Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 2008
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 624 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
263
Mixed:
94
Negative:
267
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Let me start out by saying that I no way endorse ANYTHING Angelina Jolie is in, however wanted is impossible, ridiculous, and one hell of a ride! We don't watch movies to experience the predictable or only what's possible. Wanted is exciting,Let me start out by saying that I no way endorse ANYTHING Angelina Jolie is in, however wanted is impossible, ridiculous, and one hell of a ride! We don't watch movies to experience the predictable or only what's possible. Wanted is exciting, well written, full of twists, and well worth the price of admission. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonNov 19, 2013
Wanted is crazy fun, gory and over-the-top. Kinetic energy, guns and blood are the things that make up the plot in Wanted- a weak office worker who wants to find out the secrets about his dead dad, and teams up with a gang of superhumans,Wanted is crazy fun, gory and over-the-top. Kinetic energy, guns and blood are the things that make up the plot in Wanted- a weak office worker who wants to find out the secrets about his dead dad, and teams up with a gang of superhumans, where he discovers his own abilities. The slow motion scenes are awesome. Separating the bullets from the brains, or the best headshot into pieces to enjoy. The film is modern and crazy, filled with epic car chases and great kills. Angelina Jolie was pretty good, but not as good as Morgan Freeman and James McAvoy. Wanted is sexy, fast and gory. Awesome fun. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 9, 2011
I don't really understand how "Wanted" got a positive reception. Sure, the action sequences are mind-blowing, but ultimately its your average 'brain-less' blockbuster you would watch with your homies.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobApr 17, 2013
Action was ok but nothing impressive. Acting is solid. The plot never really goes any where and is rather generic when compared to other action films. I got very sick of all the slow motion very early on in the film, It was a bit much imo.Action was ok but nothing impressive. Acting is solid. The plot never really goes any where and is rather generic when compared to other action films. I got very sick of all the slow motion very early on in the film, It was a bit much imo. Overall, It was an ok movie, I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
Amazing movie , special effects , the slow camera and action were always in these major highlights , and special for the film Bekmambetov is brutal and imprensionant .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 16, 2013
Wanted is a narrative story that is told from a very unique point of view, Wesley (James McAvoy) insults the audience from the get go, and he tells his story as if reading it from a journal, meaning that we maybe aren't supposed to hear whatWanted is a narrative story that is told from a very unique point of view, Wesley (James McAvoy) insults the audience from the get go, and he tells his story as if reading it from a journal, meaning that we maybe aren't supposed to hear what he is saying, the film could care less for what people think, in other words, and it triumphs for that matter, bending the rules and the bullets for that matter. Wesley is an average and routine individual, letting every single thing in his life, no matter how minuscule, annoy him. His routine life is turned on its head when he meets Fox (Angelina Jolie), a master assassin who introduces Wesley to a whole new world of opportunities, starting with him being trained to kill targets that come out of a loom, and interpreted by the leader of the assassins, Sloan (Morgan Freeman).
The unique take on the tale stems from the absurd nature of it all, bending bullets is not impossible, but simply unheard of, these guys can do it, they can also shoot a fly out of the air through focus and instinct. Its a truly edgy and alternate take on a familiar storyline, but one which never stops going and adds more and more kick to every scene. James McAvoy is convincing as am unlikely hero who can pull out the stops when necessary, and plays the frightened nerd with equal ease. Angelina Jolie is perfectly cast as the quiet yet destructive Fox, she has problems with her job but settles for the fact that she is good at what she does. Its really quite simple to enjoy these sorts of films, they don't take themselves seriously but deliver in heaps and bounds what they set out to do, Wanted sets out to questions every aspect of basic gravity laws and deals in the unorthodox nature of talking to the audience, but it mostly enjoys every damn minute of it, as should we. Wesley's bombardment of questions and queries are really what sum it up, that it is just ridiculous but to simply enjoy it, as there is never a dull moment of some spectacular set pieces or twisted events, adding in many humorous quips and a steady script and you have yourself an enjoyable and action-packed thrill. Certainly not the most logical or quiet of films, but its has some spectacular effects and a bunch of fantastic performances, with a confident script and edgy story that is entertaining until the credits roll.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 29, 2014
"Wanted" is an energetic, stylish and utterly over-the-top movie that can be helped by witty performances from Angelina Jolie, James McAvoy, and Morgan Freeman.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubApr 14, 2014
Bombastic violence and action that is entertaining and even innovative at times while the movie lasts. Good special effects too. But then you forget about it the moment it ends. Just like how it happens with most movies out there. No specialBombastic violence and action that is entertaining and even innovative at times while the movie lasts. Good special effects too. But then you forget about it the moment it ends. Just like how it happens with most movies out there. No special script, no special score, no special acting, nothing to remember. I know movies like this need to exist but one can´t give them more than a 5 out of 10 or so. It would not be fair to the real great films. One of the most appealing things about it is how hot Angelina and James McAvoy are. That says it all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediAug 7, 2011
Really interesting this film! On the contrary of the critics that I read a lot the movie is pure creative and different because shows the exaggerated and the impossible on a completely acceptable context! If people merely want to see possibleReally interesting this film! On the contrary of the critics that I read a lot the movie is pure creative and different because shows the exaggerated and the impossible on a completely acceptable context! If people merely want to see possible and commons things just read the newspaper and not a movie. A movie needs to be creative and it can also be surreal, since the events fit and have a connected end. Bullets that make curves, bullets with goodbye, cars jumping over others! Two of the functions of the cinema from action are entertaining and make magic, do not forget that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SwatiFeb 12, 2013
I actually enjoyed it, though I would not watch it again. It had lots of action and ass kicking. The dialogue was filled with profanity and had little to offer towards character development. The story line was a typical 'boy finds out he isI actually enjoyed it, though I would not watch it again. It had lots of action and ass kicking. The dialogue was filled with profanity and had little to offer towards character development. The story line was a typical 'boy finds out he is the One and reluctantly embraces his destiny after a few setbacks.' Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJun 4, 2012
Based on a comic book series of the same name, Wanted tells the story of a secret fraternity of assassins striving to keep order in the world. As you would expect from the Hollywood debut of Daywatch and Nigthwatch director Timur Bekmambetov,Based on a comic book series of the same name, Wanted tells the story of a secret fraternity of assassins striving to keep order in the world. As you would expect from the Hollywood debut of Daywatch and Nigthwatch director Timur Bekmambetov, the film is fast paced and contains some stunning action sequences and stunts.

James McAvoy is well cast as the pathetic office worker recruited by the fraternity to avenge his father. McAvoy is supported by big hitters Angelina Jolie and Morgan Freeman. In contrast with most of her action roles, Jolie delivers a much more restrained performance while Freeman is simply allowed to do his stuff.

Bekmambetov has a penchant for using slow motion sequences (in the vein of Zack Snyder) followed by pauses in both picture and sound. This works in places but is used rather a lot, most often when bullets are flying, and does become slightly tedious as the film goes on. He also employs an annoying pulse effect during the slow motion scenes. Initially this seems unnecessary but the effect serves a purpose once McAvoy's abilities are explained.

Despite the pace, Bekmambetov allows the plot time to develop and the film delivers a few decent twists as McAvoy hunts down his father's killer. Wanted's script is exactly what you would expect from the writing team that penned a large part of the Fast and Furious series. Danny Elfman provides a pretty heavy soundtrack which suits the film's angry and intense action sequences.

Overall, Wanted is a stylish and fun ride although you may need to suspend your disbelief from the offset.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
python2000Aug 13, 2013
One of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Some may argue that it borrows to heavily from The Matrix, but I think it's less of a rip off and more of a homage. Brilliant acting, some amazing special effects and a surprise endingOne of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Some may argue that it borrows to heavily from The Matrix, but I think it's less of a rip off and more of a homage. Brilliant acting, some amazing special effects and a surprise ending containing Morgan Freeman saying "Oh f**k". What more could an action fan wish for? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107May 28, 2012
I love this movie. There are constant moments in 'Wanted' that just make me happy. For instance, Wesley telling off his boss or Wesley making out with Angelina Jolie in front of his ex girlfriend and ex best friend, etc. I don't need toI love this movie. There are constant moments in 'Wanted' that just make me happy. For instance, Wesley telling off his boss or Wesley making out with Angelina Jolie in front of his ex girlfriend and ex best friend, etc. I don't need to analyze this movie because I just get pure enjoyment out of it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesAug 27, 2013
It's a pure adrenaline rush for the hardcore escapist, but for everyone else it'll be less satisfying due to an absent-minded script that's reliant on its bombastic violence to get by.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
bram29Feb 8, 2013
it's quite much a pure action movie. the movie wisely ignores all deeper concepts, in favour of unrealistic gunfights. and sure, i like people shooting bullets that hit other bullets. that's why it gets a nice 7.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
The movie carries on the story of the Generation X. Wanted is a good mix of its role models from a decade earlier, Fight Club and The Matrix. In all three movies the protagonist is an average Gen-Xer, working a boring office job that does notThe movie carries on the story of the Generation X. Wanted is a good mix of its role models from a decade earlier, Fight Club and The Matrix. In all three movies the protagonist is an average Gen-Xer, working a boring office job that does not lead anywhere, being frustrated with the everyday routine, and simply feeling totally useless. But then, someday the main character of Wanted learns that he is meant for something bigger than the life he lived up to that moment (like Neo in The Matrix), and breaks with the social constructs that he felt trapped in (like Fight Club). He becomes a member of a fraternity of real-world superhuman assassins. However, the first moral problem is that their targets are supposedly destined by fate to bring balance to the world. This means that (like in the movie Minority Report) there is the possibility that people, who actually might have not harmed anyone, might be killed without a trial. The second problem is that when someone decides to deliberately choose targets, this superhuman fraternity of assassins will become a regime threatening democracy. A highly entertaining, fast-paced, fun action movie about identity crises, breaking from being a slave of society, and doing what you are meant to do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
morfilOct 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Putting it bluntly, 'WANTED' was a rather formulaic and predictable outing. A loserly, office shut-in with the help of a hot babe learns about his past and is suddenly thrust into the world of assassination, a world of flipping cars, extreme gun fights, and mind-altering stunts, thus shedding every bit of his shy, weak self. This we've all seen before.

Where 'WANTED' stands apart from any other action film I've seen is in its style. The director has upped the ante on how the action is portrayed. Gone are any sort of boundaries. This is a world where people can flawlessly flip cars over others and land perfectly upright on the other side, where people can shoot from miles away hitting nothing but their target, where people can put such a curve on bullets that they hit multiple targets standing on different planes all with one shot. If people can really do this, perhaps I'm living the same existence as Wesley, and I'm missing out. The film's major selling point is its style and its worth a viewing simply for that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
skanteaMay 9, 2012
This film has aged VERY well. Now I can't even remember why we made such a big deal out of the physics when it first came out. Is it possible that the bar for rationale has dropped so far that this now stands as a testament to pure visualThis film has aged VERY well. Now I can't even remember why we made such a big deal out of the physics when it first came out. Is it possible that the bar for rationale has dropped so far that this now stands as a testament to pure visual adrenaline? Probably. Just stop thinking and watch the beautiful inanity of its insanity. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
islandOct 15, 2011
Can't really understand how this movie could get this high metascore. Poor movie with even worse acting by Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy. The only good thing of it was Morgan Freeman. He's still epic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
abi_abhiabiJul 5, 2015
this movie has assassins who can curve bullets, fast reaction time, cut the incoming bullet with a machete, drive cars insanely and it all comes in slow motion in the big screen for you. so think how cool this movie. i enjoyed it a lot.....this movie has assassins who can curve bullets, fast reaction time, cut the incoming bullet with a machete, drive cars insanely and it all comes in slow motion in the big screen for you. so think how cool this movie. i enjoyed it a lot..... thumbs up!! and last but not least F U C K the haters.. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
GlooneDec 21, 2012
'What the **** have you done lately?', is the parting shot from the 'protagonist' of this film.

Well, things I haven't done lately would include: 1. Murdering strangers because somebody else told you to do so without giving any good
'What the **** have you done lately?', is the parting shot from the 'protagonist' of this film.

Well, things I haven't done lately would include:

1. Murdering strangers because somebody else told you to do so without giving any good reason.
2. Murdering the man who saved your life seconds before, again because somebody just told you to do so.
3. Finally realising that the guy giving these orders is probably bad - but only because he tried to kill you personally.
4. Blaming everybody else for your prior actions and murdering them, too, despite the fact they are in exactly the same position that you were a few hours ago.

You simply can't enjoy a film where the writers are so inane that they think a narcissistic serial killer will be somebody you can really root for.

You can't. You hate him and everything he does, and as a result the film just mindnumbingly stupid, inhumane, and boring.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
percy972Oct 17, 2010
An overall entertaining film but relatively short. Lacks more movie magic but the action is incredible if not ridiculous. Especially the ending was very captivating as well as the visuals and special effects.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
hugoboyMay 8, 2011
now we have to ask ourselves,why do we watch a movie? And the answer would be entertainment. Of which this movie provides lots of it,that would leave you begging for more. So if you are looking for a sexy,awesome,solid base actioneer,thennow we have to ask ourselves,why do we watch a movie? And the answer would be entertainment. Of which this movie provides lots of it,that would leave you begging for more. So if you are looking for a sexy,awesome,solid base actioneer,then wanted is the one you want. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
7
Nikos52Sep 16, 2011
Definitely not a dumb action film. I must say it pays a little homage to "fight club" at some points, don't really know why, but the direction and the tone feels that way. There are some interesting plot points and James McAvoy does aDefinitely not a dumb action film. I must say it pays a little homage to "fight club" at some points, don't really know why, but the direction and the tone feels that way. There are some interesting plot points and James McAvoy does a wonderful job as the protagonist. It's nice seeing a smart face in an action movie, instead of a huge muscular guy with a strong jaw who looks like he can't create a coherent thought. I definitely suggest this movie for both action and acting. The direction was good, i enjoyed it, but it got a little tiring at some points. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RCMJul 1, 2008
Better than it had any right to be, it's just a film you need to appreciate for what it is. The fun here is watching an every-man become an action "hero" and ditch his plane life for one that matters. In the process, he stands up to his Better than it had any right to be, it's just a film you need to appreciate for what it is. The fun here is watching an every-man become an action "hero" and ditch his plane life for one that matters. In the process, he stands up to his bitch of a boss, punches out his jack-ass best friend, and make out with Angelina Jolie in front of his cheating girlfriend. Meanwhile, action sequences as crazy and boundary-pushing as "Speed Racer" are pushed in front of your gaping mouth, and driven through in a violent, adult, almost fantasy like world. James McAvoy is fun and funny as the leading man, Angelina in hot, and Morgen Freedman gets to have some mad dark fun with his typecast character (the one where he is some kind of God like mentor). Enjoy it for what it is, and don't over think it (not terribly smart) and you will, like me, enjoy this crazy movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PedroS.Jul 28, 2008
I just loved it! And still love.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
julieh.Jul 20, 2008
I was thrilled ... Didn't know much about the movie other than that Jolie was in it ... was on the edge of my seat the entire movie ... It was the first movie in a while that I didn't mind spending the $ on
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
alexrMay 31, 2009
Fun whilst McAvoy is still in training, but when he becomes a full member of the 'team' and can use all his powers, the film nosedives into tedium. Not terrible, but I can't recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinJun 30, 2008
Sexy action, yes. Jaw dropping action, no. Script, poorly written. "Fraternity' cliche...yes. This is enjoyable to see in a theater, but not worth the cost of an evening ticket - see as a matinee.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EfrenE.Jul 1, 2008
If Angelina Jolie could sink any lower she would have to make yet another movie of any catagory.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VeronikaC.Jul 1, 2008
Thanks, Hollywood, for giving this director, Timur Bekmambetov, the opportunity to share his extremely creative visionary talent. I've never seen action sequences like this before - two thumbs up!! Go Russia!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DanaM.Jul 3, 2008
I wish I could have liked this movie, except every time I looked at my wife during the screening she had her hands over her eyes. Can you say violent? This movie puts Kill Bill in the docile category. Not for the timid or young viewers.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MelindaS.Jul 5, 2008
Why so serious? I think some movie goers are overlooking the humor. Could it be that we are meant to be laughing through this film, not smirking at it?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StacyN.Jul 6, 2008
"A spectacle of terribleness" is how my husband described this movie. The loom of fate????? Give me a break. I felt like I was being kicked in the crotch repeatedly for paying my hard earned dollar to see this. How did this get good reviews? "A spectacle of terribleness" is how my husband described this movie. The loom of fate????? Give me a break. I felt like I was being kicked in the crotch repeatedly for paying my hard earned dollar to see this. How did this get good reviews? I am ashamed of our society. If I could get a lawyer to sue the filmmakers for wasting my money and time I would. Please don't spend your hard earned dollar on this....go buy yourself 1/8 th a tank of gas instead! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SteveGJul 7, 2008
How does one rate a movie that has spectacular visual effects, pretty much non-stop action and Angelina Jolie at her sultriest? When you add to that list of accolades: the most ridiculous main plot device in the history of movies ("the loom How does one rate a movie that has spectacular visual effects, pretty much non-stop action and Angelina Jolie at her sultriest? When you add to that list of accolades: the most ridiculous main plot device in the history of movies ("the loom of fate"), the retarded use of rats as incendiary devices that apparently do no damage and characters that are supposed to be superhuman who have the need to get up close and personal to their targets (which allows them to be easily set up) . . . . This movie is an entertaining roller coaster type distraction. That is it. Some may love the film for the visuals and action; some may hate it for insulting the audience's intelligence. They're both right. At least there will be no sequel, as every main character (except one - our hero) dies. Thank god for that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CaseyB.Jul 9, 2008
Very pretty but James McAvoy isn't Edward Norton.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Sep 3, 2008
Great pace, the cast is terrific - especially Angelina Jolie. It's a bit too over the top for my taste, but it moves fast and has a great score and good special effects. Very well edited. Top production.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BobS.Jan 2, 2009
The movie is absolutely ridiculous. The only thing that makes it entertaining/bearable is the cheesy unrealistic dialogue and actions that take place. You won't be laughing with this movie, you will be laughing at it. But hey, at least The movie is absolutely ridiculous. The only thing that makes it entertaining/bearable is the cheesy unrealistic dialogue and actions that take place. You won't be laughing with this movie, you will be laughing at it. But hey, at least it made me laugh. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JagMar 9, 2009
Overrated. The action was over the top but it was also way to showy at the same time. It is also way to unreallistic. BULLETS DON"T CURVE 3 FEET WHEN YOU SWING THE GUN. The movie was more look than it was entertaining. And on top of that the Overrated. The action was over the top but it was also way to showy at the same time. It is also way to unreallistic. BULLETS DON"T CURVE 3 FEET WHEN YOU SWING THE GUN. The movie was more look than it was entertaining. And on top of that the look isn't really that good. I got nothing out of this movie. So overall this movie isn't one that you should waest mony on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GlenA.Nov 8, 2008
This is not the worst film in the world but it is definitely nowhere near the best. I have given a 4 since the film kept me moderately entertained while on a long car journey. I knew half what to expect: mindless violence with a stupid plot This is not the worst film in the world but it is definitely nowhere near the best. I have given a 4 since the film kept me moderately entertained while on a long car journey. I knew half what to expect: mindless violence with a stupid plot and over the top action scenes and this is exactly what Wanted delivered. If you are prepared to switch your brain off then it could provide some entertainment value. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JoelP.Oct 27, 2008
Laughable plot, inane (and sadomasochistic) action scenes, forgettable dialogue, and everyone except McAvoy phoned in their performance. Avoid at all costs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NickA.Jun 21, 2008
Bfft. In trying to sum up Timur Bekmambetov
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
infoJun 27, 2008
Wanted is undoubtedly Timur Bekmambetov's first big Hollywood flick, but it won't be his last. Given the imaginative action sequences, special effects, and the direction of Jolie, McAvoy, & Freeman, Timur Bekmambetov transcends his Wanted is undoubtedly Timur Bekmambetov's first big Hollywood flick, but it won't be his last. Given the imaginative action sequences, special effects, and the direction of Jolie, McAvoy, & Freeman, Timur Bekmambetov transcends his previous films, Nightwatch & Daywatch. Wanted is a visual adrenaline rush best served with popcorn, candy & soda! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherK.Jun 27, 2008
The best action shooter since Shoot Em Up, the best mix of comedy since Fight Club, the most fun movie experience I've had in a while. The plot was marginal, the concepts shaky, however the execution and style was dead on.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerG.Jun 27, 2008
A great action film with a storyline better than it could have been equals a solid 8.5 for me. This movie was all it needed to be and a little more.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NaomiG.Jun 28, 2008
Completely unbelieveable action, yet it happens before your eyes in a fluid motion that entertains your mind and thorws you for a loop. Awesome twists throughout the film. Riveteing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
SyzygyZ.Jun 28, 2008
Just a dumb manufactured thriller. Even its occasional wit felt cheap. Its loud, its oh so slick and, despite not taking anything what happens on screen seriously, i still couldn't get past the total total emotional disconnect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
CaitlynS.Jun 28, 2008
If anyone has read the comic book wanted, this movie is the biggest dissapointment ever. The second half of the movie was completely fabricated. do yourself a favor and just read the real thing and don't subject yourself to the If anyone has read the comic book wanted, this movie is the biggest dissapointment ever. The second half of the movie was completely fabricated. do yourself a favor and just read the real thing and don't subject yourself to the slaughtered hollywood movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesJ.Jun 29, 2008
Just a solid intense movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaveJun 30, 2008
Irritatingly smug, ponderously self-important and ultimately numbing/dull and pointless, "Wanted" starts with a bang and then runs out of ideas, surprises and steam within its first 30 minutes. When you're watching a train plummet down Irritatingly smug, ponderously self-important and ultimately numbing/dull and pointless, "Wanted" starts with a bang and then runs out of ideas, surprises and steam within its first 30 minutes. When you're watching a train plummet down a chasm and thinking about what you'd like to fix for dinner that evening at the same time, it's not a good sign. One of the most inept and knuckle-headed comic book adaptations I've seen in some time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PaulB.Jun 30, 2008
Terrible film. Sure it had a few good action scenes, but the plot and most of the acting was horrible. Not even worth renting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkAJun 30, 2008
Three words sum it up. "Loom Of FAAAAATE"! Very disappointing, especially the ending. If you can COMPLETELY shut your brain off, it's a decent action flic, but that's it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichaelSJun 30, 2008
Horrible! Just way too absurd! The storyline isn't all that fluid and anyone who knows just a little about ballistics has a pretty hard time watching this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LisaprivateJun 30, 2008
Draggy, and a ridiculous premise even for this type of movie. A total waste of talented actors. I blame the script and the direction. I expected much more, and am really surprised at the high reviews here.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JessS.Jun 30, 2008
A great popcorn summer action movie. Lots of fun and a marvelous performance by James McAvoy. He stands out much like Robert Downey Jr. did in Iron Man. A must see for true action fans.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephanC.Jul 11, 2008
Really sharp and fast movie.It has lots of adrenaline and that is what I was looking for in a good action movie.Haters are just not that into action movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PeterCJul 10, 2008
I thought a 1 would be cruel. Maybe I
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KeirB.Jul 1, 2008
The only great thing about this film is James McAvoy's performance. Jolie & Freeman sleepwalk through the film, and the action sequences are just too unbelievable to enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickC.Jul 1, 2008
Amazing action sequences and wonderful imagination. I hope to see more movies from director Bekmambetov in the future - he's a real visionary, and Hollywood NEEDS him!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RazvanT.Jul 1, 2008
Definatly one of the best movies of the year. A action-thriller that pretty much has everything it needs.With little plot exceptions it's a excellent movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SusanneSJul 10, 2008
Embarrassingly bad lines, acting, plot devices. Good for a laugh if you're not affected by violence at all and two hours of your life is meaningless. Morgan Freeman--what were you doing in this awful movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SeanJul 12, 2008
Unabashedly over the top action. While it definitely should not win awards for the "most amazing script ever," it was entertaining. A bit violent, but what action film isn't, and it is not sickeningly grotesque, so it passes muster on Unabashedly over the top action. While it definitely should not win awards for the "most amazing script ever," it was entertaining. A bit violent, but what action film isn't, and it is not sickeningly grotesque, so it passes muster on that part. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LibbySJul 12, 2008
This movie was off the chain, this was a great action pack movie, smokin aces was my favorite til I saw this I love this movie, action pack and it was an unexpected curve, if u like movies that, you will love this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
IndieViewerJul 1, 2008
The action is great, but the plot twists are doozies. Then, there's the ending. If you've been debating about watching this one, save your money. It will look just as good as a rental.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeP.Jul 10, 2008
Personally i thought this movie was excellent if you're looking for something that fits the "brain off summer on" mentality, and anyone who doesn't appreciate the ending hasn't been pounded in school for the last 4 years with Personally i thought this movie was excellent if you're looking for something that fits the "brain off summer on" mentality, and anyone who doesn't appreciate the ending hasn't been pounded in school for the last 4 years with "get up and do something" commercials.. The action was excellent, Angelina Jolie was without question excellent once again, sure the plot was thin in places, and some of the action was questionable, but if i really cared that you couldn't fly through the air in a Viper then i think i'd crack open a textbook. Unfortunately language does make this a no go for most young people out there, which is a shame because some of the precise timing and use of language really made it hilarious instead of just intensely foul. My advice is see it and you probably won't regret it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KatieJul 10, 2008
Literally one of the worst movies I have ever seen. We went to the movie because it received generally favorable reviews on metacritic, only to have to sit through the longest two hours of my life. I am not big on action films, but can stand Literally one of the worst movies I have ever seen. We went to the movie because it received generally favorable reviews on metacritic, only to have to sit through the longest two hours of my life. I am not big on action films, but can stand them. This was ridiculous and horrible. Spare yourself!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AarboN.Jul 20, 2008
Not a movie for those seeking a cognitive, or even remotely mental film. It's all action and after i got out i was on a complete adrenaline high. This movie was freakin' epic, and while Jolie looked like a holocaust survivor, girls Not a movie for those seeking a cognitive, or even remotely mental film. It's all action and after i got out i was on a complete adrenaline high. This movie was freakin' epic, and while Jolie looked like a holocaust survivor, girls with guns are hot. There was a lot of stupid crap such as bullet bending and other ridiculous occurences in the film. The plot twist was indeed silly at best. Morgan freeman swearing was also pretty hysterical. If you're looking for a movie that blows you away with its amazing visuals, watch this. If you're looking for a classic movie with a deep message, don't. If you expect nothing from wanted, as i did, it turns out to be a great flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EricT.Jul 2, 2008
The most over-hyped movie I have seen all year. I couldn't fall asleep because the movie was so loud and I couldn't leave the theater because I didn't drive. I wish I ws one of the half dozen people that left half way through. The most over-hyped movie I have seen all year. I couldn't fall asleep because the movie was so loud and I couldn't leave the theater because I didn't drive. I wish I ws one of the half dozen people that left half way through. The highlight of the movie was the Dark Knight trailer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LiefS.Jul 22, 2008
This movie was a 2 trick pony. When you get tired of seeing bullets colliding and cars flipping over one another, there is absolutely nothing else to see. The script was non-existant. The plot was so flat that you were begging for the "twist This movie was a 2 trick pony. When you get tired of seeing bullets colliding and cars flipping over one another, there is absolutely nothing else to see. The script was non-existant. The plot was so flat that you were begging for the "twist ending" that left you laughing. I snuck into this movie and still feel ripped off. I want the 2 hours of my life back to see batman again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertF.Jul 22, 2008
Great film, acting was brill and the effects and stunts were amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NickJul 3, 2008
Great fun, silly, and full of over exaggerated action that was actually good compared to most movies that try to pull this stuff off.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TorgalR.Jul 3, 2008
I thought that the scenes with the animal corpses were a symbol for United States soldiers hunting and killing Iraqis. Otherwise it was extremely heavy on the Freudianisms. The fraternity apparently existed to act out outsourcing angst as a I thought that the scenes with the animal corpses were a symbol for United States soldiers hunting and killing Iraqis. Otherwise it was extremely heavy on the Freudianisms. The fraternity apparently existed to act out outsourcing angst as a class descended of the sweatshops, allowing an outsider to be taken in, retrained, as an insider, so that he could act out the assasinations which may or may not have been the oedpal complex of the female lead, Jolie. So each action segment, which included spoectacular CGI was a metaphor for an american issue. The performances by Common and Morgan Freeman were a bonus. Wes may have been a weak character- was he acting out personal frustrations? Were the action sequences his personal frustration, or were these international relations issues, inasfar as these are metaphorical? Fox seemed to entirely be in her own reality? Was it too deep into subconcious symbols for a CGI crowd? Probably underscored in other reviews. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JessEJul 3, 2008
Good action movie. James McAvoy did a heck of a job in this movie and will be a household name by the time this film ends its run. Now as for a sequel I am sure we won't be having Morgan Freeman and Angelina Jolie back will we. So I Good action movie. James McAvoy did a heck of a job in this movie and will be a household name by the time this film ends its run. Now as for a sequel I am sure we won't be having Morgan Freeman and Angelina Jolie back will we. So I suppose this is a James McAvoy franchise vehicle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnR.Jul 6, 2008
If this is entertainment, I need a lobotomy. There is nothing there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TylerD.Jul 6, 2008
This movie started strong, but seriously took a nose dive after like 20 minutes. Worthless story line along with a way to skinny Jolie who didn't show me anything the whole movie. I kept waiting for something to happen and the story This movie started strong, but seriously took a nose dive after like 20 minutes. Worthless story line along with a way to skinny Jolie who didn't show me anything the whole movie. I kept waiting for something to happen and the story just got worse and worse. Nothing new here in this one, it is easily the worst movie I have seen this year. Go see the Incredible Hulk if you are looking for a good action film, at least you will get good exciting and a good story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeffJ.Jul 7, 2008
Less than I expected, that's for sure. There were some humorous moments (the Loom of Fate is forever memorable) and Angelina Jolie is definitely a screen presence but this was a fair movie at best. When you're aware that it's Less than I expected, that's for sure. There were some humorous moments (the Loom of Fate is forever memorable) and Angelina Jolie is definitely a screen presence but this was a fair movie at best. When you're aware that it's a movie and look at your watch, it's a bad sign. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RyanP.Jul 8, 2008
A bit of fight club + a lot of matrix + a little star wars (you are my son instead of i am your father... come on!) = wanted. See it if you like special effects and don't mind the reckless borrowing from better films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MannyR.Jul 9, 2008
Very good movie. Special effects were awesome, cast was great, good storyline, nice to see mass shootings back in movies!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GatsbyJAug 16, 2008
-I thought this was gonna be a decent movie at best, but it wasn't even decent. For those who gave high scores then criticized others for their low ratings, you're not really making sense. When you say that it's supposed to be -I thought this was gonna be a decent movie at best, but it wasn't even decent. For those who gave high scores then criticized others for their low ratings, you're not really making sense. When you say that it's supposed to be mindless action, then that means you're a mindless idiot of a viewer. I don't care if the movie's concept wasn't believable (that's why we watch movies), it's the fact that the acting was horrible, the script was full of more bullet-holes than the people who get shot in this dumb-ass movie, and it didn't make much sense. -BTW, the voice-over of the main character narrating the story is some of the worst in movie history; he makes fun of the audience by saying we're mindless sheep and he's so cool, but basically he's saying is what distinguishes his thrilling existence from our boring ones is that he kills people and that makes him cool. And especially at the end when he asks what we've done with our lives: the attempt to break the "fourth wall" and sound profound doesn't work, and makes the director and writer seem like freaken retards. -Also, there's so many glaring plot-holes. Ex: the assassin at the start can jump so far and run so fast as to make papers scatter, but he's NOT the world's greatest assassin. However, NO ONE else in the movie has that ability, even the main character or his father. -I "WANTED" to like this movie, but now I just "WANT" to kick whoever's ass that made it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JaeQAug 1, 2008
6.7 is definitely overrating this movie. The plot was stupid and the twist was predictable, my little brother knew hwat the twist was gonna be 25 mins into the movie, no joke. The bullet curving is so stupid, such a childish concept, how 6.7 is definitely overrating this movie. The plot was stupid and the twist was predictable, my little brother knew hwat the twist was gonna be 25 mins into the movie, no joke. The bullet curving is so stupid, such a childish concept, how would moving the gun effect the bullets motion, I mean even in a basic understanding of physics you'd realize wherever the gun is pointing when the trigger is pulled the bullet goes... You want a fast paced, reality curving gun action movie, watch the matrix one and two at least they had a storyline (wasn't a big fan of the third). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SatyakamAug 22, 2008
Matrix repeated in terms of action with a good story line.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Aug 2, 2008
The best action movie ive seen in a long time. Besides Dark Knight.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RagMAug 20, 2008
This was an absolute garbage. Very hard to find even one redeeming feature. Wasted time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JasonS.Aug 4, 2008
I went in with low expectations and was greatly surprised at how good the movie was. It's not as good at the 1st Matrix (which I use as the gold standard) but it's probably the best action movie I've seen in a really long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
getmeoutofhereOct 11, 2009
A nice movie although not the best movie ever made but still a decent watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RoryPFeb 1, 2009
Enjoyable nonsense. Pulls off the feat of being imaginative and derivative all at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maxjMar 7, 2009
I can't believe it. if this isn't known as a cult classic then it must be honoured for something. where else will you see a movie as awesome as this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Aug 2, 2009
Jag, it's a freaking movie. Don't take it seriously. Anyways, what were you expecting? Schindler's List? This is a fun movie that I definitely recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonG.Jan 28, 2010
If i had rated this before reading the comic it would have rated a nine but sorry this this movie has as much to do with the comic about as about 2 plotlines most of the characters in the movie are not pulled out of the comic but are just If i had rated this before reading the comic it would have rated a nine but sorry this this movie has as much to do with the comic about as about 2 plotlines most of the characters in the movie are not pulled out of the comic but are just made up if you are looking for a faithfull adaptation your better off with sin city watchmen or dark knight all the dark parts of the comic are toned down way too much i can only hope kick ass will be more faithful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JonK.Oct 21, 2008
The plot and storyline is laughable. The petty scenes of revenge against the office tyrant, the ex-girlfriend, the best friend are pitiful and revealing of the scriptwriter's emotional maturity. Come to think of it, the whole film says The plot and storyline is laughable. The petty scenes of revenge against the office tyrant, the ex-girlfriend, the best friend are pitiful and revealing of the scriptwriter's emotional maturity. Come to think of it, the whole film says a lot about how old the writers were. Redeemed only by James McAvoy who is over the top and verging on melodrama but is somehow appropriate for this messy film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkK.Dec 13, 2008
It's not faithful to the comic books in terms of image, but this is still a very entertaining action film with a solid screenplay and well acted scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KenS.Dec 20, 2008
This movie offers nonstop action from start to finish, but there's nothing else to keep viewers interested. If you want to watch a mindless film without any semblance of reality, then this movie is for you. If you want to be able to This movie offers nonstop action from start to finish, but there's nothing else to keep viewers interested. If you want to watch a mindless film without any semblance of reality, then this movie is for you. If you want to be able to have some brain activity while still being entertained, then find another film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SeanM.Dec 6, 2008
Overall, a solid B movie. Some parts were good, other parts were laughably bad. Those that gave it a 0 are most likely overly picky and expect perfect A+ movies every time they go to the theater, or their precious time has been wasted. Me? Overall, a solid B movie. Some parts were good, other parts were laughably bad. Those that gave it a 0 are most likely overly picky and expect perfect A+ movies every time they go to the theater, or their precious time has been wasted. Me? It was a good couch flick, Cool action, some amusing dialogue, and hey, bullets. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TROct 6, 2008
I lowered my standards as much as possible before seeing this boring and totally computer generated, play it safe, fake stunt, wank but I was still shocked. The only thing that blew me away in this plot less career killing waste of money was I lowered my standards as much as possible before seeing this boring and totally computer generated, play it safe, fake stunt, wank but I was still shocked. The only thing that blew me away in this plot less career killing waste of money was the pure ass stink of every person involved in its production. From the acting and directing to the sets, dialogue, premise, you name it, it's all crap. How did they get Morgan Freeman to do this?! Amazingly, the film has the nerve to lecture the audience after the whole ordeal is over! I never thought shootouts, explosions and hot chicks could be made into such a colossal bore. save your time, save you money, and spend it doing something a million times more exciting... like picking lint from your belly button. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyD.Jun 24, 2008
Getting in early to see this movie has made my summer! If you're lookin for action, you can stop looking...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RolCJun 24, 2008
Great action, all around good film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvanT.Jun 25, 2008
I came in to this movie expecting a jumbled mess of a movie, with the only thing carrying it is it's A-list stars. I was entirely wrong. Compare it to a roller-coaster that looks like it is small. I go on, expecting a ride that can be I came in to this movie expecting a jumbled mess of a movie, with the only thing carrying it is it's A-list stars. I was entirely wrong. Compare it to a roller-coaster that looks like it is small. I go on, expecting a ride that can be thrilling at times, but overall will be a waste of time. But then You get shot up into the air, double corkscrew, the whole deal. With a great twist at the end. No more discussing, this movie is excellent. If you haven't seen it yet, drop what you are doing and go see this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TaratornP.Jun 26, 2008
Apart from those poor rat bombs, Wanted is Superb! Interesting story, packed with extreme action and special effects. Those bullets will definitely hit your mind. And to be honest, Angelina rocks!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MattAJun 27, 2008
Not a bad movie by any means. It's equivalent to Chinese take out, tasty at the moment, but leaves you feeling a bit empty once the initial glee is worn out. There were indeed great moments of aww, and dazzle, yet none of the characters Not a bad movie by any means. It's equivalent to Chinese take out, tasty at the moment, but leaves you feeling a bit empty once the initial glee is worn out. There were indeed great moments of aww, and dazzle, yet none of the characters were all that interesting beyond the fact that they were so cool they make the Fonz look like Napolean Dynamite. Train scene, awesome. Loom s**t, kinda retarded, but whatever, they can bend bullets too. Just turn off your brain, and look at the pretty colors, and you'll be just fine. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
soulsrfJun 27, 2008
Awesome! Fresh scenes from start to finish. Very original story!!! Go and see it TWICE!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful