Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 25, 2008
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
112
Mixed:
10
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
iainfMay 5, 2009
Whilst let down by the animation in some parts of the film, overall the unique visual style this film encorporates captures the feel of the film's narrative perfectly. From the electrifying start, to the shocking and emotionally Whilst let down by the animation in some parts of the film, overall the unique visual style this film encorporates captures the feel of the film's narrative perfectly. From the electrifying start, to the shocking and emotionally wrenching ending, Waltz With Bashir never ceased to disapoint. One of the best films to come from Israel of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFeb 1, 2009
Fantastic film, and definitely deserving of the Golden Globe award that it received. The animation is just amazing, and the story itself was very moving. To Droog D, I really can't understand how you would find this boring. Maybe you Fantastic film, and definitely deserving of the Golden Globe award that it received. The animation is just amazing, and the story itself was very moving. To Droog D, I really can't understand how you would find this boring. Maybe you should just go rent Transformers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneE.Feb 7, 2009
More than anything, this was an incredible war movie. Even though it covers a few of the particulars of the war in Beirut, the experiences it captures could have taken place in almost any war. Visually it is remarkable, and it gives viewers More than anything, this was an incredible war movie. Even though it covers a few of the particulars of the war in Beirut, the experiences it captures could have taken place in almost any war. Visually it is remarkable, and it gives viewers a lot to think about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielaVJun 2, 2009
It is a brilliant movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FireFoxDec 28, 2008
Simply beautiful ! This one is a must !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Jan 26, 2009
As visually stunning as it is powerfully poetic. A masterpiece in every sense of the word, this is one of those rare films that serves as a revelation both aesthetically and politically.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TsviS.Jan 28, 2009
first when i heared about this movie i was scared that it will be more a " saying " and less a film, but except from the last scene ( which is also not so much not in place ) this movie is a masterpiece , fascinating , i could not lose focus first when i heared about this movie i was scared that it will be more a " saying " and less a film, but except from the last scene ( which is also not so much not in place ) this movie is a masterpiece , fascinating , i could not lose focus for a seconed when i watched it , making a film that is both surreal and making sense is somthing to be appreciated, though i the drawing was real art the animation was slow a bit , but it is not a pixar film . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethM.Feb 3, 2009
Wow, simply epic. One of the best war films I've ever seen, and highly desrving of whatever awards it recieves. Droog, boring? Perhaps you should try ritalin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattKasmirJul 14, 2009
I haven't enjoyed watching a movie this much in a long time. Anyone saying it is propaganda is very off, this movie is definitely told from a certain bias, that of solely Israeli soldiers. That does not make it propaganda in theI haven't enjoyed watching a movie this much in a long time. Anyone saying it is propaganda is very off, this movie is definitely told from a certain bias, that of solely Israeli soldiers. That does not make it propaganda in the slightest, as these people are simply telling it how they remembered it. The animation is very effective I also think, and the last 5 minutes of the movie are so emotionally shocking, it makes it seem so real, as if the viewer can actually understand and comprehend the horrors of these events(although of course we can't really) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonyGreenMar 10, 2012
Wow. I can't rate this film highly enough. First of all we have a great screenplay, based on the first hand accounts / recollections of the director and some of his fellow soldiers in the Israeli conflict with Lebanon in 1982. Perhaps forWow. I can't rate this film highly enough. First of all we have a great screenplay, based on the first hand accounts / recollections of the director and some of his fellow soldiers in the Israeli conflict with Lebanon in 1982. Perhaps for budgetary reasons animation is used instead of live action to tell this tale. The animation / rotoscoping is nonetheless stunning (for the most part), and adds rather than detracts from the narrative. A film about memory, war, guilt, friendship and more. A powerfully emotional ending. A great film, an important film, watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aiden26Feb 2, 2011
My favorite animated movie hands down. Beautifully done, haunting, and goes to depths of horror that you wouldn't think is real, but unfortunately it did happen. If it was not so grotesque this should be shown in all classes in high school orMy favorite animated movie hands down. Beautifully done, haunting, and goes to depths of horror that you wouldn't think is real, but unfortunately it did happen. If it was not so grotesque this should be shown in all classes in high school or college and teach people about religious, ethnic, and racial tolerance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
movie2187Jan 6, 2012
The best animated film of the decade. The best foreign film of the decade. the best documentary of the decade. One of the very best films of the decade. A deeply moving, thought provoking and artistically designed masterpiece. Anyone who saidThe best animated film of the decade. The best foreign film of the decade. the best documentary of the decade. One of the very best films of the decade. A deeply moving, thought provoking and artistically designed masterpiece. Anyone who said wall-e or the dark knight was the best film of 2008 did not see this film or synecdoche,new york(which was the best film of that year and the decade) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ArkaMukherjeeApr 23, 2013
Ending up watching this movie is so much like waking up from a bad dream, when everything beside us, all of a sudden becomes harsh reality from long-forgotten vivid images. Ari Folman takes us to a frightening post-war world where everyoneEnding up watching this movie is so much like waking up from a bad dream, when everything beside us, all of a sudden becomes harsh reality from long-forgotten vivid images. Ari Folman takes us to a frightening post-war world where everyone seems to be living in a trance, hiding form their own memory from days past. A war documentary like this, is one of its kind, and the never-seen-before animation technique adds something really different in this movie. It lets you stuck in your sofa, thanking god because your teenage was never like this. And you didn't have to see another haunted ocean.

Watch. And think. And imagine. Because its real. And not so real.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NateJul 1, 2009
This is a wonderful film, haunting and moving at the same time. The animation is an effective tool that film makers do not use to its full potential. I can see why the critics loved it so much. Anyone saying that they did not understand the This is a wonderful film, haunting and moving at the same time. The animation is an effective tool that film makers do not use to its full potential. I can see why the critics loved it so much. Anyone saying that they did not understand the film should not be watching it. If your confused by the plot of Transformers you should probably stop watching films and go back to picture books and pop up books. Also saying that this is propaganda is just being ignorant of soldiers and the effects of post traumatic stress. This movie should be watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristosMJul 8, 2009
The strongest anti-war statement in years,exploring not only the consequences of war,but the undefined,yet undeniable power of the human nature and subconscious to deny it's devastating power.Ari Folman tried to achieve his own personalThe strongest anti-war statement in years,exploring not only the consequences of war,but the undefined,yet undeniable power of the human nature and subconscious to deny it's devastating power.Ari Folman tried to achieve his own personal catharsis by making this film,but what he actually achieves is creating a shocking essay about one of the most ancient,destructive human practises and an artistic triumph as well,judging by the hypnotizing way the animation reveals the surreal,nightmarish side of a forever burning Middle East! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffKerrSep 4, 2009
Very powerful. The folks labeling it propaganda are off base. This film isn't about the war in Lebanon; it's about war, period. Even so, I don't see where it excuses Israel. Rather, if you take Ari as a metaphor for hisVery powerful. The folks labeling it propaganda are off base. This film isn't about the war in Lebanon; it's about war, period. Even so, I don't see where it excuses Israel. Rather, if you take Ari as a metaphor for his country, he is horrified to realize that his actions enabled the killers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BzztDec 29, 2008
More than just a film truly a personal act of self expression.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
I'm glad that they animated a war film, which is very unique. The story is very deep with emotion and the feeling. The animation is just fantastic, well-mad for a war film. Everything is amazing about this film from start to the intriguingI'm glad that they animated a war film, which is very unique. The story is very deep with emotion and the feeling. The animation is just fantastic, well-mad for a war film. Everything is amazing about this film from start to the intriguing ending. One of the best animated films of all time......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99May 13, 2015
Well that was dark movie, but it was great.

The story is about the atrocities of war, they're not sure if their dreams are real, imaginary, or just the gateway to a flood of memories they'd rather not have to face. Waltz with Bashir is
Well that was dark movie, but it was great.

The story is about the atrocities of war, they're not sure if their dreams are real, imaginary, or just the gateway to a flood of memories they'd rather not have to face.

Waltz with Bashir is the best animated movie for adults and film lovers out there. The movie is dark, shocking and it was good choice to make it animated, why you ask well with animation you can animate whatever you and I'm talking about you can make it gritty, happy, depressing or realistic, and the animation in this movie fitted the tone perfectly.

I'm not going to talk any more of Waltz with Bashir and I know I should tell you all about the movie but I think this one is special and to the people who haven't seen yet and just came across this review, the only thing I have to say to you is go watch it knowing nothing and see what kind of experience you get, if you hate that's fine it's your opinion but if you love it good for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Ari Folman uses his lost memory of his presence in the massacres at Beirut during the Lebanese Civil War to craft a dazzling sudo-documentary, whose vivid animation complements the advent of his visceral, dummy recollections from pureAri Folman uses his lost memory of his presence in the massacres at Beirut during the Lebanese Civil War to craft a dazzling sudo-documentary, whose vivid animation complements the advent of his visceral, dummy recollections from pure imagination to grueling reality. Though the experience is completely enveloping as it is, the movie moves needlessly in slow motion, as if for the sole purpose of stretching time. Still, it's a minor complaint in an otherwise fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Steveb.Jan 21, 2009
There's a lot to like in this film. But there's also enough not to be crazy about. Like it's slow, kinda talky, preachy almost, and the theme that war is hell, is, well, kinda old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanYFeb 14, 2009
Amn excellent film in terms of its animated appeal, but the story loses its strength of emotional appeal and would become easily forgotten. What value does this film project, except to say that in wars, none who is responsible for killing Amn excellent film in terms of its animated appeal, but the story loses its strength of emotional appeal and would become easily forgotten. What value does this film project, except to say that in wars, none who is responsible for killing the innocents, directly or indirectly, has the right to claim victory. Oh yeah, the film does confirm the fact that the many, who fight in wars and survive, will never live a normal live. But it never does end the fact that there will still be many who would sign up to fight and do exactly what their commanders tell them to do... morally or immorally, ethically or unethically. If anything, this film will only confirm that Israel will continue to be associated with the killing of mass innocents and thus continue to prompt endless revenge against the nation and its citizens. Does any nation really want its citizens to continue living out nightmares and guilt? Apparently, Israel does! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHJun 18, 2009
Very moving and disturbing, the animation is surprisingly effective. Very unique and innovative. The story is told exceptionally well. Good writing and direction.The score is particularly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful