Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1865 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,526
Mixed:
147
Negative:
192
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ChadS.Mar 7, 2009
Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped its reels and found a new home, in which Dr. Manhattan's nudism probably throws the other Watchmen into a homosexual panic. Quite pointedly, Adrian seems to know Dr. Manhattan(Billy Crudup) better than Laurie(Malin Akerman). While the girlfriend claims that the ultramarine entity is devoid of any compassion towards mankind, Adrian's alter-ego, Ozymanidas, notices the worry creases in the former Jon Osterman's face whenever he's vexed. The Alexander-wannabe watches men, closely. But Laurie should be one to talk, the daring rescue of some people trapped in a burning high-rise that she and Dan a.k.a. Night Owl(Patrick Wilson) attend to, seems more about correcting her new beau's impotence and gettin' their middle-aged ya-yas out, than being selfless and valiant in a derring-do mission in the night air of this alternative New York. It's mere foreplay: the superhero suits they run around in are nothing more than provocative get-ups to get them in the mood. There's something faintly "Seinfeld"-esque about Night Owl and Silk Spectre, and "Watchmen", in general. Like the characters in the Larry David-created sitcom, these superheroes are more interested in saving their own skins- Rorschach(James Earl Haley) warns the other Watchmen about an assassination plot- than saving the skins of others. How apropos that there's a Comedian(Jeffrey Dean Morgan) present. During the interim years of Allan Moore and David Gibbons' breakthrough graphic novel being stuck in developmental hell, Terry Zwigoff's adaptation of Daniel Clowes' "Ghost World" had already lured a portion of the literati into accepting the long-form comic book as a viable art form. "Watchmen" won't convert the holdover naysayers(who pooh-pooh the thought of the comic book as literature, although Allison Bechdel's "Fun Home" and Adrian Tomine's "Shortcomings" are changing more minds), which is a crying shame, since in most fanboy circles, this is the standard-bearer. While it falls short on vision, "Watchmen", more or less, holds your interest for over two hours-plus, and that's no small feat. But still, the bloated thing lacks true transcendence(for instance, the Saul Bellow army won't lay down their dog-eared copies of "The Adventures of Augie March" for this); it's just a comic book movie, albeit a reasonably smart one(not smarter than "Ironman"). And it bears repeating: pants, stat! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KerryL.Mar 7, 2009
This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not causing confusion about what is taking place. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
7
TimH.Mar 10, 2009
Interesting CGI; terrible prosthetics. That having been said, devotees of the comic will applaud the meticulous duplication in script and cinematography, smile at the costumes and casting choices, and cringe at the ending. Newcomers to the Interesting CGI; terrible prosthetics. That having been said, devotees of the comic will applaud the meticulous duplication in script and cinematography, smile at the costumes and casting choices, and cringe at the ending. Newcomers to the franchise will merely scratch their heads. Your girlfriend will probably fall asleep. Watchmen suffocates under the weight of its own fidelity, choosing safety over audacity in an attempt to lull basement-dwellers into shelling out cash for an overblown directors-cut Blu Ray of a film that should have stayed unmade. This adaptation suffers the fate of any facsimile of greatness: the failure to exceed its own predecessor, instead basking rigidly in its roomy shadow. This movie is brilliance decaffeinated. Read the comic and rent Dark Knight instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinFMar 10, 2009
Good movie. Had some really great parts in it but had some parts that seemed like they didn't belong as well. Didn't pull you into the story and make you feel what was going on. Really enjoyed the Dr. Manhattan backstory narrative Good movie. Had some really great parts in it but had some parts that seemed like they didn't belong as well. Didn't pull you into the story and make you feel what was going on. Really enjoyed the Dr. Manhattan backstory narrative though. I wouldn't put it anywhere near the far superior TDK though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonB.Mar 6, 2009
Great movie i really loved the comic book and i think that they did a wonderful job making it into a movie. would i go see it again? yes it was like the dark knight all over again i liked it that much. it did have its problems but it wasGreat movie i really loved the comic book and i think that they did a wonderful job making it into a movie. would i go see it again? yes it was like the dark knight all over again i liked it that much. it did have its problems but it was still a masterful movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlK.Mar 6, 2009
The best super hero movie ever made, and one of the best films ever made. Each character is distinct, all of their own unique perspective on the human condition, and all are terrible and terrific, just like us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Mar 6, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie! Best superhero movie so far to be made, in my opinion. The special effects were amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondG.Mar 6, 2009
Loved it. Ignore Mainstream critics, unless you consider yourself mainstream, aka average and uninteresting. Movie is for those that don't grovel at Madagascar and Benjamin Button.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshD.Mar 6, 2009
Saw the midnight release and thought it was awesome! Great directing, acting, writing, and soundtrack. If you have read the comic go see it and if your new to watchmen then I think you'll find this to be a great movie on it's own merit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Mar 7, 2009
Snyder has done the impossible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidW.Mar 9, 2009
An outstanding achievement. Zach Snyder may not be an original, but he understands what makes his source material great and brings it brilliantly to life on the big screen. The film is wonderfully cast, especially Jackie Earle Haley as Rorschach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PariahM.Apr 5, 2009
I never read the book, but I really enjoyed this movie. It was visually stunning and the characters were very well developed. It was nice to have superheroes who's motivations fall into a sort of a moral gray area.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewD.Aug 3, 2009
Pretty good, except for the fighting scenes, which were way below par.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lxlxlxllxlxlxlJan 30, 2010
Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I avoided watching this until tonight. I vaguely remembered some of the some of the New Yorker, Village Voice, and NYTimes bashing of the film, and since I have a lot of respect for those critics (scott, hoberman, etc.) I avoided the movie. What a mistake. The movie is genuinely gorgeous at times, and the cynicism and projection that was at the heart of the original story are so well preserved. Only the dullest Axe Spray huffing idiot would think the movie is not worth seeing. Please watch and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieLMar 10, 2009
I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to read it. Had I read it, I would've been too busy nitpicking about what was changed or missing to actually enjoy the film (I also saw the first Harry Potter film before reading the books, and enjoyed the film a lot more as a result.) So in this case, ignorance is bliss. This was a long movie, but I didn't leave my seat, because every moment was exciting. I also found it was more entertaining and less plodding than "The Dark Knight," a film many are comparing it too. In some regards, "Knight" even feels blander in my memory, although I loved it. But perhaps that's why Dark Knight was so much less polarizing. It wasn't as risky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorCMar 11, 2009
As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of my favorite superhero movies ever. The story apparently translates really well to a movie and I feel that I could understand all the plot elements that many like me that hadn't read the novel could not understand. If you have not read the book, I suggest that you at least read up a little about the characters to understand the deep stories behind them. The characters are what tmakes the movie shine. Most of the characters are well acted, most of all by Jackie Earle Haley as Rorshach. He was incredible and played one of the most impressive roles I've seen in years. The violence is quite over-the-top and is pretty awesome if you like that kind of stuff. This movie is definitely not for children; along with the obscene amounts of violence there is also a lot of nudity and some language as well. The script is well written and Zack Snyder does a great job of directing everything. Everything fits in well. The movie is pretty long at 2 hours and 43 minutes, but it is well worth the ticket price and I highly suggest. If you consider yourself a nerd or a fan of superhero movies at all, this is a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMar 10, 2009
I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities of Stanley Kubrick. It isn't a masterpiece, but it's absolutely in the same league of "The Dark Knight" as far as truly great, gritty popcorn entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TurnerMar 10, 2009
Just watched this for the second time, and enjoyed it vastly more the 2nd time. It's so true to the spirit of the graphic novel, it's a totally immersive experience. I really liked it the first viewing, but really loved it the Just watched this for the second time, and enjoyed it vastly more the 2nd time. It's so true to the spirit of the graphic novel, it's a totally immersive experience. I really liked it the first viewing, but really loved it the second. Can't wait for the blu-ray with all the additional scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronSMar 10, 2009
It was almost like the novel and i get that nowadays american public cannot sit or like a movie that makes you think that is what the american cinema once was in its hayday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
richardgMar 14, 2009
Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the comic. The movie itself is a historic and visual restoration of the comic. For that am greatly thankful. That's all i wanted and i got it. I'm glad it was done this way. I didn't want watchmen story to change. It was the best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PierceFMar 10, 2009
I had never heard of watchmen until the trailer appeared on xbox live, I was glad i saw the film! It was very enjoyable if a little graphic and you did not need to know any background info to find the film enjoyable at all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenMMar 15, 2009
I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not having experienced the graphic novel, I'm stunned, and very impressed with what Zack Snyder's done. It made me run out and buy the graphic novel the next day, and that's truly a testament to its power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gernickMar 19, 2009
The movie never feels overlong (quite an achievement at 2.44 hrs) and the acting is great. Seeing the movie after seeing it panned in so many reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I can absolutely recommend this film to anyone, comic geek or not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Mar 6, 2009
Amazing! The closest adaptation to any graphic novel so far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillMar 6, 2009
read "Watchmen" 7 days ago - that was great! just watched the film and i was blown away Great Film - Great Sound Track
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Mar 6, 2009
Action sequences were perfectly shot, excellent casting, great direction, the acting really made you feel the hopelessness and despair of their world. Loved the book, loved the movie, enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachV.Mar 6, 2009
It has its problems, but the Manhattan sequence scored by recycled Philip Glass pieces is cinematic perfection. Not as good, but it will last longer than The Dark Knight simply because of the material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasC.Mar 6, 2009
It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its dedication to the source. For under three hours I was transfixed by the beauty of the images and the violence of the story. A superb re-telling of a classic tale that unfortunately will not be appreciated. Its hypocritical that critics of the film have charged it with being to literal a translation when thier very reviews seem steeped in the lore of the graphic novel itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretG.Mar 6, 2009
Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, this is a must see. For people not familiar with the book, they may be less inclined to do so or care to understand the story. Overall, it's a beautiful story full of vengeance, carnage, and mystery that compels the viewer to want more. But don't bring your kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveR.Mar 6, 2009
Near perfect adaptation of the source, superb casting, the ending has been changed slightly to good effect. didn't pull any punches - very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateR.Mar 6, 2009
It was extremely faithful to the book and was wonderfully well done. However, at times it was extremely cheesy at times (the sex scene)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretMar 6, 2009
Everything the book was, with a better ending. Superb movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Mar 6, 2009
I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We brought along a friend who knew nothing about Watchmen except that it had a giant blue guy in it, and he loved it, too. Didn't understand it as much, though, so he said he'd give it an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 6, 2009
As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then and I haven't been now. What Peter Jackson did for fantasy, Zack Snyder has done for the graphic novel. He is a genius and this masterpiece shows it. It's gritty and epic, not missing out on the depth behind everything. But don't just take my word for it, sure Watchmen is not for everyone, it's a little more graphic than I expected, but it fit the setting. If you're up for a thrill ride, give Watchmen a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinH.Mar 6, 2009
One of the most well paced, perfectly acted and socially relevant movies I have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterS.Mar 6, 2009
Amazing movie followed the novel closely was not disappointing at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephD.Mar 6, 2009
This is easily the best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevieMar 7, 2009
Don't know how this scored so low. It is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantL.Mar 7, 2009
This movie is a visual masterpiece. All the characters are classic, and he story could not be any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Mar 7, 2009
This movie was great. I could see how people wouldn't like it, but personally I read and loved the comic and this was a very faithful and entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Mar 7, 2009
Great movie! I loved the novel, and I was very pleased with this interpretation of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaverS.Mar 7, 2009
I love the comic books. And I loved the movie. I mean, the comic book was epic and there was no way they were going to be able to fit all the information in the movie, unless the movie was about 6 or 7 hours long, perhaps longer. Yes the I love the comic books. And I loved the movie. I mean, the comic book was epic and there was no way they were going to be able to fit all the information in the movie, unless the movie was about 6 or 7 hours long, perhaps longer. Yes the movie looked like the cinematography was lifted straight out of the comic books, but i don't understand why some others think this is such a bad thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mitchellowenMar 7, 2009
Definitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to theDefinitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to the book. Voted 10 to balance out this ridiculous 56. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeL.Mar 7, 2009
I loved it. Perfect soundtrack, with Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen topping it perfectly. Stuck to the graphic novel only as much as it needed to. I loved the slow-motion scenes and the actor for the midget in jail. I expected Kramer to be I loved it. Perfect soundtrack, with Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen topping it perfectly. Stuck to the graphic novel only as much as it needed to. I loved the slow-motion scenes and the actor for the midget in jail. I expected Kramer to be running in any second. ("It's a riot, Mickey!") Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricF.Mar 7, 2009
Excellent adaptation from the graphic novel. The reviewers who gave it poor reviews didn't read the graphic novel... sorry for giving you a film that requires a little bit of work. I guess you're not used to that these days. Excellent adaptation from the graphic novel. The reviewers who gave it poor reviews didn't read the graphic novel... sorry for giving you a film that requires a little bit of work. I guess you're not used to that these days. Hollywood has gotten lazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilipMitchellMar 7, 2009
I can understand why someone without patience would rate this movie poorly as it takes some time for the story to play out. It certainly doesn't deserve the lower ratings on Metacritic. If you are on the fence due to the mixed reviews I I can understand why someone without patience would rate this movie poorly as it takes some time for the story to play out. It certainly doesn't deserve the lower ratings on Metacritic. If you are on the fence due to the mixed reviews I say ignore them and go see the movie. It probably won't be what you are expecting but in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaB.Mar 7, 2009
This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for you. If you want something different and like doing unexpected things at 3am, then this is your movie. If Hollywood and the Academy are being honest about treating "Superhero Movies" as legit drama, then please consider Jackie Earle Haley for a Best Supporting Actor nod. Full disclosure: I am a female and although in general I have enjoyed graphic novels and comics in the past, I never read the Watchmen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnieH.Mar 8, 2009
Great flick!, I am a SciFi fan and never read the book, but it was a great flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanC.Mar 8, 2009
Very enjoyable movie. Not as good as the graphic novel, but for the most part, I appreciated how faithful the adaptation was to the book (especially compared to what other producers had in mind before Snyder took over). Jackie Earle Haley Very enjoyable movie. Not as good as the graphic novel, but for the most part, I appreciated how faithful the adaptation was to the book (especially compared to what other producers had in mind before Snyder took over). Jackie Earle Haley turned this movie into an 8.5 (rounded up to 9) from a 6.5-7.5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IainF.Mar 8, 2009
My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly does it justice. Ignore the negative reviews, go and see it and make up a decision for yourselves. This film is the new Dark Knight: A new frontier in comic book movies. I was left on the edge of my seat for the entire duration of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonKMar 8, 2009
Visually stunning, and thoroughly thought provoking. While the theme of the movie might be a bit cliche, the execution and characterization is wonderful. An excellent movie if you have an open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NicholasF.Mar 8, 2009
Probably an excellent movie for those who have not read the graphic novel, though those who have will recognize that it's the bare-bones of the original story. It is altered in some key points and subtle but important scenes have been Probably an excellent movie for those who have not read the graphic novel, though those who have will recognize that it's the bare-bones of the original story. It is altered in some key points and subtle but important scenes have been thrown out. Characterizations in the film are in a decent way, with Rorschach and The Comedian being brilliantly cast, but others like the Silk Specter and lots of side characters acting come off as camp and bring the movie down a peg with insincere and often bored portrayals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeamieD.Mar 8, 2009
Overall good job my Snyder. Faithfull to the graphic novel and a good show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasK.Mar 8, 2009
Although not quite as amazing as the original, this is by far the best graphic novel-to-film adaptation I have ever seen. The few changes that had to be made were intelligent and worked well. Overall this movie makes the great story that is Although not quite as amazing as the original, this is by far the best graphic novel-to-film adaptation I have ever seen. The few changes that had to be made were intelligent and worked well. Overall this movie makes the great story that is Watchmen accessible to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JefframoneMar 8, 2009
No sure how anyone could give this a low rating and I think the "yellow" metacritic rating is bunk, since a huge chunk of critics rated it in the "green". This movie is thematically and visually unlike most squeaky clean superhero movies No sure how anyone could give this a low rating and I think the "yellow" metacritic rating is bunk, since a huge chunk of critics rated it in the "green". This movie is thematically and visually unlike most squeaky clean superhero movies (Dark Knight not withstanding). If big screen superhero action is not your think, don''t both. But I was enthralled from the opening/title sequence onward. Though I will admit it sorta conformed to some superhero cliches in the last act (hence the 8 rating instead of 10). A must see, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveJ.Mar 8, 2009
I thought that this movie was a triumph. It had perfect casting, the music was excellent, and it captured the hopelessness of the graphic novel. The things that were different were very different, but without the additional sub-plots and I thought that this movie was a triumph. It had perfect casting, the music was excellent, and it captured the hopelessness of the graphic novel. The things that were different were very different, but without the additional sub-plots and extras from the novel, they helped to loop all the characters together in the end. Very good film adaption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickeyR.Mar 9, 2009
Watchmen follows the novel and turns it into a spectacular and awe-inspiring film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YuriMar 9, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of movie theaters that the movie that I saw was not long enough or that more could have been done but I had none of these feelings for Watchmen. See this movie and then read the novel. Both will blow you away! I cant wait for dvd release I'm getting the highest/best edition there is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceS.Mar 9, 2009
This movie was intended for the fanboys of the original graphic novel. It was the best adaptation I could have wished for from the original source material. This story is not the average super hero action film and is more of a psychological This movie was intended for the fanboys of the original graphic novel. It was the best adaptation I could have wished for from the original source material. This story is not the average super hero action film and is more of a psychological thriller that really needs intelligence to fully appreciate it's message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatLMar 9, 2009
Never read the novels (wanting to now though). An amazing, original movie for a change. Actually forces viewers to think, while providing amazing effects, and near-sickening brutality. A bit long, but never to a boring extent. Every ten Never read the novels (wanting to now though). An amazing, original movie for a change. Actually forces viewers to think, while providing amazing effects, and near-sickening brutality. A bit long, but never to a boring extent. Every ten minutes blood gushed, there was a smoking hot woman or something interesting was said. No complaints here...best comic book movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillR.Mar 9, 2009
I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and one of the most ugly, flawed of all, stays true to his principles, his care for the humanity and justice even to the point of his death. Forget the time, just immerse yourself in the story, the world will still be there when you get out, only, you may view the world differently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanH>Mar 9, 2009
10 thumps up gore,accion,story,great combination of music, certanly the best super hero movie of all times
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RafaR.Mar 9, 2009
An amazing adaptation.Jackie Earl haley owns the film in just a few minutes of screen time. Kudos to Z. Snyder and the whole crew. The production design was right out of the comic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyZ.Mar 9, 2009
I really liked it, but then, I read the original years ago, and re-read it recently. It's so close to the comic that I can't really say how it stands on its own as a movie. I recommend, it, but it may be more enjoyable if you read I really liked it, but then, I read the original years ago, and re-read it recently. It's so close to the comic that I can't really say how it stands on its own as a movie. I recommend, it, but it may be more enjoyable if you read it first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HudsonTApr 2, 2009
The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make little argument to prove my point. To begin, I thought the fight scenes in the movie were very well done, and very exhilirating. I thought the story was an absolute classic, the ending probably being my favorite part. Yes I did have a few qualms with the movie, such as Silk Spectre's acting job, but nothing too serious. I thought the special effects were beautiful. The music during specific scenes such as "The Times are A-Changing" and "Sound of Silence" were meticulously placed. Overall I thought this movie was very good, not only was it thoroughly entertaining, but it also delved deep into philosophical and political issues and portrayed a message that left with each viewer. I truly think this movie is the best so far this year, and it clearly merits a 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertEApr 22, 2009
As not someone who had not heard of the watchmen, until this Film's release I went into the theatre with an open mind, not expecting anything too good. Boy I was satisfied with the visual feast on offering. I understand some parts are As not someone who had not heard of the watchmen, until this Film's release I went into the theatre with an open mind, not expecting anything too good. Boy I was satisfied with the visual feast on offering. I understand some parts are per the graphic novel almost on a short of shot basis, while other parts of the story are ignored. Personally I wouldn't have minded the extra length that this would have added to the films length. the 163 minutes flew by. Great Film. This will be a DVD must be on it's release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SunilaApr 2, 2009
I wish tim actually gave a reason why he thought the movie was bad. all in all, fabulous movie. and i am a late 20's art snob who loved the graphic novel and has loved comic books his whole life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
buzznjackallastnameApr 4, 2009
Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and couldn't follow the complex story involving multiple protagonist. 2. They read the comic and expected every single detail to be included in a two hour 40 minute movie, which of course would require the movie to have been over 6 hours judging by the motion comics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobBApr 5, 2009
Never read the graphic novel till after seeing this film. Info: I'm a huge film buff. Love independent and foriegn films due to philosophical content typically expressed. This film, though not perfect, was fascinating. If you pay Never read the graphic novel till after seeing this film. Info: I'm a huge film buff. Love independent and foriegn films due to philosophical content typically expressed. This film, though not perfect, was fascinating. If you pay attention to politics and the worldwide push for globalization and a NWO, this film is haunting. I went and read the graphic novel afterwards. It is, of course, better. Why make an exact copy in cinematic form? If you want an honest representation, read the novel. As a film, Watchmen was great. It was also fairly close to the novel and dead-on in many aspects. If you have the mental ability to fill in certain shoddy sections of the film, as one does when viewing/reading a comic, then it is pretty damn good. Use your brain, connect the dots, and see this. It is different, haunting, and different. Good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMJul 10, 2009
Knew nothing about the comic book, and i really enjoyed it not your average comic book film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EverettM.Jul 20, 2009
I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, despair, loneliness and sense of self-worth more than almost any Oscar-caliber drama ever has. Much of the story deserves to be compared far more with Death of a Salesman than with Batman. Wonderful!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
wayneyJul 23, 2009
I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are so many references here to religion, politics, relationships, greed, hope etc. and I found it literally amazing. It brought me back to the dyas I sneaked inot see Clockwork Orange and was never the same again. It is a superhero movie as a vehicle only to shatter our smugness and should not really be in the Spiderman and Batman argument (despite Heaths brilliant part coming close to the same mayhem in us all) but I think in Watchmen we have a much grander canvas and a more unsettling image. Beyond all the technical brilliance it has a real story to tell, and you wont feel the same way again. I bought the soundrack and each song now has new meaning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvinCAug 12, 2009
Cool but I think it could only be watched like twice and then every couple of years. Dean Morgan and Earle Haley are good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Aug 1, 2009
Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes take the path they take this is a good point but other movies don't explain very well the origins this movie is long but is a great movie i like the longest movies because if a pid for a blue ray or i go to theater i want to enjoy and stay for a long time this is great and i hate people don't appreciate and analyze the movies!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanFJan 10, 2010
An excellent film that I believe should certainly enter into the lists of best films of all time. Having no previous knowledge of the watchmen as I had never read the graphic novels I cannot compare the two media, however, I suspect that to An excellent film that I believe should certainly enter into the lists of best films of all time. Having no previous knowledge of the watchmen as I had never read the graphic novels I cannot compare the two media, however, I suspect that to do so would be a disservice to the film. Having spent years and years in development hell I can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TLOct 8, 2009
I tried watching this movie about a month ago and literally fell asleep 30 minutes in. I guess it wasn't what I expected. Still, I knew it had 'something'. I revisited it last night... with an open and focused mind. It really I tried watching this movie about a month ago and literally fell asleep 30 minutes in. I guess it wasn't what I expected. Still, I knew it had 'something'. I revisited it last night... with an open and focused mind. It really is quite brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHMar 11, 2009
I read Watchmen this past summer after seeing the preview of the film version before The Dark Knight. Needless to say I became an instant fan and have been anticipating this film for quite some time. I recently saw Watchmen and was very I read Watchmen this past summer after seeing the preview of the film version before The Dark Knight. Needless to say I became an instant fan and have been anticipating this film for quite some time. I recently saw Watchmen and was very pleased with how much attention was given to detail by Zach Snyder. A few element of the story were left out, but the main elements were flawlessly portrayed throughout the entire film. I can see how someone could get lost in the film if they had not read the novel. However, anyone who enjoyed the film, will very much enjoy the graphic novel. GO READ WATCHMEN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kcMar 10, 2009
I rate this movie two blue dongs down. The fanboys' perfect ratings are seriously misleading to the average movie-goer. The movie was boring, cliched, and devoid of sympathetic characters. By the end, i was rooting for the nukes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
gkMar 10, 2009
It wasn't bad. It wasn't amazing. It goes to show you that even if you recreated a masterpiece piece by piece it's not always going to be the same. The watchmen came out in the 80s and was unlike anything written before (that It wasn't bad. It wasn't amazing. It goes to show you that even if you recreated a masterpiece piece by piece it's not always going to be the same. The watchmen came out in the 80s and was unlike anything written before (that was over 20 years ago). Good attempt but it wasn't epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WesleyWMar 10, 2009
As a fan of the original source material I have to say I love the bits they included from the graphic novel, sadly they left some bits out too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeansMar 12, 2009
I thought this movie was great very true to the book which is pretty hard to say for most books turned into movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AstridIMar 10, 2009
I went in the theatre having never read the graphic novel and emerged impressed with Snyder's portrayal of Watchmen, vowing to get my hands on the book. The sound and graphics were fantastic, and Rorschach was portrayed brilliantly by I went in the theatre having never read the graphic novel and emerged impressed with Snyder's portrayal of Watchmen, vowing to get my hands on the book. The sound and graphics were fantastic, and Rorschach was portrayed brilliantly by Jackie Earle Haley. Haley was perfect casting and made the film - certain dull scenes could have been the downfall of the movie if it were not for him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianRMar 12, 2009
The first thing you have to learn about this movie is: if you never read the book it's not for you. I read the graphic novel and therefore understand the subtleties in the film. There was absolutley no way anyone could put the entire The first thing you have to learn about this movie is: if you never read the book it's not for you. I read the graphic novel and therefore understand the subtleties in the film. There was absolutley no way anyone could put the entire novel in and keep a reasonable time limit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonDMar 13, 2009
I'm a fan of the graphic novel (but I don't weep over how good it is like some) and I thought the film was great. Was true to the novel (obviously they had to omit quite a bit) but overall it was just a condensed version of the I'm a fan of the graphic novel (but I don't weep over how good it is like some) and I thought the film was great. Was true to the novel (obviously they had to omit quite a bit) but overall it was just a condensed version of the book. Rorschach is perfectly cast and Dr Manhattan has a fat schlong. What more could you ask for? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JAMar 10, 2009
When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as the original was, but Watchmen really does get close. Some things have been changed, but then again, some things really had to be changed in a movie version. In the end, it still is almost as worthy movie version the book could possibly get. About those reviews, I have no idea what kind of movies some of those "critics" usually watch and give good ratings, but they just might be in a wrong business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSMar 13, 2009
A bit long and was a let down from the epic movie trailer(s) that raised expectations to an unachievable level. That aside, the plot of the movie was fine [Dark and gritty in a Sin City-esque way].... nothing mind blowing and actually mostly A bit long and was a let down from the epic movie trailer(s) that raised expectations to an unachievable level. That aside, the plot of the movie was fine [Dark and gritty in a Sin City-esque way].... nothing mind blowing and actually mostly took a back seat to the individual characters themselves... but at least the story remained unpredictable to the end so that's good. Really for me the star of this movie isn't the plot, but rather two characters (even if at times they are overdone): Dr. Manhattan (his presence alone on camera commands God-like "oohs" and "ahhs") and the psycho that was Warshack, both of whom who could have warranted a movie of their own. The other masked "heroes" unfortunately were just bleh and really didn't carry the same character complexities to warrant much deep thought or attention. Definitely recommend at least one viewing... two on the other hand? That's debatable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarlLMar 13, 2009
Why are the ratings for this movie all over the place? Fanboys of course. Most people enjoyed the movie but the smallest compromise sends fanboys into an uncontrollable fit of downvoting. Its a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YonatanJMar 13, 2009
Perfectly captures the brilliant graphic novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacNMar 15, 2009
Ok, I know some people might hate me but. I don't think the technology was right for this movie still. I still think It's almost an unfilmable movie. It was great amazing. It didn't catch me but it was good for what it was Ok, I know some people might hate me but. I don't think the technology was right for this movie still. I still think It's almost an unfilmable movie. It was great amazing. It didn't catch me but it was good for what it was supposed to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMar 15, 2009
Well acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at timesWell acted and possibly the best comic adaptation of recent years. At times however it feels like Snyder overused action sequences and gore too much. The overall message from the graphic novel was there, middle aged vigilantism, and at times kept the same brooding nature. Some scenes were altered for continuity and to make the story line look like it happened in a a matter of days.
Changing the ending, though it may appear as heresy to the fans of the graphic novel, made the Watchmen acessable to a new audience while allowing for the Film to be shorter,
The music adds to the moment and some of the montages are fantastic.
The Film ignored many of the sub-plots and tiny relationships built up in Moore's work however if you look the relationships are there; they are just not as explicitly pointed out.
All in all a very good translation only stopped from being truly fantastic by the insistence of fight sequences and gore that adds nothing to the plot and seem to be there just so those who wish to see violence do not get bored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LMar 10, 2009
Over hyped? No. A beautiful piece of movie making? Most definitely, the Watchmen is one of the best Anti-hero series ever made. I've had the innate pleasure of reading the graphic novel and I've just seen the movie and let me tell Over hyped? No. A beautiful piece of movie making? Most definitely, the Watchmen is one of the best Anti-hero series ever made. I've had the innate pleasure of reading the graphic novel and I've just seen the movie and let me tell you it was exceptional, the movie had almost captured the graphic novel and completely put it no film, I had never been thus impressed in my entire life by a comic book adaption. The Watchmen tells the story of a group of not so heroic heroes, and as the film states one of them is killed and now the rest have to find out why. The Watchmen is an amazing visual feat that no comic book adaption has ever come even close to before it has the same feel, the same style that the watchmen graphic novel did and I promise you, fans of the graphic novel will not be disappointed at all by this magnificent film, it's a treat for the eyes and the senses; and will keep you going all the way till the shocking end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DallasPMar 16, 2009
Don't believe they negative review. Movie was excellent and a nice translation of the comic books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisMMar 10, 2009
I seriously don't understand the harsh critiscism radiating from the users and a select few critics. I thought the movie, although long, was brilliant. It was deep in moments, and had a great plot. What really annoys me is the whinning I seriously don't understand the harsh critiscism radiating from the users and a select few critics. I thought the movie, although long, was brilliant. It was deep in moments, and had a great plot. What really annoys me is the whinning 13 year olds complaining about mr. manhattan's full frontal nudity. Just grow up, he's nude, get over it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshWMar 16, 2009
I had never heard of Watchmen until recently so I decided to but the graphic novel before seeing the film. I know the hardcore fanboys are getting ridiculously distraught over what has been changed etc but in my opinion Zack Snyder has taken I had never heard of Watchmen until recently so I decided to but the graphic novel before seeing the film. I know the hardcore fanboys are getting ridiculously distraught over what has been changed etc but in my opinion Zack Snyder has taken a good book that in places was boring and downright stupid (squid anyone?) and made it into a brilliant film that stays faithful to the novel whilst also improving many scenes and especially improving the end (especially between Nite Owl and Ozzy). Well made, well acted (nixon looked idiotic though with THAT nose) and I cannot wait for the blu ray edition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KewlkatMar 10, 2009
Not since The Dark Knight have comic book movies felt so real. And now, not since the Watchmen has that premise been so built upon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronSMar 10, 2009
Easily the best superhero film to date, but more importantly Snyder actually manages to pull off the impossible: a more plausible and foreshadowed ending that still manages to convey Moore's core thesis that vigilantism is a slippery Easily the best superhero film to date, but more importantly Snyder actually manages to pull off the impossible: a more plausible and foreshadowed ending that still manages to convey Moore's core thesis that vigilantism is a slippery slope, and one which, even given the best of intentions, even when successful, has a terrible moral and human price. The down side: Moore's story is not one which all audiences will appreciate and Snyder's sensibilities with respect to violence enhance the already graphic nature of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeaganAMar 19, 2009
A truly great movie. In my opinion sets a standard in cinematography that 'hero' movies of the future will struggle to meet. Its great to see a movie that doesn't glamorize the 'superhero' scene and parodies all that A truly great movie. In my opinion sets a standard in cinematography that 'hero' movies of the future will struggle to meet. Its great to see a movie that doesn't glamorize the 'superhero' scene and parodies all that came before it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyO'O.Mar 20, 2009
Brilliant, just brilliant. Snyder did the impossible and made a credible film version of the greatest comic ever written. I hated 300, but this is way more intellectual, super hero movies cannot be the same after this, it's on another level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekHMar 23, 2009
This was a very faithful translation of the book. It shed only the unnecessary parts and kept the theme. The soundtrack and effects were well chosen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimLMar 23, 2009
A fantastic adaptation to a novel considered unfilmable. This movie certainly won't appease the fanboys (but what actualy does?). The most drastic change in the plot between novel and movie was probably necessary to keep the movie under A fantastic adaptation to a novel considered unfilmable. This movie certainly won't appease the fanboys (but what actualy does?). The most drastic change in the plot between novel and movie was probably necessary to keep the movie under 3 hours long. The pacing of the various stories does well in keeping the overall movie moving. The use of The Times They Are A-Changin to tell the tale of the Minutemen is an ingenious way to give a background to the history of masked vigilanties. Having read the novel before seeing the movie, I have to say that people who expected every page to be present in the movie are dreaming. The screenplay holds onto Moore's ideas of a lost society and anyone who is angry Moore didn't take part in this adaptation have to realize he wouldn't have taken part in any retelling of his novel. The actors do an excellent job of portraying these beloved masked crusaders and I personally think every actor was perfect for their role. If this film was released later in the year we could easily be seeing James Earl Haley nominated for a Best Supporting Actor nomination. People have to go see this movie for what it is, an adaptation to what Time magazine called one of the 100 best novels of the past 80 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful