Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 18, 2005
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 333 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
282
Mixed:
32
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
reveiwmanmysterMar 25, 2011
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, walk the line. in entertaining movie with a good message. Don't do speed or you will lose everything but gain a wife. Even so the main part of the movie was to shoe that he walked the line, been to the worst place almost anyAhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, walk the line. in entertaining movie with a good message. Don't do speed or you will lose everything but gain a wife. Even so the main part of the movie was to shoe that he walked the line, been to the worst place almost any Artist could go and came out of it. He was the first person that people said was messed up in the music biz. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RayW.Dec 21, 2005
My wife and I both saw this movie at the same time, we both loved it and will probably purchase the dvd with it comes out. We both felt it had the potential for Academy Award nominations for best actress and actor for 2005.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenFMar 22, 2013
Johnny Cash undoubtedly left an everlasting legacy after his death in 2003, and there was inevitably going to be a biopic of the iconic country singer, so soon perhaps was surprising, but here we have it, and a truly riveting, compelling andJohnny Cash undoubtedly left an everlasting legacy after his death in 2003, and there was inevitably going to be a biopic of the iconic country singer, so soon perhaps was surprising, but here we have it, and a truly riveting, compelling and entertaining tale has been told by director James Mangold.
We start off seeing John 'JR' Cash inside Folsom prison, about to take to the stage in one of the most high profile concerts in recent memory. Joaquin Phoenix steps into the famed singer's shoes, and does an emotionally satisfying and shockingly accurate rendition of the Man in Black.
The film then seemingly transforms into a flashback, as Johnny thinks back to his days as a Christian child, not at all the favourite son of his discipline happy dad, he often listens to bible tunes on the radio, to the dismay of his father.
After a tragic accident, we see a grown up Johnny joining the army, and he spends most of his free time writing songs, mainly things that seem to annoy him or that are constantly on his mind. He soon returns home to a wife and a life not quite what he had hoped for as a door to door salesman, he happens upon a recording studio run by Sam Philips (Dallas Roberts) who convinces Johnny to sing something of his own, simply telling him that people don't want to hear bible music....and so begins the unforgettable career of the legend.
Joaquin Phoenix delivers his most memorable and certainly the most close to life of any biopic tale of Cash, combining his rusky voice with the charm and charisma of the real thing. His struggles with the beautiful June Carter (Reese Witherspoon) are chronicled in this excellent tale of a complex trial and error story, one which shot Cash to the highest stardom of his life but one which also made him face his darkest demons.
We watch as the celebrity stigma with Cash perhaps becomes too much, and he begins to delve in the narcotic way of life, eventually destroying his marriage and possible his career.
All the songs that made him as we know him today are present, and Phoenix couldn't be more on par with the man he is portraying, it is sometimes a pinch yourself moment just to make sure you are listening to the real thing,
What truly leaks from this picture is Cash's attempt to constantly make his dad proud, something he never seems to get, and perhaps the reason behind his spiral out of control.
A truly powerful and exhilarating biopic that cannot be missed, showing the life of one of the most charismatic, egotistical yet brilliant musicians of all time, Johnny Cash.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012Nov 22, 2012
Walk the Line is a beautiful film that takes the audience through the destruction and ultimate redemption of the immortal artist's life, emphasized by the flawless lead performances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Walk the Line is a huge achievement for musical film. A biopic which follows the relationship and careers of both Johnny Cash and his eventual-wife June Carter. They've decided to re-record Cash's music with its very talented cast, bringingWalk the Line is a huge achievement for musical film. A biopic which follows the relationship and careers of both Johnny Cash and his eventual-wife June Carter. They've decided to re-record Cash's music with its very talented cast, bringing us a brilliant soundtrack. Joaquin Phoenix is a valiant Johnny Cash--and Reese Witherspoon, leaves us speechless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Jan 3, 2013
Being an ultimate fan of Johnny Cash, I was very happy with the way this film turned out. Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon both nailed their performances in voice and poisture. The also went into great lengths of how drug addiction canBeing an ultimate fan of Johnny Cash, I was very happy with the way this film turned out. Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon both nailed their performances in voice and poisture. The also went into great lengths of how drug addiction can ruin your life and how stopping can rebuild it. And the music was mind-blowing. Especially because it was the actors singing it. Great film! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Aug 11, 2013
Not only is it the greatest, most evocative filmic depiction of a musician I've ever seen, it's easily one of the top three biopics I have ever seen. With Phoenix and Witherspoon's frighteningly uncanny performances, a superbly thematicNot only is it the greatest, most evocative filmic depiction of a musician I've ever seen, it's easily one of the top three biopics I have ever seen. With Phoenix and Witherspoon's frighteningly uncanny performances, a superbly thematic script, a brilliant set of images, and an obviously extraordinary musical atmosphere, "Walk The Line" is nothing short of immaculate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
Roger Ebert said this about the film and I completely agree with him: "The music is great, the drama is great, the writing is great, the performances are great, I love it!" Joaquin Phoenix gives a brilliant performance as Johnny Cash, andRoger Ebert said this about the film and I completely agree with him: "The music is great, the drama is great, the writing is great, the performances are great, I love it!" Joaquin Phoenix gives a brilliant performance as Johnny Cash, and Reese Witherspoon gives the performance of her career. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FilmisFeb 13, 2013
A simply brilliant film that really gets behind the complex troubles that made Johnny cash who he was. The best part about this film is Reese Witherspoon's performance as June Carter, although ironically she seems to have a more polishedA simply brilliant film that really gets behind the complex troubles that made Johnny cash who he was. The best part about this film is Reese Witherspoon's performance as June Carter, although ironically she seems to have a more polished voice than June but she still captures her character and her love for Johnny. The film ends on a romantic vibe which makes you forget about the adultery, heartache and drug use that had to happen before. It covers a lot of deep and heavy topics but the soundtrack and the tour sequences keep the film on an upbeat and feel good beat. Definitely an all time favourite! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JadaO00Aug 4, 2013
Not all the parts were completely true but they had to keep the movie short enough to keep attention. I think it would be better with the deleted scenes. I still loved it. Music is great, clothes, cars, hair, was very good.some were wonderingNot all the parts were completely true but they had to keep the movie short enough to keep attention. I think it would be better with the deleted scenes. I still loved it. Music is great, clothes, cars, hair, was very good.some were wondering why Jerry lee Lewis was in there. Jerry was touring with John and they were good friends. John was weaker in the movie than I thought. Movie of my overall review was a fantastic film still deleted scenes would have made it better but it is my favorite movie ever. I'd totally give this movie 20 points if I could. Helped? Email me at JadaO00@hotmail.com no negative please Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
GlenD.May 24, 2006
I watched this movie from beginning to end, and I was angered and disgusted! After reading Johnny Cash's autobiography 'Man In Black' it is easy to spot very obvious flaws in the movie. For one thing, Johnny Cash described his I watched this movie from beginning to end, and I was angered and disgusted! After reading Johnny Cash's autobiography 'Man In Black' it is easy to spot very obvious flaws in the movie. For one thing, Johnny Cash described his father as a good natured, good humoured, loving and dignified man who even preached one Sunday morning at thier church. The movie, however, portrays Ray Cash as a gruff , abusive, contemptuos tyrant. The movie didn't do June Cater justice either. In Cash's autobiography, June was a very strong, patient, sweet and dignified woman. The movie, however, has Reese Witherspoon portraying June as an ill tempered, mean mouthed battle axe. The movie also made Johnny Cash look wimpy and pathetic. Even during the weakest time of his life, the man still had strength, character, dignity, and a keen sense of humour. The good things I can say about Walk The Line is that the music and singing was pretty decent, and the clothes, the hairstyles and the cars were very authentic. I'll give Joaqin phoenix due credit for being able to do the tough job of looking and sounding like Johnny Cash. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MartinZ>Nov 28, 2005
I've seen this movie it came out last year it was known as Ray.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KingFolderolNov 28, 2005
A huge disappointment. Threads that could have been interesting (Cash's childhood, his stint in the Air Force, his first marriage) aren't really explained or developed the way they could have been or should have been. The songs are A huge disappointment. Threads that could have been interesting (Cash's childhood, his stint in the Air Force, his first marriage) aren't really explained or developed the way they could have been or should have been. The songs are all good, but it seems like they spent a lot of time trying to establish the fact that Cash rubbed elbows with the big names of 1950s music. Jerry Lee Lewis is certainly an entertaining character, but why bother throwing him into the film for the sake of throwing him into the film? The movie just dragged on, turning into a long story of "will they or won't they" with June Carter and Johnny Cash, a story that had no suspense or interest. The movie would have been better served exploring how or why Cash wrote some of his greater, and darker songs. This movie felt mostly like a great opportunity wasted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FantasyNov 30, 2005
Oscar material? Hardly! Jamie Farr captured Ray in which we believed he was Ray. You can't compare the two performances because he didn't look like Johnny Cash and couldn't sing either. Reese Witherspoon is great in everything Oscar material? Hardly! Jamie Farr captured Ray in which we believed he was Ray. You can't compare the two performances because he didn't look like Johnny Cash and couldn't sing either. Reese Witherspoon is great in everything she appears in thus the two points. For country music fans only. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeS.Aug 14, 2006
I was surpirsed at how bad this movie was. Maybe my expectations were too high.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChristianW.Sep 9, 2007
Disappointing. Seemed to gloss over Johnny's dark side, drug use, arrest etc. Various scenes such as when Johnny or June are inspired to write a certain song were painfully contrived. Cash fans, I would say give it a miss and check out Disappointing. Seemed to gloss over Johnny's dark side, drug use, arrest etc. Various scenes such as when Johnny or June are inspired to write a certain song were painfully contrived. Cash fans, I would say give it a miss and check out some of the good docos on his life instead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JRNov 18, 2005
Who knew Cash was not only boring but couldn't sing very well.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrennanS.Nov 18, 2005
Gripping and powerful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
A.J.YudienNov 20, 2005
Reese Witherspoon gave a great performance of Dolly Parton doing her imitation of June Carter. The movie started off great and deteriorated into a real loser...this is nowhere close to the incredible movie "RAY". Don't waste your Reese Witherspoon gave a great performance of Dolly Parton doing her imitation of June Carter. The movie started off great and deteriorated into a real loser...this is nowhere close to the incredible movie "RAY". Don't waste your time....spend your money on a Johnny Cash CD...would be more entertaining. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LindseyDec 1, 2005
It was Jamie Foxx but nonetheless I couldn't agree with you more. The essence of the man was not captured; only his troubled life. Depressing film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TravisC.Jan 7, 2006
Best movie of the year, hands down, there were dramatic parts and hilarious parts to it too, when oscars come around, if any other movie wins best picture, it would be a crime, and give joaquin phoenix best actor too, he was unbelieveable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Oct 11, 2006
I must have seen this movie about a million times already, and it just seems to be getting better and better every time I see it. The issues that Johnny Cash went through and the tours he was on were portrayed well. Reese Witherspoon was I must have seen this movie about a million times already, and it just seems to be getting better and better every time I see it. The issues that Johnny Cash went through and the tours he was on were portrayed well. Reese Witherspoon was fantastic in the flick, she's got the pipes in her family. Awesome job by the entire crew and a great movie to have in the collection of DVDs at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnanR.Jan 5, 2006
Delightful performances! Both, Joaquin Phoenix and Reece Witherspoon did very well. This movie has given me some insight to what our beloved Johnny Cash has lived through. I have always liked most of his music but now I love it! I want to Delightful performances! Both, Joaquin Phoenix and Reece Witherspoon did very well. This movie has given me some insight to what our beloved Johnny Cash has lived through. I have always liked most of his music but now I love it! I want to buy it when it comes out... hope it wont take too long. For once... a movie I can actually say I loved it. Two thumbs way up to all the actors, writers, and all the rest of the crew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArielG.Feb 12, 2006
Very light and enteraining movie. Even though it was a standard rags-to-riches musician story, Joaquin Phoenix kept it from sinking into boredom with his charisma and presence. And Reese Witherspoon, I can't say enough good things about Very light and enteraining movie. Even though it was a standard rags-to-riches musician story, Joaquin Phoenix kept it from sinking into boredom with his charisma and presence. And Reese Witherspoon, I can't say enough good things about her. She totally won me over with her solid acting, totally immersing herself in her role as June Carter. Who would've thought Reese could sing? Hopefully she'll snag the Oscar this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenzieFeb 2, 2006
My favourite film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StacieH.Feb 20, 2006
Just average. I really like Johnny Cash, but this movie didn't do him or his memory justice. Full of cliches and limp drama. Unfortunately, I walked away not caring much about Johnny and definitely not much at all about this character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephM.Feb 5, 2006
Brilliant - although not a Cash fan, I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and the two main actors gave an awe inspiring performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Mar 10, 2006
Completely Spellbinding, Witherspoon & Pheonix Are Amazing And Deliver Their Best Performances To Date. Choice Of Songs In The Movie Were Great And Really Note The Progression Of Cash's Music. Look Out For When He Performs At Folsom Completely Spellbinding, Witherspoon & Pheonix Are Amazing And Deliver Their Best Performances To Date. Choice Of Songs In The Movie Were Great And Really Note The Progression Of Cash's Music. Look Out For When He Performs At Folsom Prison, Excellent Scene. Top Movie Best Of The Year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JudithD.Mar 5, 2006
Although Witherspoon was okay. I do not see this film, in comparison with one like Crash, nothing less than ordinary. Johnny Cash was not very good as a singer and is totally uninteresting as a person. Did not get all the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HendrikMar 6, 2006
L.S. for the first time in 20 years i did enjoy a movie so truly a life story like gone with the wind SO MIGHTY WELL AND HARTWARMING PERFORMED growin older the mind starts to forget mercifully hopefully never ever for walk the line adios L.S. for the first time in 20 years i did enjoy a movie so truly a life story like gone with the wind SO MIGHTY WELL AND HARTWARMING PERFORMED growin older the mind starts to forget mercifully hopefully never ever for walk the line adios hendrik from holland the little brave country of the lowlands. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful