ofreciendo una historia totalmente dramática con el saber hacer de 4 buenísimas actrices españolas, como son Penélope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Dueñas y Blanca Portillo. Preciosa la interpretación de Pe cantando Voler de Estrella Morente. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JayK.Jun 9, 2007
This film doesn't have a single quality that made me feel like it was a worthwhile way to spend the time. The characters were boring and unrealistic; there were constant, pointless pervy breast and butt shots; the acting was adequate This film doesn't have a single quality that made me feel like it was a worthwhile way to spend the time. The characters were boring and unrealistic; there were constant, pointless pervy breast and butt shots; the acting was adequate but nothing special; the story was lame (although probably could have been turned into something in different hands). Ugh...watch "Talk to Her" if you must watch an Almodovar. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
anthonyukApr 21, 2011
Another wonderful film from the Spanish maestro, wonderful female characters which you wam to, Cruz is excellent.

You really care about the characters, funny, eccentric, simply charming cinema at it's best!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
VictorB.Feb 9, 2007
This is one of the greatest films of Almodovar. Everything he does shines itself. It seems as he has a magic wand with wich he fills all his movies with realistic and understanding feeling, however unlikely his stories could sound. It's This is one of the greatest films of Almodovar. Everything he does shines itself. It seems as he has a magic wand with wich he fills all his movies with realistic and understanding feeling, however unlikely his stories could sound. It's the best film maker in years. I'm a Spanish film lover, and here, in Spain, lots of people don't like how he manage to tell his films. But here theres a lot of envy and when one of our citizens is a genius, instead of admiring him, we just say he is not good enough, he is not realistic...too many worda with no sense!! It's a beautiful film. A must-see. A masterpiece of a mature director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndyApr 6, 2007
This would have been a good movie had it not been so over-hyped. I rented it thinking it would be the best movie I've seen all year and it was far from it. Penelope Cruz was excellent (but why did they insist on putting a fake butt on This would have been a good movie had it not been so over-hyped. I rented it thinking it would be the best movie I've seen all year and it was far from it. Penelope Cruz was excellent (but why did they insist on putting a fake butt on her?) as well as the rest of the cast but it was a somewhat derivative storyline. Slightly above average film, but not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisG.Mar 9, 2008
Cruz finally won me over. She conveys so much poise and here she shines. Great ensemble, Almodovar really knows his woman characters a true male feminist. Cruz should of won the academy award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.Z.Nov 1, 2006
Volver is an extravaganza in which Cruz has detached herself fully from her typecast roles of sexy neighbor, to a leading film actress. A transformation of water to wine: to be perfectly honest. Pay particular attention to the monologue the Volver is an extravaganza in which Cruz has detached herself fully from her typecast roles of sexy neighbor, to a leading film actress. A transformation of water to wine: to be perfectly honest. Pay particular attention to the monologue the elder mother recites to Cruz; and to Cruz's daughter's actions . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaG.Nov 5, 2006
Masterpiece .For me,the best fim of the year. Penelope is great in Volver. I hope Oscar nominations for Volver, Almodovar and Penelope Cruz!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaM.Nov 5, 2006
Probablemente la mejor pelicula del año. Penelope impresionante igual que Carmen Maura. Almodovar demuestra una vez mas que es el mejor director vivo del mundo. A pesar de que imperdonablemente aun no le concedieran el Oscar a mejor Probablemente la mejor pelicula del año. Penelope impresionante igual que Carmen Maura. Almodovar demuestra una vez mas que es el mejor director vivo del mundo. A pesar de que imperdonablemente aun no le concedieran el Oscar a mejor director. No importa sus fans que somos millones en todo el mundo, ya lo consideramos el mas grande. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneS.Nov 6, 2006
If you think Almodovar is the best filmmaker nowadays, you have to see this masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scotthDec 23, 2006
Funny movie in that absurd Almodovar way. Very subtle - but definitely not one of his best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenB.Dec 3, 2006
Beautifully made movie - the best Almodovar to date. He takes on women in a new way in this film, all the characters have a natural and profound depth. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryN.Oct 31, 2006
I have been able to see "Volver" today. People who attend the special screening were nervous because Almodóvar's films are loved in the US. After the show, I proved everyone enjoyed a lot with this new story of Spanish filmmaker. I have been able to see "Volver" today. People who attend the special screening were nervous because Almodóvar's films are loved in the US. After the show, I proved everyone enjoyed a lot with this new story of Spanish filmmaker. I really got surprised with Penélope Cruz's performance! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavsA.Jan 11, 2007
Best film by Almodovar. It does a magnificent job at capturing the emotions of the characters and of the Spanish people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxS.Jan 26, 2007
Quite an interesting movie. While most of the movie, was both truly enjoyable and bizarre at the same time, the director deftly wrapped up the movie. Upon looking back at each event in the movie, the viewer can make sense of each scene for Quite an interesting movie. While most of the movie, was both truly enjoyable and bizarre at the same time, the director deftly wrapped up the movie. Upon looking back at each event in the movie, the viewer can make sense of each scene for its significance to the outcome of the movie. A must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Jan 5, 2007
Wonderful movie. Funny, sad, with strong female characters and great acting. Penelope Cruz is fantastic in this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenA.Feb 11, 2007
One of the best movies of the year. I like the Fellini references, but Almodovar keeps things tight and short, unlike the Italian master. Playful, endearing, and packed with great performances, this movie is a must see. People like Daniel D One of the best movies of the year. I like the Fellini references, but Almodovar keeps things tight and short, unlike the Italian master. Playful, endearing, and packed with great performances, this movie is a must see. People like Daniel D obviously don't know anything about film, and look for improbabilities in a narrative to decide wheather its a good movie or not. I'll give you a hint. Movies are more than just trying to be realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielD.Feb 5, 2007
It appears that most everyone who saw this film gave it a 9 or 10. A few gave it low scores and almost no one put it in the middle. So this is another "love it or hate it" sort of film. I have to put myself in the second category. Although I It appears that most everyone who saw this film gave it a 9 or 10. A few gave it low scores and almost no one put it in the middle. So this is another "love it or hate it" sort of film. I have to put myself in the second category. Although I greatly enjoyed watching Penelope Cruz -- without her the movie goes down to a 1 or 2 -- it's obvious no one else in the movie did. HUH? Here's a woman so lustrously beautiful she positively shines and one guy -- count him, one! -- notices her appearance. Okay, her husband must have at one time and maybe her father, but come on! This in Spain of all places. A few other impossiblities include that Penelope's character, having just "taken over" a restaurant after somehow disappearing from her regular cleaning job, can prepare and serve up a meal to 30 people with only a couple hours notice, that four women can lift up a freezer with a dead guy in it into a van, and that it's no problem to bury a guy four or five feet deep next to large trees where the ground has no roots, no rocks, and no other things I somehow always run into in my garden. Not to mention that a whole town somehow believes in a ghost who has to shop for supplies at the market. Maybe I was not enthralled by the whimsical spirit of the whole thing, but hey, that's just me, I guess. Finally, the big raison d'etre behind Penelope's psychology was a blatant and transparent ripoff from Chinatown (daughter, sister, daughter, sister). Gotta go. My girlfriend just invited me over to watch Midsummer's Night Dream. Don't know much about it, but I'm sure I'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArmondA.Apr 16, 2007
Can you believe it... The brilliant Almodovar has written a really spicy episode of L & O: SVU. He has been careful to include all the elements found in the best adventures of the "Panty Police", such as multigenerational sexual abuse of Can you believe it... The brilliant Almodovar has written a really spicy episode of L & O: SVU. He has been careful to include all the elements found in the best adventures of the "Panty Police", such as multigenerational sexual abuse of teenage girls, murder, and very dark family secrets. The problem that I have with this film is that it presents a familiar stew as if no one had ever heard of anything like it. It's not the auteur's fault that a dreadful social problem has been turned into a cud for bovine tv watchers. But it IS his fault that he seems unaware that his big "reveal" is a cliche. Perhaps he could follow up with a story about an amazing fellow who makes his living by killing people on contract. He needn't concern himself with the over-representation of the "hit man" in popular fiction. ( I think that if we were to tabulate all occupations represented in contemporary fiction, the "hit man" would out-rank them all, except perhaps for the "serial killer", the "pimp", and that great oxymoron--the "Porn Star". I did enjoy "Tie Me Up...", which employed that well-known figure of everyday life, the Escaped Mental Patient and Sexual Pervert, so it may be that mass culture has caught up with the creative artist in terms of speaking openly about matters that once were too impolite to discuss in "mixed company". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherW.May 8, 2007
The immortal Almodovar is one of my very favorite directors, definitely in my top five. He's made five bonafide masterpieces in a row, 'Live Flesh,' 'All About my Mother, 'Talk to Her,' Bad Education,' and The immortal Almodovar is one of my very favorite directors, definitely in my top five. He's made five bonafide masterpieces in a row, 'Live Flesh,' 'All About my Mother, 'Talk to Her,' Bad Education,' and now 'Volver.' There is simply no other director like him in modern fillmaking. His films are sublime, rich in character, funny, eccentric, and unforgettable. 'Volver' is no exception. Highest recommendation! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jun 8, 2007
Not a single wasted moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FernandoS.Nov 22, 2006
Just perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeB.Nov 20, 2006
One of the best pictures of the year. Funny, beautiful and woderful masterpiece. Great Penelope.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterMeadowNov 3, 2006
When I see Almodóvar's pictures, I come into a new perception of life, a fantastic world in which the Spanish filmmaker shows us a new concept of women's feelings and demonstrates he is a master, a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekS.Nov 3, 2006
You will not know whether it is a comedy or a drama. Almodóvar's new story will make you laugh and cry. His script is almost perfect and Penélope Cruz, the best actress of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CamilleM.Nov 3, 2006
"Volver" is a present, a precious piece of heaven. Mr. Almodovar's style is perfect, full of passion. Does it deserve an Oscar Award nomination for Best Picture? Sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Nov 3, 2006
This isn't just the best foreign language release in 2006, it's one of the best films of the the year. Cruz is utterly wonderful in this and Almodovar's genuine love of women shines through beautifully. Full of surprising This isn't just the best foreign language release in 2006, it's one of the best films of the the year. Cruz is utterly wonderful in this and Almodovar's genuine love of women shines through beautifully. Full of surprising twists, charming wit and outstanding acting all around, 'Volver' is Almodovar firing on all cylindars. This may be a smaller film than 'All About My Mother' and 'Talk to Her' were, but it's just as rewarding. Masterful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucieMartonNov 3, 2006
I loved Penélope Cruz's role. She's wonderful. It has become my favourite Almodóvar's film. You've got to see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaS.Nov 3, 2006
"Volver" is a new masterpiece by Almodóvar. Penélope Cruz shows her best performance and Almodóvar signs one of his best scripts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BelindaM.Nov 6, 2006
Terrific. Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful