Waiting...

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 86
  2. Negative: 25 out of 86

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 17, 2015
    10
    Never go into a movie taking it serious, i loved this flick i've been watching it alot, my preference though are independent goofy movies. (pretty much what this movie is). just sit back and relax to this movie.
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Waiting is hilarious! It took me a while to get this movie, because I thought it was just another overrated trendy comedy and because of Andy Milonakis, who is the single most disgusting creature God has ever put on this planet. The movie is truly hysterical, but it lacks any real storyline. It's just people working in a restaurant and what happens during a busy shift. While the lines,Waiting is hilarious! It took me a while to get this movie, because I thought it was just another overrated trendy comedy and because of Andy Milonakis, who is the single most disgusting creature God has ever put on this planet. The movie is truly hysterical, but it lacks any real storyline. It's just people working in a restaurant and what happens during a busy shift. While the lines, characters, and game they play are hilarious, that's all there is to this film. It has no real story, discernable plot, or substance to it. It's the perfect movie to watch if you just wanna sit down and watch something stupid that you don't really have to think about. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    How it got so many low scores is beyond me. The movie is fantastic. Sure, there are plenty of dick jokes and adolescent humor. But since when is that a bad thing? If it makes you laugh, then it's doing what it's supposed to. There have been many gross out comedies that are considered legendary. But as soon as one is made in modern times, it's "cheap". Ryan Reynolds as Monty isHow it got so many low scores is beyond me. The movie is fantastic. Sure, there are plenty of dick jokes and adolescent humor. But since when is that a bad thing? If it makes you laugh, then it's doing what it's supposed to. There have been many gross out comedies that are considered legendary. But as soon as one is made in modern times, it's "cheap". Ryan Reynolds as Monty is perfect. Justin Long is hilarious. Everything is great about this film. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2010
    5
    "Waiting..." is crude, dumb, poorly made, and generally very immature. But is it funny? Yes in some cases, including some Reynolds dialogue that is outstanding and a couple of scenes with the one crazy woman who had worked there for way too long. Some of the stunts and gags grow way too old and gross by the end of the movie, but Reynolds displays a certain teenage charm and wit in his"Waiting..." is crude, dumb, poorly made, and generally very immature. But is it funny? Yes in some cases, including some Reynolds dialogue that is outstanding and a couple of scenes with the one crazy woman who had worked there for way too long. Some of the stunts and gags grow way too old and gross by the end of the movie, but Reynolds displays a certain teenage charm and wit in his sleek character that will cause anyone to laugh a few times, and will make the movie go down much more smoothly. Collapse
  5. Vince
    Jul 27, 2007
    0
    Anyone posting here saying that "the critics don't understand because they have never worked in the restaurant industry" is sorely missing the point of how poor a movie this really is. Before any of you Applebee's waiters can jump all over me for not getting it, you should know that I worked in a fine-dining restaurant for the last 2.5 years to help put myself through school. Anyone posting here saying that "the critics don't understand because they have never worked in the restaurant industry" is sorely missing the point of how poor a movie this really is. Before any of you Applebee's waiters can jump all over me for not getting it, you should know that I worked in a fine-dining restaurant for the last 2.5 years to help put myself through school. This movie is filled with low-brow humor, blatant homophobia, poorly-delivered jokes, and undeveloped, simplistic characters. I understand the desire to watch something stupid and funny, but that type of movie is easy enough to find; don't waste your time/money watching "Waiting." Expand
  6. Scott
    May 21, 2007
    10
    This is a movie in which you have to work in a restaruant to fully enjoy it.. its so realistic. If you have never worked in a restaruant, you'll be disturbed but the truth is, this stuff actually happens.
  7. PeterB.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    As a former Bartender/waiter I have to say that this movie is spot on at displaying the lifestyle of those not lucky enough to get paid big money to criticise something they don't understand. I feel sorry for those critics and to be honest anyone giving this movie a bad review is portrayed in the movie as the woman who cant get her order right. It's scary how true to life this As a former Bartender/waiter I have to say that this movie is spot on at displaying the lifestyle of those not lucky enough to get paid big money to criticise something they don't understand. I feel sorry for those critics and to be honest anyone giving this movie a bad review is portrayed in the movie as the woman who cant get her order right. It's scary how true to life this movie actually is, and I cant believe people dont understand that the crap they have to go through is so real. Power to the waiters. Expand
  8. WillS.
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    Ever worked in a restaurant? Then you'll appreciate this film more than anyone else. Very entertaining, and I've experienced most of it when working in a kitchen!
  9. GaryD.
    Sep 17, 2006
    6
    It was very enjoyable and had a great life message. It is also something of a mood piece and a playful examination of the world of waitering. For a movie this campy, the acting was above average.
  10. ChristopherB.
    Aug 11, 2006
    0
    One of the worst pieces of .... in cinema to ever come to light.
  11. SpencerD.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I guess this is one of those love-it-or-hate-it movies. Don't go in expecting a work of art and genius... expect a pretty realistic show of regular people who work at a restaraunt. I loved it.
  12. C.LawrenceC.
    May 13, 2006
    8
    Man, people seem to hate this movie, it's a perfect bad movie, I was more surprised than dissappointed.
  13. SpongeeeK.
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    This movie has a no holds barred comedic style that leaves no room for soft, mushy stuff. The pacing of it is great, the writing is even better, the acting just on point, and the overall this movie rocks! If you're offended by it, then you just may be to soft for the dark comedy in this film.
  14. GrantN.
    Feb 28, 2006
    2
    I expect the same people who like this movie to be the same people who think Hostel is more of a masterpiece than Brokeback Mountain and teen's who only know 45 states.
  15. DouglasH.
    Feb 12, 2006
    8
    This movie was funny and sick at the same time. Ryan F'ing Rocks!!!
  16. KevinC.
    Feb 7, 2006
    5
    Enjoy it on it's own stupid level. Don't expect much and you'll be pleasantly surprised. Compared to other asinine toilet-bowl "comedies," this one does alright. No redeemable value whatsoever but that's not why you rent it in the first place. It's amusing, it's worth the watch, just give it a shot.
  17. MarkB.
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    In Wes Craven's current Red Eye, the customer service attitude presented by Jayma Mays' endearingly beleaguered hotel clerk can be summed up as, "Sir and ma'am, I'm really, really trying hard to do the very best job I can. Could I possibly ask you to maybe slow down and lower your voices just a little so I can get caught up? Please?" In Waiting..., on the other hand, In Wes Craven's current Red Eye, the customer service attitude presented by Jayma Mays' endearingly beleaguered hotel clerk can be summed up as, "Sir and ma'am, I'm really, really trying hard to do the very best job I can. Could I possibly ask you to maybe slow down and lower your voices just a little so I can get caught up? Please?" In Waiting..., on the other hand, Shenaniganz' waiter Ryan Reynolds' philosophy is more like, "Better treat me and my crew nice...unless you want me to take your steak back to the kitchen and have the cook put a little bit...uh, shall we say, too much of himself into it!" (Unsavory, yes...but it beats the Flightplan airline crew's "Hey, some woman lost her kid! Let's have a quickie in the closet!") A definite beneficiary of The Great R-Rated Comedy Resurgence of 2005, led by Wedding Crashers and The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Waiting...is barely a sprig of parsley on those films' ample plates: it's unapologetically sexist, homophobic, slides past sophomoric in the first 10 minutes and WAY past childish in the next 15...and with the exception of the attempt to imitate Brian DePalma's endless camera tracks midway through (with speeded-up motion thrown in), the photography makes some of the entries on America's Funniest Home Videos look like Caleb Deschanael ghosted them. But the funnybone wants what it wants, and this rude, crude 1980s throwback succeeds in the only way that really matters for movies like this: it made me carefully time sips of my Diet Pepsi for fear I'd spit it out all over the couple in front of me. In short, it's damn funny, but here's a litmus test for you: if you rolled on the floor during the girls' shower scene in Porky's, waste no time buying a ticket; if not, Elizabethtown is probably playing down the hall. Criticisms that Waiting...is virtually plotless don't fly for two reasons: like Thank God It's Friday and Car Wash, it's a one-day-in-the-life-of movie, and besides, National Lampoon's Animal House, the granddaddy and all -time champion of this genre, didn't have any storyline either (other than Us/The Deltas vs. Them/The Omegas), and it's still great. Obviously this is no Animal House either, but many of the running gags really work, the actors (including a surprisingly up- to- speed Reynolds, old pros Chi McBride, Luis Guzman and Wendie Malick, a hysterically funny Alanna Ubach as a prime anger-management candidate, and David Koechner--who looks and sounds a lot like Larry Miller but has better comic timing--as the restaurant's alternately villainous, clueless and pathetic manager) help immeasurably, and director Rob McKettrick's script even includes some pertinent and even poignant observations reminiscent of Dilbert and Office Space. And if the antics of Shenaniganz' staff manages to convince a few audience members to spend their Friday night cash in a good old-fashioned mom-and-pop bar and grill rather than a corporate monstrosity like Bennigan's, TGIF's or Applebee's, McKettrick will have done more than just make an above-average raunchcom: he'll have performed a public service. Expand
  18. Steven
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    Anybody that takes this movie seriously is missing the point. It is Juvenile, Stupid, and Pointless.....and that's why its so funny! Loved it and will DEFINITELY buy the DVD!
  19. JohnnyB
    Oct 17, 2005
    0
    First of all, don't ever say industry. My 20 year old brother is going to see this. He loves these movies. Why? I do not know. Maybe it's for the fashion tips.
  20. Anthony
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    While I have never worked in the chain restaurant business in any capacity, I was nevertheless a cashier, at one time in my life, at a major retail outlet. Thus, unlike many of the inanely ignorant folks who've bashed "Waiting . . .", I am able to appreciate both the slacker-based comedy and low-level humor. In addition, the ensamble cast -- Ryan Reynolds ("Two Guys, A Girl, & A While I have never worked in the chain restaurant business in any capacity, I was nevertheless a cashier, at one time in my life, at a major retail outlet. Thus, unlike many of the inanely ignorant folks who've bashed "Waiting . . .", I am able to appreciate both the slacker-based comedy and low-level humor. In addition, the ensamble cast -- Ryan Reynolds ("Two Guys, A Girl, & A Pizza Place"), Justin Long ("Ed"), John Francis Daley ("Freaks & Geeks"), Chi McBride ("Boston Public"), Luis Guzman ("Luis"), Anna Faris ("Scary Movie"), Andy Milonakis ("The Andy Milonakis Show"), Dane Cook ("Comedy Central Presents: Dane Cook"), Vanessa Lengies ("American Dreams"), et al. -- in this film is nothing short of amazing; there is no denying it. Expand
  21. MikeyG
    Oct 14, 2005
    8
    This movie was damn funny! Maybe because it's not the same pace and style as all the other crap that is labeled as comedy these days, that's why people don't like it. It's refreshingly realistic and if people don't like the way the characters act and speak, then they really haven't been around a lot. Check it out and make up your own mind, but don't go This movie was damn funny! Maybe because it's not the same pace and style as all the other crap that is labeled as comedy these days, that's why people don't like it. It's refreshingly realistic and if people don't like the way the characters act and speak, then they really haven't been around a lot. Check it out and make up your own mind, but don't go eat afterwards. Wait 'til the next day. Expand
  22. MathewD.
    Oct 12, 2005
    8
    I think anyone in the restaurant business can appreciate the accuracy of this film...i'm not kidding--some of the events that transpire have happened to me verbatim. i can see how the humor and message is lost (YES, there IS a message--or did you not notice that the industry makes people want to drink and drug themselves stupid??) the fact is, if you haven't lived it, the I think anyone in the restaurant business can appreciate the accuracy of this film...i'm not kidding--some of the events that transpire have happened to me verbatim. i can see how the humor and message is lost (YES, there IS a message--or did you not notice that the industry makes people want to drink and drug themselves stupid??) the fact is, if you haven't lived it, the concept is foreign...this movie is a lot better than the critics say it is! Expand
  23. silkworm
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    Its crude humor. it aims low... blah blah blah... but its still funny. its a frickin riot. movies like "rushmore" approach comedy in a very sophisticated manner and while that all well and good, sometimes you just want good old lockerroom humor and this movie has it in spades. i saw it before it came out and my first comments after the movie were that i could guarantee that it would get Its crude humor. it aims low... blah blah blah... but its still funny. its a frickin riot. movies like "rushmore" approach comedy in a very sophisticated manner and while that all well and good, sometimes you just want good old lockerroom humor and this movie has it in spades. i saw it before it came out and my first comments after the movie were that i could guarantee that it would get slaughtered in the press, not because its a bad movie because the critics are old and cant relate to today's humor. its crude, its outrageous, its shocking and its absolutely hilarious. there are no boundaries here. everyone and everything is a target and thats what makes good humor. Expand
  24. Jesse
    Oct 10, 2005
    0
    First of all, Ive worked in the restaurant industry similar to this for six years. This movie does portray the relationships generated in the industry very well. However, seeing this done with poor jokes, uninteresting characters, and absolutly trash production, is a painful experience. These simple minded jokes clearly "get the job done" for the pre-teen audience. Ryan Reynolds completes First of all, Ive worked in the restaurant industry similar to this for six years. This movie does portray the relationships generated in the industry very well. However, seeing this done with poor jokes, uninteresting characters, and absolutly trash production, is a painful experience. These simple minded jokes clearly "get the job done" for the pre-teen audience. Ryan Reynolds completes this turd of a movie with the same character hes done in countless movies/sitcoms before this. The bottom line is that the jokes were not funny, and the characters were not developed. I agree this movie does have potential, but it does nothing with it. Dont worry if you dont catch this one on theaters, I'm sure it will be on comedy central battling for times slots against Corky Romano for years to come. Expand
  25. JoshM.
    Oct 10, 2005
    0
    It
  26. Justin
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I dont think that most of you even watched the same movie that I did. Being a fan of Ryan Reynolds' delivery, although it seems forced, its so awesome, i may be a little biased. But i thought that it was hilarious. I think you guys who gave it zeros probably arent the kind of people who like this type of humor in the first place. I know its not the most witty and clever stuff ever, I dont think that most of you even watched the same movie that I did. Being a fan of Ryan Reynolds' delivery, although it seems forced, its so awesome, i may be a little biased. But i thought that it was hilarious. I think you guys who gave it zeros probably arent the kind of people who like this type of humor in the first place. I know its not the most witty and clever stuff ever, but it gets the job done. I think it is the third funniest movie this summer behind two hugely funny ones, 40 year old virgin and wedding crashers. Expand
  27. MichaelB.
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    I think most people dismissed this as 90 minutes of bad gay jokes, and, in doing so, missed the point completely. This movie is really about the kind of relationships that are created between young people who work together in a service industry occupation. On the other hand, if you haven't worked in a setting like this, you very possibly could hate this movie. My only complaint with I think most people dismissed this as 90 minutes of bad gay jokes, and, in doing so, missed the point completely. This movie is really about the kind of relationships that are created between young people who work together in a service industry occupation. On the other hand, if you haven't worked in a setting like this, you very possibly could hate this movie. My only complaint with this film is that it was too short. There are a few characters who could have been given more focus and maybe more closure at the end. Expand
  28. Gary
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    Bad, bad, bad, and more bad. Cliched humor at its best. I wanted to leave with 10 minutes remaning, but my girlfriend and her stupid restuarant friends would not let me. The idea does have so much potential, but it was done in a completely wrong way. Should have taken some money away from casting and hired some real writers. To the comparison to Kevin Smith - I love Smith's movies Bad, bad, bad, and more bad. Cliched humor at its best. I wanted to leave with 10 minutes remaning, but my girlfriend and her stupid restuarant friends would not let me. The idea does have so much potential, but it was done in a completely wrong way. Should have taken some money away from casting and hired some real writers. To the comparison to Kevin Smith - I love Smith's movies and if he ever were to put out something like this I would burn all my Smith DVDs and urinate on them. Jersey Girl was bad, but this is on a different level of bad. Expand
  29. MikeP
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    Junk. painfully unfunny.
  30. BobM.
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    The NY Times said it right, "Putrid comic stew". I laughed one time, "Welcome to the Thunderdome, bitch". Their, I saved you time and money.
  31. Jeremy
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    Not funny whatsoever. My vote for the worst comedy of the year. A waste of time and money. if you like watching losers spit on food, this is for you.
  32. Alex
    Oct 8, 2005
    1
    If you worked at a restaurant like this, you might give it a 2 or a 3. This movie was God awful. Everything about this movie was cliche, even the name of the place they work at. Their are two scenery locations in the entire movie. Their is no major plot. The acting is horrible. Im a fan of tge crude joke, dont get me wrong, but these are not funny. I laughed about 4-5 times the entire If you worked at a restaurant like this, you might give it a 2 or a 3. This movie was God awful. Everything about this movie was cliche, even the name of the place they work at. Their are two scenery locations in the entire movie. Their is no major plot. The acting is horrible. Im a fan of tge crude joke, dont get me wrong, but these are not funny. I laughed about 4-5 times the entire movie. If you worked at a restuarant, enjoy cliches, bad acting, bad production and are half retarded, you may enjoy this movie. For the rest of you, stay away. Stay very far away. Expand
  33. Sarah
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    I continuously cracked up through the whole movie! We are still laughing and retelling the jokes.
  34. HenryL.
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Hilarious! Loved it!
  35. PaulF.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Saw this at the premiere - 650 people, including me, thought it was hysterical.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 26
  2. Negative: 12 out of 26
  1. 40
    There's real potential in the premise of young, unmotivated screw-ups logging time at a dead-end restaurant job--a hash-slinging "Office Space," basically--but first-time writer-director Rob McKittrick makes it look like a homemade sitcom laced with profanity.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    40
    The wait for laughs lasts the entire length of Waiting ..., first feature from writer-director Rob McKittrick that aims to be a "Clerks"-type comedy set in a chain restaurant but ends up somewhere below a "Porky's" sequel.
  3. With its sweet stupidity and shoddy production values, Waiting... knowingly evokes bad '80s R-rated comedies, but the differences are telling.