Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: April 22, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
57
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
wingsofabirdApr 22, 2011
WOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent in this. Christoph plays the villain magnificently. Great film with excellent cinematography andWOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent in this. Christoph plays the villain magnificently. Great film with excellent cinematography and costuming. All around a must see movie. Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
epictimesApr 22, 2011
Excellent movie! Breathtaking! Best performance ever by Rob Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon, and Christoph Waltz. Truly a movie everyone should see. Just wonderful!
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
coookiesApr 22, 2011
This is fantastic, old-fashioned, magical entertainment. A strong core cast and an amazing elephant transports you away. I was touched by the story. Christoph Walz managed to be scary, horrible, and strangely sympathetic at the same time.This is fantastic, old-fashioned, magical entertainment. A strong core cast and an amazing elephant transports you away. I was touched by the story. Christoph Walz managed to be scary, horrible, and strangely sympathetic at the same time. Reese Witherspoon looked like a 1930's movie star with spunk, and Robert Pattinson combined innocence, earnestness and longing that worked perfectly for the part. Super supporting cast as well. Definitely worth seeing. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
analeeApr 22, 2011
This was such an awesome movie! I seriously don't understand why critics gave it such a low rating. I am usually a very harsh critic when it comes to movies, but Water for Elephants was great. I was sitting on the edge of my seat throughoutThis was such an awesome movie! I seriously don't understand why critics gave it such a low rating. I am usually a very harsh critic when it comes to movies, but Water for Elephants was great. I was sitting on the edge of my seat throughout the whole film, and there was never a dull moment. The ending will not disappoint either! I loved the circus theme of the movie, and the acting was great, especially Reese. My only complaint would be Pattinson. I like him a lot, but it is true that he uses his looks to overshadow his poor acting. Overall, his acting didn't spoil to movie in any manner. I would suggest everyone see this movie! Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
Lala7Apr 23, 2011
What a great movie!!I don't know what the critics who gave bad reviews were watching but I was really engrossed in it; at one point I noticed my heart was even beating fast as it became so suspenseful. The acting really should be commended asWhat a great movie!!I don't know what the critics who gave bad reviews were watching but I was really engrossed in it; at one point I noticed my heart was even beating fast as it became so suspenseful. The acting really should be commended as Robert Pattinson and Christoph Waltz really stood out. As a fan of the book, Rob played Jacob exactly how described and the raw emotion spilled out of him exactly at the points they should have. Very pleased with his performance and no, I am not a twihard. Christoph of course was perfectly cast as the villian and did an excellent job as well. I like Reese Witherspoon but felt if there was a reason the chemistry was lacking it was because she was a little icy. However, in the book her character was never really fully developed either. Overall, what I'm trying to say is that it is definitely worth the price of admission. In fact, I am going to see it again! Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
livetourMay 1, 2011
Completely surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. It was very sweet in places but also had some depth. Pattinson surprised me the most. He is a very good actor with the potential to be great in a few years time.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
new2011May 1, 2011
This movie has an essence of charm about it that has been lacking in movies for a while. It is a wonderful adaptation of a wonderful book. Fabulous scenery, costumes and actors.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
timeisnowApr 22, 2011
Great movie! Must see! Robert Pattinson is the heart of the movie. Reese and Christoph wonderful. Chemistry between all three main characters is flawless. A movie for all ages and sexes. Just beautiful and entertainment at its best.Great movie! Must see! Robert Pattinson is the heart of the movie. Reese and Christoph wonderful. Chemistry between all three main characters is flawless. A movie for all ages and sexes. Just beautiful and entertainment at its best. And Tai -- just marvelous! Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
work75May 1, 2011
I'm going to sound like such a girl when I write this but after seeing water for elephants I felt so emotional. It was just so beautiful! I left the movie feeling very moved by the story and that hasnt happened in a very long time!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
FilmFanForeverApr 22, 2011
My husband watched the trailer and based on that was happy to take me to see WFE today and he liked it as much as I did. The script made improvements on the book, all the acting was above par, and the sets, locations and costumes couldn'tMy husband watched the trailer and based on that was happy to take me to see WFE today and he liked it as much as I did. The script made improvements on the book, all the acting was above par, and the sets, locations and costumes couldn't have been better. A very satisfying and moving film. Makes a great date movie, too. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
joeboggsMay 1, 2011
I can not believe what some critics have written about this wonderful film. Did they even see the same movie I did?? They probably had decided they were going to harshly review it before they even saw it. Completely unprofessional. This movieI can not believe what some critics have written about this wonderful film. Did they even see the same movie I did?? They probably had decided they were going to harshly review it before they even saw it. Completely unprofessional. This movie was great! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
goodmoviefanApr 25, 2011
Awesome! Good old fashioned movie with a slow-burn romance - not a in your face one. Rob Pattinson was superb - really showed his range and his ability in this one. His facial expressions said it all. A big step forward. Reese andAwesome! Good old fashioned movie with a slow-burn romance - not a in your face one. Rob Pattinson was superb - really showed his range and his ability in this one. His facial expressions said it all. A big step forward. Reese and Christoph were good as well. It was a beautifully made movie with excellent acting and directing all around. Would recommend this for both sexes. Male and female viewers alike will enjoy this. Only complaint is the romantic scenes should have played out just a little longer to make it just more appealing and convincing. Overall 5 out of 5 for this movie. Best we've scene in a few years. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jessejMay 1, 2011
Fantastic movie! The relationships the characters build with each other and the elephant are wonderfully portrayed. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JustmikeApr 22, 2011
My wife took me to this, so I was not sure if I would like it. Well, I have to say that I really enjoyed it. Definitely something that can be enjoyed by men as well as women. I have to say that the main characters, as well as all of theMy wife took me to this, so I was not sure if I would like it. Well, I have to say that I really enjoyed it. Definitely something that can be enjoyed by men as well as women. I have to say that the main characters, as well as all of the supporting case were great and the story was well told. It had just enough action as well as romance to hold the viewers attention. It was much more than I expected and a movie that I would recommend. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
skandarApr 22, 2011
No more Edward Cullen; from now long Rob Pattinson will be known as Jacob Jankowski. It's his best performance ever doing a great job along his co-star Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz. Even though it exists a lack of chemistry in theNo more Edward Cullen; from now long Rob Pattinson will be known as Jacob Jankowski. It's his best performance ever doing a great job along his co-star Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz. Even though it exists a lack of chemistry in the love story; the good performances and the great landscape save the movie making a great show for the viewers. We have the good guy, the gorgeous girl and the terrible villain; the perfect mix for great blockbuster. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
valfaApr 23, 2011
Water For Elephants is one of my all time favorite books and now it is one of my favorite movies. Rob was excellent - really proved himself in my opinion. Christoph was amazing too. My entire family enjoyed it. A must see movie! Very,Water For Elephants is one of my all time favorite books and now it is one of my favorite movies. Rob was excellent - really proved himself in my opinion. Christoph was amazing too. My entire family enjoyed it. A must see movie! Very, very good! A 10! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ztattsMay 1, 2011
I can not describe how great this movie is! It will please its target audience entirely and it may surprise a few others too. Go see it and you wont be sorry.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GladdyMay 7, 2011
A beautiful film that definitely has an emotional punch. Robert Pattinson did an absolutely fine job of portraying this character. He is a somewhat "lost" character struggling with a lot of pain and grief. He displayed this very well alongA beautiful film that definitely has an emotional punch. Robert Pattinson did an absolutely fine job of portraying this character. He is a somewhat "lost" character struggling with a lot of pain and grief. He displayed this very well along with the highly important connection with the elephant, who he is utterly charming with. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
pagepirateApr 25, 2011
I was hesitant to see this movie because of hearing it was a love story. This movie is excellent! It's the best movie I've seen this year...i loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RaysNBeaniesApr 24, 2011
Christoph Waltz absolutely made the movie. I was expecting this from the start, but I was also surprised to see that Robert has somewhat gotten better, even though he could have been a little bit more emotional. Not that he wasn't in all theChristoph Waltz absolutely made the movie. I was expecting this from the start, but I was also surprised to see that Robert has somewhat gotten better, even though he could have been a little bit more emotional. Not that he wasn't in all the movie, because there were some scenes in which I was thrilled with him. I don't think it deserves a 5.3, it was entertaining, it was beautiful, great actors, and come on, how come you couldn't love Tai, the Elephant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NinaBeeApr 24, 2011
Firstly, I am a librarian and I rarely like films based on movies. It took me a really long time to warm up to the Harry Potter films. "Water for Elephants" was clearly going to be a tough sell for me. However, I finally caved to the pleas ofFirstly, I am a librarian and I rarely like films based on movies. It took me a really long time to warm up to the Harry Potter films. "Water for Elephants" was clearly going to be a tough sell for me. However, I finally caved to the pleas of my Twihard teen and took her to see WFE expecting a huge disappointment. Boy was I wrong, it was a wonderful surprise and though it did take a few shortcuts it was certainly not a disappointment to this bibliophile, in fact I am running out to re-read the book again.
Cinematography was excellent all of the actors were superb even the tiniest parts seemed to pop off the screen. Even Rob Pattinson blew me away (So I guess the kid really can act!) My absolute favorite actors were Christoph Waltz as August, he was amazing in this part. And of course Tai (Rosie) the elephant she is the smartest animal on film I have ever seen...You gotta see this movie it is the best thing I have seen in 2011.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mact0nApr 23, 2011
Good movie, depicts the harshness of live during the 1930's Proof that simple movies without major unnatural computer inhancements are possible today.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
galaxyMay 1, 2011
Every actor on this movie delivered what was required of them brilliantly. It is a good old fashioned romance with a fair bit of drama thrown in. Very entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dvd1938May 7, 2011
This film proves that Robert Pattinson has a lot of potential to be a great actor. He has taken a big step in the right direction with this wonderful movie. Highly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone. Of course there are still thoseThis film proves that Robert Pattinson has a lot of potential to be a great actor. He has taken a big step in the right direction with this wonderful movie. Highly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone. Of course there are still those that resist Robs charms but more and more people are seeing his potential. Give him time. He could be great. Mark my words! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
buddy15May 1, 2011
Absolutely a beautiful movie with wonderful performances from all the cast. Anyone who says differently has their "I hate Rob Pattinson and everything he does" glasses on (including some critics)!!!! But trust me, this movie is very worthAbsolutely a beautiful movie with wonderful performances from all the cast. Anyone who says differently has their "I hate Rob Pattinson and everything he does" glasses on (including some critics)!!!! But trust me, this movie is very worth seeing and very well done by all involved! Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
4
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
While the source material was quality, this film doesn't quite pan out, as Robert Pattinson's performance is flat, while he and Reese Witherspoon have the collective romantic chemistry of a dirty dish towel. That said, Christoph Waltz'sWhile the source material was quality, this film doesn't quite pan out, as Robert Pattinson's performance is flat, while he and Reese Witherspoon have the collective romantic chemistry of a dirty dish towel. That said, Christoph Waltz's deliciously evil performance counter-balances quite a few missteps. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
CritiqueGirlMay 12, 2011
Here is something not new. The elephants were abused in training so they would know how to act abused. Charming.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
KikiApr 28, 2011
Water for Elephants
Average User Score: 7.9 User Score 10 Don't bother seeing this film, unless you enjoy formulaic plot lines, shallow, 2-D characters, hackneyed good vs. evil, and the ridiculous premise that a vulnerable woman has no
Water for Elephants
Average User Score: 7.9 User Score 10 Don't bother seeing this film, unless you enjoy formulaic plot lines, shallow, 2-D characters, hackneyed good vs. evil, and the ridiculous premise that a vulnerable woman has no agency and needs a man to rescue her from her own choices. How many times will this same plot be inflicted on viewers! The "crazy" ringmaster with his manic, bipolar persona was the only interesting character, and could have easily been deepened and explored. Furthermore, Pattinson's character's comment to Reese's character: "You're a beautiful woman. You should have a beautiful life," is only one tiny example of the tedious and superficial dialogue. This unenlightened bit also provokes this global question: Should those not so genetically blessed have an ugly life? What is the filmmaker trying to say? Hey, the elephant was likable, but the scene where the ringmaster beats her to a pulp was an incredible ask for a suspension of our disbelief. With her mass and her ability to defend herself, ringmaster guy should have emerged a bloody mess, not she. SKIP IT.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticApr 23, 2011
The acting is nice and the background looks neat. Water for Elephants has a nice feature along with great characters. Although, Robert Pattinson's acting was very good on a role and it's more interesting than watching those stupid TwilightThe acting is nice and the background looks neat. Water for Elephants has a nice feature along with great characters. Although, Robert Pattinson's acting was very good on a role and it's more interesting than watching those stupid Twilight films, but he did great job in a role and I think that Twilight shouldn't reveal in the first place. The movie is very good and it's not much excellent film like Titanic, but it brings a decency for the terrific actors including our best actor, Christoph Waltz. Enjoy this movie and it's cool. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
KristinMApr 22, 2011
Putting Robert Pattinson with Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz is an absolute embarassment, for Rob and for Reese/Christoph. Robert Pattinson cannot show proper emotion when he acts. He acts like a piece of driftwood that just staresPutting Robert Pattinson with Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz is an absolute embarassment, for Rob and for Reese/Christoph. Robert Pattinson cannot show proper emotion when he acts. He acts like a piece of driftwood that just stares at the screen and smolders. Yes, his fans are going to say he's amazing no matter what he does, so you really can't trust the "fan reviews". If you want to be bored to death, by all means, go watch this movie! Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews