War of the Worlds

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1453 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. EdS
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    Interesting movie from spielberg. It was a quickly shot movie that seemed like a fun project for him. It almost seemed like a two hour short film. There were not a lot of ideas put forward, but it was a nice variation on an old story.
  2. DoughP.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    A 10 just for the acting. Dakota and Cruise should be nominated.
  3. coryw.
    Jun 29, 2005
    0
    By far the dumbest film i've seen in a very long time. soooooo far fetched and the ending????? i guess the aliens have a life expectancy of a fruit fly.
  4. JonK.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Uber-cool!
  5. Austin
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    I now know what God did on the 7th day. He did not rest, but he did make this movie and send it into the head of Speilburg.
  6. CH
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This movie was awsome. Tom Cruise wasn't some hero and wasn't a genius. It made it seem like what real people would do in these situations. Sometimes he was just retarded, becuase he wouldn't have time to think it through if it where happining. I just thought that made it seem a little more real. Also, the ending is great.
  7. JackH.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    It is unusual for me to gain an emotional response to a movie in anyway I consider to be noteworthy, and it is even more rare for me to be even scared in any sense of the word by a movie beyond a simple jump at a cheap trick. This movie genuinely terrified, not scared, TERRIFIED me. The acting, the pacing, the special effects, and the overall REALNESS of the experience were the best It is unusual for me to gain an emotional response to a movie in anyway I consider to be noteworthy, and it is even more rare for me to be even scared in any sense of the word by a movie beyond a simple jump at a cheap trick. This movie genuinely terrified, not scared, TERRIFIED me. The acting, the pacing, the special effects, and the overall REALNESS of the experience were the best I've seen in movies in YEARS. I honestly can't remember the last time a movie gripped me this much, save perhaps the first time I saw Jurassic Park: in 1st grade! This film certainly ranks with, if not CROWNS, the best achievements of Spielberg and directors in general. It is easily the best movie I have seen all year. Cinderella Man, eat your heart out! Expand
  8. NicoleR.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Made me cry ;-)
  9. Rick
    Jun 29, 2005
    0
    Implausible syrup. Cruise is desperate to be taken seriously. Aliens are predictable. Too many silly loopholes. Don't waste your money.
  10. JeffL
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Deserves much more credit than it's getting here. An amazing film, period. My only complaint is that the ending wasn't gradual enough, and for me that's a very minor flaw. So minor that I'm still giving it a 10 score. Don't let these other reviews fool you.
  11. JackHoffF
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    I thought it was an excellent movie. I was constantly on the edge of my seat and wondering what would happen next. I guess some people don't like Tom Cruise's acting but the last 4 or 5 movies he's been in (basically since Vanilla Sky) I have enjoyed (Especially the last time Spielberg and Cruise teamed up... in Minority Report). Admittedly, the father/son story is very I thought it was an excellent movie. I was constantly on the edge of my seat and wondering what would happen next. I guess some people don't like Tom Cruise's acting but the last 4 or 5 movies he's been in (basically since Vanilla Sky) I have enjoyed (Especially the last time Spielberg and Cruise teamed up... in Minority Report). Admittedly, the father/son story is very lame and cheesy. But I enjoyed the other parts of the movie so much, it didn't bother me. To me, this was one of those rare movies that starts, shows the end credits, and I wonder how it's possible 2 hours had just passed. Excellent flick, well done Spielberg! Expand
  12. ChrisK.
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    Some of the most intense moments ive ever seen on film!
  13. RussellW.
    Jun 29, 2005
    4
    Special effects were top notch... I thought that the acting and plot was okay, except for the son's part... all in all it was an amazing movie....... right up until the last 2 minutes which instantly brought this movie from what would have been an 8 or maybe even a 9 to a pitiful 4.
  14. ChrisF
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    I agree, this one was awesome, edge of the seat the whole time. it was awesome to see how crazy people got when its every person for himself. No bad acting to hold me back from enjoying it, very real, awesome.
  15. Jimmy
    Jul 11, 2005
    2
    Complete and utter disappointment of an afternoon. This film is a gleaming beacon of what's wrong with Hollywood these days. Just because you throw a pile of cash and a few big name stars at a movie doesn't make it good. The casting was WAY off, Cruise does not breathe life into this vehicle, he merely is there to be Tom Cruise. Dakota outshines Tom and Tim both and was probably Complete and utter disappointment of an afternoon. This film is a gleaming beacon of what's wrong with Hollywood these days. Just because you throw a pile of cash and a few big name stars at a movie doesn't make it good. The casting was WAY off, Cruise does not breathe life into this vehicle, he merely is there to be Tom Cruise. Dakota outshines Tom and Tim both and was probably the only redeeming facet of the feature. I feel most sorry for the son played by an unknown and thrown together with these incompetent vets. Tim's character and scenes involving him were so poorly done and insanely unbelieveable that it left me wondering why they were even there in the first place. This movie is entirely forgettable. One more complaint that drove me nuts is the alien ships. Every scene with them is either a shadowy form far away or so close that you can't really distinguish what you are looking at. For all the CG and design that was supposedly done, lemme get a look at one of those babies, would ya? I couldn't even draw one aside from basic shape and they got big lights on em, cmon spielberg, this should embarass you. Expand
  16. SteveA.
    Jul 11, 2005
    2
    Great effects, suspense, but no story. None. And a stupid ending. Too many unanswered questions for the one page story to make up for.
  17. AliC.
    Jul 11, 2005
    7
    Just when you thought it was safe to watch a Spielberg movie.......This one's actually not too bad. SS is responsible for many of my childhood's happier moments (the disembodied head springing out of the chewed up boat in Jaws being most memorable...only kidding), and one of my adulthood's worst (watching ALL of AI, including the ending, and then discovering my phone had Just when you thought it was safe to watch a Spielberg movie.......This one's actually not too bad. SS is responsible for many of my childhood's happier moments (the disembodied head springing out of the chewed up boat in Jaws being most memorable...only kidding), and one of my adulthood's worst (watching ALL of AI, including the ending, and then discovering my phone had been nicked......the day after being dumped by my girlfriend), so it's hard to view him rationally. War of the Worlds is essentially a sci-fi horror in the Alien mould, and every bit as gripping (and scary). The FX are, obviously, gorgeous. Despite it's 12A UK rating, it's really not for the kids (I suspect the film certification dudes had their arms twisted a little!). And the ending, well it's better than AI's, but not by much: it's like someone's telling you a story and then gives up before the... Expand
  18. Yrk
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    Some of you people need to quit taking movies and Hollywood so seriously, and just enjoy a movie for what it is. What the hell do you expect? Tom Cruise did a fantastic job, as did the others. You people giving it a 0 are just as much to blame being on drugs as those who give it a ten. Some people just know how to suspend their disbelief. Apparently others haven't learned how to do Some of you people need to quit taking movies and Hollywood so seriously, and just enjoy a movie for what it is. What the hell do you expect? Tom Cruise did a fantastic job, as did the others. You people giving it a 0 are just as much to blame being on drugs as those who give it a ten. Some people just know how to suspend their disbelief. Apparently others haven't learned how to do that yet. If you lost interest after thirty minutes then you might want to check your pulse, because you're probably dead. Even if you really hated the movie, you can't say it wasn't entertaining. Your full of BS. I'll admit the ending was fairly weak, but I'm not complaining. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Expand
  19. Martin
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    Amazing! FABULOUS actors! There was so much devastation, drama, suspense, and thrills that my jaw was hanging down the whole time.
  20. Jacob
    Jul 12, 2005
    2
    I watch 2-4 movies per week and have seen almost every movie in the past 5 years. This has to be Spielberg's worst I have ever seen. I cannot understand how the critics can possibly give this more than 2/5. It doesn't even compare with the book version. The 'story' as portrayed by the movie is long, tedious, and excruciating. The conclusion of the movie is completely I watch 2-4 movies per week and have seen almost every movie in the past 5 years. This has to be Spielberg's worst I have ever seen. I cannot understand how the critics can possibly give this more than 2/5. It doesn't even compare with the book version. The 'story' as portrayed by the movie is long, tedious, and excruciating. The conclusion of the movie is completely illogical, which doesn't explain anything at all. The characters are portrayed as 1-dimensional. The acting is barely passable by Cruise. Please don't waste your time, this movie was a total flop except for the CG effects which were satisfactory. I can only think of one word to describe it - "silly". I'm sure you'll be thinking that too if you have the misfortune of watching it. Expand
  21. JackD.
    Jul 15, 2005
    1
    What movie were the reviewers watching to give it such good reviews? I think Spielberg substituted Close Encounters for the press preview. This one makes "1941" look like a classic. It is certainly not better than the 1953 George Pal version. I spent the whole movie rooting for the invaders to get Tom Cruise...maybe that is why I was disappointed. Maybe I need a psychiatrist. Maybe Tom What movie were the reviewers watching to give it such good reviews? I think Spielberg substituted Close Encounters for the press preview. This one makes "1941" look like a classic. It is certainly not better than the 1953 George Pal version. I spent the whole movie rooting for the invaders to get Tom Cruise...maybe that is why I was disappointed. Maybe I need a psychiatrist. Maybe Tom can recommend one for me... Expand
  22. ChadK.
    Jul 15, 2005
    3
    From the first trailer I saw for this movie, I told myself I wanted to see it in the theater. I was quite disappointed. The only reason I gave it a 3 was that it was 90+ degrees outside and the air conditioned theater felt great. The book was far to in depth for a film representation. The film had small bits and pieces of random surface level content that add up to virtually nothing and From the first trailer I saw for this movie, I told myself I wanted to see it in the theater. I was quite disappointed. The only reason I gave it a 3 was that it was 90+ degrees outside and the air conditioned theater felt great. The book was far to in depth for a film representation. The film had small bits and pieces of random surface level content that add up to virtually nothing and then all of a sudden, it's over. If the Spielberg and Cruise names did not accompany this film, it would have gone down in flames. As it is, it left me colder than the air conditioner in the theater and I truely don't understand the entirely overrated critical review it received. Don't bother. Expand
  23. QDawg
    Jul 16, 2005
    2
    Nice effects, but very uninteresting characters, and horrible dialog. Do yourself a favor and pass on this one.
  24. DeniseL.
    Jul 16, 2005
    2
    As great as Spielberg is, he just isn't fresh any longer. Also, with a sub-plot that is a little too thin.
  25. LoriE.
    Jul 17, 2005
    2
    What a complete let down. The novel is one of the best pieces I've ever read and this movie did NOT even come close to doing it justice. It had potential but Spielberg blew it. As per usual he made the aliens too cute, there were also major plot holes and some of the most important things from the book were just plain left out. Some of the special effects were extraordinary...but it What a complete let down. The novel is one of the best pieces I've ever read and this movie did NOT even come close to doing it justice. It had potential but Spielberg blew it. As per usual he made the aliens too cute, there were also major plot holes and some of the most important things from the book were just plain left out. Some of the special effects were extraordinary...but it seems like Speilberg sacrificed plot just to entertain certain CGI effects. A major disappointment all around...steer clear unless you a) don't know/care about the book or b) really like mindless action flicks. Why can't anybody make a DECENT sci-fi flick anymore?!? Expand
  26. Natalious
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    Seems to me that alot of people in here are VERY critical. After a hard work week, this movie was a great way to just relax and take a ride. Looking back, I noticed that why watching the movie, not once did I think about my bills, my crummy job or my list of chores. Suspend your disbelief and just enjoy this flick. I did!
  27. JeremyC.
    Jul 21, 2005
    2
    A semi-emotional tale of self-discovery and of a dissillusioned father taking on the role he's been trying to escape. That might have been a good movie. But instead after half an hour this tale of fatherly responsibility turns into your basic box office boomfest. After the first half hour the movie reverts to your level C action movie with massive explosions and scenes of humans A semi-emotional tale of self-discovery and of a dissillusioned father taking on the role he's been trying to escape. That might have been a good movie. But instead after half an hour this tale of fatherly responsibility turns into your basic box office boomfest. After the first half hour the movie reverts to your level C action movie with massive explosions and scenes of humans being slaughtered. Absolute worst movie ending I have seen since Jurassic Park 3. After two hours of flames and explosions the aliens came half way across the universe to waste humanity in a one week period and bam, they forgot space suits and so all die of disease. A horrible movie. DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE. Unless you are interested in seeing how to make a high budget-bad movie, or are an upcoming 3D artist this movie is a waste of time. Expand
  28. CarynH.
    Jul 22, 2005
    0
    Thiis film is insulting. I've always wondered how Tom & Stevie could be such good friends. Well, they're both insane. My prediction: a future collaboration with Mel Gibson. The ending is inane. Sci-fi or no sci-fi
  29. RobinNovaScotia
    Jul 26, 2005
    6
    Ok movie but very weak for Spielberg. I have no problem suspending disbelief, but this movie has more gaping plot wholes than $120 million of special effects and press junkets could ever cover. The performances are good. The writing is Ok. There are some pretty cool shots. But overall, way too much just plain did not make sense - not taking me away (like Saving Private Ryan, Minority Ok movie but very weak for Spielberg. I have no problem suspending disbelief, but this movie has more gaping plot wholes than $120 million of special effects and press junkets could ever cover. The performances are good. The writing is Ok. There are some pretty cool shots. But overall, way too much just plain did not make sense - not taking me away (like Saving Private Ryan, Minority Report, Close Encounters, even AI) but rather constantly reminding me that I am only watching a movie. Expand
  30. SLindberg
    Jul 28, 2005
    1
    Completely disapointing.
  31. anns.
    Jul 29, 2005
    1
    Its a stinker ... shocking acting, its all downhill after the first glimpse of the aliens. don't bother.
  32. MickV
    Jul 31, 2005
    8
    I've seen many films that deserve a 0 and 1 and War of the Worlds is nowhere close to them. I'm guessing all this negativity is due to a combination of the unrealistically high expectations whenver Spielberg's name is attached to a film and that people want a reason to tear into Tom Cruise because of all his nutty shenanigans on the news recently. As for me, I had a I've seen many films that deserve a 0 and 1 and War of the Worlds is nowhere close to them. I'm guessing all this negativity is due to a combination of the unrealistically high expectations whenver Spielberg's name is attached to a film and that people want a reason to tear into Tom Cruise because of all his nutty shenanigans on the news recently. As for me, I had a thoroughly good time. Yes there were plot holes and a rushed ending, but it was still a damn fun two hours. SPOILER ALERT The scene where the tripod first comes out of the ground and zaps everyone in sight was almost worth the $8 alone. My only major problem with the plot came when Tom Cruise suddenly morphed into an action star and destroyed the tripod near the end of the film. At that point it got to be too ID4 and not the semi-realistic sci-fi drama it was during the rest of the film. SPOILER ENDED Other than that though, I thought it was great. The effects were incredible but was never the focus of the film. It was more a background to the story of a man trying to keep his family alive from these creatures. I guess that bothers a lot of people who were expecting a more action-oriented film, but as I mentioned earlier, I had a blast. If you're not a pretentious Cruise/Spielberg hater, you will too. Expand
  33. Vernon
    Aug 11, 2005
    1
    How do I get some of those yummy blood roots in my garden? The whole dam planet was taken over by aliens with human fertilizer feeding those roots. So why the hell was the aliens zapping them instead of slicing & dicing those folks? I tell you why because Mr. Spock shot them with a laser beam. And dam those bodies floating down river. What a waste. I could have had them for a Sunday How do I get some of those yummy blood roots in my garden? The whole dam planet was taken over by aliens with human fertilizer feeding those roots. So why the hell was the aliens zapping them instead of slicing & dicing those folks? I tell you why because Mr. Spock shot them with a laser beam. And dam those bodies floating down river. What a waste. I could have had them for a Sunday barbecue. But if you zapped them how were they floating anyway? Don't make a lot of sense if you ask this Razorback from Arkansas. Blood roots all over the planet now thats the ticket. I wonder if Tom ate Tim Robbins for dinner as he had no other food? Oh well, this really was one hell of a messy movie. Barbecued conductor was on that ghost train I tell you. Oy Vey. Collapse
  34. sharonc.
    Aug 14, 2005
    0
    I really hated myself for watching this poor excuse of a remake.
  35. GregB.
    Aug 14, 2005
    8
    I just went to see this and I was blown away. This was one of the best sci-fi movies I've seen in a long time. The CG effects and the whole idea is brilliant and breathtaking. The movie was filled with supsenful moments and filled with lots of explosions and violence. The camerwork (which a lot of people don't talk about) was also great, leaning towards a unsteady approach more I just went to see this and I was blown away. This was one of the best sci-fi movies I've seen in a long time. The CG effects and the whole idea is brilliant and breathtaking. The movie was filled with supsenful moments and filled with lots of explosions and violence. The camerwork (which a lot of people don't talk about) was also great, leaning towards a unsteady approach more than a tripod mounted camera. I do admit though (hence the eight) that the times when the movie went emotional it was lacking. The emotion seemed corny and sometimes it seemed as if tears were CG'd. Otherwise, if you like an all out fight between aliens and humans with lots of action with a sci-fi storyline, this is the movie to see. I highly recommend this movie. Expand
  36. TorbenB.
    Aug 19, 2005
    2
    This film was absolutely wretched - one of the worst I've seen in quite some time. All the money and (admittedly) lush special effects cannot wallpaper over a script which is so utterly obvious and devoid of logic, a lead actor who is so fundamentally limited and lacking in any discernible inner life, and a director who, for all his technical skill, is so emotionally vacuous. This film was absolutely wretched - one of the worst I've seen in quite some time. All the money and (admittedly) lush special effects cannot wallpaper over a script which is so utterly obvious and devoid of logic, a lead actor who is so fundamentally limited and lacking in any discernible inner life, and a director who, for all his technical skill, is so emotionally vacuous. Spielberg quite simply has no heart as a filmmaker, and no guts either. It is no wonder that he has settled on Cruise as his leading man (actor would be too generous a term,) for Cruise so perfectly embodies the emotional shallowness that has been the hallmark of Spielberg all these long and one-dimensional years. I didn't know whether to laugh or snooze. Expand
  37. JW
    Aug 23, 2005
    4
    Are you telling me than during an alien invasion that is destined to distroy the world, the most interesting story is a bad father and his two kids? Cool special effects but a worthless story.
  38. JustinC.
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Hands down, the best movie of the summer.
  39. Victor
    Sep 18, 2005
    0
    Was this a comedy? If it was, it was a great satire because nothing made any sense. If it wasn't then you need a barf bag. Either way it was awful.
  40. TomS
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    Wow, this movie sure is scary. As horror films go, it's really horrifying. Unfortunately, I got up to greet the pizza-man, and when I got back a minute later, somehow all the aliens were mysteriously dying. We're told this was from bacteria of some sort, then shown a zoom-in beyond the level of DNA (much smaller than bacteria) to some indefinite specks. Don't try to think Wow, this movie sure is scary. As horror films go, it's really horrifying. Unfortunately, I got up to greet the pizza-man, and when I got back a minute later, somehow all the aliens were mysteriously dying. We're told this was from bacteria of some sort, then shown a zoom-in beyond the level of DNA (much smaller than bacteria) to some indefinite specks. Don't try to think about this one. The whole movie just meandered lazily from one grotesque scene to another. Completely sadistic, really. I didn't see The Passion, but I imagine it's sort of the same thing. This movie only makes sense in the context of 'New World Order' conspiracy theories about Speilberg -- like, if 'they' decide that a billion people have to die to preserve the world's resources, let's just stage a temporary 'alien invasion,' where a ton of people will be helplessly killed, and then the killing will miraculously stop without anyone doing anything. (Probably why we see only the plight of a do-nothing citizen, rather than an actual story a-la ID4.) This sort of speculation is necessary for entertainment because the movie gives you nothing else to think about. No plot, no drama, no honor in the actions of the characters, no imagination. I didn't see it at the theater, only on someone's enormous plasma TV, but the visual effects were underwhelming -- nothing we haven't seen many times before. Many scenes are interrupted in the height of suspense by a fade to silent black that has no purpose except as a future commercial break. Lots of loud noises to keep you and your neighbors awake, though. That earns one point. Expand
  41. RichardY.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, how it could survive all of that calamity but be hijacked. I was also disappointed in the Martians; nothing like Wells described. Pendragon's Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, how it could survive all of that calamity but be hijacked. I was also disappointed in the Martians; nothing like Wells described. Pendragon's version meets that dead-on. Those are the only downsides, and all the rest is accurate, even, yes, folks, the ending. Even the book ended it that abruptly, in the spanse of a meer chapter. I however do think it would be neat if they switched: Pendragon would have Spielberg's budget, to do a completely FAITHFUL and REALISTIC retelling of the novel, and Paramount would do a low-budget modernized tale. But, with what is had, War of the Worlds is one of those films that comes to mind as you're falling asleep exhausted (comparing to how the characters must have felt, stumbling right back into danger). Expand
  42. JalilS.
    May 18, 2006
    8
    this movie is the return of spielberg to his roots.spielberg is characteristic of making suvivor type of movies that include some thrilling and thats what a lot of people enjoy watching
  43. KenW
    Apr 27, 2008
    5
    I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant screaming of Dakota Fanning did get on the nerves, but given the point of view of a little girl in a crazy situation, it could be understood. Overall I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant screaming of Dakota Fanning did get on the nerves, but given the point of view of a little girl in a crazy situation, it could be understood. Overall though the movie was definitely worth watching. Expand
  44. DenonL.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Best damn movie of the year.
  45. mary
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Goergous movie. Cruise -Spielberg collaborations are productives. Very good acting and direction. The tripods look fabulous. I love this movie!
  46. JohnS
    Nov 26, 2005
    2
    Aside from the excellent job of things "blowed up good" this was a horrible movie. Only watchable when the aliens got on screen, then it was kind of fun. And why do they do this? Smart people like speilberg, the world is being invaded and we have to spend the whole movie listening to an unlikeable family whine to one another. That is not hard to find, so give us the aliens destroying Aside from the excellent job of things "blowed up good" this was a horrible movie. Only watchable when the aliens got on screen, then it was kind of fun. And why do they do this? Smart people like speilberg, the world is being invaded and we have to spend the whole movie listening to an unlikeable family whine to one another. That is not hard to find, so give us the aliens destroying cities, please. Expand
  47. Jake
    Dec 18, 2005
    7
    Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he definately knows how to write a story around a montage of action shots......usually decent, he seems to have left his script for War of the Worlds Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he definately knows how to write a story around a montage of action shots......usually decent, he seems to have left his script for War of the Worlds unfinished, judging from the way the story ends so suddenly and without a major climax. All of the inconsistencies and the convienient plot wholes (the son disappoears for the final third only to be at home at the end? WTF!!!) are his fault, and Spielberg can only be blamed for accepting such an average screenplay.....at the hands of someone else, this story could have been very compelling....and it had some moments, mostly thanks to Steve, where it was (the scene where the van gets mobbed! That was some great stuff!). It was entertaining, and the action was great, but I just can't get over the fact the story could have been much, much better! Expand
  48. JamesB
    Dec 28, 2005
    4
    I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science fiction epics in recent years, however its success was inevitably going to be mared by the lack of scope and imagination implemented by those producing I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science fiction epics in recent years, however its success was inevitably going to be mared by the lack of scope and imagination implemented by those producing it. The trailer made the film look nothing short of breathtaking, hinting and teasing audiences with samples of the Spielberg and Cruise creativity madjesty that we've seen before in the likes of Minority Report. Unfortunately, this is exactly what the movie itself demonstrates; pure speculation. At the best of times the film is prolonged, slow and uninspired, and whenever the amazing special effects that the film makers have created are shown, they are again limited to a smattering of brief action sequences that you hope will accure countless times throughout the course of the picture. however this is not to be. Overall War of the Worlds is an underdeveloped experience that could have been so much more. I personally am a huge fan of Tom Cruise and feel incredibly disappointed to see him placed in role where he can cannot fully express his true talent and form as his character is hardly ever given anything demanding to do besides runaway and act dumb. This movie is a victim of its own limitations and if more time was spent illustrating epic encounters between the invaders and us humans instead of focusing on a dead end plotline about a single family, this film could have ultimately been much improved. Expand
  49. CJones
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Very intense! I enjoyed every minute of it. The 0 scores are just plain ridiculous. Even if you don't like the the original HG Wells story, you have to give it props for the mind blowing special effects.
  50. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Lightning storm.

    "At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... » HERBERT GEORGE WELLS Man is able to theorize, invent, build. It can create. The creation is quite another thing, is not yet within his reach, and perhaps never will be and maybe it's all well
    Lightning storm.

    "At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... »

    HERBERT GEORGE WELLS

    Man is able to theorize, invent, build. It can create. The creation is quite another thing, is not yet within his reach, and perhaps never will be and maybe it's all well and good. "The War of the Worlds" has a deeper meaning in itself, rigid, introverted.

    And 'the act of the mirror, I understand, the true ruler of the narrative, that's where you find the starting point to delve into a story far from simple you see, do not listen / emotionally strong, because for many verse in terms of asynchronous communication and achromatic visual one. Dropped the mirror, as perverse as a catalyst for feelings is healthy nothingness, absence, emptiness.

    But, man, that's true, that is not wounded and bent soul immortality by an irresistible urge to imperialism, still able to find in the tears of a child, to give the world a teenager hungry for love of one's gender it is from this type of man that the world expects to see the spark to rise to a new time dimension.

    This world, upon reflection, is chock full of tripods as small as powerful for their destructive capacity. We begin our defuse; those from higher intelligence to us, we can do, quietly without.

    Good Click!
    Expand
  51. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    The film doesn’t have much substance but it is still pretty entertaining. The film is well shot and knows how to pull at your heart strings. If you want good visuals, emotional connection, and be midly entertained check this out. If you want something more sophisticated this isn’t it is just one long chase/survival movie.
  52. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror (a river of dead people!!) not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture.
  53. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    When I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect on me. The family stuff was riveting and the action sequences actually quite terrifying. I guess being able to identify with the movie's themes makes allWhen I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect on me. The family stuff was riveting and the action sequences actually quite terrifying. I guess being able to identify with the movie's themes makes all the difference! Expand
  54. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. Amazing plot line and awesome cast was what made it an awesome film. The cast included Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, and a lot more. The plotline of this sweetAmazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. Amazing plot line and awesome cast was what made it an awesome film. The cast included Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, and a lot more. The plotline of this sweet alien invasion adaption of H.G. Wells' 1898 award winning classic novel is another of Steven Spielbergs masterpieces and great adaptions to books. Like Minority report this one made it, with a four star rating and a 73/100 on this website. In this movie the world really is invaded. A lot of destruction and devestation in this horror/sci-fi about a dad trying to find a safe haven for his two children. I love this movie and highly reccommend to all. Expand
  55. Oct 1, 2014
    8
    A great film, faithfully recreating the essence of the book. Tense and forboding throughout, the Martiain invasion is brilliantly paced and handled expertly. Cruise gives a workmanlike performance. The ending, however, is dissapointing and although it follows the book closely I do feel they wrapped it all up too quickly. One of my favourite science fiction films of recent years
  56. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    I could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off, especially filming an American adaptation. But that didn't bother me, because I was gripped more or less by the time the tripods arrived. There areI could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off, especially filming an American adaptation. But that didn't bother me, because I was gripped more or less by the time the tripods arrived. There are quite a few unnerving moments which made my skin crawl. It was worth watching, because it felt quite real, especially how the characters were feeling. A thrilling ride - Tom Cruise should do more of this. Great how the Americans could have a shot at this. The special effects were mind-blowing.The beginning felt a little stretched out, but at least the pace was relaxed halfway through the film. Overall, a film definitely worth watching. Expand
  57. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Great movie and I'm very much impressed with Steven Spielberg's work and the visual effects. It takes the survival and family plot seriously. Its also one hell of a thrill.
  58. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I've alreday watched the film of 1953, it was enterteining, but the adaptation was awful as well the story. But this one was better. Enterteining, awesome, the effects are thrilling and the story too. Steven Spielberg will always make good movies.
  59. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

    I was expecting a longer beginning before the actual action began to take place, but was surprised how quickly things got onto move - and after that, there was not a moment of peace before the
    A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

    I was expecting a longer beginning before the actual action began to take place, but was surprised how quickly things got onto move - and after that, there was not a moment of peace before the ending titles.

    The movie seems to lack something, but I think it's mostly because most of the questions remained unanswered. It is not the mission of the movie to give us everything, though, and it makes your mind work rather than leaves it numb and bored. I can imagine watching this many times again, and perhaps find something new in the chaotic attempt of survival.

    The actual plot might have a little more in it, but then again, the concept of the movie doesn't really allow that (and the concept is very good in itself).
    Expand
  60. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    Pretty good film, if it wasn't for the BLOODY little girl; seriously, kills so much of the otherwise immersive atmosphere. But yer, the rest is good enough.
  61. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    An exhilarating re-imagination of Orson Welles' classic. Spielberg brings the story and the genre into the modern era. Nevertheless, I cannot help but feel War of the Worlds would have benefited from casting another actor instead of Tom Cruise.
  62. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    War of the Worlds is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The visuals were truly amazing but what makes this movie so good is that it comes across as very scary and that is were Spielberg shines. I only wished for slightly more battle scenes between the humans and aliens.
  63. May 28, 2012
    8
    A solid piece. Good acting, as well as a believable plot, rather nice effects. Only qualm I had was the minor issues with the H.G. Wells novel, but those can be overlooked. Overall, a rather nice film.
  64. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    I am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrills and scares along the way. Tom Cruise is great in the lead role and really does a great job as the deadbeat dad tasked with saving his kids who do notI am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrills and scares along the way. Tom Cruise is great in the lead role and really does a great job as the deadbeat dad tasked with saving his kids who do not really like him too much. Dakota Fanning does very well as his daughter, though she does become annoying a few times. The special effects and creature design are incredible, while also demonstrating why everybody is so paranoid. The film also does a great job drawing parallels with historical occupations (French in Algeria, Britain in the United States), while capturing the paranoia of post-9/11 America all in one swoop. Overall, War of the Worlds is a fantastic science fiction film that really is a testament to Spielberg's skill in the director's chair. Expand
  65. Mar 29, 2016
    8
    Spielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued over the years, "War Of The Worlds" is still a pretty fantastic film. The thrilling set piece design, engrossing performances, and surprisingly enduringSpielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued over the years, "War Of The Worlds" is still a pretty fantastic film. The thrilling set piece design, engrossing performances, and surprisingly enduring visual effects all add up to an incredibly memorable and occasionally horrifying experience that shouldn't go unnoticed. Expand
  66. Jul 26, 2013
    2
    I don't know how one of the greatest film makers alive (Steven Spielberg) managed to turn one of the most iconic pieces in early sci fi literature in to just another bland boring action film. It reminds me a lot of 'Independence Day', except with out even the pluses of saying it's special effects are (comparative to the time) very good or having a memorable, stirring speech. In fact,I don't know how one of the greatest film makers alive (Steven Spielberg) managed to turn one of the most iconic pieces in early sci fi literature in to just another bland boring action film. It reminds me a lot of 'Independence Day', except with out even the pluses of saying it's special effects are (comparative to the time) very good or having a memorable, stirring speech. In fact, that's a problem of the whole film, not one god damn thing in it is memorable, just Tom Cruise and his constantly screaming daughter driving every where. I think the big problem was that setting it in the modern era removes any sort of tension at all. When all the alien just have big anti-everything shields that can't be hurt by squat, there's no sense of humanity fighting back, so it turns from "War" of the Worlds in to "Ants on poking at an exterminators shoe" of the Worlds. Bland, samey, dull, boring, lazy, cliche, and all other manor of adjectives. And the worst thing is, this means it'll be far longer until someone is allowed to actually make a GOOD adaptation at last. (Stick with the radio drama/rock opera). Expand
  67. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Its really great and interesting movie. Its not only about alien invasion, but although this movie shows society in unusual conditions. Best movie in its kind.
  68. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    War of the Worlds only battles with viewers interest.
    Based on the classic sci-fi novel; War of the Worlds is somewhat limited by design. Characters are left as shells, and the ongoing threat never is really addressed with any rhyme or reason.
  69. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    Guess the overacting was appropos given this was a cataclysmic alien invasion, but when the supposedly hyper-advanced super sophisticated beings show up as naked savages suspension of disbelief ends.
  70. Jun 16, 2014
    6
    Not so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fi thriller rather than this somewhat flat, boring, tension-free summer blockbuster. I even fell asleep for the last 20 minutes of the film, which, i was toldNot so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fi thriller rather than this somewhat flat, boring, tension-free summer blockbuster. I even fell asleep for the last 20 minutes of the film, which, i was told later by one of my friends, "explained" the sudden fall of these machines rising from the deep ground beneath Earth's surface. I don't know, to tell the truth, because after staying tuned for over the first hour, i don't care much about what happened in the end. I suppose a 6 would be rational, as sound editing, color blending and interesting description of the three-leg machines, to some extent, made up for the film's lack of good ideas to work on Expand
  71. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very good stuff that is regularly scary and irregularly boring. it had me hurriedly making sandwiches (and throwing them at windows in despair) each time a patch of dark clouds and thunder came over days afterwards. the scariest parts for me were the aliens themselves and Tom Cruises acting (which was good!) Expand
  72. Feb 21, 2014
    2
    Way too much Tom Cruise in this movie. They took a great story line and made it about Tom Cruise rather than about alien invasion. They didn't do justice to the wonderful HG Wells story
  73. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    That's what i call a good sci-fi movie.Tom Cruise is brilliant in his irresponsible dad role. There is always action and some awkward characters like the guy in the house in the middle of the movie.
  74. Sep 15, 2015
    3
    This site doesn't allow me to write just one word, that for me, best describes this movie, so I'm writing this just to submit that word that best describes the feeling I had watching this at the cinema: Painful.
  75. Jul 21, 2015
    7
    It was unbelievable what I saw an incredible , unexpected and chilling alien , well even if it comes from a book invasion, unspoilable the movie eh !. And that good performance from Tom Cruise . Good job Tom !
  76. Feb 22, 2016
    6
    In my personal opinion, I think this is not as good in Independence Day in some ways, better in some ways. Overall, this film doesn't have the suspense Independence Day had or even the realism. I'm giving this film a solid mixed review of 6/10
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 70
    In an unfortunate case of star casting, Cruise strains credibility as a hard-edged Jersey dockworker.
  2. Might be too realistic for its own good: The film takes perhaps a little too much glee in its abilities to manufacture mayhem. That being said, the ride is extraordinary.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A gritty, intense and supremely accomplished sci-fier.