War of the Worlds

War of the Worlds Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A contemporary retelling of H.G. Wells's seminal classic, the sci-fi adventure thriller reveals the extraordinary battle for the future of humankind through the eyes of one American family fighting to survive it. (Paramount Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 100
    Working in the spirit of his predecessors but with the kind of uncanny special effects they could barely dream of, Spielberg has come up with an impressive production that is disturbing in the way only provocative science fiction can be.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A gritty, intense and supremely accomplished sci-fier.
  3. Might be too realistic for its own good: The film takes perhaps a little too much glee in its abilities to manufacture mayhem. That being said, the ride is extraordinary.
  4. 75
    Alas, Robbins is far more interesting than Cruise, and you wonder what the film would have been like if their roles were reversed -- if Robbins were the loser in search of redemption and Cruise the agitated freak in the basement.
  5. Acting is not really the point of this movie, which seems to arise above all from Mr. Spielberg's desire to reaffirm that he is, along with everything else, a master of pure action filmmaking.
  6. 63
    Now that this technically impressive - but seriously flawed and self-referential - remake is finally in theaters to swell the July 4 weekend box office, conversation will doubtless shift to the lamest ending yet to a Steven Spielberg movie.
  7. 20
    Extravagant in movie terms but stingy in emotional ones, it embodies all of Spielberg's bad impulses and almost none of his good ones: It's a grand display of how well he knows how to work us over, and yet the desperation with which he tries to get to us is repulsive.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had anFirst off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a really good movie. Great movie, and one of my favorite Tom cruise movie. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. SebastianB.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    This was a great movie! excellent special effects, and Tom Cruise did a great job in this movie
  3. misterroboto
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an intense feeling of uneasiness and foreboding, especially the scene when the first tripod emerges from the ground.The best thing this movie did was to create an interesting and terrifying interpretation of the tripods. This is the only film in history that has managed to do Wells' tripods justice. All in all, this movie could have been better, but it also could have been a lot worse! Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2014
    6
    Not so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of theNot so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fi thriller rather than this somewhat flat, boring, tension-free summer blockbuster. I even fell asleep for the last 20 minutes of the film, which, i was told later by one of my friends, "explained" the sudden fall of these machines rising from the deep ground beneath Earth's surface. I don't know, to tell the truth, because after staying tuned for over the first hour, i don't care much about what happened in the end. I suppose a 6 would be rational, as sound editing, color blending and interesting description of the three-leg machines, to some extent, made up for the film's lack of good ideas to work on Expand
  5. PeterB.
    Feb 23, 2006
    4
    Overly exaggerated acting (if you could call it that). This was just one of those movies that revolved around special affects, and used Overly exaggerated acting (if you could call it that). This was just one of those movies that revolved around special affects, and used acting to fill the gaps. Although the effects really were neat, they did not carry the film. Expand
  6. AliceK.
    Oct 6, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] Not a patch on The Terminal or Catch Me If You Can. I don't blame Steven Speilberg, more the writers who did the[***SPOILERS***] Not a patch on The Terminal or Catch Me If You Can. I don't blame Steven Speilberg, more the writers who did the script. It is totally unintesting espcially after some of the great versions that have been done in the past. The only excellent scene was the bit where the young girl goes off into the forest and gets to the river and sees the bodies flkowing down the river. That was excellent thought. Expand
  7. midig8r
    Aug 22, 2005
    0
    Stop! Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage. Cruise and Spielberg can't rescue this. No story, half done special effects, Stop! Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage. Cruise and Spielberg can't rescue this. No story, half done special effects, overused cliches, and, did I say waste of your time? As a long time SciFi fan, I felt I overpaid seeing this POS at the 2 buck discount theater. See the original...much better!! Expand

See all 576 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  3. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.