Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 10 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Feb 2, 2011
    80
    A refreshingly pure, honest and original love story, Waiting For Forever is one from the heart with superb performances from a talented cast.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 3, 2011
    40
    I felt tentative stirrings of admiration for an indie movie that so aggressively flouts the hard-shelled conventions of romantic comedy. But more often than not, I felt suffocated by the gaseous sentimentality and lightheadedness of a story that drops in subplots that it can't begin to develop.
  3. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 1, 2011
    40
    Strangely unaware of its overt creepiness.
  4. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jan 31, 2011
    40
    All the improbable, oddball and endless love in the world can't rescue Waiting for Forever from a premise that's irresponsible at worst and an example of profoundly bad timing at best.
  5. Reviewed by: Una LaMarche
    Feb 1, 2011
    38
    I'm not sure what went wrong with this picture. It could just be bad judgment on the part of screenwriter Steve Adams, who for all we know finds stalking adorable.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 10, 2011
    30
    It strains both credulity and patience in its attempt to be different, and it leaves you feeling creeped out as well.
  7. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 2, 2011
    30
    Mistaking arrested development for enlightened innocence, Waiting for Forever is an indigestible hash of whimsy, drama, romance and, for good measure, crime.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 1, 2011
    30
    It takes too long for the story to come around to the fact that Will is just plain nuts - and even then, he gets over it in a heartbeat.
  9. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Feb 5, 2011
    25
    A suggestion to screenwriters: Stop telling stalkers that their passion isn't misplaced and that the girl will come around in the end. It is, and she won't. Just give it up.
  10. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 4, 2011
    25
    A drippy romance that makes Nicholas Sparks look like Leo Tolstoy.
  11. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Jan 26, 2011
    25
    An indistinct romantic-dramedy-ish something or other about the rekindled romance of an actress (Rachel Bilson) and her childhood best friend (Tom Sturridge).
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 4, 2011
    20
    Director James Keach's movie is so annoyingly dipsy-doodle that TV veteran Bilson, trying hard to look haunted and angsty, is boxed in.
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Feb 3, 2011
    20
    It's rare to find a movie protagonist who singularly fails on every count to be a compelling, sympathetic or even understandable figure.
  14. Reviewed by: Lisa Rosmon
    Feb 1, 2011
    20
    Maybe it's this soapy saga's cocktail of the worst of both the Lifetime network and self-consciously quirky indie cinema, but the strong supporting cast (including Jenkins and Blythe Danner) looks downright queasy in every frame.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    Though movie might seem a bit akward, weird and it certanly has a different perspective on what a true love is like, it's also well developed with believable performance. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    I'll be honest, I only bothered watching this movie because of Rachel Bilson. However, it was not at all the chick flick I expected it to be. Actually, I would say that it's not a chick flick at all. What it is is one of the saddest movies I've ever seen. Not sad in the "Hachi" or "Green Mile" sense where it's a tear-jerker because it had incredibly sad scenes. It's more sad in a depressing and realistic way where the foundation of the movie is essentially how life kinda sucks and is very hard and isn't all "peachy". Is there a love story mixed in? Sure, but there's a love story mixed into a lot of movies, TV shows, and even video games so I don't think "love story = chick flick" automatically. I thought the acting was solid, the story was very original and well told, and the development of the characters and plot was outstanding. The story was incredibly slow and I thought the ending of the movie went against what the purpose that the plot was all about so they kind of sold out there but it was still a solid movie. It's not great by any means of the imagination and most people might not have the patience to allow themselves to get wrapped up into the film but it's a much better movie than all of those soulless critics made it out to be. Full Review »