Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 30, 2013
    88
    A well-paced, nicely directed, post-apocalyptic love story with a terrific sense of humor and the, um, guts to be unabashedly romantic and unapologetically optimistic.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jan 31, 2013
    80
    In doing a little genre bending of romantic schmaltz and horror cheese - some fundamental zombie mythology is turned on its head - the film breathes amusing new life into both.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    At this point in the actor's career, it is pretty well impossible to tell when Malkovich is camping it up, or just being John Malkovich. Under the end-of-civilization circumstances of Warm Bodies, he's just the right guy for the job.
  4. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    Zombie lore doesn't allow for redemption, only head shots, and Levine's film, amusing though it may be, is never gory enough to truly become a classic zombie movie. It also ignores the one basic necessity of monster films, even the funny ones: It really ought to be creepy or scary or gross, at least once or twice.
  5. Reviewed by: Rosie Fletcher
    Feb 9, 2013
    60
    A Frankenstein’s monster of comedy, romance and horror that’s less than its parts, Warm Bodies entertains but underwhelms.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    There's one really good idea at work in Warm Bodies, which is to take "Romeo and Juliet" and mash it up with a zombie movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jan 31, 2013
    30
    The film's intentions are way too good for its own good, producing bloodless romance and more shamefully bloodless carnage.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 93
  2. Negative: 14 out of 93
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    It is a masterpiece mixed with a critical social very hidden. I loved and how many will love too. One of the best movie of the year. The film has a nice pace, with a bit of romance and a lot of action. Is just surprising. Exceeded my expectations Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    The only thing I knew before seeing this movie was that it had something to do with zombies, and that the movie got fairly decent reviews. My expectations weren't too high, and to be completely honest, I ended up really enjoying the movie.

    'Warm Bodies' deals with the possibility that perhaps in some other universe similar to our own, where zombies parade the streets, there can exist a specific entity that is so infectious that it could even reverse the effects of a zombiefying virus... that entity being, of course, an amalgam of love and compassion. We're often led to believe by a large majority of zombie films that once a human has been transformed, all hope is lost. The opposite concept is presented in 'Warm Bodies' and I think it's a nice change of pace from the usual kill-all-zombies bloodfest.

    The two main characters were amiable and believable, and the overall production was well done from set pieces to camerawork to music. Slow in pacing at times? Sure, for a zombie movie, but I appreciated the scenes where we got to see the relationship between the two main characters develop. I will say that I only wish Rob Corddry had a larger presence in the movie. He's a funny guy, and it wouldn't have hurt if he'd been given more screen time.

    In conclusion, although this movie does require moviegoers to make a certain leap of faith in assuming love can overcome anything, I think that a suspension of disbelief is helpful in truly being able to enjoy the heart that this film has to offer. Viewed from that lens, this movie is a heartwarming reminder of what makes humans... humans. Some critics might deem this zombie flick a "wussification" of the zombie genre, and to them I say that 'Warm Bodies' is definitely not the conventional zombie movie, but that is the exact reason I enjoyed it. At the end of the day, what matters to me most about movies is that the story was well told, that I walk away from the film having learned something, and that I had a great time. On those terms, 'Warm Bodies' is definitely an impressing entry into the zombie world of entertainment.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Warm Bodies is riveting and fascinating, with tender romance and pleasant good time. It is absorbing, original, full of heart and sweet tale of unusual love between a zombie and a human being. This is a perfect movie for me to enjoy. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    Although it is nearly brought down by a significant amount of plot-holes and some inconsistent tonality, "Warm Bodies" endures as a delightful and amusing twist on the classic horror subgenre thanks to a few resolute performances, some interesting stylistic techniques, and a mostly enjoyable story at its center. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    I saw this flick with my girlfriend a few days ago and it was much better then i was expecting interesting;even though slightly cliché plot that moves at a good pace The characters were nicely developed too, the small cast still held the movie high, but the female leads best friend (Analeigh Tipton) wasn't too great. Now even though this movie had heart and was decently funny, it does have zombies in it and since it was rated PG-13 here in Canada the movie would of been more believable if it had more gore in it maybe not as intense as amc's the walking dead but more would be nice i also would of gave it a higher rating if incorporated more action in the plot especially near the end but as the credit's rolled the decent mix of romance and horror with a dash of action and comedy, me and my girlfriend left the theatre enjoyed and received our moneys worth. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    This is a girl movie with Zombies. I enjoyed it, my wife liked it a little better than I did. It was humorous and easy watching. Some of the negative views seem to be based on how much someone paid to see it. Not a good way to judge movies. These are not George Romano's zombie's or Walking Dead zombies. Get over that and you have an enjoyable movie. It is slow in parts, the Teresa Palmer's character does do some really stupid things. You have to really stretch your view on reality, even zombie reality, to allow for some things that happen and that's why I gave it a 6. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    mildly interesting for first 5 minutes of the movie and then it takes Rome Juliet to new levels of low by taking this sort of script seriously. It would have been more interesting to see if Romeo was a vibrator with all the grunting that is happening instead of dialogue.

    Shakespeare should sue.
    Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Trailers