We Are Marshall

We Are Marshall Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: For the team at Marshall University and the small West Virginia community around it, Marshall football is more than just a sport, it's a way of life. So, on a fateful night in 1970, when 75 members of the football team and coaching staff were killed in a plane crash, those left behindFor the team at Marshall University and the small West Virginia community around it, Marshall football is more than just a sport, it's a way of life. So, on a fateful night in 1970, when 75 members of the football team and coaching staff were killed in a plane crash, those left behind struggled to cope with the devastating loss. The grieving families found hope and strength in the leadership of Jack Lengyel (McConaughey), a young coach who was determined to rebuild Marshall's football program and, in the process, helped to heal a community. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Filmmakers have presented an unvarnished drama about Marshall University and the people who love it, and the results are inspirational.
  2. 75
    The actor's (McConaughey) lovable exuberance is exactly what this heartsick movie needs.
  3. 75
    Equally thrilling and wrenching, the film is an absolute must for anyone who loves sports and an eloquent explanation for those who don't understand what the fuss is about.
  4. 60
    McG's Marshall lies at the nexus of Thornton Wilder and Norman Rockwell -- it's David Lynch without the irony -- and if he overdoes things a touch, there’s nothing disingenuous about it.
  5. It's a powerful subject, but director McG and screenwriter Jamie Linden haul out every cliché in the playbook.
  6. 50
    Matthew McConaughey injects some much needed life as the oddball coach who sets out to rebuild the football squad, and David Strathairn, Ian McShane, and Robert Patrick do their best with sketchy characters and artless dialogue.
  7. May not be a very enjoyable movie, but at least the badness is in good taste.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. DebbieW.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    I think this was a wonderful movie to watch. Anytime a movie can cause extreme emotion either by causing laughter or tears, it was done well...
  2. LowellA.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    As a student from Marshall and playing as an extra in the movie, this was a very emotional story and was very powerful to show how his town As a student from Marshall and playing as an extra in the movie, this was a very emotional story and was very powerful to show how his town and school rose from the ashes to glory. Expand
  3. TomB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    I felt I was there. My brother lived with the players who died. When he woke up on Sunday morning, he was one of 3 persons in Hodges Hall. I felt I was there. My brother lived with the players who died. When he woke up on Sunday morning, he was one of 3 persons in Hodges Hall. The movie was exhilarating. Expand
  4. BenS.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    This was a good movie that accomplished what it set out to acomplish: gave some background on an interesting true story and developed it in a This was a good movie that accomplished what it set out to acomplish: gave some background on an interesting true story and developed it in a way that wasn't overly cheesy. Sure, there was some cheesy goodness, but not too much. All in all it was the kind of movie that keeps you entertained and makes you feel as if your money getting the tickets was well spent. Not every movie can, or should, be the cinematic version of the Great American Novel. This was an interesting and entertaining movie that had me smiling at the end. That's what I really look for in my entertainment. Expand
  5. LawrenceE.
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    This movie was full of heart and is a fitting tribute the victims and family of the worst sports tragedy in history. I've watched it This movie was full of heart and is a fitting tribute the victims and family of the worst sports tragedy in history. I've watched it every time it's played and I plan on buying it. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    One of my all-time favorite sport movies. It's such a tragic, touching story. I like the way this film balances plot and sport, with sportsOne of my all-time favorite sport movies. It's such a tragic, touching story. I like the way this film balances plot and sport, with sports serving almost as a secondary element. Very touching film. Underrated/appreciated in so many ways. Expand
  7. mikej.
    Dec 30, 2006
    0
    This movie has no soul!! How dare the pompus jerks of hollywood re-create the pain and drama for those lost in Hunnington, WV Marshall plane This movie has no soul!! How dare the pompus jerks of hollywood re-create the pain and drama for those lost in Hunnington, WV Marshall plane crash. After moments of grief, it is all smiles and recruiting tall goofy basketball and soccer players. First of all, the cheerleader, the father, and the 4th varstiy player might as well not be in the movie. They bring nothing but insinserity to the film. Im real sorry hunnington, but your cheerleader wearing the ring from her "true" love is inhibiting her from going to the party with the frat boys. Where is the darkness? At the end of the movie, the cinematic tricks have made you empathize with Marshall and make one believe it is a true feel good story. What about coach Lengyl spending only 3 years at Marshall, Red Dawson one. Coaching that football team, with the losing, was a disaster, and the coaches quit out as should have been expected. I wanted to see the pain of a coach who could never imagine how to empathize with a town ultimatly leading to his admitance of falure. I did not want to see Mathew Maconahay speak out of only the right side of his mouth!! Worst Sports Movie Ever!! Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.
  2. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.