Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 26, 2002
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
2
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NotIanDec 29, 2002
This was an amazing movie, and yes it was harsh, brutal and the subject matter was not for the faint of heart, but under it all the movie is actually really really good. I just bought it on DVD, and watched it, as soon it was over I sat This was an amazing movie, and yes it was harsh, brutal and the subject matter was not for the faint of heart, but under it all the movie is actually really really good. I just bought it on DVD, and watched it, as soon it was over I sat there and let the credits roll so I could really take in what I saw. I loved this movie, even with every bad review these so called critics gave it, I think it is awesome, so 10 it is, 10 I ave it, and it should have more than 1/100 as a Metacritic rating, but what the f... do critics know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CiggyAug 7, 2002
You fu..ing clown shoes don't know the first thing about film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Jay.G.Aug 5, 2003
Johnson tried to "smith" up his dialogue, but obviously wasn't smith. Acting could've been MUCH better. Yet, I felt the stroy was very dark and compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EllenAJan 31, 2009
While not the best crime/thriller movie, it certainly deserves a far better rating than most critics gave it. The only obstacles to being a truly great movie are the low budget, and bits of clumsy acting here and there. For the most part, While not the best crime/thriller movie, it certainly deserves a far better rating than most critics gave it. The only obstacles to being a truly great movie are the low budget, and bits of clumsy acting here and there. For the most part, the acting is actually average, though at times it jumps to life with both brutality and real human feeling. It's also worth pointing out, that gritty and disturbing or not, this movie is truly original. The fact of having never seen anything like it actually heightens the suspense. Any possible predictability is thrown off base, and this without resorting to many true plot twists. All said, this is a movie with a tragic hero, a scary villain, and an unusual story with bits of black humor. It is clearly not an attempt at the kind of TRULY vulgar humor of, for example, "Clerks 2", though it seems to be perceived this way by some reviewers. While this movie has it's definite flaws, it's not crap, even if it shows us human ugliness at it's worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
k-doglamboJun 12, 2002
I loved the man on man action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardP.Dec 8, 2003
This is not a bad movie. It's a low budget movie. It is, perhaps ,disturbing. It's not bad though. I think those that find the homo=sexual rape scene so "vulgar" (it is not graphic) would,most likely, not be similarly offended were This is not a bad movie. It's a low budget movie. It is, perhaps ,disturbing. It's not bad though. I think those that find the homo=sexual rape scene so "vulgar" (it is not graphic) would,most likely, not be similarly offended were it a hetro-sexual rape. In short: Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaneY.Jan 16, 2004
A frightening and disturbing piece. The thing about this movie is that it's shot with style, emotion and energy... and it really has something to say. Johnson meshes quirky, campy, cute and scrappy little comedy with horrifying drama A frightening and disturbing piece. The thing about this movie is that it's shot with style, emotion and energy... and it really has something to say. Johnson meshes quirky, campy, cute and scrappy little comedy with horrifying drama scenes. It doesn't have a leaden moral or a lot of comedy in it, but here is a movie which euro-film lovers would love. Maybe this movie should have been releaseh in Europe. It probably would have played better overseas. In the US, imagination is often unappreciated. So much has ben done with a micro-budget. But many Smith-fans saw this movie to see more of the same. No wonder they were so disappointed. Oh, there's some Smith here and there, but above all, this is an exploitation piece that hits all the notes. Maybe it tries to be too many things, but it's a real piece of filmmaking. When the victim has been raped, you can genuinely feel his pain in a way I don't think has been captured on film. I bought the DVD and I'm glad. Big props to writer/director/actor/editor Bryan Johnson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeifOct 6, 2013
A ragged low-budget dark comedy involving 2 ill-fitting styles of TV satire and sexual violence. Brian O'Halloran takes on the tricky role with fearlessness and impressive range. He holds the films tonal shifts in rhythm and amusing turnsA ragged low-budget dark comedy involving 2 ill-fitting styles of TV satire and sexual violence. Brian O'Halloran takes on the tricky role with fearlessness and impressive range. He holds the films tonal shifts in rhythm and amusing turns by writer-director Bryan Johnson and a talkative Kevin Smith as a TV exec keep the lighter material moving along. Jerry Lewkowitz as the man who assaults and then tries to blackmail O'Hallorn is indeed a scary and effective villain. I don't know if I plan to watch this again even though I own but anybody willing to take the ride it's an involving and oddly effective film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews