User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 381

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    I don't really understand how "Wanted" got a positive reception. Sure, the action sequences are mind-blowing, but ultimately its your average 'brain-less' blockbuster you would watch with your homies.
  2. May 8, 2011
    10
    now we have to ask ourselves,why do we watch a movie? And the answer would be entertainment. Of which this movie provides lots of it,that would leave you begging for more. So if you are looking for a sexy,awesome,solid base actioneer,then wanted is the one you want.
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    'What the **** have you done lately?', is the parting shot from the 'protagonist' of this film.

    Well, things I haven't done lately would include: 1. Murdering strangers because somebody else told you to do so without giving any good reason. 2. Murdering the man who saved your life seconds before, again because somebody just told you to do so. 3. Finally realising that the guy
    'What the **** have you done lately?', is the parting shot from the 'protagonist' of this film.

    Well, things I haven't done lately would include:

    1. Murdering strangers because somebody else told you to do so without giving any good reason.
    2. Murdering the man who saved your life seconds before, again because somebody just told you to do so.
    3. Finally realising that the guy giving these orders is probably bad - but only because he tried to kill you personally.
    4. Blaming everybody else for your prior actions and murdering them, too, despite the fact they are in exactly the same position that you were a few hours ago.

    You simply can't enjoy a film where the writers are so inane that they think a narcissistic serial killer will be somebody you can really root for.

    You can't. You hate him and everything he does, and as a result the film just mindnumbingly stupid, inhumane, and boring.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    Action was ok but nothing impressive. Acting is solid. The plot never really goes any where and is rather generic when compared to other action films. I got very sick of all the slow motion very early on in the film, It was a bit much imo. Overall, It was an ok movie, I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel.
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    4
    Can't really understand how this movie could get this high metascore. Poor movie with even worse acting by Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy. The only good thing of it was Morgan Freeman. He's still epic.
  6. May 9, 2012
    7
    This film has aged VERY well. Now I can't even remember why we made such a big deal out of the physics when it first came out. Is it possible that the bar for rationale has dropped so far that this now stands as a testament to pure visual adrenaline? Probably. Just stop thinking and watch the beautiful inanity of its insanity.
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    it's quite much a pure action movie. the movie wisely ignores all deeper concepts, in favour of unrealistic gunfights. and sure, i like people shooting bullets that hit other bullets. that's why it gets a nice 7.
  8. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    A fun film with several great over the top action sequences that push the limit of believability way beyond the breaking point. Enjoyable if you are willing to stop thinking for a while.
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Let me start out by saying that I no way endorse ANYTHING Angelina Jolie is in, however wanted is impossible, ridiculous, and one hell of a ride! We don't watch movies to experience the predictable or only what's possible. Wanted is exciting, well written, full of twists, and well worth the price of admission.
  10. May 28, 2012
    8
    I love this movie. There are constant moments in 'Wanted' that just make me happy. For instance, Wesley telling off his boss or Wesley making out with Angelina Jolie in front of his ex girlfriend and ex best friend, etc. I don't need to analyze this movie because I just get pure enjoyment out of it.
  11. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Based on a comic book series of the same name, Wanted tells the story of a secret fraternity of assassins striving to keep order in the world. As you would expect from the Hollywood debut of Daywatch and Nigthwatch director Timur Bekmambetov, the film is fast paced and contains some stunning action sequences and stunts.

    James McAvoy is well cast as the pathetic office worker recruited by
    Based on a comic book series of the same name, Wanted tells the story of a secret fraternity of assassins striving to keep order in the world. As you would expect from the Hollywood debut of Daywatch and Nigthwatch director Timur Bekmambetov, the film is fast paced and contains some stunning action sequences and stunts.

    James McAvoy is well cast as the pathetic office worker recruited by the fraternity to avenge his father. McAvoy is supported by big hitters Angelina Jolie and Morgan Freeman. In contrast with most of her action roles, Jolie delivers a much more restrained performance while Freeman is simply allowed to do his stuff.

    Bekmambetov has a penchant for using slow motion sequences (in the vein of Zack Snyder) followed by pauses in both picture and sound. This works in places but is used rather a lot, most often when bullets are flying, and does become slightly tedious as the film goes on. He also employs an annoying pulse effect during the slow motion scenes. Initially this seems unnecessary but the effect serves a purpose once McAvoy's abilities are explained.

    Despite the pace, Bekmambetov allows the plot time to develop and the film delivers a few decent twists as McAvoy hunts down his father's killer. Wanted's script is exactly what you would expect from the writing team that penned a large part of the Fast and Furious series. Danny Elfman provides a pretty heavy soundtrack which suits the film's angry and intense action sequences.

    Overall, Wanted is a stylish and fun ride although you may need to suspend your disbelief from the offset.
    Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    I actually enjoyed it, though I would not watch it again. It had lots of action and ass kicking. The dialogue was filled with profanity and had little to offer towards character development. The story line was a typical 'boy finds out he is the One and reluctantly embraces his destiny after a few setbacks.'
  13. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    One of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Some may argue that it borrows to heavily from The Matrix, but I think it's less of a rip off and more of a homage. Brilliant acting, some amazing special effects and a surprise ending containing Morgan Freeman saying "Oh f**k". What more could an action fan wish for?
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Wanted is crazy fun, gory and over-the-top. Kinetic energy, guns and blood are the things that make up the plot in Wanted- a weak office worker who wants to find out the secrets about his dead dad, and teams up with a gang of superhumans, where he discovers his own abilities. The slow motion scenes are awesome. Separating the bullets from the brains, or the best headshot into pieces toWanted is crazy fun, gory and over-the-top. Kinetic energy, guns and blood are the things that make up the plot in Wanted- a weak office worker who wants to find out the secrets about his dead dad, and teams up with a gang of superhumans, where he discovers his own abilities. The slow motion scenes are awesome. Separating the bullets from the brains, or the best headshot into pieces to enjoy. The film is modern and crazy, filled with epic car chases and great kills. Angelina Jolie was pretty good, but not as good as Morgan Freeman and James McAvoy. Wanted is sexy, fast and gory. Awesome fun. Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    It's a pure adrenaline rush for the hardcore escapist, but for everyone else it'll be less satisfying due to an absent-minded script that's reliant on its bombastic violence to get by.
  16. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    An overall entertaining film but relatively short. Lacks more movie magic but the action is incredible if not ridiculous. Especially the ending was very captivating as well as the visuals and special effects.
  17. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    The movie carries on the story of the Generation X. Wanted is a good mix of its role models from a decade earlier, Fight Club and The Matrix. In all three movies the protagonist is an average Gen-Xer, working a boring office job that does not lead anywhere, being frustrated with the everyday routine, and simply feeling totally useless. But then, someday the main character of Wanted learnsThe movie carries on the story of the Generation X. Wanted is a good mix of its role models from a decade earlier, Fight Club and The Matrix. In all three movies the protagonist is an average Gen-Xer, working a boring office job that does not lead anywhere, being frustrated with the everyday routine, and simply feeling totally useless. But then, someday the main character of Wanted learns that he is meant for something bigger than the life he lived up to that moment (like Neo in The Matrix), and breaks with the social constructs that he felt trapped in (like Fight Club). He becomes a member of a fraternity of real-world superhuman assassins. However, the first moral problem is that their targets are supposedly destined by fate to bring balance to the world. This means that (like in the movie Minority Report) there is the possibility that people, who actually might have not harmed anyone, might be killed without a trial. The second problem is that when someone decides to deliberately choose targets, this superhuman fraternity of assassins will become a regime threatening democracy. A highly entertaining, fast-paced, fun action movie about identity crises, breaking from being a slave of society, and doing what you are meant to do. Expand
  18. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    Really interesting this film! On the contrary of the critics that I read a lot the movie is pure creative and different because shows the exaggerated and the impossible on a completely acceptable context! If people merely want to see possible and commons things just read the newspaper and not a movie. A movie needs to be creative and it can also be surreal, since the events fit and have aReally interesting this film! On the contrary of the critics that I read a lot the movie is pure creative and different because shows the exaggerated and the impossible on a completely acceptable context! If people merely want to see possible and commons things just read the newspaper and not a movie. A movie needs to be creative and it can also be surreal, since the events fit and have a connected end. Bullets that make curves, bullets with goodbye, cars jumping over others! Two of the functions of the cinema from action are entertaining and make magic, do not forget that. Expand
  19. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    Definitely not a dumb action film. I must say it pays a little homage to "fight club" at some points, don't really know why, but the direction and the tone feels that way. There are some interesting plot points and James McAvoy does a wonderful job as the protagonist. It's nice seeing a smart face in an action movie, instead of a huge muscular guy with a strong jaw who looks like he can'tDefinitely not a dumb action film. I must say it pays a little homage to "fight club" at some points, don't really know why, but the direction and the tone feels that way. There are some interesting plot points and James McAvoy does a wonderful job as the protagonist. It's nice seeing a smart face in an action movie, instead of a huge muscular guy with a strong jaw who looks like he can't create a coherent thought. I definitely suggest this movie for both action and acting. The direction was good, i enjoyed it, but it got a little tiring at some points. Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Wanted is a narrative story that is told from a very unique point of view, Wesley (James McAvoy) insults the audience from the get go, and he tells his story as if reading it from a journal, meaning that we maybe aren't supposed to hear what he is saying, the film could care less for what people think, in other words, and it triumphs for that matter, bending the rules and the bullets forWanted is a narrative story that is told from a very unique point of view, Wesley (James McAvoy) insults the audience from the get go, and he tells his story as if reading it from a journal, meaning that we maybe aren't supposed to hear what he is saying, the film could care less for what people think, in other words, and it triumphs for that matter, bending the rules and the bullets for that matter. Wesley is an average and routine individual, letting every single thing in his life, no matter how minuscule, annoy him. His routine life is turned on its head when he meets Fox (Angelina Jolie), a master assassin who introduces Wesley to a whole new world of opportunities, starting with him being trained to kill targets that come out of a loom, and interpreted by the leader of the assassins, Sloan (Morgan Freeman).
    The unique take on the tale stems from the absurd nature of it all, bending bullets is not impossible, but simply unheard of, these guys can do it, they can also shoot a fly out of the air through focus and instinct. Its a truly edgy and alternate take on a familiar storyline, but one which never stops going and adds more and more kick to every scene. James McAvoy is convincing as am unlikely hero who can pull out the stops when necessary, and plays the frightened nerd with equal ease. Angelina Jolie is perfectly cast as the quiet yet destructive Fox, she has problems with her job but settles for the fact that she is good at what she does. Its really quite simple to enjoy these sorts of films, they don't take themselves seriously but deliver in heaps and bounds what they set out to do, Wanted sets out to questions every aspect of basic gravity laws and deals in the unorthodox nature of talking to the audience, but it mostly enjoys every damn minute of it, as should we. Wesley's bombardment of questions and queries are really what sum it up, that it is just ridiculous but to simply enjoy it, as there is never a dull moment of some spectacular set pieces or twisted events, adding in many humorous quips and a steady script and you have yourself an enjoyable and action-packed thrill. Certainly not the most logical or quiet of films, but its has some spectacular effects and a bunch of fantastic performances, with a confident script and edgy story that is entertaining until the credits roll.
    Expand
  21. Apr 14, 2014
    5
    Bombastic violence and action that is entertaining and even innovative at times while the movie lasts. Good special effects too. But then you forget about it the moment it ends. Just like how it happens with most movies out there. No special script, no special score, no special acting, nothing to remember. I know movies like this need to exist but one can´t give them more than a 5 out ofBombastic violence and action that is entertaining and even innovative at times while the movie lasts. Good special effects too. But then you forget about it the moment it ends. Just like how it happens with most movies out there. No special script, no special score, no special acting, nothing to remember. I know movies like this need to exist but one can´t give them more than a 5 out of 10 or so. It would not be fair to the real great films. One of the most appealing things about it is how hot Angelina and James McAvoy are. That says it all. Expand
  22. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Putting it bluntly, 'WANTED' was a rather formulaic and predictable outing. A loserly, office shut-in with the help of a hot babe learns about his past and is suddenly thrust into the world of assassination, a world of flipping cars, extreme gun fights, and mind-altering stunts, thus shedding every bit of his shy, weak self. This we've all seen before.

    Where 'WANTED' stands apart from any other action film I've seen is in its style. The director has upped the ante on how the action is portrayed. Gone are any sort of boundaries. This is a world where people can flawlessly flip cars over others and land perfectly upright on the other side, where people can shoot from miles away hitting nothing but their target, where people can put such a curve on bullets that they hit multiple targets standing on different planes all with one shot. If people can really do this, perhaps I'm living the same existence as Wesley, and I'm missing out. The film's major selling point is its style and its worth a viewing simply for that.
    Expand
  23. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    "Wanted" is an energetic, stylish and utterly over-the-top movie that can be helped by witty performances from Angelina Jolie, James McAvoy, and Morgan Freeman.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. This over-the-top, ultraviolent, hyperkinetic action thriller pretty much has it all.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Like it or not, Wanted pretty much slams you to the back of your chair from the outset and scarcely lets up for the duration.
  3. It takes about an hour after it's over for the heart to slow, the brain to recalibrate, and the nonsensicalness of the thing to sink in.