Summit Entertainment | Release Date: February 1, 2013
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 333 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
226
Mixed:
74
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ZilcellFeb 22, 2013
This is an extremely unique movie, something i'd never expected to exist, and it was very well executed here. The apocalyptic setting is convincing, the romance is absolutely believable, and the humor is enjoyable.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
EvanXERFeb 17, 2013
I saw this flick with my girlfriend a few days ago and it was much better then i was expecting interesting;even though slightly cliché plot that moves at a good pace The characters were nicely developed too, the small cast still held theI saw this flick with my girlfriend a few days ago and it was much better then i was expecting interesting;even though slightly cliché plot that moves at a good pace The characters were nicely developed too, the small cast still held the movie high, but the female leads best friend (Analeigh Tipton) wasn't too great. Now even though this movie had heart and was decently funny, it does have zombies in it and since it was rated PG-13 here in Canada the movie would of been more believable if it had more gore in it maybe not as intense as amc's the walking dead but more would be nice i also would of gave it a higher rating if incorporated more action in the plot especially near the end but as the credit's rolled the decent mix of romance and horror with a dash of action and comedy, me and my girlfriend left the theatre enjoyed and received our moneys worth. Collapse
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGoer14Jun 29, 2013
Warm Bodies is riveting and fascinating, with tender romance and pleasant good time. It is absorbing, original, full of heart and sweet tale of unusual love between a zombie and a human being. This is a perfect movie for me to enjoy.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
hoops2448Mar 21, 2013
Ever thought Romeo and Juliet was a bit stuffy, a little too formal and hard to relate to? Warm Bodies finds the perfect remedy, Zombies of course. R (Nicholas Hoult), a zombie who is remarkably verbose in his own head falls for JulieEver thought Romeo and Juliet was a bit stuffy, a little too formal and hard to relate to? Warm Bodies finds the perfect remedy, Zombies of course. R (Nicholas Hoult), a zombie who is remarkably verbose in his own head falls for Julie (Theresa Palmer), a human he saves when his pack of zombies attacks her and her friends who are scavenging supplies. The two begin to bond and realise that R is not like your conventional zombie and he could hold the key to reversing the apocalypse. Unlike any other zombie film including Zombieland, Warm Bodies has a powerful sense of emotion and understands one of the most important concepts/themes from all zombie films, the loss of humanity. The idea that its not just the zombies that lose who they used to be but the humans as well. This is something that is expertly handled in 28 days later and its surprising how Director Johnathon Levine manages to display this basic tenet of zombie lore just as well but in a completely different way. The use of flashbacks in the film is impressive as it does it in an original way while also giving the film a much needed back story for Julie, a girl who is unintentionally soured by the apocalypse yet still has a light and beauty befitting a modern day Juliet, the Juliet Levine envisioned. R on the other hand is fleshed out through his own inner monologue, Levine's version of Shakespeare's soliloquies. This voice over gives a good impression not just zombie R but human R. However the monologuing gets irritating after a while as you become more invested in what he does instead of what he thinks, one of the main problems with Romeo and Juliet as a play as well. R spouts some great comic lines in his head but much of the comedy comes from his utterly uncomfortable actions in trying to become Julie's friend. The chemistry between Hoult and Palmer is good and overall Palmer is very impressive which came as a pleasant surprise for someone who watched I Am Number Four. Overall the film has very few flaws but even without flaws it doesn't wow in the way I thought it would or expected from the director of 50/50, one of the best films of 2011. Also the ending is incredibly rushed even though the film could have done with an extra few minutes to make the conclusion seem even remotely plausible. In fact the film just kind of ends, like this.... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
LynJul 3, 2013
It won't slake your yearning for the next season of "The Walking Dead," but "Warm Bodies" is a fun, quirky addition to the zombie genre. I admit that part of my interest was curiosity about what ever happened to that kid from "About a Boy."It won't slake your yearning for the next season of "The Walking Dead," but "Warm Bodies" is a fun, quirky addition to the zombie genre. I admit that part of my interest was curiosity about what ever happened to that kid from "About a Boy." (He's now tall & handsome, but retains that endearing quality.) The movie is kind of sweet, too, as it explores whether the undead are truly doomed. Not terribly profound and not crazy/wacky like "Zombieland" but enjoyable in its way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DemoraseMar 31, 2013
By any mean not a masterpiece not even close, I'd say barely decent at best. But, but, for what it is I thought it played its strength well with a very likable cast and a silly but cute story. It reminded me of Silver Linings Playbook becauseBy any mean not a masterpiece not even close, I'd say barely decent at best. But, but, for what it is I thought it played its strength well with a very likable cast and a silly but cute story. It reminded me of Silver Linings Playbook because its message which is basically the same thing: it's never too late to come back from the "dead" and be happy, in this case literally. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
reddave2Feb 28, 2013
Warm Bodies is a charming take on the romantic comedy formula with a nice soundtrack and two likeable leads and, sadly, not much else. It's mostly entertaining but there's a real lack of pace to the first half of the film. It shifts unevenlyWarm Bodies is a charming take on the romantic comedy formula with a nice soundtrack and two likeable leads and, sadly, not much else. It's mostly entertaining but there's a real lack of pace to the first half of the film. It shifts unevenly between trying to be (somewhat) deep and being absolutely candyfloss. Some characters are played seriously and others are super wacky. Considering the zombie threat the world is suffering, its amazing how quickly the girls come round to R being safe.

There's worse films around and I enjoyed more in Warm Bodies than I disliked, it's just not interesting enough overall. I felt like it was a good first draft that needed more flesh on the bones (see what I did there?) If you catch it on tv you might enjoy it but as a trip to cinema there's far better fare out there. Or just save your money until next week.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TECfilmsFeb 19, 2013
Very touching and emotional lovestory, finally not set in a fairytale world like every other love movie. Hidden social hints and black humour throughout the film make it a very enjoyable experience, especially for couples!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersJun 12, 2013
What a surprise this film was. So charming. Warm Bodies benefits from two excellent lead performances from Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer; they carry this film nicely, but it's really the strong direction from Jonathan Levine (50/50) thatWhat a surprise this film was. So charming. Warm Bodies benefits from two excellent lead performances from Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer; they carry this film nicely, but it's really the strong direction from Jonathan Levine (50/50) that makes the film work. Had someone else helmed the picture I don't think it would have been as effective as Levine's WB. Using concepts popularized by the likes of Twilight and The Walking Dead, Warm Bodies takes pieces of those projects to make a film that's highly entertaining and satisfying to a diverse audience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBayazeedMay 18, 2013
This movie is really great compared to other recent teen movies with the same unusual love story like the host or the twilight series, this one is way to better runs up to the top of your heart very quickly, fast paced with chilling scenesThis movie is really great compared to other recent teen movies with the same unusual love story like the host or the twilight series, this one is way to better runs up to the top of your heart very quickly, fast paced with chilling scenes and great romance, but as a movie not compared to anything it is very good and funny, entertaining but not great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LonePiperApr 19, 2013
This is an above average rom com that is actually more self-aware than people give it credit for. A lot of reviews reference twilight, but few seem to really understand that this movie is in a lot of ways a tongue-in-cheek criticism of theThis is an above average rom com that is actually more self-aware than people give it credit for. A lot of reviews reference twilight, but few seem to really understand that this movie is in a lot of ways a tongue-in-cheek criticism of the whole twilight saga. Specifically, it's a direct jab at the ridiculousness of making the undead a love interest. Just look at the poster the one with the female lead holding the male lead from behind. It even looks like a twilight poster!

Apart from all that, the film handles itself quite well. The pacing occasionally slows down a bit, but gets itself on track quickly enough, and generally all the elements gel nicely.

In short, this film is cleverer than people give it credit for.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonApr 1, 2013
Warm Bodies is great fun, not only for Zombie fans but for any film lover. The film is very good on the pace of R an unusual zombie who lost his way. The film is very sweet and tangy, the middle of this juicy film the pace slows down andWarm Bodies is great fun, not only for Zombie fans but for any film lover. The film is very good on the pace of R an unusual zombie who lost his way. The film is very sweet and tangy, the middle of this juicy film the pace slows down and violence starts popping up. Then the sweet deal comes up, everything goes boom and the film hangs the viewers. But, dont be feisty- the film is really good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SireenFeb 19, 2013
My 19 yr old daughter and I saw this last yesterday and we both loved it! It was an original take on an old horror concept. And as a self-proclaimed Zombieholic, I couldn't stay away! Definately a fun movie for teenagers who haven't beenMy 19 yr old daughter and I saw this last yesterday and we both loved it! It was an original take on an old horror concept. And as a self-proclaimed Zombieholic, I couldn't stay away! Definately a fun movie for teenagers who haven't been conditioned to only enjoy blood, cuts and torture themed movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 5, 2013
Yes this movie has plot holes and there are certain things that just don't make sense, but I gotta say it was a good time. It worked for me mainly because director Jonathan Levine who made the outstanding film 50/50 is able to make meYes this movie has plot holes and there are certain things that just don't make sense, but I gotta say it was a good time. It worked for me mainly because director Jonathan Levine who made the outstanding film 50/50 is able to make me believe in the romance between R and Julie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HedilioMar 11, 2013
It's pretty cute, and the message is very endearing. Although it may be a bit unorthodox as a date movie, it's definitely one of the better romantic films to come out recently.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
Warm Bodies is a brilliantly original zombie story. I was afraid it wouldn't be as good, but as far as the storyline and the humor play-in together, it's really a warm-hearted love story that is perfect for the valentine's season, unless yourWarm Bodies is a brilliantly original zombie story. I was afraid it wouldn't be as good, but as far as the storyline and the humor play-in together, it's really a warm-hearted love story that is perfect for the valentine's season, unless your girlfriend is terrified of zombies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
kitejrApr 6, 2013
Jokes aside this thing eats twilights brains. Its a compelling and cute zombie flick. Little bit of everything here. Horror comedy and romance. Give it a shot it isnt a 2 hour time sink like some movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
teodanteMay 19, 2013
Turning zombies back into human beings as the healing power of pure human emotions. Simple skin deep symbolism in action. Soft watching. In any ways, it was the great pleasure for creators to shoot this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ParanormalfreakMay 27, 2013
I liked this movie, thought it had action, romance, and some comedy although I wish they would have cured the zombies earlier so we could have seen Nicholas Hoult as a human longer but all in all it was good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DanielWesolyJun 25, 2013
Please don't take the rating of a 6 to be a bad thing, just compared to other films I have watched a 6 feels just about right for this film, which is good! it is brilliant for couples that want to sit back and watch a film. It has some realPlease don't take the rating of a 6 to be a bad thing, just compared to other films I have watched a 6 feels just about right for this film, which is good! it is brilliant for couples that want to sit back and watch a film. It has some real funny moments and quite a cool story. There were a few parts that got me abit bored, but it wasn't often. Overall, it's a good film and I recommend to watch it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
IndecisiveGamerJun 10, 2013
Warm bodies is a interesting take on a zombie flick me myself was kinda output by how they could have thought and become human again. Then i opened to the idea a bit and saw this was a cool take on zombies but if your a zombie movie watcherWarm bodies is a interesting take on a zombie flick me myself was kinda output by how they could have thought and become human again. Then i opened to the idea a bit and saw this was a cool take on zombies but if your a zombie movie watcher like zombie land or shuan of the dead you wont like this movie much but as i watched i learned that there are reasons behind there mindless killing and i kinda liked the idea and then we come to the romance in the movie its kinda weird to see it in a zombie movie but its more comedy so it works in the flow of it but one thing i have to say is it keeps you there till its overall conculsion and i even went back to watch the movie again so its a zombie movie with a new take and overall good story i didnt have any gripes with it besides the bonies they just seemed like minecraft skeletons on steroids and there are a few Why the moments but still the movie was good Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
meganahernandezJun 13, 2013
This is a great zombie love story. I do not think I have heard of this unique combination. The movie had a wonderful mix of love, humor, horror, and action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AReviewsJun 17, 2013
This movie isn't Twilight, in fact, it is better in so many ways, Warm Bodies is one of a kind, but is Warm Bodies perfect?! Almost. The Acting is way too better and the story scenes are really good, as a movie in whole. Absolutely YES!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
film_bugAug 18, 2013
Not as bad as I thought it would be. The movie sported a charming cast that really made the silliness quite acceptable. Even if you don't particularly enjoy zombie movies, like moi, you will still mildly enjoy this one. There isn't much of aNot as bad as I thought it would be. The movie sported a charming cast that really made the silliness quite acceptable. Even if you don't particularly enjoy zombie movies, like moi, you will still mildly enjoy this one. There isn't much of a comprehensible storyline, but that's probably not what movie-goers are looking for in this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoZrZrMar 9, 2013
I'm surprised. The movie doesn't focus on the girl, like all the other pictures have done, this film represents the supremacy of love, and heart changing, it's funny, enjoyable and touching.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Apr 13, 2013
I went into this film with high expectations and was not disappointed. It gives us a good mix of Comedy/Horror/Romance to make a new genre! ZomRomCom! Nicholas Hoult is outstanding as R, who slowly starts to become human again. There is suchI went into this film with high expectations and was not disappointed. It gives us a good mix of Comedy/Horror/Romance to make a new genre! ZomRomCom! Nicholas Hoult is outstanding as R, who slowly starts to become human again. There is such a nice mix of the three genres to have something for everyone to enjoy, and you are more than thoroughly entertained the entire time you're watching. Overall I was more than impressed and will highly recommend it to anyone up for a quality film this year! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MikefromAngusJun 13, 2013
A cheesy, predicable, zombie love story. That actually works! funny as that sounds. But the movie, has this its own charm. Pleasant to watch, likable characters. I enjoyed watching it!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
vmd1020Feb 11, 2013
Honestly better than expected...I usually rely on Metacritic faithfully but I saw this one anyone. It definitely deserves at least a 70 rating on here, its a fresh twist on an otherwise worn down subject (walking dead, twilight, etc). TheHonestly better than expected...I usually rely on Metacritic faithfully but I saw this one anyone. It definitely deserves at least a 70 rating on here, its a fresh twist on an otherwise worn down subject (walking dead, twilight, etc). The acting wasn't superb, but the narration really kept the movie and the comedy flowing. Not to mention, the soundtrack was one of the best I've heard in a while. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
6
BryanDominikFeb 12, 2013
This movie was good. Certainly not one that people will be talking about for years to come, or even anything that necessitates a second watching. It was entertaining, and really, what else do you need?

Of course the plot is far-fetched,
This movie was good. Certainly not one that people will be talking about for years to come, or even anything that necessitates a second watching. It was entertaining, and really, what else do you need?

Of course the plot is far-fetched, but, let's remember, we are talking about a movie that contains zombies to begin with. The problem that I had with it was simply that things seemed to work out a little too easily. There did not feel like there was really any real drama, or any chance that things weren't going to work out. If you can forgive the convenience of how easily things work out and just enjoy the show, it is fun to watch. Also, how many times did they have to walk past that same old Buick Riviera?

All in all, Rob Corddry did a great job. The acting on the whole was not that bad. Special effects were about as good as you could expect from a Summit movie. It was just a cute little movie.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraApr 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Are all zombies cursed with lock-in syndrome, or is it just R., a jarringly articulate walking corpse, whose interior monologue indicates a cognitive ability to love that belies the grunting and monosyllabism? Wandering aimlessly through an airport that has long-past outlived its usefulness, R.'s inner voicings of alienation("Why can't I connect?") and self-loathing("...so pale.") uncannily echoes Charlie Kaufman in Adaptation, whose opening can be gleaned in Warm Bodies. The word "adaptation", here, is applicable in the biological sense, referring to the existential struggle of transitioning from life into death(heretofore only implied in Dawn of the Dead, where the zombies faintly recall the consumer culture of the living, converging on a shopping mall in parodic imitation of their former selves) and the angst that comes with post-death, whereas in Adaptation, it's a literary term: Kaufman's fruitless attempt to transform words into images from a non-fiction work about flowers. Guided by Charlie's tortured agency, the film's conceit that his screenplay and resulting film are occurring concurrently, gets thrown into chaos, when Kaufman's identical twin hijacks the narrative and turns Adaptation into some cheesy action picture. Donald is a hack, a Robert McKee disciple, whose tenets are a counterintuitive affront to Charlie's iconoclastic-minded psyche for non-formulaic screenwriting. Similarly, in Warm Bodies, despite the film's lack of self-reflexivity, two zombie narratives: one that demonstrates fidelity to the genre, and the other, while not the work of a maverick by any means, does humanize a historically malevolent monster whose inner life has rarely, if ever been explored, seem to emanate from two sensibilities at odds. A "bony", on one hand, is your standard issue zombie, engaged in the singular activity of unrepentant cannibalism, but R., conversely, while sharing the bonies' overriding appetite for human flesh, is a corpse with scruples, a corpse who feels conflicted about his bloodthirsty nature. Akin to Charlie attending a McKee seminar on screenwriting, selling out his guiding principles so he can finish adapting The Orchid Thief, R. watches a zombie, his compatriot, turn into a bony, ripping the flesh right off the bone: a two-fold adaptation that first, shows how taxing a conscience can be, as the decomposing man gives up on the idea of being nearly human, and second, on an intertextual level, like Adaptation, kinesis takes precedence over languor, or rather, Warm Bodies grows increasingly Hollywood in form and content. A bony, after all, is a zombie who adapts to the concept of death; it desires none of the earthly pleasures, but to eat. As a filmic metaphor, the self-mutilating zombie can be reconstructed as a Charlie figure, tearing himself apart as penance for using Donald's ideas to finish his shooting script. Charlie, in essence, is a zombie, sad and alone, more dead than alive. When R. intones, "Don't be creepy. Don't be creepy," as he approaches Julie, the girl he keeps captive in his tarmac-situated home, a converted airplane, the moviegoer can imagine the hoody-cladded young man's analog, the bipolar writer, chanting the same mantra as he flirts with the diner waitress whom he wrongly invites to an orchid show. R., however, wins Julie over, in due part because he eats her boyfriend's brains. Here, the film borrows from another Kaufman/Jones collaboration, Being John Malkovich. On a subconscious level, Julie can sense Dave's presence behind R.'s eyes, just like how Maxine would know whenever Lottie was occupying the famous actor's body. By snacking on the dead beau's grey matter, R. collects his memories, thoughts, and feelings, which makes the zombie more like Dave than himself. So strong is Dave's aura, Julie allows R. to occupy the same bedroom in an abandoned suburban house. If Julie gave necrophilia a go, would R. stand for "rapist", since the faux Romeo, unbeknownst to the girl, is a conduit for Dave's ghost. Nevertheless, R. is a zombie in love, signified by his heart turning red, the same hue perceived by an ideologically pure boy from a 1950s television series, who discerns the rose's true color after having just made love to a real girl. Arguably, Pleasantville is a zombie film, a latent one. In the aftermath of the girl's mother experiencing sexual pleasure for the first time, she hides in the kitchen, embarrassed by her flesh tones and ruby lips. Afraid of what her monochromatic husband may think, with Bud's help, she acts in a reactionary manner, using black and white makeup to conceal the newfangled vividness. But she's alive, like R. is alive. Contextually speaking, you can't go back to Night of the Living Dead, the 1968 George Romero original, whose zombies now seem one-note and monotonous, just like a sitcom housewife of yesteryear. To answer R.'s friend's question, the mother feels it. Life after death. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews