Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    No one would mistake the Benzini Bros. Circus for the greatest show on earth – the Depression-era traveling troupe is a junker compared to the gold-standard Ringling Bros. – but still, a film has to try pretty hard to render lions and tigers and trapeze artists so uniformly underwhelming.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Apr 22, 2011
    38
    Less fun than any circus movie I've ever seen - and I've seen lots. Maybe they should send in the clowns.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Apr 21, 2011
    20
    Short-circuits the novel's quirky charms and period atmosphere by its squeamish attitude toward gritty circus life and smothers the drama under James Newton Howard's insufferable wall-to-wall musical soup.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 21, 2011
    20
    The proceedings get so slow and saccharine that viewers will relishes the film's moments of redeeming idiocy. In one of them, Marlena whispers to Jacob, "Bring Rosie to my tent and don't tell anyone" - as if the roustabouts wouldn't notice a 12-ft.-tall, 10,000-lb. creature striding down the midway.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 21, 2011
    20
    How do I count the ways this movie goes wrong?
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    WOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent inWOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent in this. Christoph plays the villain magnificently. Great film with excellent cinematography and costuming. All around a must see movie. Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely a beautiful movie with wonderful performances from all the cast. Anyone who says differently has their "I hate Rob Pattinson andAbsolutely a beautiful movie with wonderful performances from all the cast. Anyone who says differently has their "I hate Rob Pattinson and everything he does" glasses on (including some critics)!!!! But trust me, this movie is very worth seeing and very well done by all involved! Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Excellent movie! Breathtaking! Best performance ever by Rob Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon, and Christoph Waltz. Truly a movie everyoneExcellent movie! Breathtaking! Best performance ever by Rob Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon, and Christoph Waltz. Truly a movie everyone should see. Just wonderful! Full Review »