Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1822 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,488
Mixed:
144
Negative:
190
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleJul 2, 2016
Some people are allergic to peanuts. Some to pollen. Allergies are endemic in our society. Zack Snyder is allergic to making movies that are not complete s**t. Gratuitously violent and bombastic, Watchmen is an interesting little neo-noirSome people are allergic to peanuts. Some to pollen. Allergies are endemic in our society. Zack Snyder is allergic to making movies that are not complete s**t. Gratuitously violent and bombastic, Watchmen is an interesting little neo-noir film that gets bogged down by Snyder's lesser sensibilities. His desire to go completely over-the-top kills the film with pointless sexuality, excessive violence, and random diversions into the absurd that makes you wonder how much acid Snyder indulged in whilst making the film. I have never read the comic this is based on, but this one is really odd. Why do they keep going to Mars? Why? Why must he keep showing us this blue guy's penis? The existential questions of life, which we may never get. If the film were not as violent as it is (the arm cutting scene being the most visceral offender), it would still be bad. Watchmen is simply aggressively dumb. Snyder was criticized for Batman v Superman where critics claimed it looked as though it was put together by some kid smashing his toys together. Watchmen suffers from the same problem. Instead of purposeful and impactful events, Snyder has the sensibility of a 12 year old boy who includes scenes and effects because they look cool instead of actually having any cinematic value. If this is truly a faithful adaptation of the comics, Watchmen must be one hell of a painful read. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
913Feb 17, 2016
This film didnt grab me like the novel did, bad acting, great visual but no hart, felt empty and some times the dialogue felt flat, snyder is a great director but telling a story is not his thing
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
1
KnightfallLAMay 4, 2013
I did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comicsI did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comics at all, whatsoever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ViolettApr 15, 2013
This movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pantsThis movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pants every time I saw his huge blue penis my eyes were bleeding. I simply cant understand how you can rate this more than zero. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
oblique15Feb 2, 2013
This movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not aThis movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not a zombie who just follows what other people like. I usually like "Super Hero" movies, Not this one! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
LynnHardyApr 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watchmen is a different sort of film: a superhero with E.D: and a villain who wins with a "the ends justifies the means" message. Add to that the giant blue guy that runs around with his penis waging about for the last quarter of the film and this movie was made to push the envelope. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
CooterPatooterMar 22, 2012
Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way),Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way), leaden, flabby, incredibly overlong train wreck of a bullsh** movie. I've NEVER walked out of a theater before a film ended until Zack Snyder decided to make me look at Dr. Manhattan's penis for one agonizing moment after another for absolutely no reason. The four of us, exasperated, worn out... utterly soul-crushed by what we had already been subjected to leading up to this moment, finally gave up and left... LONG AFTER EVERY OTHER PERSON IN THE THEATER HAD ALREADY DONE SO! There's a line between just making a crappy movie and actually showing bald-faced contempt for your viewing audience. I'd say Snyder is definitely toeing that line, if not stepping over it here. All I know is that I'm still waiting for him to personally refund my $20. Jerk! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
EkkoeDec 7, 2011
The only people who can actually appreciate this movie are those who have never read the comic and simply like the idea. The idea is brilliant, but was introduced in the comic. The film tears its source material apart and decides to constructThe only people who can actually appreciate this movie are those who have never read the comic and simply like the idea. The idea is brilliant, but was introduced in the comic. The film tears its source material apart and decides to construct anew from nothing but the idea, failing miserably in the process. Everything, from the adapted script to horrible acting and poor casting, fails.

If you liked the idea, read the comic. This material is simply not meant to be defended by the argument "I simply enjoyed it". It is literature and a masterpiece, butchered by Hollywood and Zach Snyder's pretense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
razburnknjMay 4, 2011
Too much long. Too much violence. I like the mature and realistic approach, but in some moment it loses its goals. It has a great ending endeed but you`ll have to wait...
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 11, 2011
There must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose ofThere must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose of submitting this to a paying audience ? Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
1
OcelotDec 5, 2010
This movie was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but you don't have to take my word for it.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
0
TiberiuCJan 16, 2010
One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than this piece of sh*t. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
TheGeneralAug 26, 2009
This movie is like watching high quality, very expensive paint dry. How anyone could make it through the Director's cut is beyond me. I thought the original release was slow as molasses.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
3
AlSAug 21, 2009
I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even the dumbest movie looks great on the screen, most people would realize the shortage of anything good about it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
1
MistyMAug 1, 2009
This was indeed the worst movie I have ever seen. It made no sense - and has so many loose ends that after two weeks Im still trying to piece this movie together.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JohnRJul 29, 2009
Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and contain no significance to the movie just a shame book = better! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BillyCJul 27, 2009
If you're sober when you watch this you'll feel as though you're high... If you're high you'll have NO IDEA what's going on here... Terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ZacharyHJul 22, 2009
Horrible boring and not true to anything of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ashrafk.Jul 14, 2009
In 2000 John Travolta made a movie called "Battlefield Earth", was the "worst movie ever done in the history of movie industry", right after in cardinal order stands this piece of bodily excrement "watchmen". I honestly don't know whatIn 2000 John Travolta made a movie called "Battlefield Earth", was the "worst movie ever done in the history of movie industry", right after in cardinal order stands this piece of bodily excrement "watchmen". I honestly don't know what this is. I mean it's someone rented all sci-fi and noir movies over the past 30 years, watch them all over night, and decided blend them all in one movie, add to it a touch of 80s and 70s in an alternate reality, kinda of distorted "blade runner" with that "humphrey bogart" narration running in the back during the whole 2 !@#%in hours. I mean what is this? Scenes from Space Odyssey, Blade runner, noir movies including sincity, I mean what the hell were you thinking? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
franklJul 9, 2009
This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple interested in learning more. Again, it wreally starts to get boring after a while, you start to wonder where the movie is heading, or what did you actually learn after 2 hours watching the movie. Also, Dr. Manhattan is very well done, but most of his parts could have been summarized instead of long useless dialogues. Overall graphically this movie is splendid but it ends there. Way too long to get to the point, many dialogues that could have been shortened up, this can leave you wondering why u spent 3 hours watching it. Just my opinion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MekuraKJul 8, 2009
The only redeeming quality was Lucy Lawless' body, and even that was most certainly not worth the hours of torture one has to endure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndersNJul 4, 2009
I give this movie 1 for the philosophic speech dialogue but nothing more the rest was crap exept dr. Manhatten which was "well" done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoelSJun 17, 2009
Zack Snyder couldn't have missed the point further. 1 point for the believable Rorschach and Nite Owl characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobinRJun 7, 2009
This was the worst movie ever. But unfortunately, it was not so badd it was good. It was just bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinCMay 10, 2009
Long and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimVMay 8, 2009
I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it tries to present. I understand that the movie was supposed to be gritty and violent, but the fighting was used wantonly, and it barely drove the plot forward. There are too many wandering flashbacks, and I couldn't contain my laughter for a majority of the scenes. This movie is a failure as a devotion to the comics - as well as to dark and dramatic storytelling - but a stunning success as a campy comedic masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ThiagoPApr 21, 2009
Some of the fighting scenes are good, but, overall, this movie is way too violent and confusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasonCApr 12, 2009
1 point for Rorschach, another for Doctor Manhattan, the rest of the movie is downright awful. Disjointed story, childish dialogue, poor casting, wooden acting, less than spectacular special effects...an ordinary effort all round. I expected 1 point for Rorschach, another for Doctor Manhattan, the rest of the movie is downright awful. Disjointed story, childish dialogue, poor casting, wooden acting, less than spectacular special effects...an ordinary effort all round. I expected much more from the director of 300 than this tripe. Memorable for all the wrong reasons. Give it a miss, read the graphic novel instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful