Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 24, 2012
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 132 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
45
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleFeb 29, 2012
If you're a fan of The State or any of David Wain's other films ("Wet Hot American Summer", "The Ten", "Role Models"), you'll love this one. Justin Theroux fills the spot of Chris Meloni quite nicely. Rudd is amazing, as usual. It was greatIf you're a fan of The State or any of David Wain's other films ("Wet Hot American Summer", "The Ten", "Role Models"), you'll love this one. Justin Theroux fills the spot of Chris Meloni quite nicely. Rudd is amazing, as usual. It was great seeing Ian Michael Black, Wain, and Michael Showalter in their brief appearances. Hopefully this film will further broaden Wain's appeal (esp after Role Models) so he can make an even edgier and funnier film like The Ten in the near future. Experimental humor needs a strong comeback. And this is just troupe to do it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryFeb 29, 2012
Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd play a New York couple that ends up living in a Georgia commune loaded with mildly wacky characters. Needless to say, there's plenty of humor at the expense of new age/hippie notions and the duo's comedy chopsJennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd play a New York couple that ends up living in a Georgia commune loaded with mildly wacky characters. Needless to say, there's plenty of humor at the expense of new age/hippie notions and the duo's comedy chops provide plenty of laughs. There were moments when I wished I could have rewound a few seconds to catch some of the more subtle or quick lines. Overall, the film's not outstanding or ground-breaking, but it's an amusing diversion, especially if you enjoy Aniston or Rudd. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
davorFeb 24, 2012
Just what I expected from a David Wain movie. A simple story where reality is just that out of the norm, a lot of funny bits through out the movie and just an enjoyable experience all together. If you liked his previous movies you should beJust what I expected from a David Wain movie. A simple story where reality is just that out of the norm, a lot of funny bits through out the movie and just an enjoyable experience all together. If you liked his previous movies you should be good with this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
brent_hankinsFeb 24, 2012
Writer director David Wain (WET HOT AMERICAN SUMMER, ROLE MODELS) once again teams up with Paul Rudd to deliver a hilariously offbeat comedy in WANDERLUST. Rudd stars as George, an overworked Manhattan business type who has just moved into anWriter director David Wain (WET HOT AMERICAN SUMMER, ROLE MODELS) once again teams up with Paul Rudd to deliver a hilariously offbeat comedy in WANDERLUST. Rudd stars as George, an overworked Manhattan business type who has just moved into an incredibly expensive apartment with his wife, Linda (Jennifer Aniston). Unfortunately, tragedy strikes just as they're finally beginning to settle in - Linda fails to sell her documentary to the executives at HBO, and George finds himself unemployed when the feds swoop in and shut down the company he works for. Unable to afford their big-city lifestyle, they pack up their belongings and head south to live with George's brother, Rick (Ken Marino). Along the way, they find themselves at Elysium, an "intentional community" of free spirits where Bluetooth headsets and business meetings are replaced by hallucinogenic drugs and impromptu acoustic jam sessions. George and Linda are captivated by their colorful new acquaintances, and after a bizarre series of circumstances, the Manhattan couple begins settling into a lifestyle they never imagined. Most of the humor is derived from George and Linda's interaction with the residents of Elysium, including Wayne (Joe Lo Truglio), a budding novelist (and nudist); Seth (Justin Theroux), the alpha male who has been detached from modern society for entirely too long; Eva (Malin Akerman), the flirty young blonde that wants to teach George all about free love; and Carvin (Alan Alda), the aging, irritable patriarch of the group. There's also a scene-stealing performance from Michaela Watkins as a bored Atlanta housewife that features some of the film's most quotable dialogue. While WANDERLUST is paced well and contains plenty of hilarious moments, there are a few scenes that could've used some tightening up, particularly a lengthy monologue during which George practices his seduction techniques in the mirror. Paul Rudd is an incredibly talented comedic actor, but not talented enough to keep this scene, and the one that follows, from being anything but painfully awkward and embarrassing. This complaint is minor, however, when you consider how consistently funny WANDERLUST manages to be. Wain has knocked it out of the park with this one, delivering a quirky, original film that is unlike any comedy you've seen before, and contains more laughs than I've had in a long time. --www.nerdrep.com Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CharlesWitterFeb 28, 2012
Wow I wasn't expecting much and loved this movie. Wall to wall laughs, Rudd was hysterical, Aniston surprised me - she fit right in with this amazing cast. And the story moved me...it's a real wish-fulfillment fantasy that we all have aboutWow I wasn't expecting much and loved this movie. Wall to wall laughs, Rudd was hysterical, Aniston surprised me - she fit right in with this amazing cast. And the story moved me...it's a real wish-fulfillment fantasy that we all have about throwing it all away and trying out a new life. But most of all it was one after another of funny scenes with the two stars mixing it up with Alan Alda, Malin Akerman (who's also so sexy), Justin Theroux, Joe Lo Truglio, etc, etc. Going to see it again this weekend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SeanMcGunnigleMar 5, 2012
Definitely worth seeing just for the sheer fact of poking fun at the hippie, rainbow coliation lifestyle. "money buys nothing" great line which sums up the philosophy of these free love, non working hippies and a good opposite depiction ofDefinitely worth seeing just for the sheer fact of poking fun at the hippie, rainbow coliation lifestyle. "money buys nothing" great line which sums up the philosophy of these free love, non working hippies and a good opposite depiction of extreme other lifestyle where money is everything. The most i've laughed out loud in a movie in awhile and mostly from the supporting cast not Rudd or Anitson. More movies could be made disussing the topic of dumb hippie philosophy as well as the equally obsessed gold diggers who will stop at nothing to aquire cash no matter who they hurt along the way. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pete409Feb 25, 2012
This movie was hilarious. I am a bit perplexed about some of the lower scores from the users on this one. Someone probably just made love to their wife in the other room.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
dahlinericFeb 27, 2012
I walked out of this stinking wretch of a movie. Really like Paul Rudd too. How doe something like this even make it into theaters? I've had it with going to comedies unless they have the buzz of Bridesmaids because I've been burned too many times
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
BUTCHYPIEMar 10, 2012
It's not quite "Wet, Hot, American Summer" and it's not quite "Bridesmaids," but it is hella funny. Best prosthetic penis since Dirk Diggler. Not as quotable as some of the recent big-hit comedies, but just as funny. My entire commune loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerDec 11, 2012
A very funny movie, but one that is kind of lacking. Paul Rudd and Jennifer Anniston don't make a believable couple at all, which hinders part of what they were going for. But even though it's not perfect it still kept me laughing throughout,A very funny movie, but one that is kind of lacking. Paul Rudd and Jennifer Anniston don't make a believable couple at all, which hinders part of what they were going for. But even though it's not perfect it still kept me laughing throughout, and that's what's really important when watching a comedy. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RSKMar 8, 2012
One of the funniest movies I've seen in a while. Like Pete, I can't quite understand how some users scored it so poorly, but oh well. It was hilarious. Go to the theater, buy it, rent it, whatever...just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jason101Jun 8, 2012
If Lisa Schwarzbaum says its good watch out because this movie is **** The screenplay is so bad even Paul Rudd can't help turn this turd around. Don't watch!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bpmike83Oct 14, 2012
I love raunchy comedies and this was no different than any other. 21 jump street had more raunchy and crude humor, but this had enough to make it funny. What's not to laugh about Paul Rudd trying to take a crap in peace when the hippies sitI love raunchy comedies and this was no different than any other. 21 jump street had more raunchy and crude humor, but this had enough to make it funny. What's not to laugh about Paul Rudd trying to take a crap in peace when the hippies sit there and wait for him to poo? It's hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Luke_McLaughlinJul 27, 2013
There is a special place in my heart for Hollywood budget films that look and feel like indie films. Wanderlust fits perfectly into that genre, along with many of Paul Rudd's recent projects. This film is well written, has interestingThere is a special place in my heart for Hollywood budget films that look and feel like indie films. Wanderlust fits perfectly into that genre, along with many of Paul Rudd's recent projects. This film is well written, has interesting characters, and hits upon problems that many people can identify with. Though you may not be a nudist, a hippie, or a person that believes in free love, Wanderlust has something to offer. Whether it be learning to be yourself or discovering what the meaning of life is Wanderlust will leave you with a warm feeling. If you're into indie films I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews