Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 3, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 223 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
194
Mixed:
14
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VictorB.Feb 9, 2007
This is one of the greatest films of Almodovar. Everything he does shines itself. It seems as he has a magic wand with wich he fills all his movies with realistic and understanding feeling, however unlikely his stories could sound. It's This is one of the greatest films of Almodovar. Everything he does shines itself. It seems as he has a magic wand with wich he fills all his movies with realistic and understanding feeling, however unlikely his stories could sound. It's the best film maker in years. I'm a Spanish film lover, and here, in Spain, lots of people don't like how he manage to tell his films. But here theres a lot of envy and when one of our citizens is a genius, instead of admiring him, we just say he is not good enough, he is not realistic...too many worda with no sense!! It's a beautiful film. A must-see. A masterpiece of a mature director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisG.Mar 9, 2008
Cruz finally won me over. She conveys so much poise and here she shines. Great ensemble, Almodovar really knows his woman characters a true male feminist. Cruz should of won the academy award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.Z.Nov 1, 2006
Volver is an extravaganza in which Cruz has detached herself fully from her typecast roles of sexy neighbor, to a leading film actress. A transformation of water to wine: to be perfectly honest. Pay particular attention to the monologue the Volver is an extravaganza in which Cruz has detached herself fully from her typecast roles of sexy neighbor, to a leading film actress. A transformation of water to wine: to be perfectly honest. Pay particular attention to the monologue the elder mother recites to Cruz; and to Cruz's daughter's actions . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaG.Nov 5, 2006
Masterpiece .For me,the best fim of the year. Penelope is great in Volver. I hope Oscar nominations for Volver, Almodovar and Penelope Cruz!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaM.Nov 5, 2006
Probablemente la mejor pelicula del año. Penelope impresionante igual que Carmen Maura. Almodovar demuestra una vez mas que es el mejor director vivo del mundo. A pesar de que imperdonablemente aun no le concedieran el Oscar a mejor Probablemente la mejor pelicula del año. Penelope impresionante igual que Carmen Maura. Almodovar demuestra una vez mas que es el mejor director vivo del mundo. A pesar de que imperdonablemente aun no le concedieran el Oscar a mejor director. No importa sus fans que somos millones en todo el mundo, ya lo consideramos el mas grande. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneS.Nov 6, 2006
If you think Almodovar is the best filmmaker nowadays, you have to see this masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenB.Dec 3, 2006
Beautifully made movie - the best Almodovar to date. He takes on women in a new way in this film, all the characters have a natural and profound depth. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavsA.Jan 11, 2007
Best film by Almodovar. It does a magnificent job at capturing the emotions of the characters and of the Spanish people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Jan 5, 2007
Wonderful movie. Funny, sad, with strong female characters and great acting. Penelope Cruz is fantastic in this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenA.Feb 11, 2007
One of the best movies of the year. I like the Fellini references, but Almodovar keeps things tight and short, unlike the Italian master. Playful, endearing, and packed with great performances, this movie is a must see. People like Daniel D One of the best movies of the year. I like the Fellini references, but Almodovar keeps things tight and short, unlike the Italian master. Playful, endearing, and packed with great performances, this movie is a must see. People like Daniel D obviously don't know anything about film, and look for improbabilities in a narrative to decide wheather its a good movie or not. I'll give you a hint. Movies are more than just trying to be realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherW.May 8, 2007
The immortal Almodovar is one of my very favorite directors, definitely in my top five. He's made five bonafide masterpieces in a row, 'Live Flesh,' 'All About my Mother, 'Talk to Her,' Bad Education,' and The immortal Almodovar is one of my very favorite directors, definitely in my top five. He's made five bonafide masterpieces in a row, 'Live Flesh,' 'All About my Mother, 'Talk to Her,' Bad Education,' and now 'Volver.' There is simply no other director like him in modern fillmaking. His films are sublime, rich in character, funny, eccentric, and unforgettable. 'Volver' is no exception. Highest recommendation! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jun 8, 2007
Not a single wasted moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FernandoS.Nov 22, 2006
Just perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeB.Nov 20, 2006
One of the best pictures of the year. Funny, beautiful and woderful masterpiece. Great Penelope.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterMeadowNov 3, 2006
When I see Almodóvar's pictures, I come into a new perception of life, a fantastic world in which the Spanish filmmaker shows us a new concept of women's feelings and demonstrates he is a master, a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekS.Nov 3, 2006
You will not know whether it is a comedy or a drama. Almodóvar's new story will make you laugh and cry. His script is almost perfect and Penélope Cruz, the best actress of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CamilleM.Nov 3, 2006
"Volver" is a present, a precious piece of heaven. Mr. Almodovar's style is perfect, full of passion. Does it deserve an Oscar Award nomination for Best Picture? Sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Nov 3, 2006
This isn't just the best foreign language release in 2006, it's one of the best films of the the year. Cruz is utterly wonderful in this and Almodovar's genuine love of women shines through beautifully. Full of surprising This isn't just the best foreign language release in 2006, it's one of the best films of the the year. Cruz is utterly wonderful in this and Almodovar's genuine love of women shines through beautifully. Full of surprising twists, charming wit and outstanding acting all around, 'Volver' is Almodovar firing on all cylindars. This may be a smaller film than 'All About My Mother' and 'Talk to Her' were, but it's just as rewarding. Masterful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucieMartonNov 3, 2006
I loved Penélope Cruz's role. She's wonderful. It has become my favourite Almodóvar's film. You've got to see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaS.Nov 3, 2006
"Volver" is a new masterpiece by Almodóvar. Penélope Cruz shows her best performance and Almodóvar signs one of his best scripts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BelindaM.Nov 6, 2006
Terrific. Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJNicholsDec 12, 2006
Wonderful all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettROct 31, 2006
La mejora pelicula de Almodovar! An amazing film that left me wanting to immediately see it again. Penelope Cruz is a revelation in her native language and is reminiscent of past Sophia Loren roles. Highly recommended for those who are and La mejora pelicula de Almodovar! An amazing film that left me wanting to immediately see it again. Penelope Cruz is a revelation in her native language and is reminiscent of past Sophia Loren roles. Highly recommended for those who are and who are not fans of Almodovar or foreign films. Captivating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NadieJan 15, 2007
Almodovar is the only movie director that can make the most unusual and crazy situation feel like every day life. He really knows how to extract the best performances from female actors. The
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Feb 27, 2008
Right up there with All About My Mother as Almodovar's best film - he seems to get better and better. Like his recent work, this is mature stuff - exploring the complex web of relationships of two sisters and a myriad cast of characters Right up there with All About My Mother as Almodovar's best film - he seems to get better and better. Like his recent work, this is mature stuff - exploring the complex web of relationships of two sisters and a myriad cast of characters and the mystery surrounding their monster death. Almodovar takes in melodrama, humour, noir and fantasy with ease constructing a truly original, heartfelt and flawless work, including a sensational musical performance by Cruz midway through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeU.Nov 28, 2006
Almodovar is not just a great director, but also a great writer. And, most difficult of all a great creator of great and clever stories. In recent times, when there's no inspiration, more and more films are based on situations, dialog, Almodovar is not just a great director, but also a great writer. And, most difficult of all a great creator of great and clever stories. In recent times, when there's no inspiration, more and more films are based on situations, dialog, or production values, and the actual story can be told in one sentence. It is difficult to find good writers of good stories. Almodovar writes great, complex stories, and and is a great story-teller and film director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleM.Nov 3, 2006
Penélope Cruz is a goddess. She is lovely in 'Volver' and deserves all the awards this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolineE.Nov 3, 2006
Amazing performances. Penélope Cruz is always great in Almodóvar's films, but "Volver" is her revelation as the best Spanish actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneH.Nov 6, 2006
My favorite film by Almodovar. I laughed a lot. He is unique.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottNov 7, 2006
Penelope Cruz is FABULOUS in this and the film is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful