Walking with Dinosaurs Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time in movie history, audiences will truly see and feel what it was like when dinosaurs ruled the Earth. Walking with Dinosaurs is the ultimate immersive experience, utilizing state of the art 3D to put audiences in the middle of a thrilling and epic prehistoric world, whereFor the first time in movie history, audiences will truly see and feel what it was like when dinosaurs ruled the Earth. Walking with Dinosaurs is the ultimate immersive experience, utilizing state of the art 3D to put audiences in the middle of a thrilling and epic prehistoric world, where an underdog dino triumphs to become a hero for the ages Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Dec 20, 2013
    75
    Purists may still quail at the little bit of anthropomorphism going on, but it seems a small price to pay to broaden the audience for a family film that seeks to do more than just entertain.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Dec 19, 2013
    67
    Educational content, clever and photorealistic dinosaur CGI, and John Leguizamo voicing a prehistoric bird. What else would one need for a fun movie stew?
  3. 63
    “Walking” takes care to ID each new dinosaur species introduced, including factoids about what they ate and any special skills they might have had. It’s downright educational. Just don’t tell your kids that.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Dec 18, 2013
    40
    For a film that purports to love dinosaurs, this bigger, flashier Walking With Dinosaurs sure doesn’t trust them to be interesting enough to carry five minutes of a movie without the copious aid of slapstick and bathroom humor in a screenplay so rote it makes creatures that have been dead for 65 million years feel less fossilized than the jokes.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    Poor John Leguizamo, who hopefully got well-paid to voice a stereotypical Latino bird providing a stream of nonsensical narration.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Dec 19, 2013
    38
    However well-intentioned the movie may be, it spills over with flat cutesy humor, making a slog out of an experience that should be filled with wonder.
  7. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    It was maddening and frustrating to watch so much ambition wasted on delivering such lame junk. Very young children, I suspect, will like it, but the closer viewers are to puberty, the less likely it is to hold their interest.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify theThis is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify the different types of dinosaurs, making it educational as well. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Walking with dinosaurs is focused towards younger viewers. It stops to identify the different types of dinosaurs in the film, and it is veryWalking with dinosaurs is focused towards younger viewers. It stops to identify the different types of dinosaurs in the film, and it is very light-hearted.

    The plot is sort of a coming of age story, and involves a Bambi-like loss of family. And a journey about growing up and learning to survive, and eventually lead. Not too deep, but really, no one came to see it for the plot. They came to see dinosaurs. Which there are many. Also possums?

    It also has a talking prehistoric bird named Alex, who is the fantastically hilarious protagonist and narrator of the story. Ignore the other dinosaur that narrates. It is about Alex.
    Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    6
    It's one part educational with impressive visuals, and one part goofy kids movie with irritating voice overs and dialog. For every time youIt's one part educational with impressive visuals, and one part goofy kids movie with irritating voice overs and dialog. For every time you learn about how a dinosaur acted or what their name meant, your going to have to deal with the lame jokes tossed out by the characters who just won't shut up. As far as the humor goes, only the youngest of audiences will get any laughs. Older audiences like myself will be left rolling their eyes. It makes for a great movie for the young dinosaur fanatic in your house, but that doesn't mean you'll enjoy watching it with them. While I appreciate that the film tries to each kids as much as it tries to make them laugh, the history lesson and childish humor don't mesh together in a way that will make this all that entertaining for their parents. Adults might get a slight kick out of seeing some cool dinosaurs looking great on screen, but this is one for the young dinosaur lovers. The younger the better, and there's not necessarily anything wrong with that. My total score for the film is a 6.4/10=Okay. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    This movie is just for kids mostly it stops for a second just to teach you about the specimen and the main plot is generic as it sounds olderThis movie is just for kids mostly it stops for a second just to teach you about the specimen and the main plot is generic as it sounds older brother overshadows younger brother and younger brother redeems him self i know i've seen a movie with this plot before if someone reads this review thell me which movie has this plot. Another thing the begining of the movie is bad just some uncle taking his nephew and niece to dig up a fossil in Alaska and then a bird talks to the nephew and it is trippy because there is no voice sync i did like the animation and atmosphere of the movie but this is the worst way of the land before time but in CGI in 3-D i don't recomend whatching it if your a dinosaur fan or achiolagist watch it with your kid cause he'll like it Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    3
    I wish the trailers had been more specific. This is clearly geared towards kids and it was just so not what I was expecting or looking forwardI wish the trailers had been more specific. This is clearly geared towards kids and it was just so not what I was expecting or looking forward to. I wanted an epic quest of a dinosaur, not a stupid generic story and all the dumb voice actors and facts. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    2
    THIS MOVIE IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN. I left the theater early and I have never done that in a movie before. The trailersTHIS MOVIE IS ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN. I left the theater early and I have never done that in a movie before. The trailers should have showed that it wasn't some documentary narrated by some british dude But an annoying kids movie. DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE. Collapse
  7. May 17, 2014
    0
    If I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste ofIf I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste of time, believe me. Whoever made this movie obviously never even heard of the show. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers