Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A contemporary retelling of H.G. Wells's seminal classic, the sci-fi adventure thriller reveals the extraordinary battle for the future of humankind through the eyes of one American family fighting to survive it. (Paramount Pictures)
  • Director: Steven Spielberg
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 116 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 100
    Contains all of the hallmarks of classic genre Spielberg: It shows you things you've never seen before, instills an accompanying sense of awestruck wonder, and delivers long stretches of heightened, delirious excitement that remind you why people started going to the movies in the first place.
  2. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    It's the human struggle that makes this a sci-fi masterpiece.
  3. Might be too realistic for its own good: The film takes perhaps a little too much glee in its abilities to manufacture mayhem. That being said, the ride is extraordinary.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    But expect a logical plot, and you'll walk out of the theater with a host of questions, mostly concerning procedural points of the alien attack.
  5. 70
    In an unfortunate case of star casting, Cruise strains credibility as a hard-edged Jersey dockworker.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    63
    War of the Worlds pushes some of the right buttons and enough of the wrong ones to make you wish that Spielberg would move on from aliens already and use his unparalleled talents to focus once more on earth.
  7. 20
    Extravagant in movie terms but stingy in emotional ones, it embodies all of Spielberg's bad impulses and almost none of his good ones: It's a grand display of how well he knows how to work us over, and yet the desperation with which he tries to get to us is repulsive.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a really good movie. Great movie, and one of my favorite Tom cruise movie. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. patrickd.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    It was hard to breathe with all the thrills.
  3. misterroboto
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an intense feeling of uneasiness and foreboding, especially the scene when the first tripod emerges from the ground.The best thing this movie did was to create an interesting and terrifying interpretation of the tripods. This is the only film in history that has managed to do Wells' tripods justice. All in all, this movie could have been better, but it also could have been a lot worse! Expand
  4. C.B.Browne
    Sep 20, 2005
    6
    Not horrible, but not good. Predictable, sappy ending.
  5. brian
    Dec 6, 2005
    4
    5 mins, ok 15 mins, got very intrested 20 mins,wow im gonna love this 30 mins, gonna put the kettle on 45 mins, getting bored but im sure it will pick up again 60 mins, hang in there im sure something spectacular will happen any min now 80 mins, ok im starting to get worried now im sure it will start to get intresting 100 mins WTF is going on i thought this was War Of The Worlds 105 mins, is that it 110 mins, OMFG what a dissaster of a movie and it started so amazingly with me on the edge of my seat. i give it a 4 because i thought the tripods saved the film from a total disaster. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    2
    I don't know how one of the greatest film makers alive (Steven Spielberg) managed to turn one of the most iconic pieces in early sci fi literature in to just another bland boring action film. It reminds me a lot of 'Independence Day', except with out even the pluses of saying it's special effects are (comparative to the time) very good or having a memorable, stirring speech. In fact, that's a problem of the whole film, not one god damn thing in it is memorable, just Tom Cruise and his constantly screaming daughter driving every where. I think the big problem was that setting it in the modern era removes any sort of tension at all. When all the alien just have big anti-everything shields that can't be hurt by squat, there's no sense of humanity fighting back, so it turns from "War" of the Worlds in to "Ants on poking at an exterminators shoe" of the Worlds. Bland, samey, dull, boring, lazy, cliche, and all other manor of adjectives. And the worst thing is, this means it'll be far longer until someone is allowed to actually make a GOOD adaptation at last. (Stick with the radio drama/rock opera). Expand
  7. midig8r
    Aug 22, 2005
    0
    Stop! Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage. Cruise and Spielberg can't rescue this. No story, half done special effects, overused cliches, and, did I say waste of your time? As a long time SciFi fan, I felt I overpaid seeing this POS at the 2 buck discount theater. See the original...much better!! Expand

See all 563 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.