Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 115 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
12
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Meth-dudeFeb 7, 2016
The acting was good and the movie was entertaining,the music was good and the cinematography was superb.It might be a little too overdramatic for it's own good and it may be too cliche for some but, overall, it was a good movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AndyJ.Jan 1, 2007
Even though some parts of the movie were a bit over the top, I thought this movie was fantastic in the way the characters were portrayed. I also think they showed the impact of the plane crash in a good way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jan 16, 2007
Although "We are Marshall" has its share of bombastic scenes, and you can't possibly get more bombastic than the scene in which the student body chants the film's namesake in unison; this plucky paean to the human spirit also Although "We are Marshall" has its share of bombastic scenes, and you can't possibly get more bombastic than the scene in which the student body chants the film's namesake in unison; this plucky paean to the human spirit also displays a surprising amount of restraint, too. A great example is the plane crash; it's over in an eyeblink, because the filmmaker knows "We are Marshall" isn't about the victims of that fateful flight, it's about those people who are left behind. Another nice touch is how the football player who doesn't want to rejoin the team, never does, which negates the cliche of an athlete's dramatic return to his team, replete with rhythmic clapping and name-chanting. This character nimbly represents those people who thinks that people should stop confusing sports with family, religion, or any other slice of Americana deemed important to the country's persistence of identity. The football games are anti-climactic because it's beside the point if Marshall wins or loses. "We are Marshall" is about all the blood, sweat, and tears that went into the football program's revival. The victory is in the first kickoff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveKNov 8, 2007
Treads the thin line between corny and touching on ice skates, but I mostly found this movie to be touching and surprisingly emotionally complex. Not everyone agrees with the decision to bring back football, and it brings a very interesting Treads the thin line between corny and touching on ice skates, but I mostly found this movie to be touching and surprisingly emotionally complex. Not everyone agrees with the decision to bring back football, and it brings a very interesting dynamic to a story where even the leads don't always have the answers or know what to say in the face of such unspeakable tragedy. Who would? It feels emotionally real. The speeches by Matthew McConaughey are a little cliche, but after a hundred of these sports movies, aren't they all? I couldn't help but roll my eyes when he mentioned the heart of the team and touched his heart. Despite the fact that every sports movie is kinda the same, this one treads very different emotional ground, one that is difficult to tread given the source material and does so successfully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraH.Dec 16, 2006
This was a very sincere and amazing movie. I was in tears, I was laughing, I was cheering. As a native of Huntington I have never been more proud! We are....Marshall!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithJNov 10, 2007
I gave it a 7 because it achieves its objectives. You should know going in what type of movie this is. Do not expect a great masterpiece of cinema. However, it's a good, mostly accurate retelling of a true tragedy. If you look at the I gave it a 7 because it achieves its objectives. You should know going in what type of movie this is. Do not expect a great masterpiece of cinema. However, it's a good, mostly accurate retelling of a true tragedy. If you look at the "trivia" section about the movie on Wikipedia, you'll see some historical fudges (e.g. Red Dawson was never booked on the flight), but here's one that's not listed: the former coach who died, Tolley, was younger than the new guy they hired from Wooster. He was 30 years old and had been there just two years. He had a losing record both of those years. The movie makes it seem like he was a long-time almost legendary coach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaneK.Dec 18, 2006
Nice to see a "real" story told without Hollywood hype interjected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngieR.Dec 18, 2006
Though some critics have found this film cheesy or too cliched, it is still an amazing movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkH.Dec 19, 2006
Superb telling of a true story. I got chills, was heart broken and inspired all within the 2 hour movie. Very much worth seeing, perhaps twice!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenS.Dec 20, 2006
This was a good movie that accomplished what it set out to acomplish: gave some background on an interesting true story and developed it in a way that wasn't overly cheesy. Sure, there was some cheesy goodness, but not too much. All in This was a good movie that accomplished what it set out to acomplish: gave some background on an interesting true story and developed it in a way that wasn't overly cheesy. Sure, there was some cheesy goodness, but not too much. All in all it was the kind of movie that keeps you entertained and makes you feel as if your money getting the tickets was well spent. Not every movie can, or should, be the cinematic version of the Great American Novel. This was an interesting and entertaining movie that had me smiling at the end. That's what I really look for in my entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieW.Dec 20, 2006
I think this was a wonderful movie to watch. Anytime a movie can cause extreme emotion either by causing laughter or tears, it was done well...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilF.Dec 22, 2006
The thing to remember is that this movie is a true story and the events depicted really happened. There is some "artistic license" taken, but it is minimal and does not effect the key facts. A lot of reviews complain about the cliches and The thing to remember is that this movie is a true story and the events depicted really happened. There is some "artistic license" taken, but it is minimal and does not effect the key facts. A lot of reviews complain about the cliches and the lack of focus on the plane crash itself, but the cliches are there because of the reality of the events. As for the crash, this movie is not about the crash, it is about the events that took place after the crash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Dec 22, 2006
I was an admission officer at Marshall during the rebuilding and resurrection process. Even though many of the characters were composites and some scenes were created or exaggerated, the movies did capture the emotions and character of the I was an admission officer at Marshall during the rebuilding and resurrection process. Even though many of the characters were composites and some scenes were created or exaggerated, the movies did capture the emotions and character of the University and Huntington at the time. I saw a sneak preview of the film in Davenport, Iowa. At the end of the credits the audience (only three of which had a direct connection with Marshall or Huntington) gave the film a standing ovation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeB.Dec 23, 2006
Excellent movie. I am a two time graduate from Marshall, I knew people who died in the crash, and I knew one of the coaches that helped rebuild the program quite well. There are a few Hollywood liberties taken in the screenplay, but the Excellent movie. I am a two time graduate from Marshall, I knew people who died in the crash, and I knew one of the coaches that helped rebuild the program quite well. There are a few Hollywood liberties taken in the screenplay, but the story stays pretty true. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BeckyK.Jan 21, 2007
The movie was enjoyable and moving. I am grateful they did not show the plane actually crashing. While the speeches by Matthew were well given by him, it was a little bit too Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StevinZ.Jan 6, 2007
The human spirit is alive and can not be broken. Even in the face of tragedy we can rise from dust and back to greatness. That is the thesis of the move and in the true life events that inspired it. I found it to be good entertainment and The human spirit is alive and can not be broken. Even in the face of tragedy we can rise from dust and back to greatness. That is the thesis of the move and in the true life events that inspired it. I found it to be good entertainment and uplifting. The characters were very good at bringing out the range of emotions that the story entails. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomB.Jan 10, 2008
I felt I was there. My brother lived with the players who died. When he woke up on Sunday morning, he was one of 3 persons in Hodges Hall. The movie was exhilarating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LawrenceE.Jan 8, 2008
This movie was full of heart and is a fitting tribute the victims and family of the worst sports tragedy in history. I've watched it every time it's played and I plan on buying it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaluraM.Dec 16, 2006
The movie accurately portrays real events in such a way that keeps you entertained. The story of rising from the ashes was inspirational. The movie made me cry and left. It makes you think about the importance of life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LesaF.Dec 18, 2006
I had the opportunity to see this movie at it's premiere in Huntington, WV and it was inspirational, moving and heart warming. I left that theater with a deeper appreciate of the history of my town, the university and the people of I had the opportunity to see this movie at it's premiere in Huntington, WV and it was inspirational, moving and heart warming. I left that theater with a deeper appreciate of the history of my town, the university and the people of Huntington who are linked to the tragedy. My ONLY disappointment is critics who don't appreciate the movie for what it is and prefer to over-analyze every aspect of a movie trying to show how cerebral they are. This is a great movie and I'm proud of the way McG, the Matthews and Warner brothers depicted this true story. Kudos to you all!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TSLewisDec 18, 2006
Is it the must see movie of 2006? No, but it's a really good story and I thought Matthew Fox and David Strathairn were really good in their roles respectively Don't let the football hating film critics stop you from going to see Is it the must see movie of 2006? No, but it's a really good story and I thought Matthew Fox and David Strathairn were really good in their roles respectively Don't let the football hating film critics stop you from going to see this flick :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobB.Dec 18, 2006
I played on the 71 team and thought they did a great job. They helped so many people close a part of their lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianF.Dec 18, 2006
I would imagine critics wont like this movie...too much heart...they never like movies with heart. If you like inspirational movies...this is a true gem. Matthew Fox was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottY.Dec 19, 2006
Awesome movie, great acting!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethDec 19, 2006
I have never cried so much during a movie. Absolutely touching from beginning to end. Thankfully, there were funny moments as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrettW.Dec 19, 2006
This movie was great from the beginning to the end. Great story and both Matthews did a great job playing the role of coached. You will cry and laugh through out the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouD.Dec 19, 2006
This is one of the best motivational football movies ever. If you are not a Marshall fan, you may start cheering for them after this movie. Overall, good movie with actual plot. Do not miss the out takes during the credits---You see some of This is one of the best motivational football movies ever. If you are not a Marshall fan, you may start cheering for them after this movie. Overall, good movie with actual plot. Do not miss the out takes during the credits---You see some of the real people who were actually in the movie. A nice touch to a truly tragic story. They are Marshall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadK.Dec 21, 2006
In my heart of hearts I don't think anyone can really appreciate this story unless they either lived through it or knew someone who had. It seems that the "critics" don't seem to understand this. Most of the critics not ranking In my heart of hearts I don't think anyone can really appreciate this story unless they either lived through it or knew someone who had. It seems that the "critics" don't seem to understand this. Most of the critics not ranking this movie very highly are the same ones that ranked World Trade Center high - it's because they lived through that time period. And unlike NYC a small town in WV that has this sort of devastation - it tends to last a bit longer as the percentage of people touched is so much greater. I saw this movie with about 200 others and there was not a dry eye in the theater - men/women alike cried because it is a moving movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 22, 2006
I was there. This movie does a great job of capturing our community's coming together to grieve, reflect, and respond to a horrible nightmare. Of course, I cannot be objective, but I think all opinions count. A great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LowellA.Dec 23, 2006
As a student from Marshall and playing as an extra in the movie, this was a very emotional story and was very powerful to show how his town and school rose from the ashes to glory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyH.Dec 24, 2006
Excellent Movie in script. McConaughey could have done a better job. Movie is kinda chopped up. Overall this is a wonderful, tear pulling movie. Marshall truley has rose from the Ashes to Glory. Especially with that 96 team. Marshall was Excellent Movie in script. McConaughey could have done a better job. Movie is kinda chopped up. Overall this is a wonderful, tear pulling movie. Marshall truley has rose from the Ashes to Glory. Especially with that 96 team. Marshall was also the most winninest team in the 90's in all College Football!! Go Herd!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkTDec 25, 2006
As someone who is a native, the movie was written, directed, and scripted as perfectly as possible by ANY outsider. Within the community, we could not have asked for a finer job by anyone involved. In reading the "professional" reviewers, it As someone who is a native, the movie was written, directed, and scripted as perfectly as possible by ANY outsider. Within the community, we could not have asked for a finer job by anyone involved. In reading the "professional" reviewers, it is strikingly obvious that the majority of those with a poor review have not done their research on the history of Marshall, the crash, or the 35 yrs after the trajedy. For those who have not seen it yet, please keep in mind the entire movie can be summed up in the first 5 words of the moviethat lost only about 5 seconds. "This is a true story". Although some of the characters are different, the lions share of the movie is very, very accurate. Thanks Universal and McG for your respect of a trajedy that still is a huge part of our history. Mark Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethFDec 26, 2006
Excellent movie. No one moved during the showing I saw until the credits finished. The audience clapped when it was over. The notion that winning is not everything is certainly supported by this heartfilled story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshkDec 26, 2006
Great movie very moving & exiting, Shows that winning isn't everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rebeccas.Dec 27, 2006
Such a terrible tragedy, I can't imagine the loss for the community. How many children lost both parents? How many students lost all their friends all at once? How many lost their children? I realize that this is not the only plane Such a terrible tragedy, I can't imagine the loss for the community. How many children lost both parents? How many students lost all their friends all at once? How many lost their children? I realize that this is not the only plane crash to have ever occurred, but for one small town to lose 75 community members is devistating. I have read several reviews in which I am not sure if the commentator understood that this was a true story, because it is beyond me how anyone could have a "who cares" attitude about the situation. My heart goes out to the entire community, and regardless if this was a money-making ploy for Hollywood (as all movies are), kudos for McG for doing it justice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnDDec 29, 2006
Great movie. It tells a great story. Very moving, a real tear jerker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FlipV.Dec 30, 2006
This film will inspire and move most people who attend. Not just in as a sports movie, but as a reminder to continue to live life to the fullest and never give up. Even when faced with tremendous adversity! I loved every minute!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimM.Jan 21, 2008
A really good movie; extremely moving on the devestation of Marshall football; the characters and acting were very good and the healing process is still going on today. I liked this movie a lot; if you have a heart then watch, We Are Marshall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EMJul 26, 2008
While this is a movie about the human spirit and overcoming profound loss. What it mostly does is demonstate the importance of creative leadership during devastingly and adverse situation. It shows this leadership during the storty in more While this is a movie about the human spirit and overcoming profound loss. What it mostly does is demonstate the importance of creative leadership during devastingly and adverse situation. It shows this leadership during the storty in more than one character. You see this in the team members that survived who led the cause to continue the football program. And also from the University President who tirelessly works to ensure the resources needed are found. And the motivational Coach who explains that in this instance winning isn't everything. In this instance, just keeping the program alive is what the team, University and town needs. Then there was leadership from afar found in Bobbie Bowden, UWV coach at the time who honors the team on the UWV helmets and later lets the Marshall's Coach view UWV tapes to help with the "veer" offensive formation. Yes, this is a movie about leadership. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaC.Dec 17, 2006
I grew up in Huntington and think the studio did a great job of portraying the emotion that we all felt at the time of the tragedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RionM.Dec 19, 2006
This is a Great Film not about football, But about People, their struggles and how they Cope. I've got to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottD.Dec 21, 2006
This is the real-life story that you cn't sensationalize. You definatedly leave with a lump in your throat. Being a Huntington, West Virginia native myself, the feeling in this movie is sincere and true to life. If you say that anyone This is the real-life story that you cn't sensationalize. You definatedly leave with a lump in your throat. Being a Huntington, West Virginia native myself, the feeling in this movie is sincere and true to life. If you say that anyone is trying to convince you of anything on this movie- then you don't understand the point. Just go feel a piece of history and see how you feel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahM.Dec 24, 2006
I loved this movie. It was very well thought out and did an amazing job of telling the story of our (MU's) rise from an immensely devastating event. We thank McG and everyone else for doing a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Dec 27, 2006
What can I say except that
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregBDec 29, 2006
This real-life story is so powerful that overwhelms the worst excesses of hollywood (bad casting and dialogue) and makes this a great movie to see. Go! No one moved during the entire film. It is powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnU.Dec 29, 2006
A tragic story well made. I thought their was too much fading in ths movie. Other than that it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregB.Dec 29, 2006
If I had to pick one thing to be critical about in this film, it seemed that McConaughey was trying too hard to get more out of most of his scenes. But, I admired the effort he put into the role, as well as his comments during interviews of If I had to pick one thing to be critical about in this film, it seemed that McConaughey was trying too hard to get more out of most of his scenes. But, I admired the effort he put into the role, as well as his comments during interviews of how the story touched him. I must admit I had a very difficult time watching, being an alumnus of Marshall. I was not as prepared as I thought to see this story. Overall though, they honored those who carried on, as well as those who parished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
One of my all-time favorite sport movies. It's such a tragic, touching story. I like the way this film balances plot and sport, with sports serving almost as a secondary element. Very touching film. Underrated/appreciated in so many ways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Based on a true story, but still very formulaic. The film could have benefited from being grittier and more realistic. It manages to capture the strong and tragic emotions, but when it tries to be inspirational, it pulls out a series of tackyBased on a true story, but still very formulaic. The film could have benefited from being grittier and more realistic. It manages to capture the strong and tragic emotions, but when it tries to be inspirational, it pulls out a series of tacky speeches and slow motion back slaps. The story has a great beginning, setting up a town shattering tragedy. The build up is ominous, but still leaves room for surprise. The cast is littered with fantastic actors, from an unaccredited Robert Patrick, Ian McShane, and David Strathairn. Each of them plays their roles very well, and I liked the view of different townsfolk. It would have been nice to see more of the town, as McShane and Strathairn are two of the highlights. It also emphasized the painful loss and the needed hope. It does manage to raise some goosebumps, and its raw power is enough to propel it into the end zone. Moving, inspirational, but less than subtle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews