Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2007
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
17
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
WendyV.Oct 27, 2007
Perfectly charming, funny, sweet. True to life. characters with real relationships don't shy away from making make tough choices.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyMay 4, 2007
I laughed. I cried. I cheered. This little Independent Film was a poetic and lyrical fairytale. It was heartbreakingly beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
annemarieg.Jul 7, 2007
There was absolutely not one thing I didn't love about this movie. It is PERFECT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AminaA.Jan 24, 2008
If I could give it a 11 I would!! This movie lifted my spirit, you really did not know how it was going to go, but the best scene most have been when she (Shelly) held her baby girl for the first time AWW it was perfect. The acting was If I could give it a 11 I would!! This movie lifted my spirit, you really did not know how it was going to go, but the best scene most have been when she (Shelly) held her baby girl for the first time AWW it was perfect. The acting was brilliant and the characters were all funny in their own way! All together it was much more then I had expected, it was a feel good movie that I have been thirsting for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesN.Nov 9, 2007
Just a wonderful, original and utterly human film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianN.May 21, 2007
I agree with a mixture of the critics above - it's not a slice of life but it's also not a fable. The characters presented seem almost impressionist: too real to be caricatures and too poignant to be normal. This is a kind of movie I agree with a mixture of the critics above - it's not a slice of life but it's also not a fable. The characters presented seem almost impressionist: too real to be caricatures and too poignant to be normal. This is a kind of movie that doesn't care about mimicking the real further than convincing you to invest in the characters. After that it only wants to convince you that the world doesn't suck so long as you give it a nudge every once in a while. Really, a very entertaining feel-good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillD.May 26, 2007
This is not an easy movie to characterize. It tackles extremely serious topics in a most entertaining way. The movie is sweet but uncompromising. And its message is universal: if you have a decent life, accept it and be satisfied with it; if This is not an easy movie to characterize. It tackles extremely serious topics in a most entertaining way. The movie is sweet but uncompromising. And its message is universal: if you have a decent life, accept it and be satisfied with it; if your life is miserable, do what you have to do to change it. And who cares if the people are real or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffBNov 23, 2007
Off the charts charming. There is a lot of joy to be found here, but a great amount of quiet suffering as well. If the last ten minutes of the movie were lopped off, this might be soul-crushingly depressing. Keri Russell's performance Off the charts charming. There is a lot of joy to be found here, but a great amount of quiet suffering as well. If the last ten minutes of the movie were lopped off, this might be soul-crushingly depressing. Keri Russell's performance communicates perfectly the helplessness and despondency of feeling trapped by life and circumstances.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradL.Dec 9, 2007
Keri Russell really shines. I thinkshe deserves accolades for her portrayal of a morally-questionable, though honest and charming woman, as she makes the movie deliver sweet and sharp notes what could have been something sour and false.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.May 11, 2007
When my wife dragged me along to this film, I was prepared for another sugar-and-vinegar chick-flick yawn. Man was I wrong. It was made for guys. It opens, and ends, with pie. That should be enough. Recipe: Start with a standard small-town When my wife dragged me along to this film, I was prepared for another sugar-and-vinegar chick-flick yawn. Man was I wrong. It was made for guys. It opens, and ends, with pie. That should be enough. Recipe: Start with a standard small-town midsummer crust. Mix in a lonely, intelligent, stunningly beautiful blond, Kerri Russell, in a nurse-evocative pie-shop uniform, and we're in deep smit. Add an abusive, childish husband, and our protective instincts kick in. Stir in a pregnancy, and those instincts are in full force. Infuse with lots of humor, a risky affair, a codgerly grandpa figure, a greasy line-cook boss, a smarmy poet-stalker, a leggy gold-digger, secret loneliness, and a sidekick played by writer/director/producer the late Adrienne Shelley, and our languishing comic-book character fantasies are steadily evoked. Top with our weaknesses for money and fatherhood. Bake for the perfect length of time, serve with a generous helping of humanity, finish with a hefty glass of moral relativity, and round out with a food-based lullaby. Wow. Every guy should see this film, and every girlfriend/wife/partner should take him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahW.Jan 17, 2008
Keri Russel proves she is more than just Felicity. Really funny, poignant, all American tale. Not just a chick flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomM.Nov 28, 2007
This was a great movie, with many memorable characters. Very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillSDec 11, 2007
Beautifully sweet and enjoyable. Keri Russell shines in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hoops2448Oct 27, 2011
Waitress walks a pretty thin line between dark relationship drama and whimsical comedy and it does so perfectly making the film thoroughly enjoyable while also giving it bite.
Waitress tells the story of Jenna (Keri Russell), a small town
Waitress walks a pretty thin line between dark relationship drama and whimsical comedy and it does so perfectly making the film thoroughly enjoyable while also giving it bite.
Waitress tells the story of Jenna (Keri Russell), a small town waitress with a knack for making pies, who discovers she is pregnant with her repulsive husbands (Jeremy Sisto) child. She plans to win a pie making contest in a nearby town to make enough money to get away from him.
Waitress is exceedingly clever in that it doesn't resort to any form of cliche when it could easily do so. For instance Jennas husband manages to be repugnant while also tragic, scary while also affectionate. Its something only a skilfully written script, actor and director could do together and it works magnificently. However the film really shines because of its supporting characters like Dr Pomatter (Nathan Fillion) and diner owner Joe (Andy Griffiths) who bring big lashings of humour and heart to the film. Russell gives a powerful performance that never becomes overtly emotional because it isn't in the character. The strong southern nature of her character does contrast with the closed in feeling she has about her marriage but at the same time makes you wonder why she hasn't left him already (a question handled well at the end of the film) Waitress is a perfectly crafted movie with plenty of comedy, emotion and depth.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SusanJun 8, 2007
What a wonderful surprise. Not really a comedy. Not really a romance, but it has elements of both. I loved this movie from start to finish. Intelligent, delightful, poignant, and original, it is a great departure from most of the romcoms out What a wonderful surprise. Not really a comedy. Not really a romance, but it has elements of both. I loved this movie from start to finish. Intelligent, delightful, poignant, and original, it is a great departure from most of the romcoms out there. Don't go expecting belly laughs; instead you'll get a chuckle out of the bleakest of situations and the way the characters handle them. I had never seen Keri Russell in anything, and she may not be the best actress out there, but she's cute as a button and she made me believe in her character. Andy Griffith is right at home and it's nice to see him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.May 5, 2007
Simply an excellent little film. It's great to see both Kerri Russel (Felicity) and Nathan Fillion (Firefly) in such quality roles, for a change. They deserve it, but so do we! Cheryl Hines and Adrienne Shelly (as well as Andy Griffith) Simply an excellent little film. It's great to see both Kerri Russel (Felicity) and Nathan Fillion (Firefly) in such quality roles, for a change. They deserve it, but so do we! Cheryl Hines and Adrienne Shelly (as well as Andy Griffith) provide the glue that holds it all together. Certainly heartwarming, even though there's an underbelly of pain and loneliness to it all (see Jeremy Sisto). So sad what happened to Adrienne Shelly, who was really the queen of the resurgence in independent film. The first must-see film of "the summer." If you're bored to tears by standard noise that the Spider-Man machine is churning out this weekend, you've got a perfect alternative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedO.May 20, 2007
This year's "Little Miss Sunshine"? it gets my vote. Great character piece. Loved the style and feel. Also enjoyed the top-notch camera work, and production design. It looked fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradS.Mar 9, 2008
I don't get the love/hate reactions by my fellow users. This is a quirky, funny, moving, sexy movie with a lot to say about the human spirit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnoldP.May 10, 2007
In this frenzied world we need, this type of "corny" entertainment to lift our sometimes lagging spirits. Simple but so beautifully crafted by an amzingly talented ensemble. How can you resist the heartfelt performance of Kerri Russell, In this frenzied world we need, this type of "corny" entertainment to lift our sometimes lagging spirits. Simple but so beautifully crafted by an amzingly talented ensemble. How can you resist the heartfelt performance of Kerri Russell, luminous right up to the almost fairy tale ended. So what wrong with laughter mixed with bittersweet tears, for me absolutely nothing. A lasting legacy to Adrienne Shelly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitB.May 21, 2007
If you liked 'Sideways' and 'Little Miss Sunshine' -- you'll like 'Waitress.' All three films tell a small story and feature slightly quirky, loveable characters who grab and hold the viewer's If you liked 'Sideways' and 'Little Miss Sunshine' -- you'll like 'Waitress.' All three films tell a small story and feature slightly quirky, loveable characters who grab and hold the viewer's interest. Russell does an excellent job of playing the love-starved waitress who channels her frustration into pie-making and then falls in love with a new, handsome doctor who comes to town to take over the practice of the town's retiring doctor. This will be a big hit, and justifiably so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PegR.Jun 6, 2007
Surprisingly funny--we went in thinking the "name the pie" shtik was dumb so weren't expecting much. We left really enjoying a funny, well acted film. Shelly was a riot and the movie was fun from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Dec 5, 2007
A terrific movie, and especially emotional after finding out the writer/director/actress was murdered by an illegal immigrant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJ.Aug 23, 2007
Great unexpected film. Very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MadJaplesMay 24, 2015
This film was awesome, but then it has Mr Fillion in it, and I have the worst possible man crush on the guy ever since Firefly, so I'm exceptionally biased. I did see this on the whim of a poorly constructed review attempting to look like aThis film was awesome, but then it has Mr Fillion in it, and I have the worst possible man crush on the guy ever since Firefly, so I'm exceptionally biased. I did see this on the whim of a poorly constructed review attempting to look like a recipe, I would advise anyone against trying to impress with cookbook prose, and just say the damn stuff like you want to instead of trying to cook proverbial pie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BenjaJan 27, 2016
I loved this movie! It's adorable, sad and every character makes the movie a little bit more fun. I love the way it handles relationships and Keri Russell does an amazing job as Jenna.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DonaldS.Dec 2, 2007
Ending qas somewhat dry, very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Aug 15, 2007
Too bad this piquant but charming little small-town character study, despite several promising weeks in the Top Ten, ultimately didn't have the staying power that would've made it this year's equivalent to 2002's My Big Too bad this piquant but charming little small-town character study, despite several promising weeks in the Top Ten, ultimately didn't have the staying power that would've made it this year's equivalent to 2002's My Big Fat Greek Wedding (which it's superior to) or last year's Little Miss Sunshine (which it's FAR superior to). Keri Russell (of TV's Felicity) is luminous as the title character Jenna, who sublimates her disappointment with her less-than-totally-fulfilling career and genuinely miserable home life by concocting highly original, offbeat pie recipes. (Some of us cook. Some of us post online movie reviews. Po-tay-to, po-tah-to.) Life takes an unexpected turn when Jenna discovers she's pregnant, a development that threatens to leave her permanently tied to her creepy, abusive husband Earl (Jeremy Sisto), but also opens up new possibilities (and moral dilemmas, which the movie admirably doesn't shy away from) in the form of a romance with her Dr. McDreamy-like gynecologist (Nathan Fillion, of the cult TV show Firefly and subsequent movie Serenity). With our country perhaps more polarized in the last few years than it's been at any time in its history since, oh, maybe the Civil War, Waitress is exactly the kind of purple-state movie we all desperately need; it's clearly feminist in its beliefs that women are rightfully entitled to the full spectrum of opportunities that come so easily to men, but one must also note that even though Jenna clearly doesn't want to have the baby (and Earl is such a loose cannon that it's potentially dangerous for her to have it), she--like Katharine Heigl's Alison in Knocked Up--doesn't seriously consider an abortion. Triple-threat talent Adrienne Shelly, who wrote and directed as well as contributing a thoroughly endearing supporting turn as coworker Dawn, occasionally veers too sharply into sitcom territory (the third waitress is a tad too similar to Flo on TV's Alice for total comfort) but more than compensates with dozens of perfect but unobtrusive, almost subliminal little directorial touches. Notice, for example, what happens visually to Jenna's surroundings once the baby is born, and observe how the font Shelly chooses in the opening credits makes a significant, poignant reappearance in the final scene. The writing is often wonderfully multilayered and subtle, too, especially in the handling of Earl: he's certainly scary and dangerous, and Jenna has every reason and right to try to escape him, but Shelly, rather than taking the easy way out and making him one-dimensionally monstrous, paints him as deeply insecure and at times even childlike...which of course doesn't justify his behavior but at least makes it seem logical (at least from HIS point of view). Remember that Jenna does admit that she married him BEFORE he became this way, which indicates that there must have been a time in which she at least thought she loved him. Parallels with Shelly's own tragic offscreen fate are best left mostly undiscussed because there's no profit or point in giving her murderer any more publicity than he deserves, but I will briefly bring up two points: the violence with which Shelly met her end stands in heartbreaking contrast with the gentleness of her final film, and if my memory serves me correctly, Shelly could, sadly, become the first posthumous Best Original Screenplay Oscar nominee on record in a few months. And if the Academy Award folks want to give Andy Griffith the same Lifetime Achievement--er, Best Supporting Actor award they gave Alan Arkin last year, for Griffith's hugely enjoyable portrayal of Old Joe, the curmudgeon with a heart of...silver, then who are we to deny the Sheriff of Mayberry? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 25, 2007
Like Damien O'Donnell's "East is East", "Waitress" has the same dramatic shift in tone, catalyzed by an abusive husband(Om Puri in the film about working-class Pakistani emigrants), which redefines the genre both films originally Like Damien O'Donnell's "East is East", "Waitress" has the same dramatic shift in tone, catalyzed by an abusive husband(Om Puri in the film about working-class Pakistani emigrants), which redefines the genre both films originally started with. In other words, "Waitress" is thrown out of whack by Jenna's malevolent husband, Earl(Jeremy Sisto), whose misogynistic hand jars the viewer after being treated to a pitch-perfect quirk-fest of eccentric characters and situations. Still, the break-out performance of the radiant Keri Russell, saves the rookie filmmaker with her mournful grace and sardonic humor, even in the film's patchier moments. Her last scene is scarily prescient of this filmmaker's tragic fate when you realize that Earl is, in all likelihood, sharing the same zip code with his ex-wife. Stay for the epitaph, then rent Hal Hartley's "Trust" and fall in love with the late Adrienne Shelly. Then cry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.May 25, 2007
Probably not a "mainstream" film, but I enjoyed it very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
pinattarJul 5, 2012
A delightfully charming movie, not necessarily a romcom but more as a lighthearted romance movie. It's basically a "happier" version of "The Good Girl" with Jennifer Aniston. It is a well acted movie from everyone involved, but particularlyA delightfully charming movie, not necessarily a romcom but more as a lighthearted romance movie. It's basically a "happier" version of "The Good Girl" with Jennifer Aniston. It is a well acted movie from everyone involved, but particularly from Russle, Sisto and Fillion. Keri Russell does an excellent job as playing a waitress was is unhappy with her life. Living in an unhappy marriage while fighting her urge to be happy. At first I thought that i wouldn;t be able to stand her accent, but she does a surprisingly good job. Jeremy Sisto does a good job as a scum bag, mean and (non physically) abusive husband. And Nathan Fillion as a kind and caring prince charming like character, which I thought was perfect for her. It's well paced and written, especially the ending which makes it stand out from other movies of its kind. 8.4/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LindaL.Jun 14, 2007
Cut this pie into thirds, and it's: One part "Like Water for Chocolate," one part "Fried Green Tomatoes" and one part "Alice" (the TV series, not the movie it was based on). Though the husband is a ridiculous cartoon and the ending a Cut this pie into thirds, and it's: One part "Like Water for Chocolate," one part "Fried Green Tomatoes" and one part "Alice" (the TV series, not the movie it was based on). Though the husband is a ridiculous cartoon and the ending a fairy-tale cliche, I found the film to be very enjoyable for the funny-quirky characters.(Imagine Andy Griffith, for one, ending up as Mayberry's grumpy old man!) It also made me want to come home and bake a pie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickB.Jun 5, 2007
There is a definite sense of independent filmaking coursing through the screen, but the charm soaks through. Keri Russell is simply fun to watch. I wouldn't say much was revelatory, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Jun 8, 2007
Start with a slice of "Oh God, I'm pregnant and I hate my husband" pie, have a piece of "My friend has a secret and won't tell anybody" pie and "My other friend is being stalked by the worlds biggest nerd" pie, then have some "Why Start with a slice of "Oh God, I'm pregnant and I hate my husband" pie, have a piece of "My friend has a secret and won't tell anybody" pie and "My other friend is being stalked by the worlds biggest nerd" pie, then have some "Why is the best man in my life my OBY-GN and married!" pie, then finish it off with a great big piece of "I am woman, hear me roar" pie and you get a wonderfully delicious little indie gem that's a star making turn by Keri Russell and a heart-breaking farewell to Adrienne Shelly that's guaranteed to make you want to stop off at the local bakery on your way home. With 3 great big blockbuster busts so far this year- 3 great big cheers for independent films!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful