User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1261 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    A fantastic film. The story, the setting, the characters, everything works perfectly to create this dark alternate reality. Zach Snyder has done it again, creating another beautiful world for another great film.
  2. KerryL.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not causing confusion about what is taking place.
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Watchmen is a halluzinogene, sharp and sterile adaption of the comics, which were regarded of being not filmable. But Zack Snyder's creation lives through the pain and insanity the fallen heroes are exposed to.
    It is probably the best film I have ever seen.
  4. WayneA
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Great adult oriented superhero flick. Purists to the graohic novel either say he was too faithful or not faithful enough. I loved the source material but kept that seperate in my mind while watching the movie and loved the movie. Bravo for giving us a R rated superhero flick.
  5. mitchellowen
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Definitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to the book. Voted 10 to balance out this ridiculous 56.
  6. MohamedA
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My friends who read the comic liked it and the ones who didn't just thought it was crap. I agree that you have to read the comic to enjoy the movie, but When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My friends who read the comic liked it and the ones who didn't just thought it was crap. I agree that you have to read the comic to enjoy the movie, but I still watched it over 20 times. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    IMO its the best film based off a comic book/graphic novel of all time. I had no idea what the Watchmen was about until I bought it on DVD and I watched it with my siblings and we were all blown away by how good it was. We all enjoyed it from start to finish and I am sure a lot of others would too.
  8. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I'm going to sum this up in two words: The best. By that, I mean this is the best superhero movie I have ever seen ( compared to the Spider man movies, which were very bad). Watchmen isn't just superhero movie, it is THE superhero movie.
  9. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent superhero story full of blood, guts, slaughter and sex, Watchmen is the superhero film for adults only. A great action film with a brilliant cast, great1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent superhero story full of blood, guts, slaughter and sex, Watchmen is the superhero film for adults only. A great action film with a brilliant cast, great director and epic cinematography. Only drawback to the film is the heavy use of 80's politics, which if you are not overly clear on can become too much to handle. Expand
  10. BrandonB.
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    Great movie i really loved the comic book and i think that they did a wonderful job making it into a movie. would i go see it again? yes it was like the dark knight all over again i liked it that much. it did have its problems but it was still a masterful movie
  11. KarlK.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    The best super hero movie ever made, and one of the best films ever made. Each character is distinct, all of their own unique perspective on the human condition, and all are terrible and terrific, just like us.
  12. MichaelR.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie! Best superhero movie so far to be made, in my opinion. The special effects were amazing!
  13. RaymondG.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Loved it. Ignore Mainstream critics, unless you consider yourself mainstream, aka average and uninteresting. Movie is for those that don't grovel at Madagascar and Benjamin Button.
  14. JoshD.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Saw the midnight release and thought it was awesome! Great directing, acting, writing, and soundtrack. If you have read the comic go see it and if your new to watchmen then I think you'll find this to be a great movie on it's own merit.
  15. JohnS.
    Mar 7, 2009
    9
    Snyder has done the impossible.
  16. DavidW.
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    An outstanding achievement. Zach Snyder may not be an original, but he understands what makes his source material great and brings it brilliantly to life on the big screen. The film is wonderfully cast, especially Jackie Earle Haley as Rorschach.
  17. PariahM.
    Apr 5, 2009
    9
    I never read the book, but I really enjoyed this movie. It was visually stunning and the characters were very well developed. It was nice to have superheroes who's motivations fall into a sort of a moral gray area.
  18. MatthewD.
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Pretty good, except for the fighting scenes, which were way below par.
  19. lxlxlxllxlxlxl
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I avoided watching this until tonight. I vaguely remembered some of the some of the New Yorker, Village Voice, and NYTimes bashing of the film, and since Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I avoided watching this until tonight. I vaguely remembered some of the some of the New Yorker, Village Voice, and NYTimes bashing of the film, and since I have a lot of respect for those critics (scott, hoberman, etc.) I avoided the movie. What a mistake. The movie is genuinely gorgeous at times, and the cynicism and projection that was at the heart of the original story are so well preserved. Only the dullest Axe Spray huffing idiot would think the movie is not worth seeing. Please watch and enjoy. Expand
  20. JamieL
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to read it. Had I read it, I would've been too busy nitpicking about what was changed or missing to actually enjoy the film (I also saw the first I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to read it. Had I read it, I would've been too busy nitpicking about what was changed or missing to actually enjoy the film (I also saw the first Harry Potter film before reading the books, and enjoyed the film a lot more as a result.) So in this case, ignorance is bliss. This was a long movie, but I didn't leave my seat, because every moment was exciting. I also found it was more entertaining and less plodding than "The Dark Knight," a film many are comparing it too. In some regards, "Knight" even feels blander in my memory, although I loved it. But perhaps that's why Dark Knight was so much less polarizing. It wasn't as risky. Expand
  21. TaylorC
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of my favorite superhero movies ever. The story apparently translates really well to a movie and I feel that I could understand all the plot elements that As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of my favorite superhero movies ever. The story apparently translates really well to a movie and I feel that I could understand all the plot elements that many like me that hadn't read the novel could not understand. If you have not read the book, I suggest that you at least read up a little about the characters to understand the deep stories behind them. The characters are what tmakes the movie shine. Most of the characters are well acted, most of all by Jackie Earle Haley as Rorshach. He was incredible and played one of the most impressive roles I've seen in years. The violence is quite over-the-top and is pretty awesome if you like that kind of stuff. This movie is definitely not for children; along with the obscene amounts of violence there is also a lot of nudity and some language as well. The script is well written and Zack Snyder does a great job of directing everything. Everything fits in well. The movie is pretty long at 2 hours and 43 minutes, but it is well worth the ticket price and I highly suggest. If you consider yourself a nerd or a fan of superhero movies at all, this is a must-see. Expand
  22. Matt
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities of Stanley Kubrick. It isn't a masterpiece, but it's absolutely in the same league of "The Dark Knight" as far as truly great, gritty I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities of Stanley Kubrick. It isn't a masterpiece, but it's absolutely in the same league of "The Dark Knight" as far as truly great, gritty popcorn entertainment. Expand
  23. Turner
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    Just watched this for the second time, and enjoyed it vastly more the 2nd time. It's so true to the spirit of the graphic novel, it's a totally immersive experience. I really liked it the first viewing, but really loved it the second. Can't wait for the blu-ray with all the additional scenes!
  24. CameronS
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    It was almost like the novel and i get that nowadays american public cannot sit or like a movie that makes you think that is what the american cinema once was in its hayday.
  25. richardg
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the comic. The movie itself is a historic and visual restoration of the comic. For that am greatly thankful. That's all i wanted and i got it. Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the comic. The movie itself is a historic and visual restoration of the comic. For that am greatly thankful. That's all i wanted and i got it. I'm glad it was done this way. I didn't want watchmen story to change. It was the best! Expand
  26. PierceF
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    I had never heard of watchmen until the trailer appeared on xbox live, I was glad i saw the film! It was very enjoyable if a little graphic and you did not need to know any background info to find the film enjoyable at all!
  27. BenM
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not having experienced the graphic novel, I'm stunned, and very impressed with what Zack Snyder's done. It made me run out and buy the graphic I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not having experienced the graphic novel, I'm stunned, and very impressed with what Zack Snyder's done. It made me run out and buy the graphic novel the next day, and that's truly a testament to its power. Expand
  28. KevinM.
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    Amazing! The closest adaptation to any graphic novel so far!
  29. Will
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    read "Watchmen" 7 days ago - that was great! just watched the film and i was blown away Great Film - Great Sound Track
  30. AlexB.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Action sequences were perfectly shot, excellent casting, great direction, the acting really made you feel the hopelessness and despair of their world. Loved the book, loved the movie, enough said.
  31. ThomasC.
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its dedication to the source. For under three hours I was transfixed by the beauty of the images and the violence of the story. A superb re-telling of a It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its dedication to the source. For under three hours I was transfixed by the beauty of the images and the violence of the story. A superb re-telling of a classic tale that unfortunately will not be appreciated. Its hypocritical that critics of the film have charged it with being to literal a translation when thier very reviews seem steeped in the lore of the graphic novel itself. Expand
  32. BretG.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, this is a must see. For people not familiar with the book, they may be less inclined to do so or care to understand the story. Overall, it's a Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, this is a must see. For people not familiar with the book, they may be less inclined to do so or care to understand the story. Overall, it's a beautiful story full of vengeance, carnage, and mystery that compels the viewer to want more. But don't bring your kids. Expand
  33. DaveR.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Near perfect adaptation of the source, superb casting, the ending has been changed slightly to good effect. didn't pull any punches - very enjoyable.
  34. NateR.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    It was extremely faithful to the book and was wonderfully well done. However, at times it was extremely cheesy at times (the sex scene)
  35. Bret
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Everything the book was, with a better ending. Superb movie!
  36. JamesB.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We brought along a friend who knew nothing about Watchmen except that it had a giant blue guy in it, and he loved it, too. Didn't understand it as I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We brought along a friend who knew nothing about Watchmen except that it had a giant blue guy in it, and he loved it, too. Didn't understand it as much, though, so he said he'd give it an 8. Expand
  37. DavidB.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then and I haven't been now. What Peter Jackson did for fantasy, Zack Snyder has done for the graphic novel. He is a genius and this masterpiece As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then and I haven't been now. What Peter Jackson did for fantasy, Zack Snyder has done for the graphic novel. He is a genius and this masterpiece shows it. It's gritty and epic, not missing out on the depth behind everything. But don't just take my word for it, sure Watchmen is not for everyone, it's a little more graphic than I expected, but it fit the setting. If you're up for a thrill ride, give Watchmen a shot. Expand
  38. JustinH.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    One of the most well paced, perfectly acted and socially relevant movies I have ever seen
  39. PeterS.
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    Amazing movie followed the novel closely was not disappointing at all.
  40. JosephD.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    This is easily the best movie I've ever seen.
  41. Stevie
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Don't know how this scored so low. It is incredible.
  42. GrantL.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This movie is a visual masterpiece. All the characters are classic, and he story could not be any better.
  43. JackC.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This movie was great. I could see how people wouldn't like it, but personally I read and loved the comic and this was a very faithful and entertaining movie.
  44. AndrewB.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Great movie! I loved the novel, and I was very pleased with this interpretation of it!
  45. DaverS.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    I love the comic books. And I loved the movie. I mean, the comic book was epic and there was no way they were going to be able to fit all the information in the movie, unless the movie was about 6 or 7 hours long, perhaps longer. Yes the movie looked like the cinematography was lifted straight out of the comic books, but i don't understand why some others think this is such a bad thing.
  46. GeorgeL.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    I loved it. Perfect soundtrack, with Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen topping it perfectly. Stuck to the graphic novel only as much as it needed to. I loved the slow-motion scenes and the actor for the midget in jail. I expected Kramer to be running in any second. ("It's a riot, Mickey!")
  47. EricF.
    Mar 7, 2009
    9
    Excellent adaptation from the graphic novel. The reviewers who gave it poor reviews didn't read the graphic novel... sorry for giving you a film that requires a little bit of work. I guess you're not used to that these days. Hollywood has gotten lazy.
  48. PhilipMitchell
    Mar 7, 2009
    9
    I can understand why someone without patience would rate this movie poorly as it takes some time for the story to play out. It certainly doesn't deserve the lower ratings on Metacritic. If you are on the fence due to the mixed reviews I say ignore them and go see the movie. It probably won't be what you are expecting but in a good way.
  49. MelissaB.
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for you. If you want something different and like doing unexpected things at 3am, then this is your movie. If Hollywood and the Academy are being honest This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for you. If you want something different and like doing unexpected things at 3am, then this is your movie. If Hollywood and the Academy are being honest about treating "Superhero Movies" as legit drama, then please consider Jackie Earle Haley for a Best Supporting Actor nod. Full disclosure: I am a female and although in general I have enjoyed graphic novels and comics in the past, I never read the Watchmen. Expand
  50. DonnieH.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Great flick!, I am a SciFi fan and never read the book, but it was a great flick!
  51. JonathanC.
    Mar 8, 2009
    9
    Very enjoyable movie. Not as good as the graphic novel, but for the most part, I appreciated how faithful the adaptation was to the book (especially compared to what other producers had in mind before Snyder took over). Jackie Earle Haley turned this movie into an 8.5 (rounded up to 9) from a 6.5-7.5.
  52. IainF.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly does it justice. Ignore the negative reviews, go and see it and make up a decision for yourselves. This film is the new Dark Knight: A new frontier in My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly does it justice. Ignore the negative reviews, go and see it and make up a decision for yourselves. This film is the new Dark Knight: A new frontier in comic book movies. I was left on the edge of my seat for the entire duration of the movie. Expand
  53. JonK
    Mar 8, 2009
    9
    Visually stunning, and thoroughly thought provoking. While the theme of the movie might be a bit cliche, the execution and characterization is wonderful. An excellent movie if you have an open mind.
  54. NicholasK.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Although not quite as amazing as the original, this is by far the best graphic novel-to-film adaptation I have ever seen. The few changes that had to be made were intelligent and worked well. Overall this movie makes the great story that is Watchmen accessible to all.
  55. SteveJ.
    Mar 8, 2009
    9
    I thought that this movie was a triumph. It had perfect casting, the music was excellent, and it captured the hopelessness of the graphic novel. The things that were different were very different, but without the additional sub-plots and extras from the novel, they helped to loop all the characters together in the end. Very good film adaption.
  56. RickeyR.
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Watchmen follows the novel and turns it into a spectacular and awe-inspiring film.
  57. Yuri
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of movie theaters that the movie that I saw was not long enough or that more could have been done but I had none of these feelings for Watchmen. See this I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of movie theaters that the movie that I saw was not long enough or that more could have been done but I had none of these feelings for Watchmen. See this movie and then read the novel. Both will blow you away! I cant wait for dvd release I'm getting the highest/best edition there is! Expand
  58. VinceS.
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This movie was intended for the fanboys of the original graphic novel. It was the best adaptation I could have wished for from the original source material. This story is not the average super hero action film and is more of a psychological thriller that really needs intelligence to fully appreciate it's message.
  59. PatL
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Never read the novels (wanting to now though). An amazing, original movie for a change. Actually forces viewers to think, while providing amazing effects, and near-sickening brutality. A bit long, but never to a boring extent. Every ten minutes blood gushed, there was a smoking hot woman or something interesting was said. No complaints here...best comic book movie ever.
  60. BillR.
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and one of the most ugly, flawed of all, stays true to his principles, his care for the humanity and justice even to the point of his death. Forget the I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and one of the most ugly, flawed of all, stays true to his principles, his care for the humanity and justice even to the point of his death. Forget the time, just immerse yourself in the story, the world will still be there when you get out, only, you may view the world differently. Expand
  61. NathanH>
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    10 thumps up gore,accion,story,great combination of music, certanly the best super hero movie of all times
  62. RafaR.
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    An amazing adaptation.Jackie Earl haley owns the film in just a few minutes of screen time. Kudos to Z. Snyder and the whole crew. The production design was right out of the comic!
  63. TonyZ.
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    I really liked it, but then, I read the original years ago, and re-read it recently. It's so close to the comic that I can't really say how it stands on its own as a movie. I recommend, it, but it may be more enjoyable if you read it first.
  64. HudsonT
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make little argument to prove my point. To begin, I thought the fight scenes in the movie were very well done, and very exhilirating. I thought the story The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make little argument to prove my point. To begin, I thought the fight scenes in the movie were very well done, and very exhilirating. I thought the story was an absolute classic, the ending probably being my favorite part. Yes I did have a few qualms with the movie, such as Silk Spectre's acting job, but nothing too serious. I thought the special effects were beautiful. The music during specific scenes such as "The Times are A-Changing" and "Sound of Silence" were meticulously placed. Overall I thought this movie was very good, not only was it thoroughly entertaining, but it also delved deep into philosophical and political issues and portrayed a message that left with each viewer. I truly think this movie is the best so far this year, and it clearly merits a 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
  65. Sunila
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    I wish tim actually gave a reason why he thought the movie was bad. all in all, fabulous movie. and i am a late 20's art snob who loved the graphic novel and has loved comic books his whole life.
  66. buzznjackallastname
    Apr 4, 2009
    10
    Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and couldn't follow the complex story involving multiple protagonist. 2. They read the comic and expected every single detail to be included in a two hour 40 Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and couldn't follow the complex story involving multiple protagonist. 2. They read the comic and expected every single detail to be included in a two hour 40 minute movie, which of course would require the movie to have been over 6 hours judging by the motion comics. Expand
  67. EverettM.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, despair, loneliness and sense of self-worth more than almost any Oscar-caliber drama ever has. Much of the story deserves to be compared far more I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, despair, loneliness and sense of self-worth more than almost any Oscar-caliber drama ever has. Much of the story deserves to be compared far more with Death of a Salesman than with Batman. Wonderful!!! Expand
  68. wayney
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are so many references here to religion, politics, relationships, greed, hope etc. and I found it literally amazing. It brought me back to the dyas I I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are so many references here to religion, politics, relationships, greed, hope etc. and I found it literally amazing. It brought me back to the dyas I sneaked inot see Clockwork Orange and was never the same again. It is a superhero movie as a vehicle only to shatter our smugness and should not really be in the Spiderman and Batman argument (despite Heaths brilliant part coming close to the same mayhem in us all) but I think in Watchmen we have a much grander canvas and a more unsettling image. Beyond all the technical brilliance it has a real story to tell, and you wont feel the same way again. I bought the soundrack and each song now has new meaning. Expand
  69. JonathanS.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes take the path they take this is a good point but other movies don't explain very well the origins this movie is long but is a great movie i like Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes take the path they take this is a good point but other movies don't explain very well the origins this movie is long but is a great movie i like the longest movies because if a pid for a blue ray or i go to theater i want to enjoy and stay for a long time this is great and i hate people don't appreciate and analyze the movies!! Expand
  70. SeanF
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    An excellent film that I believe should certainly enter into the lists of best films of all time. Having no previous knowledge of the watchmen as I had never read the graphic novels I cannot compare the two media, however, I suspect that to do so would be a disservice to the film. Having spent years and years in development hell I can
  71. TL
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    I tried watching this movie about a month ago and literally fell asleep 30 minutes in. I guess it wasn't what I expected. Still, I knew it had 'something'. I revisited it last night... with an open and focused mind. It really is quite brilliant.
  72. kc
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    I rate this movie two blue dongs down. The fanboys' perfect ratings are seriously misleading to the average movie-goer. The movie was boring, cliched, and devoid of sympathetic characters. By the end, i was rooting for the nukes.
  73. Seans
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    I thought this movie was great very true to the book which is pretty hard to say for most books turned into movies.
  74. AstridI
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    I went in the theatre having never read the graphic novel and emerged impressed with Snyder's portrayal of Watchmen, vowing to get my hands on the book. The sound and graphics were fantastic, and Rorschach was portrayed brilliantly by Jackie Earle Haley. Haley was perfect casting and made the film - certain dull scenes could have been the downfall of the movie if it were not for him.
  75. JulianR
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    The first thing you have to learn about this movie is: if you never read the book it's not for you. I read the graphic novel and therefore understand the subtleties in the film. There was absolutley no way anyone could put the entire novel in and keep a reasonable time limit.
  76. SimonD
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    I'm a fan of the graphic novel (but I don't weep over how good it is like some) and I thought the film was great. Was true to the novel (obviously they had to omit quite a bit) but overall it was just a condensed version of the book. Rorschach is perfectly cast and Dr Manhattan has a fat schlong. What more could you ask for?
  77. JA
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as the original was, but Watchmen really does get close. Some things have been changed, but then again, some things really had to be changed in a movie When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as the original was, but Watchmen really does get close. Some things have been changed, but then again, some things really had to be changed in a movie version. In the end, it still is almost as worthy movie version the book could possibly get. About those reviews, I have no idea what kind of movies some of those "critics" usually watch and give good ratings, but they just might be in a wrong business. Expand
  78. KarlL
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    Why are the ratings for this movie all over the place? Fanboys of course. Most people enjoyed the movie but the smallest compromise sends fanboys into an uncontrollable fit of downvoting. Its a good movie.
  79. YonatanJ
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Perfectly captures the brilliant graphic novel.
  80. IsaacN
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Ok, I know some people might hate me but. I don't think the technology was right for this movie still. I still think It's almost an unfilmable movie. It was great amazing. It didn't catch me but it was good for what it was supposed to be.
  81. Matt
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    Well acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at times kept the same brooding nature. Some scenes were altered for continuity and to make the story line look like it happened in a a matter of days.Well acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at times kept the same brooding nature. Some scenes were altered for continuity and to make the story line look like it happened in a a matter of days.
    Changing the ending, though it may appear as heresy to the fans of the graphic novel, made the Watchmen acessable to a new audience while allowing for the Film to be shorter,
    The music adds to the moment and some of the montages are fantastic.
    The Film ignored many of the sub-plots and tiny relationships built up in Moore's work however if you look the relationships are there; they are just not as explicitly pointed out.
    All in all a very good translation only stopped from being truly fantastic by the insistence of fight sequences and gore that adds nothing to the plot and seem to be there just so those who wish to see violence do not get bored.
    Expand
  82. R.L
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    Over hyped? No. A beautiful piece of movie making? Most definitely, the Watchmen is one of the best Anti-hero series ever made. I've had the innate pleasure of reading the graphic novel and I've just seen the movie and let me tell you it was exceptional, the movie had almost captured the graphic novel and completely put it no film, I had never been thus impressed in my entire Over hyped? No. A beautiful piece of movie making? Most definitely, the Watchmen is one of the best Anti-hero series ever made. I've had the innate pleasure of reading the graphic novel and I've just seen the movie and let me tell you it was exceptional, the movie had almost captured the graphic novel and completely put it no film, I had never been thus impressed in my entire life by a comic book adaption. The Watchmen tells the story of a group of not so heroic heroes, and as the film states one of them is killed and now the rest have to find out why. The Watchmen is an amazing visual feat that no comic book adaption has ever come even close to before it has the same feel, the same style that the watchmen graphic novel did and I promise you, fans of the graphic novel will not be disappointed at all by this magnificent film, it's a treat for the eyes and the senses; and will keep you going all the way till the shocking end. Expand
  83. DallasP
    Mar 16, 2009
    9
    Don't believe they negative review. Movie was excellent and a nice translation of the comic books.
  84. ChrisM
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    I seriously don't understand the harsh critiscism radiating from the users and a select few critics. I thought the movie, although long, was brilliant. It was deep in moments, and had a great plot. What really annoys me is the whinning 13 year olds complaining about mr. manhattan's full frontal nudity. Just grow up, he's nude, get over it.
  85. JoshW
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I had never heard of Watchmen until recently so I decided to but the graphic novel before seeing the film. I know the hardcore fanboys are getting ridiculously distraught over what has been changed etc but in my opinion Zack Snyder has taken a good book that in places was boring and downright stupid (squid anyone?) and made it into a brilliant film that stays faithful to the novel whilst I had never heard of Watchmen until recently so I decided to but the graphic novel before seeing the film. I know the hardcore fanboys are getting ridiculously distraught over what has been changed etc but in my opinion Zack Snyder has taken a good book that in places was boring and downright stupid (squid anyone?) and made it into a brilliant film that stays faithful to the novel whilst also improving many scenes and especially improving the end (especially between Nite Owl and Ozzy). Well made, well acted (nixon looked idiotic though with THAT nose) and I cannot wait for the blu ray edition. Expand
  86. Kewlkat
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    Not since The Dark Knight have comic book movies felt so real. And now, not since the Watchmen has that premise been so built upon.
  87. AaronS
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Easily the best superhero film to date, but more importantly Snyder actually manages to pull off the impossible: a more plausible and foreshadowed ending that still manages to convey Moore's core thesis that vigilantism is a slippery slope, and one which, even given the best of intentions, even when successful, has a terrible moral and human price. The down side: Moore's story Easily the best superhero film to date, but more importantly Snyder actually manages to pull off the impossible: a more plausible and foreshadowed ending that still manages to convey Moore's core thesis that vigilantism is a slippery slope, and one which, even given the best of intentions, even when successful, has a terrible moral and human price. The down side: Moore's story is not one which all audiences will appreciate and Snyder's sensibilities with respect to violence enhance the already graphic nature of the story. Expand
  88. KeaganA
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    A truly great movie. In my opinion sets a standard in cinematography that 'hero' movies of the future will struggle to meet. Its great to see a movie that doesn't glamorize the 'superhero' scene and parodies all that came before it.
  89. KellyO'O.
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, just brilliant. Snyder did the impossible and made a credible film version of the greatest comic ever written. I hated 300, but this is way more intellectual, super hero movies cannot be the same after this, it's on another level.
  90. DerekH
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    This was a very faithful translation of the book. It shed only the unnecessary parts and kept the theme. The soundtrack and effects were well chosen.
  91. TimL
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    A fantastic adaptation to a novel considered unfilmable. This movie certainly won't appease the fanboys (but what actualy does?). The most drastic change in the plot between novel and movie was probably necessary to keep the movie under 3 hours long. The pacing of the various stories does well in keeping the overall movie moving. The use of The Times They Are A-Changin to tell the A fantastic adaptation to a novel considered unfilmable. This movie certainly won't appease the fanboys (but what actualy does?). The most drastic change in the plot between novel and movie was probably necessary to keep the movie under 3 hours long. The pacing of the various stories does well in keeping the overall movie moving. The use of The Times They Are A-Changin to tell the tale of the Minutemen is an ingenious way to give a background to the history of masked vigilanties. Having read the novel before seeing the movie, I have to say that people who expected every page to be present in the movie are dreaming. The screenplay holds onto Moore's ideas of a lost society and anyone who is angry Moore didn't take part in this adaptation have to realize he wouldn't have taken part in any retelling of his novel. The actors do an excellent job of portraying these beloved masked crusaders and I personally think every actor was perfect for their role. If this film was released later in the year we could easily be seeing James Earl Haley nominated for a Best Supporting Actor nomination. People have to go see this movie for what it is, an adaptation to what Time magazine called one of the 100 best novels of the past 80 years. Expand
  92. donm
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    I knew nothing of the book or tghe characters. I found the movie experience thrilling from the first moment. It aimed high and had serious themes under the story. A great movie going experience and arresting visuals - fresh and yet satisfying.
  93. AlecB
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    Watchmen is easily the best film of 2009. Far better then Taken or Friday the 13th. It has everything a good action film should have. You care about some of the characters, a good plot, and lots of action. Im tired of people fucking complaining about it was too gorey or there was too much sex in the movie. Who cares the movie is rated R for a reason. Its not a pussy PG-13 superhero movie Watchmen is easily the best film of 2009. Far better then Taken or Friday the 13th. It has everything a good action film should have. You care about some of the characters, a good plot, and lots of action. Im tired of people fucking complaining about it was too gorey or there was too much sex in the movie. Who cares the movie is rated R for a reason. Its not a pussy PG-13 superhero movie so for parents bringing there 4 year old kid to go see it, then complaning about the movie and how violent it is need to shut up and realize its their own fault for bringing the kid in the first place. Yes, the movie is extremely long but why are people complaning about it. If you could handle the dark Knight then you can handle this. ohh yea and to the kid who said the music sucks? its supposed to be set in like 1985 of course its going to have that kind of music. Sorry that the film didnt have your faggot 50 cent black music going on. Expand
  94. GiovanniC.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Zack Snyder's Watchmen is an amazing movie. Zack Snyder does a fantastic job delivering Alan Moore's novel onto the big screen. Zack sets that mood in the world that Alan sets in the novel the world is exactly like ours just with these costume characters in the middle. The acting is top notch especially with Dr. Manhattan from being a wimpy little scientist to never feeling fear Zack Snyder's Watchmen is an amazing movie. Zack Snyder does a fantastic job delivering Alan Moore's novel onto the big screen. Zack sets that mood in the world that Alan sets in the novel the world is exactly like ours just with these costume characters in the middle. The acting is top notch especially with Dr. Manhattan from being a wimpy little scientist to never feeling fear for the rest of his days. The soundtrack was simply epic! Every scene has a tune that sets the mood so perfectly, especially the opening credits with the Bob Dylan song. The action is brutal and non-stop never ceasing to keep the audience up in their seats. Watchmen is surely a movie you can't miss. Expand
  95. ChrisV.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Those looking for a story like Spiderman, or Iron Man will leave disappointed, however I don't think we've ever seen a deeper comic book based movie. Without reading the graphic novel prior, I really enjoyed the movie and found it very easy to jump right into an alternate 1985...
  96. JasonR.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Just WOW! Don't remember the last time, that a movie impressed me that much. Actually I have no idea why so many review sites don't like Watchmen at all. It has nearly everything a movie should have and what I like the most that it is so different. The style, the setting, the humour: I likes it all. I have never read a Watchmen comic, but I could follow the whole (awesome) plot, Just WOW! Don't remember the last time, that a movie impressed me that much. Actually I have no idea why so many review sites don't like Watchmen at all. It has nearly everything a movie should have and what I like the most that it is so different. The style, the setting, the humour: I likes it all. I have never read a Watchmen comic, but I could follow the whole (awesome) plot, even though it's sometimes not easy. And...I think I will buy some of those Watchmen comic books.... Expand
  97. JustinN.
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    The Watchmen is a very good movie and its not your typical comic book movie, which might disappoint some people. The graphic novel is still better then the movie, but you have to give it up to Zack Snyder for doing an exceptional job of making this movie on of the best comic book movies every made.
  98. MerryJ.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Very visual, dark, and great to see more than once. one of the best of the year despite a lot of no name critics giving it a low rating.
  99. TimN.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    I'm starting to think you have to be a fan of the book to love this movie. Otherwise, it's just too much to process in one viewing.
  100. MarkW.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    An astounding adaptation to the big screen. Pitch perfect, accessible, entertaining, thought provoking. I just hate to say this but... I liked it better than the graphic novel. People will make noise and cry about it's departures from the graphic novel but it's a movie. Hard choices needed to be made and the director et al made them well. Low points were the actress who played An astounding adaptation to the big screen. Pitch perfect, accessible, entertaining, thought provoking. I just hate to say this but... I liked it better than the graphic novel. People will make noise and cry about it's departures from the graphic novel but it's a movie. Hard choices needed to be made and the director et al made them well. Low points were the actress who played Jupiter (she looked 25 not 40) and Ozymandius. A couple of times the exposition was a little preachy. Overall, this movie is art for the masses. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Okay, it isn't the graphic novel, but Zack Snyder clearly gives a toss, creating a smart, stylish, decent adaptation, if low on accessibility for the non-convert.
  2. Snyder and writers David Hayter and Alex Tse never find a reason for those unfamiliar with the graphic novel to care about any of this nonsense. And it is nonsense.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    The movie is ultimately undone by its own reverence; there's simply no room for these characters and stories to breathe of their own accord, and even the most fastidiously replicated scenes can feel glib and truncated.