Waitress

Waitress Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This sweet, sassy and delicious slice of life tale reveals the power of friendship, motherhood and the willingness to take a chance. (Fox Searchlight)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. The writer-director Adrienne Shelly, who died in New York City late last year at the age of 40, took such perishable ingredients as wit, daring, poignancy, whimsy and romance, added passionate feelings plus the constant possibility of joy, decorated her one-of-a-kind production with pastel colors and created something close to perfection.
  2. 91
    The movie is an inspired comedy-drama about artistic temperament.
  3. 80
    Part feminist fable, part romantic fairy tale, it is by turns tart and sweet, charming and tough, rather like its heroine and like Keri Russell, the plucky, pretty, nimble actress who plays her.
  4. Waitress is sweet, uneven and, ultimately, a heartbreaker.
  5. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    70
    Wise, humble and effortlessly funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    70
    When you watch Waitress, you're also watching a meta-movie about Shelly's brutal end, and the spirit that bursts from every corner of this overcrowded movie is so genuinely warm that trashing it feels like panning a so-so baton-twirling performance at the church talent show.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    It appears to be a true reflection of her (Shelly) spirit -- eccentric, good-naturedly feminist, kind of funny and kind of sentimental. Despite its realistic setting in a small Southern town, it is much more a fable than it is a slice of authentic life.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 53
  2. Negative: 10 out of 53
  1. PatrickM.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    When my wife dragged me along to this film, I was prepared for another sugar-and-vinegar chick-flick yawn. Man was I wrong. It was made for When my wife dragged me along to this film, I was prepared for another sugar-and-vinegar chick-flick yawn. Man was I wrong. It was made for guys. It opens, and ends, with pie. That should be enough. Recipe: Start with a standard small-town midsummer crust. Mix in a lonely, intelligent, stunningly beautiful blond, Kerri Russell, in a nurse-evocative pie-shop uniform, and we're in deep smit. Add an abusive, childish husband, and our protective instincts kick in. Stir in a pregnancy, and those instincts are in full force. Infuse with lots of humor, a risky affair, a codgerly grandpa figure, a greasy line-cook boss, a smarmy poet-stalker, a leggy gold-digger, secret loneliness, and a sidekick played by writer/director/producer the late Adrienne Shelley, and our languishing comic-book character fantasies are steadily evoked. Top with our weaknesses for money and fatherhood. Bake for the perfect length of time, serve with a generous helping of humanity, finish with a hefty glass of moral relativity, and round out with a food-based lullaby. Wow. Every guy should see this film, and every girlfriend/wife/partner should take him. Expand
  2. JeffB
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Off the charts charming. There is a lot of joy to be found here, but a great amount of quiet suffering as well. If the last ten minutes of Off the charts charming. There is a lot of joy to be found here, but a great amount of quiet suffering as well. If the last ten minutes of the movie were lopped off, this might be soul-crushingly depressing. Keri Russell's performance communicates perfectly the helplessness and despondency of feeling trapped by life and circumstances.... Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Waitress walks a pretty thin line between dark relationship drama and whimsical comedy and it does so perfectly making the film thoroughlyWaitress walks a pretty thin line between dark relationship drama and whimsical comedy and it does so perfectly making the film thoroughly enjoyable while also giving it bite.
    Waitress tells the story of Jenna (Keri Russell), a small town waitress with a knack for making pies, who discovers she is pregnant with her repulsive husbands (Jeremy Sisto) child. She plans to win a pie making contest in a nearby town to make enough money to get away from him.
    Waitress is exceedingly clever in that it doesn't resort to any form of cliche when it could easily do so. For instance Jennas husband manages to be repugnant while also tragic, scary while also affectionate. Its something only a skilfully written script, actor and director could do together and it works magnificently. However the film really shines because of its supporting characters like Dr Pomatter (Nathan Fillion) and diner owner Joe (Andy Griffiths) who bring big lashings of humour and heart to the film. Russell gives a powerful performance that never becomes overtly emotional because it isn't in the character. The strong southern nature of her character does contrast with the closed in feeling she has about her marriage but at the same time makes you wonder why she hasn't left him already (a question handled well at the end of the film) Waitress is a perfectly crafted movie with plenty of comedy, emotion and depth.
    Expand
  4. DonaldS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    Ending qas somewhat dry, very enjoyable.
  5. NickB.
    Jun 5, 2007
    7
    There is a definite sense of independent filmaking coursing through the screen, but the charm soaks through. Keri Russell is simply fun to There is a definite sense of independent filmaking coursing through the screen, but the charm soaks through. Keri Russell is simply fun to watch. I wouldn't say much was revelatory, though. Expand
  6. JeffD.
    Jun 11, 2007
    5
    If you take away the tragic backstory, this is a truly mediocre film. From the terrible attempts at southern accents to the vocabulary that If you take away the tragic backstory, this is a truly mediocre film. From the terrible attempts at southern accents to the vocabulary that seems to be far above the heads of its users to the i'm-so-cute-look-at-me self-consciousness of the film, I'm expecting to see this on Oxygen in a few years. Expand
  7. JohnB.
    May 12, 2007
    0
    I think this movie is probably a 3 or a 4, but I gave it a zero to cournter balance the overly inflated scores because the director died. I think this movie is probably a 3 or a 4, but I gave it a zero to cournter balance the overly inflated scores because the director died. It's sad, yes, but the movie is REALLY mediocre. Keep up the lame illusion that this is the best movie of the year and it will rob a deserving movie of an Oscar Nod. Get over it. It isn't that good. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.