Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1042 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
731
Mixed:
131
Negative:
180
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a reallyFirst off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a really good movie. Great movie, and one of my favorite Tom cruise movie. Highly recommended. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
DavidV293Apr 17, 2015
This movie is one my favorite movies of all time. Love every bit of it. Tom Cruise actually killed the role and the little girl did it too. To be honest this my favorite movie because it has suspense and some scenes just left me breathless.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
DanA.Jul 2, 2005
Absolutely terrible! This movie is an insult to the viewer as it seeks to sell two hours of special effect spectacular but delivers no content. There is almost no story line of any acceptable depth, and all characters are as annoying as Absolutely terrible! This movie is an insult to the viewer as it seeks to sell two hours of special effect spectacular but delivers no content. There is almost no story line of any acceptable depth, and all characters are as annoying as hell. There is little explanation for what happens and only a 30 second voice to let you know that the [OMITTED] prevail. Nothing made sense in the movie: why the aliens came, how the hell they arrived...., why there were bloody vegetations all over the earth, and why they were out there to kill. Finally, the end scene was designed to make you hate the movie if all the previous scenes were not enough.....And what the hell was up with the Tom's son anyway? Here this from me and don't waste your time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
smijatovJun 26, 2011
If anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. ItIf anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. It is one of the rare blockbusters that are actually decent when it comes to the plot, also. Ironically enough, the screenplay is also its weakest point. I was especially annoyed with the ending and the "happy family" crap. The demise of the aliens also came a bit too suddenly, and Spielberg could have made the transition more subtle, more intense. Nonetheless, "War of the Worlds" is going to be definitely one of the many blockbusters of Spielberg's that is going to be remembered as a good, entertaining, and thrilling film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CollinPNov 13, 2009
The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
3
KeithYNov 29, 2005
I agree with another's remarks, but she was pretty harsh. This movie deserves at least a three. It's funny to read all the half-baked critics who just want their name seen next to Spielberg and Cruise for once. The acting was so I agree with another's remarks, but she was pretty harsh. This movie deserves at least a three. It's funny to read all the half-baked critics who just want their name seen next to Spielberg and Cruise for once. The acting was so bad, I found myself annoyed at how stupid the alien was that it couldn't just squash Tom Thumb in the first 5 minutes. The scenes in the cellar were absolutely laughable, these Spielberg's tripods were dumb and dumber. I really wanted to like this movie, honest! Starts off quite well, but it went all downhill after about 20 minutes into the movie - Did Spielberg go on vacation and let someone else take over after the first few minutes? Things I hated about this movie 1) Severe plot holes - Usually I don't let a plot hole or two ruin the movie, but this was ridiculous. Plot holes throughout meant that the story just didn't make sense and wasn't believable at all 2) The main characters - Very unlikeable. The audience couldn't care less if they lived or died. The acting was okay, for what they were given to work with. I still have faith in your acting abilities, Tom Cruise. I know you'll do better in your next movie. 3) The pacing in the film is extremely uneven 4) The ending! Very uninspiring and a total let-down. It's as if the director suddenly got bored and didn't care that he was slacking off, thinking hoping that the start of the film will at least get it good reviews. All in all, don't bother with this movie. But if you're still curious and hoping that all the bad reviews were wrong, get it on DVD. It's a renter at best! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MovieReviewsMay 17, 2014
War of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite,War of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite, the movie is one of the best science fictions in recent memory, it is clever, tense and leaves at the edge of your seat. However, I am not used to seeing a Steven Spielberg film that is so hardcore and heartless, so I would consider this movie Spielberg's weakest. On the other hand, I would consider it a distinct achievement in movie history of Sci-Fi. It is recommended, other than some weak CGI, it is a wonderful popcorn B movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
PhilDec 20, 2005
This movie had so much potential and just did not deliver. The holes in the plot were large and frequent. The main charecters were annoying and at times I wanted them to die. The special effects were good but could not rescue this flop.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorLJul 31, 2008
Visceral, vile, repulsive and totally awesome. Alien meets the Nazi death camps. And the creepy sound effects as the tripods processed and disgorged human blood towards the conclusion freaked me out-it was the sound of death.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JSDec 5, 2009
This is the worst movie I've seen in a very long time. It has no style, no personality. Its sole purpose is just to show a small town get blown to pieces in the first 20 minutes. Every other second of the movie is agonizing! Its not This is the worst movie I've seen in a very long time. It has no style, no personality. Its sole purpose is just to show a small town get blown to pieces in the first 20 minutes. Every other second of the movie is agonizing! Its not even a movie, its what the "nails on a chalk board" sound is to the visual sense. The actors all spend the whole time screaming at each other in a very melodramatic fashion. Or just screaming in general. I've never seen people scream so much before in my life. If a giant robot is trying to kill me, I'm not going to be like "DAD WHY ARE YOU UPSET ITS ONLY THE END OF THE WORLD!!!! DAD!!! DAD!!! DAD!!! AAAAAAH YOU'RE MAKING ME NERVOUS TRYING TO FLEE FOR YOUR LIFE!!!!!" The characters don't even have lines when they're not screaming or acting stupid. At one point, Tom Cruise's son begs him to let him go watch a battle between the US army and aliens, and Tom has to try and drag him away; to no success. That's the dumbest thing I've ever seen in a movie, and it was totally non-secateurs. No plot. No nothing. When the pretty visual effects stop momentarily, Tom Cruise resorts to throwing peanut butter and breaking the windows of his house to entertain us. I guess they ran out of budget after making all the terrible CGI. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
the plot of the original war of the worlds film was better then this. the original was about how helpless we where against a aliens invasion focusing on the the military just getting beatin down . the new one is all about the survivle of tomthe plot of the original war of the worlds film was better then this. the original was about how helpless we where against a aliens invasion focusing on the the military just getting beatin down . the new one is all about the survivle of tom cruises charicter and his 2 obnoxous kids. the aliens are only there to chase him down . while this is not completely unentertaining it just doesnt bring what the original had to the table . woulda been better served being called some thing els . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
this movie i must say is very unsuccessful in my eyes for starters not providing an entertaining story i thought was even boring in some parts. the acting from the cast is the only thing that saves it in my opinion
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Not the best film, but it certainly delivered. It was smart of Spielberg to leave the audience wanting more. I totally picked up on the frightening vibe and the movie was intense. Still... I thought it was boring and don't really have aNot the best film, but it certainly delivered. It was smart of Spielberg to leave the audience wanting more. I totally picked up on the frightening vibe and the movie was intense. Still... I thought it was boring and don't really have a desire to watch it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK...team up Tom Cruise, Steven Spielberg, and one of the greater science fiction writers' best story...like the saying in "Crazy Like a Fox": "What could possibly happen?". As it turns out, not too much. Cruise running around like a maniac would not be too bad...IF it'd happened following the 'invasion'. However, it seems like that's the way the character normally acts. Dakota Fanning's claim-to-fame seems to be her ability to remember one line of dialog: "SHRIEK!". 'Sir' Spielberg places this film in the modern day, which might have worked. However, in this case, it didn't. In his re-imagining of the invasion, it turns out the aliens have been here all along (Spoiler...naw...). The so-called effects just seem too Michael Bay-ish, with the only item that I enjoyed being the 'harvesting' tripod. I will mention that the ending was great...it meant this tripe was finally over. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
voidersApr 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That is the first one in my "black list" os worst movies ever.
I hate when a history force too much to give a good end without any reason.

The movie dont have a start, a middle and an end, have nothing. Every behavior from humans and aliens are so stupid. The script has so bizarre errors. Like someone recording a PEM with a cam, or Tom Cruise leting off the city in a car with ALL cars stoped in the streets, how?

When i saw the end, i just ask "why"? The perspect of view was amazing, but all the rest was disastrous.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
busbfranDec 26, 2013
War Of The Worlds has defined alien/action movies, whilst setting a new bench mark that continues to be undefeated. Tom Cruise has performed to his A game in which could be his best acting to date, the whole cast was exceptional and they workWar Of The Worlds has defined alien/action movies, whilst setting a new bench mark that continues to be undefeated. Tom Cruise has performed to his A game in which could be his best acting to date, the whole cast was exceptional and they work well together. War Of The Worlds is a action pack adventure of the survival of humanity on its last breath from extinction via the threat of alien invaders. This is a must watch for all Si-fi fans and a great movie to watch with family/friends. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
LifeCoachOct 14, 2005
I liked the lightning and weather effects, but ALL the crowd scenes were terrible. It was a first date movie with someone I didn't last more than a month with. And, I am tempted to blame this waste of money and time and energy and I liked the lightning and weather effects, but ALL the crowd scenes were terrible. It was a first date movie with someone I didn't last more than a month with. And, I am tempted to blame this waste of money and time and energy and online time to write this review. I want to have a subtitle to this movie: "Spielberg and Cruise, The Betrayal." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KaRJul 2, 2005
In this days... great f/x doesn't justify a bad movie like this one. The first thing to do before an invasion is recognising the place, so, how can a group of aliens with that technology fail in a basic strategic point like that one?????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacquiePAug 31, 2005
Great mood setting before the big storm, great special effects! Yes, story has a few plot holes (the ending gets a thumbs down) where you must suspend your disbelief, but come on, it's very entertaining! Worth seeing on the big screen Great mood setting before the big storm, great special effects! Yes, story has a few plot holes (the ending gets a thumbs down) where you must suspend your disbelief, but come on, it's very entertaining! Worth seeing on the big screen for all the effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrakeV.Aug 30, 2005
Joel is correct in attacking the workmanship of this poor effort by Spielberg and Cruise as it makes no sense and is laughable from beginning until the bitter end. But Joel may be the most prosaic person ever to write on this board. To Joel is correct in attacking the workmanship of this poor effort by Spielberg and Cruise as it makes no sense and is laughable from beginning until the bitter end. But Joel may be the most prosaic person ever to write on this board. To attack Spielberg for other efforts that were truly heads and tails above the best of its generation is grossly unfair. War is simply bombastic in that it tries to attack the senses without plausable explanation. It fails on every level imaginable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JogiliusSep 4, 2005
A thrill-ride with a crappy ending. Could have been a 9 with a less stupid and less hasty ending (and perhaps not so humanoid-like aliens).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatC.Feb 10, 2006
Good special effects, but once again Tom Cruise plays a character with the depth of personality of a potato. Whether this movie is about humanity's best or worst tendencies under stress, it is painful to contemplate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SidiotNov 10, 2005
Too bad to be believed. It falls off a cliff early on and into an abyss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SomeonewhocaresOct 2, 2005
The horror......the Razzie-worthy horror. Crappity crap crap, all of it. Acting, cinematography, FX, script, characterisation, logic, bookends, you name it. Fugly and unprofessional as sin. Spielberg and his lousy leading man need to go away The horror......the Razzie-worthy horror. Crappity crap crap, all of it. Acting, cinematography, FX, script, characterisation, logic, bookends, you name it. Fugly and unprofessional as sin. Spielberg and his lousy leading man need to go away ASAP if all the reaction they can elicit with their sad craptitude is not one shred of unintentional amusement, but instead bore me to death with their bumbling indifference to quality. I know lots of videogames more mature and entertaining than this trailer trash - so why do the ravers even bother? I'd think a non-event even more effortlessly mechanical, empty, contrived and idiotic than Revenge of the Sith(!) is hardly worth talking about in the first place, let alone gushing over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CAENTDec 6, 2005
First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, were Oscar worthy. The story, is were this film falls short. Packed with tons of suspense and action, this movie was great. But there were tons of holes throughout the movie, that made this fall short of a perfect film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marshallmOct 20, 2005
It was great! there was some minor problems with it that keep it from being a classic, but still, amazing entertainment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AliceK.Oct 6, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] Not a patch on The Terminal or Catch Me If You Can. I don't blame Steven Speilberg, more the writers who did the script. It is totally unintesting espcially after some of the great versions that have been done in the[***SPOILERS***] Not a patch on The Terminal or Catch Me If You Can. I don't blame Steven Speilberg, more the writers who did the script. It is totally unintesting espcially after some of the great versions that have been done in the past. The only excellent scene was the bit where the young girl goes off into the forest and gets to the river and sees the bodies flkowing down the river. That was excellent thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnieG.Jun 30, 2005
One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He seems to have the ability to go dark until when it really matters; the ending. oh well, it was still one of the better action films of all time despite the borderline horrendous ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
daved.Jul 21, 2005
I can't believe how high most critics scored this. its fairly entertaining in the same way pyromania is. cruise sucks in pretty much everything bar Magnolia, and no change here. Throw in some of the worst logjc ever, some stupid I can't believe how high most critics scored this. its fairly entertaining in the same way pyromania is. cruise sucks in pretty much everything bar Magnolia, and no change here. Throw in some of the worst logjc ever, some stupid mistakes such as the deaf guy reacting to a sound when someone says 'did you hear that', and the biggest cop out ending involving a family who from the looks of things didnt notice the aliens. The daughter is also incredibly annoying, and Spielberg tries to add some depth im some really dubious shots of cruise and his son. Photography is nice however, but that hardly saves this mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GateAug 23, 2005
The reviews by average posters on this board is all in the RED column but somehow this film has a rating of 6.4? It is as preposterous as the storyline in this absolutely dreadful remake of a great science ficition classic. Message to the The reviews by average posters on this board is all in the RED column but somehow this film has a rating of 6.4? It is as preposterous as the storyline in this absolutely dreadful remake of a great science ficition classic. Message to the genius Spielberg: If you are going to take a book from a century ago, made into a movie a half century ago and then set it one hundred years into the future, perhaps it would be wise to use 21st century technology. For example, would you make a movie in 2005 and use smoke signals rather than computers? Pony Express instead of Federal Express? Wind power instead of nuclear power? So then why would we believe that these super intelligent omnipotent aliens who came a billion miles through space and had been monitoring our planet for a million years would know nothing about filtration, bacteria, our atmosphere or wear space suits? It is total illogical as was the irritating Cruise and his band of misfit children running toward the danger instead of away from it? As for the ending the less said the better. It worked one hundred years ago when the book was written but not now! What could have been a great movie turned into a natural disaster because of a financial partnership with a no talent pretty boy like Cruise who backed the movie with Spielberg. About the only thing they did right was to hype this to the rafters to turn a profit from basically a pet rock production. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LudovicT.Aug 25, 2005
No, seriously, what's the point of that story ? They take a car through the crowd... What is gonna happen ? Everybody is going to jump on the car to take it. Yep. Then the son is joining the army, is he gonna die ? yep, or no, because No, seriously, what's the point of that story ? They take a car through the crowd... What is gonna happen ? Everybody is going to jump on the car to take it. Yep. Then the son is joining the army, is he gonna die ? yep, or no, because it's a happy ending movie. I'm looking for something in this movie I couldn't predict before it happened... Ah yes, actually, I couldn't predict an end as dumb: the Martians are sooooo technologically advandced that they forgot their space suit, and fall for the first virus. Maybe they didn't know about Pasteur, but I know about Spielberg: he doesn't do a movie like one does art, he chain-produces meaningless blockbusters. Star Wars was stupid but at least funny. This movie is boring, and I still don't get what the critics found interesting in it, I think critics are so bored they overrate any novelty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewJ.Aug 30, 2005
Great movie...in the vein of other great horror remakes like Invasion of the body snatchers and the thing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelPSep 1, 2005
After the previous Spielberg/Cruise/sci-fi combination of Minority Report, I had high hopes for this. Consequently I was very disappointed - it starts off convincingly, but once the tripods arrive it alternates between schmaltz and aliens After the previous Spielberg/Cruise/sci-fi combination of Minority Report, I had high hopes for this. Consequently I was very disappointed - it starts off convincingly, but once the tripods arrive it alternates between schmaltz and aliens incompetently attempting to kill everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WarrenR.Sep 1, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] Please excuse Matthew as he obviously checked his brains in at the door. There are more plot holes in this film than Carter has Little Liver Pills. If you had a lobotomy then the loud noises and special effects make you giddy[***SPOILERS***] Please excuse Matthew as he obviously checked his brains in at the door. There are more plot holes in this film than Carter has Little Liver Pills. If you had a lobotomy then the loud noises and special effects make you giddy with joy. But if you have the ability to rationalize then this makes no sense at all. Imagine superior creatures capable of traveling a billion miles through space and somehow they forgot their spacesuits, filtration systmem and antibiotics. Simply ludicrous. Would any of us walk out naked on another planet without first checking the atmosphere out other than Matthew? I don' think so. Lame ending to go along with a totally lame effort by Spielberg. And those annoying children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TigerlilyJan 12, 2006
All that leaps off the kneejerk critical page to me - a lot more than this irritating brainless movie per se can muster anyway - are comments regarding 'top-notch special effects'. What are all you peeps smoking? I'd sure like All that leaps off the kneejerk critical page to me - a lot more than this irritating brainless movie per se can muster anyway - are comments regarding 'top-notch special effects'. What are all you peeps smoking? I'd sure like an optimistic drag, because the only thing I found 'special' about these effects is how often I've seen less laughable and amateurish effects on bilge made for the Sci-Fi Channel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColinB.Jan 23, 2006
I gave this movie a 7/10. The movie itself is ok, however it had some "problems" with it that I found hurt the movie quite badly. First off, you know how you get those movies such as this one where someone (usually aliens) is trying to kick I gave this movie a 7/10. The movie itself is ok, however it had some "problems" with it that I found hurt the movie quite badly. First off, you know how you get those movies such as this one where someone (usually aliens) is trying to kick the human races ass, and it happens - so you sit through it for maybe half or even two thirds of the film, then you get the payoff of the satisfaction of watching us "get our own back"? Well, this is one of those rare movies where you never get this payoff. (it's a bit like the Animatrix Episode "The 2nd Renaissance" or even the Matrix Trilogy itself) What you're treated to is the human race having it's ass handed to it for 90 minutes then the attackers basically just die, at the hands of a virus (I think it was the common cold... :|). The only remotely satisfying bit of them taking any flack is near the end when one is already half dead and the army take it out with rocket launchers. The other problem is that the film seems to lose it's way about half way through, with a pretty pointless bit involiving a nutter hiding in his basement, though this part does have some quite well executed suspense momemts. As always with Spielberg you can expect awesome special effects and all that, and you will probably feel some emotions, probably anger because a lot of people do get killed and not much happens to the attackers. One thing I did like though was the attitude of the son in the movie, his desire to follow the army into the heat to try and get some sort of vengeance pretty much summed up my feelings while watching the movie, like I said though, you never really get this. Overall a decent movie, probably one I might buy on DVD but it could have been a lot better in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ritaj.Jan 5, 2006
The movie was excellent, but the dvd does not have much to offer besides the movie itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnFeb 2, 2006
I think it was a really good film actually, Only disapointing bit for me was maybe the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaioO.Jul 10, 2006
Critic seems to like it, but to me it was just a bunch of aliens coming and killing everybody during the whole movie, until a stupid end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanC.Aug 6, 2006
Sure, it looks great, the special effects are seamless, but is it any good? Nope. It's weak sauce, as the kids say. Nothing compelling, a lot of awkward missteps (everything from the missed details of newscasters referring to "THE Sure, it looks great, the special effects are seamless, but is it any good? Nope. It's weak sauce, as the kids say. Nothing compelling, a lot of awkward missteps (everything from the missed details of newscasters referring to "THE Ukraine" to Tom Cruise unconvincingly being unpleasantly surprised by the taste of humus to the son's inexplicable behavior after the invasion). But the biggest misstep is the casting of Cruise as the everyday working stiff just waiting to be a hero. Weak sauce indeed, Mr. Spielberg, Mr. Cruise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CliffordF.Mar 27, 2007
I love this film! Spielberg yet again delivers another masterpiece in the form of an inpsired story with a good ending. Visual effects are awesome and the aliens attacking everyone bring an apocalyptic feeling to it. Tom Cruise has a good I love this film! Spielberg yet again delivers another masterpiece in the form of an inpsired story with a good ending. Visual effects are awesome and the aliens attacking everyone bring an apocalyptic feeling to it. Tom Cruise has a good role as Ray. John Williams' score also gives the menacing atmosphere to the film. Excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConnerSJan 4, 2008
Holy crap this was good! This is like the best movie ever. the acting was phenominal (especially tom and decota) and the effects were so realistic! For those of you who gave it low ratings, you obviously did not understand the sybolism Holy crap this was good! This is like the best movie ever. the acting was phenominal (especially tom and decota) and the effects were so realistic! For those of you who gave it low ratings, you obviously did not understand the sybolism entwind in the plot. To Adam e.- nobody found a tripod because the aliens were smart enough to put them in the ground deep enough so no one would find them, Robbie is a smart kid he figured out something, The aliens didn't notice the desieases because the were arrogent and only focused on wepons, THey store people because they need to spread the blood everywere, not just all at once, who cares if they're nude (YOUR MISSING THE POINT!), the airplane crashed a little bit away and slid into the house, You would scream to if you were being attacked by bloodthirsty aliens, and the clothes show that the aliens are so sofisticatied and interested in our planet, that all they want to do is get rid of us, not anything else! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
basc.Nov 21, 2005
Great is all I can say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
georgea.Nov 21, 2005
V.dissapointing. Why anyone would want to ruin such a good book god only knows. people should stick to just readin the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyLNov 20, 2005
A great escapist movie. To anyone who gave this film a 0, I pity you and your attempt to think that anyone cares. Stop with all the negative reviews, there was nothing bad about this film and you know it. I makes me angry to know people like A great escapist movie. To anyone who gave this film a 0, I pity you and your attempt to think that anyone cares. Stop with all the negative reviews, there was nothing bad about this film and you know it. I makes me angry to know people like you have source to post your opinions on the internet, only to warp the movie. This was in no way a bad movie, but an amazing achievement. Want a bad movie, go see basically any other movie this summer. Suck me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianB.Nov 23, 2005
This was a great movie! excellent special effects, and Tom Cruise did a great job in this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Nov 23, 2005
It was hard to breathe with all the thrills.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PedroO.Oct 12, 2005
I think it's not such a good movie, and it should be nominee to the razzies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
camn.Nov 28, 2005
I watched this again on DVD, and on second viewing it gets better. The ending is truly ridiculous and abrupt, but Spielberg shouldn't be hammered too hard for that. I am not a Tom Cruise fan at all, but I do want to point out one thing: I watched this again on DVD, and on second viewing it gets better. The ending is truly ridiculous and abrupt, but Spielberg shouldn't be hammered too hard for that. I am not a Tom Cruise fan at all, but I do want to point out one thing: if my kids and ex-wife were such ungrateful jerks I would be a prick too. The son keeps saying that Cruise wants to dump them on their mother, and seeing how they disrespect him every chance they get I would feel that way too. The movie could have been so much more...but it is NOT a colossal failure. One other thing..The whole Tim Robbins episode was just not kosher....I could never shake the knowledge that it was an actor and not a psychotic survivalist. I hope they use similar effects for the inevitable Half-Life movie. Tripods are in that game too. Overall, worth a rental. Next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HadynW.Nov 9, 2005
Ok i guess but to be honest it was all run a bit, hide a bit, run a bit. not forgetting scream ALOT (which is all the girl ever did). Also a pity that it was so far away from the original story - its now the story of cruise trying to get to Ok i guess but to be honest it was all run a bit, hide a bit, run a bit. not forgetting scream ALOT (which is all the girl ever did). Also a pity that it was so far away from the original story - its now the story of cruise trying to get to his wife, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DenisS.Dec 21, 2005
Positively the most boring 'major' movie I have seen all year. Incomprehensible dialogue, poor scripting and equally poor, dark, under imaginative, photography. Independence Day might have been cheesy but it shows how alien Positively the most boring 'major' movie I have seen all year. Incomprehensible dialogue, poor scripting and equally poor, dark, under imaginative, photography. Independence Day might have been cheesy but it shows how alien invasion films should be done. Usual dysfunctional family and brattish kids. When will Hollywood move on and stop repeatedly depicting this tired cliche? The real action was in how the USA would respond at a military political level to such an invasion, not in running around the streets or countryside screaming at each other while irrationally walking back into danger as soon as you have escaped it. Independance Day recognised that. War of the Worlds did not. Which made the most money for their backers? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WarrenL.Dec 30, 2005
I just watched it on DVD. All I can say is thank God I did not pay to see this in the theater. It was one of the most disappointing efforts of the once great Mr. Spielberg. Steven have you thought about retirement? Nothing made sense. It I just watched it on DVD. All I can say is thank God I did not pay to see this in the theater. It was one of the most disappointing efforts of the once great Mr. Spielberg. Steven have you thought about retirement? Nothing made sense. It confirmed that Tom Cruise can't act. As for the story it was comical. You don't run toward the danger you run away from it. Every scene was stolen from a previous movie. Awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicholasHDec 3, 2005
== Could contain spoilers == I recently re-watched "War of the Worlds" on DVD, and I was once again reminded of why I enjoyed this film. The atmosphere is amazingly tense, and all but the most jaded of us will find themselves sitting on the == Could contain spoilers == I recently re-watched "War of the Worlds" on DVD, and I was once again reminded of why I enjoyed this film. The atmosphere is amazingly tense, and all but the most jaded of us will find themselves sitting on the edge of their seats throughout the duration of this film. What Spielberg does, and does so very well, is he creates an overwhelming sense of dread. The film has a dingy quality about it, making the audience believe that they and the characters are in the fog of war. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomHDec 3, 2005
Sweet!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JesseM.Dec 4, 2005
Surprisingly terrible movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RaschidA-MDec 5, 2005
The first 15 to 20 minutes are excellent. You'll be grinning from ear to ear if you have a projector and digital surround, but the little girl and the son are unbearable. It's absolutely outrageous. I found it physically The first 15 to 20 minutes are excellent. You'll be grinning from ear to ear if you have a projector and digital surround, but the little girl and the son are unbearable. It's absolutely outrageous. I found it physically uncomfortable to sit through the screaming and the bickering amongst the family when the real movie was going on all around them. It's not the acting, it's just those Spielbergo moments that drive me... Anyway, for me this has everything you could ever love and hate in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
UnagiboyDec 5, 2005
Neat visual effects. Cruise and family must be the luckiest people to survive all their obstacles - over the top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
brianDec 6, 2005
5 mins, ok 15 mins, got very intrested 20 mins,wow im gonna love this 30 mins, gonna put the kettle on 45 mins, getting bored but im sure it will pick up again 60 mins, hang in there im sure something spectacular will happen any min now 80 5 mins, ok 15 mins, got very intrested 20 mins,wow im gonna love this 30 mins, gonna put the kettle on 45 mins, getting bored but im sure it will pick up again 60 mins, hang in there im sure something spectacular will happen any min now 80 mins, ok im starting to get worried now im sure it will start to get intresting 100 mins WTF is going on i thought this was War Of The Worlds 105 mins, is that it 110 mins, OMFG what a dissaster of a movie and it started so amazingly with me on the edge of my seat. i give it a 4 because i thought the tripods saved the film from a total disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
War of the Worlds is everything I was expecting it to be, the acting is excellent, the special effects are first rate and the movie is technically masterfull. Spielberg doesn't dissapoint and makes the plot holes dissapear with tense War of the Worlds is everything I was expecting it to be, the acting is excellent, the special effects are first rate and the movie is technically masterfull. Spielberg doesn't dissapoint and makes the plot holes dissapear with tense action scenes that made my adrenaline go up the roof. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mixl.Jul 12, 2005
Gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KrisS.Jul 2, 2005
One of the best films I've seen in ages. Speilberg digs his old roots, but delivers a film that comments on social issues as well as humanity. Boy does it work!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
midig8rAug 22, 2005
Stop! Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage. Cruise and Spielberg can't rescue this. No story, half done special effects, overused cliches, and, did I say waste of your time? As a long time SciFi fan, I felt I overpaid Stop! Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage. Cruise and Spielberg can't rescue this. No story, half done special effects, overused cliches, and, did I say waste of your time? As a long time SciFi fan, I felt I overpaid seeing this POS at the 2 buck discount theater. See the original...much better!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShirleyH.Aug 24, 2005
No one on this planet loves sci fi more than I do. I have seen them all dating back to the 1950's. Among my very favorites is George Pal's 1953 original War of The Worlds. I can still remember Gene Barry and the beautiful Ann No one on this planet loves sci fi more than I do. I have seen them all dating back to the 1950's. Among my very favorites is George Pal's 1953 original War of The Worlds. I can still remember Gene Barry and the beautiful Ann Robinson. Gene played a scientist trying to find out how to stop these aliens from anhilating all of us only to fail. But in the end, God's littlest creature, an amoeba, does in the big bad aliens and saves the world. Back then it made sense as we knew little or nothing about biological warfare, weapons of mass destruction, etc. But for some strange reason Mr. Spielberg moves the setting another half century into the future but does not update the story to account for today's knowledge. What we are presented with is Spielberg's commentary on social issues mascaraded by the dysfunctional Tom Cruise and his annoying children. What could have been a great story is reduced to completely implausable special effects. The two legendary actors Barry and Robinson are shown standing at the door as the grandparents in a nonspeaking cameo that lasts all of perhaps two seconds. Mr. Spielberg has made some great films that are all time classics, but this work is so amateur in all aspects that it downright irritating. I would not advise anyone to pay ten cents to see this hogwash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoelAug 26, 2005
Guess the consensus is more than obvious, but nowhere near as grossly unsubtle as the terrible movie itself. Zero thrills. As far as I can tell, the only supple horror you'll find is how much it plays out like what I'm sure is the Guess the consensus is more than obvious, but nowhere near as grossly unsubtle as the terrible movie itself. Zero thrills. As far as I can tell, the only supple horror you'll find is how much it plays out like what I'm sure is the 'reinvented' 21st century Spielberg's and that phony Cruise's brainstorm of 'cinematic transcendence'. Hopefully anyone who *hasn't* seen this simplistic, childish mess yet still isn't tempted, it's really about on par with something like The Core, or a DTV effort. Mind-bogglingly stupid, blandly limp and unriveting from start to finish, with 'scripting', 'special' effects and 'performances' to match. How could anyone behind the scenes or upfront be proud of this garbage or their 'efforts' is beyond me. But I guess it's to be expected, though even the 1953 version of this nonsense source-material can only register as skillful and timely by comparison. Spielberg's always been immensely overrated if you ask me, it's just no contest. The Indy films are yawn-inducing amateurish crap, every last one - if you want enjoyably throwaway, you want old Looney Tunes shorts, not feature films. While other supposed renowned favorites, i.e. E.T., Close Encounters, Empire of the Sun, Jurassic Park, Saving Private Ryan, Schindler's List, despite likable qualities, are just too humanly sketchy, and seriously lack enough oomph overall to qualify as remotely great. The remainder of his oeuvre is largely hideous and/or worthless. Even Jaws, his best film by a country mile, clearly ranks somewhere at the very bottom of a list of other superior directors' best films. And now, does Spielberg even care anymore, or is he just a bigger, more laughably earnest joke of a director than I ever thought he was? Retirement is in dire order. At least five out of six Star Wars are indeed similarly, grandiosely dumb and unsophisticated as a box of rocks, sure - but at least *amusing* in their sheer badness; re: attempts to take themselves seriously. Unlike.....THIS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarolAug 27, 2005
Yuk it was awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ClarkKentSep 15, 2005
Booo!!!!! the show sucks! do not waste your money watching it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
C.B.BrowneSep 20, 2005
Not horrible, but not good. Predictable, sappy ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
timz.Sep 2, 2005
A disaster from the get go. Good effects but terrible plot and acting. Why cant hollywood leave well enough alone. Whats next, Forbidden Planet of Day the Earth Stood Still. Save your money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
misterrobotoSep 22, 2005
I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an intense feeling of uneasiness and foreboding, especially the scene when the first tripod emerges from the ground.The best thing this movie did was to create an interesting and terrifying interpretation of the tripods. This is the only film in history that has managed to do Wells' tripods justice. All in all, this movie could have been better, but it also could have been a lot worse! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimboDimboSep 6, 2005
Those who gave this movie a 0 are trying too hard to be critics. Sit down, shut up, and enjoy the movie. I absolutely loved this film, every second of it. Yeah, the ending was a little shoddy and the acting was a bit off, but if you look at Those who gave this movie a 0 are trying too hard to be critics. Sit down, shut up, and enjoy the movie. I absolutely loved this film, every second of it. Yeah, the ending was a little shoddy and the acting was a bit off, but if you look at the big picture, all is forgiven.. The special effects were simply amazing, and the story was definitely on par, despite was the stiffs are saying. You want a big, convulted plot? Watch a different movie. This flick is about survival... and running away from aliens. And I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AJHDec 7, 2006
First off, this movie was visually stunning. Some of the best sets and special effects I've seen. I was definitely on the edge of my seat throughout most of the film. However, this movie is hampered by the minor detail that the entire First off, this movie was visually stunning. Some of the best sets and special effects I've seen. I was definitely on the edge of my seat throughout most of the film. However, this movie is hampered by the minor detail that the entire premise makes absolutely no sense. Morgan Freeman's opening narration tells us that the aliens have grown envious, watching humanity. But then it turns out that they buried "tripods" millions of year ago, before humans were even here. Then for some reason the aliens waited for a few million years, until our civilization thrived, and then came to blow us up. That's quite a lot of foresight...I wonder if they bury their spaceships on every planet, just in case they need them millions of years later? This is just one of the massive plotholes (never mind the "I survived somehow" ending). Blah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterB.Feb 23, 2006
Overly exaggerated acting (if you could call it that). This was just one of those movies that revolved around special affects, and used acting to fill the gaps. Although the effects really were neat, they did not carry the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewH.Jun 23, 2006
This was a really exciting and entertaining movie....until you watch the last ten minutes of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettC.Jul 6, 2006
Great movie Steven does it again. Its now on my top ten with KIng Kong, Revenge of the sith and Saving Private Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EonMar 3, 2007
Now I'm almost convinced that Spielberd is a patsy for the elite. Now that the "terrorist" fear is starting to work not-so-well , they are preparing public to "threat from outer space". And they allways do it in entertainment first, so Now I'm almost convinced that Spielberd is a patsy for the elite. Now that the "terrorist" fear is starting to work not-so-well , they are preparing public to "threat from outer space". And they allways do it in entertainment first, so we will accept it as something "natural" when it actually occurs. They showed the idea of "enhanced-human-through-implanted-microchips" in Star Trek long ago. And what a coincindence - one of the Star Trek creators happened to work for the NASA. And now the microchips are started being pushed towards public, what-a-natural-event. It is interesting that no matter what crap Mr. Spielberg makes, it always gets some "100 percent" positive reviews, no how mysterious is that... Although , most of you will think I'm crazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ETCCCMar 30, 2007
Spielberg's rendering of a sci fi nightmare is simply stunning. His mastery of visual effects and composition is amazing. Sure the acting (except for a fine performance by Dakota Fanning) is lame. But don't see it for character Spielberg's rendering of a sci fi nightmare is simply stunning. His mastery of visual effects and composition is amazing. Sure the acting (except for a fine performance by Dakota Fanning) is lame. But don't see it for character development; see it to watch our world being destroyed by big things... and rescued by little things. A visual treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamE.Apr 19, 2007
What could have been an awesome alien movie is crippled by the fact that most of the movie is "Tom Cruise hiding in a basement" and the story is riddled by innumerable flaws: Why didn't anyone find a tripod? Why does some American What could have been an awesome alien movie is crippled by the fact that most of the movie is "Tom Cruise hiding in a basement" and the story is riddled by innumerable flaws: Why didn't anyone find a tripod? Why does some American nutjob now about events in Osaka? How does Robby survive "going to fight" an alien death machine? If aliens observed people, wouldn't they notice disease? Why do the tripods store people when all they want is blood? Why are the aliens nude? How did a plane crash next to the house Cruise and kids were hiding in without vaporizing it? Why did Dakota Fanning's character not stop screaming? Why are clothes not vaporized when people are? I could just keep going, but you get the idea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
guy!Sep 2, 2007
True, this film doesn't quite compare to Spielbergs' other works, but that doesn't mean it isn't good! I liked the apacoliptic feeling of the 'war', and Spielbergs' message that there is more in a war than True, this film doesn't quite compare to Spielbergs' other works, but that doesn't mean it isn't good! I liked the apacoliptic feeling of the 'war', and Spielbergs' message that there is more in a war than just guns and blood and hi-tech gadgets. Now for the cons: [Spoiler warning] why didn't the aliens die of the bacteria when they first came to earth? They didn't really explain that. And what was up with that kid? He wanted to abandon his family just to watch the soldiers fight? Wake up man! You're about to die! [end spoilers]. Having said that, perfect way for Spielberg to return. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayHOct 5, 2008
Between my dislike of tom cruise, the poor acting and average special effects this wasn't a very good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnnyW.Nov 1, 2005
Gets one point for some nice special FX (the way cars flew in the air was cool, realistic). The acting was poor/mediocre and the mass scenes were the worst there have been. The original story wasn't a great one but this version could Gets one point for some nice special FX (the way cars flew in the air was cool, realistic). The acting was poor/mediocre and the mass scenes were the worst there have been. The original story wasn't a great one but this version could have been a lot better if Spielberg had only tried. I wonder if this is what we are going to see in the next few years from Cruise and Spielberg (I think they have invented the script writing machine and are just cashing in). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marcusNov 14, 2005
It was the best movie i have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenONov 22, 2005
AMAZING FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArielGNov 22, 2005
I really wanted to like this movie, honest! Starts off quite well, but it went all downhill after about 20 minutes into the movie - Did Spielberg go on vacation and let someone else take over after the first few minutes? Things I hated about I really wanted to like this movie, honest! Starts off quite well, but it went all downhill after about 20 minutes into the movie - Did Spielberg go on vacation and let someone else take over after the first few minutes? Things I hated about this movie 1) Severe plot holes - Usually I don't let a plot hole or two ruin the movie, but this was ridiculous. Plot holes throughout meant that the story just didn't make sense and wasn't believable at all 2) The main characters - Very unlikeable. The audience couldn't care less if they lived or died. The acting was okay, for what they were given to work with. I still have faith in your acting abilities, Tom Cruise. I know you'll do better in your next movie. 3) The pacing in the film is extremely uneven 4) The ending! Very uninspiring and a total let-down. It's as if the director suddenly got bored and didn't care that he was slacking off, thinking hoping that the start of the film will at least get it good reviews. All in all, don't bother with this movie. But if you're still curious and hoping that all the bad reviews were wrong, get it on DVD. It's a renter at best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyO.Nov 28, 2005
I LOVED THE MOVIE. I could so tell it was a Spielburg movie!!! I think Tom cruise was wonderful. Dakota Fanning was so good in it, and if Justin got any hotter I would have DIED!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AdamL.Nov 28, 2005
Other Than it being a speilberg film, it sucked. Sure, the girl was cute, it had Tom Cruise it in it, the story was sort of good, the CG kicked, there are a lot of good things to say about it, but I don't rate on the good things, I rate Other Than it being a speilberg film, it sucked. Sure, the girl was cute, it had Tom Cruise it in it, the story was sort of good, the CG kicked, there are a lot of good things to say about it, but I don't rate on the good things, I rate on the overall originality and quality, and in those points it sucked. It is so cliche and dull, it made me think speilberg is losing his touch. He uses things that are so old, it makes you think your see E.T. again. I feel sorry for you speilberg fans, because this movie makes me think speilberg won't be around much longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
afdfa.Oct 18, 2005
This movie starts out great and totally flops halfway to the end and through to the end. The hero in the movie (Tom Cruise) is no hero at all. The ending of the movie is a total flop, I mean a real joke. When the movie ends I was very This movie starts out great and totally flops halfway to the end and through to the end. The hero in the movie (Tom Cruise) is no hero at all. The ending of the movie is a total flop, I mean a real joke. When the movie ends I was very disappointed to say the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
andrews.Dec 1, 2005
Great scary at time movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AryaG.Dec 17, 2005
I loved this movie it was a really awsom movie and tom cruise is so sexy and hot i love him and this movie!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ConnieS.Oct 22, 2005
AAAhhhhhh! The Ending! the horrible ending! Scarier than aliens and Tom Cruise put together is the tacked on, cheezy whimper of a finale. What a terrible way to end a movie that was scary, laden with 9/11 symbolism and true xenophobia! I AAAhhhhhh! The Ending! the horrible ending! Scarier than aliens and Tom Cruise put together is the tacked on, cheezy whimper of a finale. What a terrible way to end a movie that was scary, laden with 9/11 symbolism and true xenophobia! I hope the DVD has an alternative ending or an explanation for such a waste of a classic American sci fi. btw: Kudos once again to Dakota Fanning who continues to act circles around her adult 'star' coworkers. she deserves better than this and bumped my grade up. tip of the film: exit stage right about 3 minutes early and don't look back the ending will be gaining on you!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeDec 20, 2005
This movie is what is wrong with movies. You find a big name director, a big name actor, and then people will actually think it's a good movie. This movie had a dead plot to begin with, and they didn't make it anymore interesting. This movie is what is wrong with movies. You find a big name director, a big name actor, and then people will actually think it's a good movie. This movie had a dead plot to begin with, and they didn't make it anymore interesting. Just like any other action film out there: mindless and hopeless. So over-rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sharoh.Dec 27, 2005
I thought it was a great movie I got sort of scared with big alaans as I would say people should watch this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TaraGDec 3, 2005
I really liked it. It was entertaining and a lot of the comments that I read were true, but things that I didnt notice while watching it. Ya, the acting was bad but it didnt seem to matter because the story as a whole was pretty cool. I really liked it. It was entertaining and a lot of the comments that I read were true, but things that I didnt notice while watching it. Ya, the acting was bad but it didnt seem to matter because the story as a whole was pretty cool. Basically, one can tear any movie apart but looking at this one as a whole, it was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ByronDec 5, 2005
Steven Spielberg, once one of the film industry's best directors, turned out a real stinker (his second-worst, after AI) with this remake of H.G. Wells' classic Martian invasion tale. Tom Cruise is an unpleasant everyman who does Steven Spielberg, once one of the film industry's best directors, turned out a real stinker (his second-worst, after AI) with this remake of H.G. Wells' classic Martian invasion tale. Tom Cruise is an unpleasant everyman who does little but to run, run, run from the bad aliens with his even more annoying daughter, who does little but scream, scream, scream. Even more irritating are the dozens of inconsistencies and gaffs that indicate that Spielberg was focused on grand special effects to the exclusion of simple subtleties that make good movies great (or, in this case, makes an awful movie tolerable). Cruise's car, for instance, survives being crashed into by a commercial jet, then he drives away through a nice, neat path in the wreckage. A 300-foot alien ship pops up out of a New York street and starts blasting everything in sight, yet a few blocks away no one knows anything is going on. Later, in the midst of worldwide destruction, Cruise turns on his radio and gets the "test of the emergency broadcast system" message, as if there wasn't an "actual emergency." And so it goes, to a reunion scene at the end that is laughably inane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Dec 8, 2005
Fantastic re-telling of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JWAug 23, 2005
Are you telling me than during an alien invasion that is destined to distroy the world, the most interesting story is a bad father and his two kids? Cool special effects but a worthless story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Sep 11, 2005
Hands down, the best movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VictorSep 18, 2005
Was this a comedy? If it was, it was a great satire because nothing made any sense. If it wasn't then you need a barf bag. Either way it was awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomSDec 10, 2006
Wow, this movie sure is scary. As horror films go, it's really horrifying. Unfortunately, I got up to greet the pizza-man, and when I got back a minute later, somehow all the aliens were mysteriously dying. We're told this was from Wow, this movie sure is scary. As horror films go, it's really horrifying. Unfortunately, I got up to greet the pizza-man, and when I got back a minute later, somehow all the aliens were mysteriously dying. We're told this was from bacteria of some sort, then shown a zoom-in beyond the level of DNA (much smaller than bacteria) to some indefinite specks. Don't try to think about this one. The whole movie just meandered lazily from one grotesque scene to another. Completely sadistic, really. I didn't see The Passion, but I imagine it's sort of the same thing. This movie only makes sense in the context of 'New World Order' conspiracy theories about Speilberg -- like, if 'they' decide that a billion people have to die to preserve the world's resources, let's just stage a temporary 'alien invasion,' where a ton of people will be helplessly killed, and then the killing will miraculously stop without anyone doing anything. (Probably why we see only the plight of a do-nothing citizen, rather than an actual story a-la ID4.) This sort of speculation is necessary for entertainment because the movie gives you nothing else to think about. No plot, no drama, no honor in the actions of the characters, no imagination. I didn't see it at the theater, only on someone's enormous plasma TV, but the visual effects were underwhelming -- nothing we haven't seen many times before. Many scenes are interrupted in the height of suspense by a fade to silent black that has no purpose except as a future commercial break. Lots of loud noises to keep you and your neighbors awake, though. That earns one point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardY.Mar 22, 2006
Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, how it could survive all of that calamity but be hijacked. I was also disappointed in the Martians; nothing like Wells described. Pendragon's version meets that dead-on. Those are the only downsides, and all the rest is accurate, even, yes, folks, the ending. Even the book ended it that abruptly, in the spanse of a meer chapter. I however do think it would be neat if they switched: Pendragon would have Spielberg's budget, to do a completely FAITHFUL and REALISTIC retelling of the novel, and Paramount would do a low-budget modernized tale. But, with what is had, War of the Worlds is one of those films that comes to mind as you're falling asleep exhausted (comparing to how the characters must have felt, stumbling right back into danger). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JalilS.May 18, 2006
this movie is the return of spielberg to his roots.spielberg is characteristic of making suvivor type of movies that include some thrilling and thats what a lot of people enjoy watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful