Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1800 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,469
Mixed:
142
Negative:
189
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
JohnBMar 9, 2009
The movie is not a epic masterpiece but it's a worth while gritty comic/action film. It's not for the family, hence it's "R" rating. Don't be fooled by the superhero comic book setting. However, the biggest downside to The movie is not a epic masterpiece but it's a worth while gritty comic/action film. It's not for the family, hence it's "R" rating. Don't be fooled by the superhero comic book setting. However, the biggest downside to the film is that it just doesn't draw you in enough, particularly for the characters. It doesn't explain who the super heros are, or why you should care for them. With the exception of Rorschach, who received a good amount of air time and back story. It's not great, but it's certainly not at terrible as some of these reviews are coming in at. "Gratuitous sex"? There's like one 2 min sex scene in a 3 hour film. Hardly "gratuitous". Though, I've seen enough blue penis' to last me a lifetime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EthanB,Mar 9, 2009
Don't believe the negative reviews. Dense and very visual film. A hard 'R' rating but necessary. Faithful to the comic. Necessary omissions and over-simplifications for movie format. Still miss the giant squid though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FeliciaN.Mar 9, 2009
I loved it. I'm new to the comics, having only read the first two, and I still loved it. Even the ending change (I read the Wikipedia entry for it) is acceptable. Butler does an amazing job of adapting comics because he is faithful to I loved it. I'm new to the comics, having only read the first two, and I still loved it. Even the ending change (I read the Wikipedia entry for it) is acceptable. Butler does an amazing job of adapting comics because he is faithful to the original works, adding his artistry in the amazing camera work, editing and sleekness of his movies. Personally, I would like him to be the designated comic book adapter in Hollywood, because he's so good at it. Fat chance, but a girl can dream. I did think the sex scene was a bit much, because I think the same ideas could have been portrayed without showing it so graphically. Yes it is a natural human behavior, but it's a private one! I like it that way. You can suggest it by showing faces, and limbs just as well. IMHO. Dr. Manhattan. Folks, get a grip. It's a penis, OMG run for the hills. Why is a penis so abhorrent to us when the female form is used so often and so blatantly to no such outcry? But I digress. His nudity was very in keeping with what he has become. Again, right on the money with the comic. The gore was a bit much, could have been artfully implied without actual entrails hanging from the ceiling, but again, faithful to the comic. As for the plot line of the film, I love it too. It's not the normal comic hero movie. It's an idea of what real people in hero costumes would be like. They would not be mythical, nearly perfect people who are in near perfect harmony with each other on issues of good and evil. I think Moore has a very real understanding of human nature, and it's not pretty. But it is real. I love Rorschach. Holy crap, was he perfect. I did not for one second question that he WAS Rorschach. Just brilliant. You don't like it fine. But don't bash it just because it wasn't the action flick you thought it was. Try looking into the movies you want to see, to see what they are really about, don't just take the previews word for it. The preview is not the movie, and one should not be judged on the merits of the other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
L.O.A.Mar 9, 2009
Reveling in the fetishism and fascism of superhero comics, this is a horrific, brutal, sleazy film about what it means to live in a horrific, brutal, sleazy world. And how we can try to make it better in the face of insurmountable odds. Go Reveling in the fetishism and fascism of superhero comics, this is a horrific, brutal, sleazy film about what it means to live in a horrific, brutal, sleazy world. And how we can try to make it better in the face of insurmountable odds. Go off the deep end and kill in the name of the greater good? Or just try and remember what it means to be a human being in love? Ten years from now it will no doubt be universally praised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomBagbyMar 9, 2009
I actually have seen this movie three times already. The people who give it 0 obviously have no brain or semblance of thought processes. This movie is great and the soundtrack is amazing. Go see it, it is amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCMar 9, 2009
i dont understand why people didnt like this movie, my only complaint was that it was so long
it stuck to the source material for the most part, the action was great, and zack snyder actually showed the characters history and problems which
i dont understand why people didnt like this movie, my only complaint was that it was so long
it stuck to the source material for the most part, the action was great, and zack snyder actually showed the characters history and problems which is something i expected him to ditch in favor of more action scenes.
people just dont want to like this movie, ask one person and theyll say its not enough like the graphic novel, ask someone else and theyll say it was too much of a direct interpretation. some people say its too long, others say it wasnt long enough. People are just really bitchy and half no attention span, thats why a lot of people didnt like this movie, i mean the acting was freakin great, people bitched that some of the characters were emotionless, BECAUSE THATS HOW THEY WERE IN THE NOVEL YOU IDIOTS. Snyder just tried too hard to please everyone, but honestly, this has to be the best interpretation of a graphic novel or comic book ever made, and before any of you even think the words The Dark Knight, yeah it was great but it really had almost nothing to do with the comics except for the character names. So if you are thinking of going to see watchmen, just be prepared for a long movie and if theres not a fight scene every 5 minutes, dont bitch about it just because you have A-D-fuckin-D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YitzhakMar 9, 2009
Too violent, and the musical choices are atrocious - but I enjoyed it greatly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobP.Mar 9, 2009
People who give this movie a low rating are either fans of the comic who are angry that they didn't make the film like it was in their own head. This is the best movie I've seen in a long, long time. It blows 'Dark People who give this movie a low rating are either fans of the comic who are angry that they didn't make the film like it was in their own head. This is the best movie I've seen in a long, long time. It blows 'Dark Knight' out of the water. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbieMApr 26, 2009
I really liked this movie, i just don't get why so much people are bashing this movie to death.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeApr 3, 2009
Tim:.. You honestly have no idea wtf your talking about. You ask the people who gave the movie a 8 & higher rating what we really liked about it. The movie was just flat out good. Good Characters, good storyline, stayed faithful to the comic Tim:.. You honestly have no idea wtf your talking about. You ask the people who gave the movie a 8 & higher rating what we really liked about it. The movie was just flat out good. Good Characters, good storyline, stayed faithful to the comic book, and a enjoyable movie. So maybe you should pull your head outve your ass and go see the movie again. Or maybe go see the Haunting in Connecticut that might suite your needs. Btw that movie was terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
fabiosApr 5, 2009
I am really glad that most of the users are actually putting positive comments I read the comic and watched the movie, the movie was great tons of action, a great story line, and to revive the book that rocked millions for so many years with I am really glad that most of the users are actually putting positive comments I read the comic and watched the movie, the movie was great tons of action, a great story line, and to revive the book that rocked millions for so many years with a movie, is a big honor, snyder took something that not a lot of people know about and turned it into a movie, I am willing to watch watchmen more than twice in the movie theater it deserves that, sure it isn't as good as the dark knight, but atleast watchmen lived up to it's hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RuisertTheGaelMay 17, 2009
I thought this was not only a good movie in its own right, it also was a very good conversion of the novel. Other than a few minor changes, it was fairly true to the original, and that's always a good thing, I think. I'll never I thought this was not only a good movie in its own right, it also was a very good conversion of the novel. Other than a few minor changes, it was fairly true to the original, and that's always a good thing, I think. I'll never understand why a filmmaker picks something that's good enough to adapt but yet must be changed, like could be improved by a bunch of Hollywood scriptwriters, like Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings mess. The only part of the Watchmen that I had a problem with is the ending change. Didn't improve on the original. And Rorschach, my favorite character, totally rocked. Excellent casting. Can't wait for the director's cut DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WickerBMay 22, 2009
There are going to be alot of damn good movies this year, but I doubt one of them will override the awesome experience that is the first time of seeing Watchmen. It was flawless, simply. It exacted the graphic novel in every element. I even There are going to be alot of damn good movies this year, but I doubt one of them will override the awesome experience that is the first time of seeing Watchmen. It was flawless, simply. It exacted the graphic novel in every element. I even liked the ending better in the movie. This is everything movies should be. July 21st, Bluray and dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexBMay 6, 2009
This is such a good adaptation. Fantastic film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartinJMay 8, 2009
It's very sad this move got "yellow" rating here. That would mean it's on par with awful films like "The Ruins" or "Hannah Montana" which it's definitely not! It has a lot of flaws but in general I really liked it. I It's very sad this move got "yellow" rating here. That would mean it's on par with awful films like "The Ruins" or "Hannah Montana" which it's definitely not! It has a lot of flaws but in general I really liked it. I don't remember when was the last time I've left the cinema with a big grin and then talked and thought about what I just saw for quite some time. I've liked it so much I went to see it again and I'm certainly going to buy it on blu-ray. My love to this movie probably comes from the fact that I've read the graphic novel first and then was positively surprised that Snyder didn't butcher the movie as I was afraid he will ;) To sum it up: It's a good movie that makes you think a bit . If you expect an mindless, Wolverine-style action movie then look somewhere else. P.S. I liked the ending. It's much more convincing in post 9/11 era we're living in than the original one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkKJun 20, 2009
Although it isn't without it's flaws (being a little too faithful in terms of dialog and a very awkward sex scene) it's still a very entertaining film. Just make sure you read the graphic novel first. though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TJJul 15, 2009
Astonishing, visual and viseral feast, edge of the seat for entire movie, story is highly absorbing, even as a "virgin" to the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenjaminP.Jul 30, 2009
Snyder didn't copy the original source panel-by-panel as much as he amazingly adapted it for the medium of film. The result is a visually impressive and uncommonly complex superhero movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesKAug 15, 2009
The first 15 minutes were amazing, went downhill from there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KatieR.Aug 2, 2009
Very faithful adaptation. Having read the book (about six times), I did recall bits as I went along. Such a shame they didn't include Hollis Mason's death and the reason why Dr. M was drawing the hydrogen symbol on his forehead! Very faithful adaptation. Having read the book (about six times), I did recall bits as I went along. Such a shame they didn't include Hollis Mason's death and the reason why Dr. M was drawing the hydrogen symbol on his forehead! Very frustrating. On the other hand, I now like Laurie Juspeczyk (Akerman). She was better in the film. And oh my god, Rorscach! Perfect casting or what?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
brookpAug 4, 2009
What a surprise this movie was. A thinking mans movie for sure, great story and character progression. poetic in nature with the type of wise dialogue you would expect in a indie art-house film coupled with great action with that matrix cool What a surprise this movie was. A thinking mans movie for sure, great story and character progression. poetic in nature with the type of wise dialogue you would expect in a indie art-house film coupled with great action with that matrix cool factor. watchmen is a slick sexy romp of a tale that i cant wait to see again. Kudos to zak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbAug 7, 2009
Actually better than I thought it might be. I'm not a comic book afficionada by any means, but I like a well-told dramatic story on the big screen. This movie is almost worth seeing just for the opening credits sequence alone! Bob Actually better than I thought it might be. I'm not a comic book afficionada by any means, but I like a well-told dramatic story on the big screen. This movie is almost worth seeing just for the opening credits sequence alone! Bob Dylan's The Times They Are A-changing is used brilliantly against a backdrop of comic-historic vignettes. Truly a brilliant opening. But then, as other reviewers have noted, it doesn't (can't?) really live up to this amazing opening page. Still I found it to be occasionally brilliant in certain scenes, just lacking overall coherence. Jackie Earle Haley, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, and Malin Akerman are especially good in their roles. This one is worth renting, but I'm sure it disappointed many Watchmen fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Ikarus14Aug 7, 2009
About as good an adaption as we're going to get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FelixFAug 9, 2009
An excellent movie. I can't understand the low reviews. It's stylish, the way the story is layed out is compelling and intelligent. To me as a Sci-Fi lover this is breath of fresh air compared to the over laden cliche, good guy-bad An excellent movie. I can't understand the low reviews. It's stylish, the way the story is layed out is compelling and intelligent. To me as a Sci-Fi lover this is breath of fresh air compared to the over laden cliche, good guy-bad guy super heroes movies. This movie shows there is no good or bad and the way it does it, is briljant! It has been long time I had to pay attention to a story line when watching movie in this genre. Do yourself a favour watch it (twice) and don't mind the critics. We all knew what they had to say about Space Odyssee 2001. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeFOct 17, 2009
Every super hero movie should be like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TreyH.Oct 18, 2009
all i have to say is that why are you fan boys picking on watchmen you think it is easy to create a film this epic. I do have to say it was a littile bit long but who cares. I have read the comic book twice researched on it and even wrote all i have to say is that why are you fan boys picking on watchmen you think it is easy to create a film this epic. I do have to say it was a littile bit long but who cares. I have read the comic book twice researched on it and even wrote papers on why this is a good movie. all you people who think this is crap come on you have no patince there is nothing wrong with this film as a fan of the book i would say this is the cloest we are going to get anyway. why bad mouth a movie if al you are thinking about is how close it is to the comic when that is impossbile. and if you guys ever write some crap sayng it wasnt good you are just fat nerds trying to be picky. you dont have th attention span of a fat mouse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanSDec 7, 2009
Brilliant. I am astonished by the low scores. The source material, of course, is brilliant in its own right, but the movie manages to take the book from ink and skillyfully put it into motion. Rorschach moves in a peculiar, practiced motion Brilliant. I am astonished by the low scores. The source material, of course, is brilliant in its own right, but the movie manages to take the book from ink and skillyfully put it into motion. Rorschach moves in a peculiar, practiced motion that seems perfect for his disturbed persona. Adrian is swift and graceful. I would suggest that this movie is not for everyone, which perhaps explains the low scores. The movie and the graphic novel both have complicated plots that you really won't get all of the first time through, which may put off the typical comic book movie goer. On the other hand, the brutal violence and over-the-top everything may offend people who don't typically go for this kind of movie. Freaking amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobBMar 10, 2009
Big fan of the graphic novel and was amazed at how great a job the director did at staying true to the book. sooo many times in the movie i thought to myself how perfect it was. how exactly the same the scene was as in the book. rorschach i Big fan of the graphic novel and was amazed at how great a job the director did at staying true to the book. sooo many times in the movie i thought to myself how perfect it was. how exactly the same the scene was as in the book. rorschach i my new fav character. he was incredible. i really loved how all of the actors in the movie are pretty much no names. yes they have all done stuff before. but there isnt like a brad pit or any other big name in there. in my opinion that would have ruined the movie. I absolutely loved it. yes it was long but i only realized that when it was over and looked at my watch. I could have sat there longer. I cant wait for the blu ray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimberlyGMar 11, 2009
I thought the movie was pretty close to amazing. It met the expectations that I had from reading the graphic novel (with the exception of a few details that they left out). Rorschach and Silk Spectre II were dead on and all of their I thought the movie was pretty close to amazing. It met the expectations that I had from reading the graphic novel (with the exception of a few details that they left out). Rorschach and Silk Spectre II were dead on and all of their performances really reflected the deep psychological characteristics that each of the characters held. It is pretty long I guess, but regardless I would have stayed in the theatre two extra hours to see more of it. It's not the stereotypical "super-hero movie", so I would advise you not to take your children to go see it unless they can handle seeing gore, nudity, and sexuality. But if you are a fellow comic book nerd like myself and enjoyed "300," "V for Vendetta," and "The Matrix".... then grab your popcorn and Raisenettes and enjoy a mindblowing movie with awesome music and killer performances!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceCMar 10, 2009
An excellent superhero movie - and very faithful to the graphic novel. Be warned that it is full of gory violence, nudity, and sex. This is not Batman and Robin beat up the Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShivaSMar 11, 2009
I really loved the movie and though it was an excellent adaptation of the book. If I hadn't read the book multiple times, I am sure I would have been much more confused as they are trying to pack so much plot in. But pretty much I really loved the movie and though it was an excellent adaptation of the book. If I hadn't read the book multiple times, I am sure I would have been much more confused as they are trying to pack so much plot in. But pretty much everything was done with excellence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelBMar 10, 2009
What can I say? I'm a huge fan of the book and was a total skeptic going in, but this film was better than I could have imagined. I've seen it twice, and you should, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HiKMar 12, 2009
Surprisingly good. I never read the graphic novel. I saw the first trailer during The Dark Knight and thought wow, awesome trailer, I like that Smashing Pumpkins song and the way they made it work with the trailer, and the movie will never Surprisingly good. I never read the graphic novel. I saw the first trailer during The Dark Knight and thought wow, awesome trailer, I like that Smashing Pumpkins song and the way they made it work with the trailer, and the movie will never be this good. But my office was buying tickets to anyone interested and a couple friends of friends said it was good, so I decided to check it out. I'm not going to comment on the story, since I'm assuming it is based on the book. It was intriguing enough, besides one random heroic scene toward the end of the middle of the movie where I was like uh, that was pointless. As far as cinematography and such, there were too many popular songs in the film, but all but one worked (I forgot which one, somethin in the middle). The sex scene toward the end was also super cheesy and I wasn't sure if the director was trying to make it atrociously bad intentionally to show awkwardness or he just failed. Overall though, I liked the movie and would watch it again with a friend so I can talk about it with them instead of not wanting to spoil it haha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousMCMar 12, 2009
I think that the main thing in this film is the soundtruck. it's not coincidence that there is 3 dylan's songs.... and the film is actually answer the question "how many deaths will it take till he knows That too many people haveI think that the main thing in this film is the soundtruck. it's not coincidence that there is 3 dylan's songs.... and the film is actually answer the question "how many deaths will it take till he knows That too many people have died?" very strong experiance but the problem is, its still a super hero movie... where is the bad guy? and the super heros don't have a real power! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyMMar 12, 2009
One of the finest pieces of cinema it has ever been my privilege to witness. The graphic novel was brought to life on screen with a scintillating mix of style and substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesNMar 12, 2009
While not perfect by any means, it does its source material justice. For me it's more like a motion picture compendium to the novel; complementary instead of trying to completely overwrite and disregard the novel. It has more in common While not perfect by any means, it does its source material justice. For me it's more like a motion picture compendium to the novel; complementary instead of trying to completely overwrite and disregard the novel. It has more in common with Blue Velvet and Seven than it does superhero movies such as Superman and Spiderman. Chalk full of theory, political discourse, and the creepier parts of human existence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerCMar 12, 2009
Overall excellent movie, but don't go into this thinking you it is an action oriented superhero popcorn flick. There is not much action for nearly three quarters of this 3 hour film. The plot of this film is very heavy handed, and Overall excellent movie, but don't go into this thinking you it is an action oriented superhero popcorn flick. There is not much action for nearly three quarters of this 3 hour film. The plot of this film is very heavy handed, and thought provoking, but not for everyone. The writing of this movie is some of the best I've seen in recent years, and the acting for the most part compliments the acting excellently. I've never read the novel, but my friend who I saw it with says that they lifted most of the dialog directly from the book which was a great idea. No need to reinvent the subject matter that was portrayed so perfectly in the book. Overall, this is an excellent movie. I took away one point because the plot is a little dialog heavy and may bore certain people (but not me, I was refreshed actually to the usual superhero popcorn drivel) and there are a few cliche plot twists although they were slightly appropriate. My friend also explained to me the "Giand Squid Ending" (look it up), and to be honest I thought that would have been better but the ending was alright as is. Here's looking forward to the director's cut DVD with the proper ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanDMar 13, 2009
I believe The Watchmen will please fans of the comic and the average movie-goer as well. Anyone who hasen't read the comic, however, might be a little confused about the opening sequence, which shows all the events prior to the present I believe The Watchmen will please fans of the comic and the average movie-goer as well. Anyone who hasen't read the comic, however, might be a little confused about the opening sequence, which shows all the events prior to the present setting, which are all explained in the comic series. The only reason Snyder decided to do it that way was because the movie would have been way too long. The action is intense and satisfying, the dialogue is perfectly portrayed as in the comic, and the visuals are breathtaking. There is alot of slow-mo, however, but It's used in all the right places, and it adds a lot of visual eye-candy. The only thing I didn't like about the movie was the makeup department. What happened guys?? You made "Nixon" look horribly deformed and fake. In General, though, I think this is a must-see for comic fans and regular movie-goers alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasLMar 13, 2009
This movie is 98% true to the comic book, if you liked the comic, you will love this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisWMar 13, 2009
Pretty darned good. I approached this with some trepidation, having waited for it for around 20 years. Unlike with the recent Star Wars films, I wasn't disappointed at all. Not even a niggling feeling. Most of the casting was spot on Pretty darned good. I approached this with some trepidation, having waited for it for around 20 years. Unlike with the recent Star Wars films, I wasn't disappointed at all. Not even a niggling feeling. Most of the casting was spot on (Ozymandeus being the only slight mis-casting). The decision on what to include and what not to was close to perfect and overall the movie was very brave and uncompromising. Very, very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCMar 14, 2009
Poster of Watchmen said: By visioneer Zack Snyder. That's why this great movie ain't going to any respect! No one understands genius' before they die...except I do. This movie had great story, effects and acting. Really,Poster of Watchmen said: By visioneer Zack Snyder. That's why this great movie ain't going to any respect! No one understands genius' before they die...except I do. This movie had great story, effects and acting. Really, what's wrong with the movie? Maybe too much crap talk but that's it! The haters just can't stand watching superhero movie with only ONE superpowered person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamKMar 14, 2009
Very enjoyable movie. Interesting story line and characters with depth, for me it really grabbed my attention. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MRMar 14, 2009
Overall, an enjoyable enough adaption and probably as close as a movie is going to get to the source material. Some scenes work a lot better than others: Dr Manhattan's origin sequence is fantastic as are Rorshach's jail sequences. Overall, an enjoyable enough adaption and probably as close as a movie is going to get to the source material. Some scenes work a lot better than others: Dr Manhattan's origin sequence is fantastic as are Rorshach's jail sequences. I actually enjoyed the ending which deviates somewhat from the source material as personally I don't think the graphic novel's ending would have worked on screen. Other moments didn't work at all and drag the movie down quite a bit, specifically Snyder's over the top gore and poorly inserted fight scenes as well as the most awkwardly staged sex scene ever filmed. Both of these elements jar with the rest of the movie which has enough moments of greatness to make it worthwhile. The soundtrack has the same problem in that when it works, it works well, and when it doesn't, it fails spectacularly. I understand it was in keeping with elements of the graphic novel but I don't think it was a good choice (oh, and to the reviewer who commented on the 'weird' cover of Hallelujah... thats actually the original version..). The cast vary pretty wildly with a standout being Jackie Earle Hayley who turns in a great, great performance, while others barely register at all beyond looking like their characters. Some of the dialogue lifted directly from the graphic novel just doesn't work when read aloud so I wouldn't say the fault is with the script. Despite its disjointed nature, its a movie well worth seeing provided you're not expecting a typical superhero movie. Just don't expect it to be brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stooge4444VTMar 14, 2009
First off, I've never read this comic and probably will not. I find it interesting that many of the negative reviews seem to be inconsistent with each other; one review may say CGI sucks while the other says its awesome, or one says First off, I've never read this comic and probably will not. I find it interesting that many of the negative reviews seem to be inconsistent with each other; one review may say CGI sucks while the other says its awesome, or one says music sucks and the other says its awesome. Normally, when a movie really sucks, the people generally agree on the suckiness. That being said, I thought it was a great movie that wove an interesting tale of "super-heroes" and their backgrounds into an over-arching characterization of life, the universe, and everything. There are many things going on and it may be difficult for some to follow but I thought the sequences and timing of most of the scenes worked really well into weaving all the stories into one. I think that the alternate reality 1980s was depicted well with some iconic 80s imagery as easter-eggs. I think the majority of the music was very capturing and well suited for the emotion and texture that was being conveyed. I think the representation of "super-heroes" from the 1940s was done very well. I don't think that slo-mo was over used because I can only recall two scenes that used it (although there are probably more). Obviously, if one is looking for a something specific they will see it predominantly whereas if you look at the bigger picture, you will ostensibly get the bigger picture. This movie is violent....and it should be. The scenes with extreme violence carry a message meant to be attached to a character or group of characters; these messages include: helplessness, superiority, survival, humanity, justice, evil, reality, and confusion. This movie is not for everyone but it stands very well on its own. I think this movie is nowhere near similar to Sin City or 300. This is a different class that deserves a view from a wide range of audiences that are looking for a different view of our past, present, and future (in science fiction terms.). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanLMar 15, 2009
While some people had a problem with the ending straying from that of the graphic novel I like it more because it gives it makes it more personal and direct to the story. Other than that it perfectly represents the novel (or as much as is While some people had a problem with the ending straying from that of the graphic novel I like it more because it gives it makes it more personal and direct to the story. Other than that it perfectly represents the novel (or as much as is possible in 2:45), which was perfect itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigEMar 16, 2009
Apparently this is one of those movies that are either Loved or Hated...I Loved this movie - having just recently finished reading the graphic novel (which I had intended to for quite some time but was spurred into action upon the news of Apparently this is one of those movies that are either Loved or Hated...I Loved this movie - having just recently finished reading the graphic novel (which I had intended to for quite some time but was spurred into action upon the news of the movie) I was curious to see how it was adapted to the big screen. I was Entirely impressed. The casting was phenomenal, I thought each character looked/acted/embodied their inked counterparts to a T. Obviously the movie was not able to delve completely into the social commentary and more subtle undertones that the book did, but I felt that what was omitted was probably for the better, due to the fact that it would most likely make for boring movie watching (as it was some of the more difficult reading to get through as well) I was intrigued the whole way through the movie and each characters story was so well portrayed that for me, the 2.5 hrs flew by...The movie did NOT feel as long as it was. My sister in law (who has not read the book) also liked it tremendously, and she can be a very harsh critic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndréAMar 16, 2009
If you didn't like this movie, is because you didn't get it... read the graphic novel and than watch it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlainGMar 16, 2009
I'd give it more of a 7.5 but there aren't any decimals on here... It's definitely not a perfect film, a couple aspects/scenes are pretty bad. Despite the almost three-hour length, the ending still felt rushed, and in the I'd give it more of a 7.5 but there aren't any decimals on here... It's definitely not a perfect film, a couple aspects/scenes are pretty bad. Despite the almost three-hour length, the ending still felt rushed, and in the process, I feel that it lost some of the emotional impact that the book had. I had heard a lot about how bad Silk Spectre and Ozymandias were, so I went in with pretty low expectations for their characters. Their performances weren't as bad as I expected, but they definitely didn't have the emotional depth of the original characters. That being said, the film also has several brilliant moments and some great acting. The Comedian is great. I wish he were in it longer. He really is able to capture Blake's personality. Ditto for Rorschach and Dr. Manhattan, who are both perfect. The latter is a cgi character, but is given so much depth by Crudup's performance. My favourite part of the film is Manhattan's brilliant scene on Mars, when he is recounting his life. Had the entire film stayed on the same level as this scene, it would have been a masterpiece. Unfortunately, it doesn't. However, I'm willing to look past Watchmen's flaws and enjoy it's brilliant moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronFMar 16, 2009
Overall, I'm very conflicted on the movie. I loved parts of it and really thought others were overdone. The story-telling was beautiful, the effects were well choreographed, and the acting was great. I can say that the changes were Overall, I'm very conflicted on the movie. I loved parts of it and really thought others were overdone. The story-telling was beautiful, the effects were well choreographed, and the acting was great. I can say that the changes were great, and overall it really faithfully captured the comic book. On the other hand, their were many un-needed moments. The violence was made a bit too graphic for the material. Made with all the finesse of a good horror movie, the action is portrayed more graphic than it even needs to be to be realistic. While many movies such as Sin City were able to go into graphic detail and violence, it was handled tastefully. In Watchment, it was the pure opposite. It was over-emphasized as in a horror movie to make you cringe, which was just odd to the feeling of watching this interpretation of a great comic book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyMMar 16, 2009
As a casual fan of the graphic novel, I thought the movie was satisfying. The action scenes were beautifully executed and added a nice flare to what I expected to be a dead adaptation of the original masterpiece. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but As a casual fan of the graphic novel, I thought the movie was satisfying. The action scenes were beautifully executed and added a nice flare to what I expected to be a dead adaptation of the original masterpiece. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but my opinion alone cannot be trusted because of my familiarity with the story and Snyder's distinct style. Without knowing the plot, I can understand someone getting lost and without recognizing key scenes, I can also see how transitions could be abrupt. Overall, as a fan, but not fanatic, of the comic I give it a 9 because it remained incredibly faithful while adding cinematic zing that movies need but comics can do without. I was very excited for this movie, and was not disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChaseMMar 16, 2009
Brock R. you lost all respect you may have previous have by saying "that weird Hallelujah cover" that was the original you stupid twat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffWMar 18, 2009
The comic was a masterpiece. The film was incredible; done with due reverence, pride and effort. Extremely entertaining. I am afraid to say it, but it was better than batman, and it made spiderman look like the carebear's circus The comic was a masterpiece. The film was incredible; done with due reverence, pride and effort. Extremely entertaining. I am afraid to say it, but it was better than batman, and it made spiderman look like the carebear's circus adventure movie for religiously indoctrinated children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DecepticonPomMar 19, 2009
An absolute bold, unexpected modern classic in cinema. Yes, I AM serious. I expected to simply 'like' it, I didn't expect to be blown away by a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackSMar 19, 2009
Amazing film which completely catches the essence of Moore's brilliant graphic novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyS.Mar 21, 2009
Purely inspired filmmaking! It's like the panels of the graphic novel came to life onscreen. Unbelievable hearing Rorschach's gravelly voice, or seeing Dr. Manhtattan's backstory, and devolving into inhumanity. Visually Purely inspired filmmaking! It's like the panels of the graphic novel came to life onscreen. Unbelievable hearing Rorschach's gravelly voice, or seeing Dr. Manhtattan's backstory, and devolving into inhumanity. Visually sumptuous. Has to be seen many times to fully appreciate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VerminDeathstackMar 21, 2009
Not half as bad as I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeGMar 21, 2009
A modest fan of the book, I thought Snyder did as well of a job anyone can do in pulling this book off. It's devout to the theme, keeping that same original volatile morality, but with extras that are a perfect blend of Zack Synder and A modest fan of the book, I thought Snyder did as well of a job anyone can do in pulling this book off. It's devout to the theme, keeping that same original volatile morality, but with extras that are a perfect blend of Zack Synder and Watchmen. I really don't see how someone could hate it. Powerful for a superhero movie. Better than the fanboy-magnet Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnN.Mar 20, 2009
Was a film that tried to accomplish too much in such a short time. Yes, the movie was long. However, the amount of fictional events it covered required another level of comprehension from its audience. I can tell you the averagemovie goer Was a film that tried to accomplish too much in such a short time. Yes, the movie was long. However, the amount of fictional events it covered required another level of comprehension from its audience. I can tell you the averagemovie goer like me found it anything but braincandy. Minus the explicit scenes it is a complete opposite of Zack Snyder's work on "300". It forces a moral question unto the audience and leaves you thinking. I still believe that this movie was too lengthy though. It could have ended during several diffrent scenes. So if your in the mood for a film that requires a bit of audience participation this would be one you don't watn to miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeBMar 23, 2009
Great movie, not quite as good as the book but that is to be expected. Just about as good as The Dark Knight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndréSMar 23, 2009
If you didn't get it, watch it again... this IS one of the best and most complex super-hero story ever told!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SlipochMar 26, 2009
A great movie that only suffered from unsubtle music choices for soundtrack and not enough time to actually explain everything that is happening in the background for the main storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronGMar 27, 2009
I went to see Watchmen with one thing in mind, to see a faithful adaptation from comic to screenplay. And frankly, I was impressed by the amount they managed to get on screen. The editing was a bit strict, but the movie is already 2 and a I went to see Watchmen with one thing in mind, to see a faithful adaptation from comic to screenplay. And frankly, I was impressed by the amount they managed to get on screen. The editing was a bit strict, but the movie is already 2 and a half hours without half the content of the comic. Really, the thing you have to remember is that if you're looking for the new Dark Knight, you're looking at the wrong movie. So chances are you won't be impressed if you haven't read the comic. Bottom Line: Fans of the Comic rejoice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rhaydonMar 28, 2009
Whenever someone endeavors to make a film based on one of "Time magazine's top 100," they are obviously taking a great risk. The responsibility of the director/screenplay writer is to 'interpret' the book, knowing full-well Whenever someone endeavors to make a film based on one of "Time magazine's top 100," they are obviously taking a great risk. The responsibility of the director/screenplay writer is to 'interpret' the book, knowing full-well that they cannot duplicate the force of that work (Watchmen being an excellent example). If I had to judge this movie based on its faithfulness to the graphic novel, it would be a one. But my responsibility as someone watching an adaption of a wonderful book is to critique the 'interpretation' of Watchmen, which is a definite 9 (admirable cinematics, incredible type-casting, respectable pacing, discerning use of special effects, etc.). It was impossible for Snyder to choose between "book fidelity" and "doing-his-own-thing;" in the end, you can only have a satisfying interpretation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JosephMMar 30, 2009
Tom C: very good comment, but I dont agree with you. MAybe because i didnt read the comic. None the less i can identify with what you re saying. I cant say that the film was subtle or made with the intention to point out the theme's you Tom C: very good comment, but I dont agree with you. MAybe because i didnt read the comic. None the less i can identify with what you re saying. I cant say that the film was subtle or made with the intention to point out the theme's you say were in the comic and not in the movie. But I was moved by the film; beyond the ultravoilence and silly softporn scene (just a scene) the story was still there. Snyder probably wants a lot of people coming to his movies; but we live in a world where people cant get over the fact that they saw two people having sex on the cinema screen. He could make a watchmen movie with all the subtle character development and intellectual depth which youve loved to see more. But you were to be one of few to actually notice these things; the rest of the crowd would stop thinking at the point they see a glowing blue penis. So i think you cant blame Snyder; should have covered up that penis though; gave the movie some bad reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrentDMar 30, 2009
If your mature enough to sit through this movie, and afterward not mention a word about the "horrendous" blue penis; Then i respect you. Obviously, most folks tend to look past its complexity and into the realm of immaturity to escape a If your mature enough to sit through this movie, and afterward not mention a word about the "horrendous" blue penis; Then i respect you. Obviously, most folks tend to look past its complexity and into the realm of immaturity to escape a movie that puts their brain to the test. This movie doesn't compare to the greatness of the graphic novel, but i tell you that the complexity of Alan Moore's work is still present throughout the movie. So, maybe just maybe, if you didn't understand the movie the first go around; take your time and watch it again, and perhaps you will find a more concrete understanding the second go around. I confess that I did not fully understand the graphic novel after the first read, but my second read through, I started to see the story a bit more clearer; the same I believe goes for the movie, as well. The film has its flaws as well, but i do honestly believe some of them will be corrected in the Director's Cut. As,for the music choices even though All Along The Watchtower and Ride Of The Valkyries were a bit cliché. The rest seemed to fit successfully within the film. Agree or disagree, this film certainly accomplished the job of being faithful yet entertaining accomplishment for Zach Snyder and Co. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobR.Mar 6, 2009
A movie that is so accurate from the source material that it is recieved exactly the same. You get it or you don't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimC.Mar 6, 2009
The climax was too rushed Ozymandias comes across as more of a megalomaniac than he is depicted in the graphic novel. I cannot wait for the director's cut in June.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoF.Mar 6, 2009
Watchmen drags the superhero movie kicking and screaming out of adolescence in ways that Dark Knight and Iron Man only hinted at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyE.Mar 6, 2009
What were people smoking when they ranked this movie low. I mean this is one of the most entertaining movies I have seen in a long, long time. I know it is different than the graphic novel, but what an outstanding movie it is by itself. Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonG.Mar 6, 2009
ok at last ive seen it!great stuff but its going to be very hard going if you havent read the comic a few changes made but overall its an essential watch.and yes no squid but it would never of worked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Mar 6, 2009
I wouldn't recommend this to people unfamiliar with the Watchmen, but for those that are fans. it was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JL.Mar 6, 2009
Great movie. But be aware, its not for kids. It provides great special effects, the acting was exceptional, and on the high scale of action and violence. My only gripe was the ending which seem a little goody too shoes and didn't fit Great movie. But be aware, its not for kids. It provides great special effects, the acting was exceptional, and on the high scale of action and violence. My only gripe was the ending which seem a little goody too shoes and didn't fit with the rest of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FritodunceMar 6, 2009
Graphic yet entertaining at the same time. visuals and music were particularly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanMar 6, 2009
For those critics who rated the movie below a 70, did you sleep during the movie and have nightmares? Or did you just NOT READ THE COMIC? If you haven't read Watchmen, you won't enjoy this movie 25% as much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwightL.Mar 6, 2009
Top notch super-hero saga, well cast, great action, good dialogue, well-directed, provocative
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SubhasP.Mar 6, 2009
One of the best films I've seen in the cinema in the last 10 years. The action scenes are well shot and considering I knew nothing about the comics (graphic-novels... ahem) coming into this film (Most of the general populace in the UK One of the best films I've seen in the cinema in the last 10 years. The action scenes are well shot and considering I knew nothing about the comics (graphic-novels... ahem) coming into this film (Most of the general populace in the UK have never heard of Watchmen), it did a fantastic job of making me actually care about the characters and what was happening on screen. For the most part the acting is superb and although long keeps you watching for the full 2.5 hours. Much deeper and darker then the typical adaptations of graphic-novels but at the same time easy to understand and follow unless you're under 12 (in which case you shouldn't watch this film) or have the intellect of a plebian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmorixMar 6, 2009
I loved it. I read the graphic novel again recently and I do not think that they could have made a better adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TyH.Mar 6, 2009
Loved it. Textured and visually compelling, these characters are performed to perfection!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomE.Mar 6, 2009
An accurate depiction of the Graphic Novel minus the ending. I enjoyed the film but missed some of the side stories that were removed. Looking forward to the Directors Cut.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollyC.Mar 6, 2009
Really liked Snyder's adaptation and I agree with others in that I didn't think they'd be able to adapt this well at all so I'm surprised how much I liked it. However, I have no idea if someone who's never read the Really liked Snyder's adaptation and I agree with others in that I didn't think they'd be able to adapt this well at all so I'm surprised how much I liked it. However, I have no idea if someone who's never read the graphic novel will get half the layers in this thing. I think many of the above critics didn't read it, so maybe there is a big difference in how it came across. One of the most surprisingly good things was that the film wasn't dumb-downed or lightened up much from the source & instead they assumed the audience could keep up and take how dark the story really is(& graphic). I actually liked the changes made for the ending (what Adrian "creates")--better than the book---as the original seemed distracting. I wasn't surprised the Pirate comic-within-a-comic part was cut out though I did miss the climatic storylines coming together in the NYC scene (including the Pirate one)--which was very potent in the novel--but not really transferred. Dr Manhattan was handled very well in the film and I'm glad he wasn't totally CG--rather a mix of CG/motion cap and Billy Crudup. Sometimes he was a little too CG in parts, but mostly it was great. Also--just want to add, loved the soundtrack---really helped supplement some of the lost visual themes/feelings for the specific time period. Overall, definitely worth seeing in theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThatGuyMar 6, 2009
It was sweet. It was dark, gritty, and amazing. I think people who say this film isn't good are crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DSmithMar 6, 2009
Astounding. Only a few awkward moments. Those aside, it is wonderful to look at, beautifully scored, and, with Nite Own and Rorschach, extremely well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormH.Mar 6, 2009
At last a movie with something you haven't seen before. This was excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveM.Mar 6, 2009
Awesome just like the novel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Mar 6, 2009
Very good film. Coveys a very strong message and does so in an entertaining way. Very mature, but very tasteful in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianMar 6, 2009
Good movie, very long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredMar 6, 2009
Love it!, though i missed like 5 - 10 minutes of the movie because the stupid ppl playing it. Good enough story and action to keep me enjoying it while never reading a comic in my life, let alone watchmen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HankB.Mar 6, 2009
Extremely well done - the critics be damed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackS.Mar 6, 2009
Ok so i just got back from watching the watchmen 15 min ago and i have to say. Star wars new hope + V for Vendetta + Good years of Indiana Jones + The Dark night X7 = WATCHMEN I really loved the movie. It was ind of weird at first. I think Ok so i just got back from watching the watchmen 15 min ago and i have to say. Star wars new hope + V for Vendetta + Good years of Indiana Jones + The Dark night X7 = WATCHMEN I really loved the movie. It was ind of weird at first. I think the fight scene at the begining dragged on for a bit. And some of the music was WAY out of place. But overall i don't think i have ever seen a movie so close so intertwined with the source material. And you know what? Thats a good thing. This movie was over the top epic and awesome. Dark Knight is not my favorite movie anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Mar 6, 2009
Great movie for fans of the graphic novel, but I'd imagine newcomers would have a harder time getting into it. They left out a few parts that I think should have been included (but hey every Watchmen fan probably thinks this).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilG.Mar 7, 2009
Beautifully filmed, just the right amount of action and realistic dialogue. Better than the comic book. See it in IMAX
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Mar 7, 2009
I've never read the comic books but I really enjoyed this movie. It was a bit long, but I would've come out pissed off it had been chopped up or had stopped in some random place. Watchmen definitely deserves much much more than a 56.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RhettR.Mar 7, 2009
This movie is not going to be everything to everyone. If you enjoy comic book movies, particularly the high quality films lately, you will definitely enjoy this movie. Yes, there are some parts with poor acting, but hey! comic books can be This movie is not going to be everything to everyone. If you enjoy comic book movies, particularly the high quality films lately, you will definitely enjoy this movie. Yes, there are some parts with poor acting, but hey! comic books can be cheesy sometimes too! You have to take it all, including the eccentricities. that is what makes a comic book a comic book. If you pay attention, and you already know the storyline (or at least the background of the characters) you will appreciate all of the subtle details that reference the comic. It is apparent that the production crew put alot of heart into the movie simply for that fact. Aside from some awkward (and steamy, and IMO hilarious, and drawn out all at the same time) sex scenes the movie was a smash. Even the ending, considering since it IS a movie, wasn't too bad, although it felt a bit numb given the situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KatyDMar 7, 2009
A great adaptation, true to the original themes and tones. Great cast and visual style. An excellent movie going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanR.Mar 7, 2009
I was blown away! It was so much deeper and visceral than I ever expected. I can't wait to see it again. Bravo to the team who brought this graphic novel to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanliMar 7, 2009
Truthful enough to the book (with the notable exception of the squid), and a great piece on its own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillS.Mar 7, 2009
This is the 1st movie in a very very very long time I'd actually pay $10 again to see it a second time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillR.Mar 7, 2009
"Watchmen" was one of those projects that, quite frankly was way too vast to tackle in film.. No matter how much fans of the graphic novel will want it, it won't include the totality of the novel. With that said, they did an excellent "Watchmen" was one of those projects that, quite frankly was way too vast to tackle in film.. No matter how much fans of the graphic novel will want it, it won't include the totality of the novel. With that said, they did an excellent job cutting down to the baseline of what make the essence of 'Watchmen". It wasn't sincerely a movie for the stringent fan, but for an audience willing to give a movie with a comic book heritage a fair chance of proving the medium past the shallow, direct, action orientated that sticks as a stigma to the genre, and as a potential output for sincere philosophical waxing. While nowhere as deep as the novel, its one of those movies that you can sit through several times, and get something new out of it, giving it a great deal of replay value. If its going over your head, you probably should watch it again, and think onto the 'whys' of things happening, instead of presuming you should be force-fed info like the dumbed-down population Hollywood generally takes us for. In short, deep enough to be gratifying, while controlled enough to be intellectually condescending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.Mar 7, 2009
Excellent movie, similar to The Dark Knight in visual and intellectual stimulation. Tells you to keep an eye on the smart people, and Richard Nixon ;). All in all, a fantastic movie with breathtaking actors, and action. Would highly Excellent movie, similar to The Dark Knight in visual and intellectual stimulation. Tells you to keep an eye on the smart people, and Richard Nixon ;). All in all, a fantastic movie with breathtaking actors, and action. Would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a good superhero movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamC.Mar 7, 2009
Honestly, I was expecting this movie to blow pretty hard. After I read the comic, I didn't think it could be turned into a movie without significant changes. The movie, however, stays true to the comic, and I was thoroughly entertained Honestly, I was expecting this movie to blow pretty hard. After I read the comic, I didn't think it could be turned into a movie without significant changes. The movie, however, stays true to the comic, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. They managed to introduce almost all the characters without losing much depth and recreate many of the comic's best moments on screen. For what it is, watchmen is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful