Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Aug 29, 2013
    90
    The film is that rare modern horror movie that doesn’t simply fabricate its scares with the standard bag of postproduction tricks. Instead it builds them via a bracing command of traditional suspense tools... This is polished film craft.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Sep 9, 2014
    88
    Intelligently conceived, beautifully executed and filled with surprisingly convincing performances all around... We Are What We Are is that rare horror film that could play at both arthouse and grindhouse theaters without seemingly out of place at either one.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Sep 25, 2013
    86
    Among the stronger American horror films of the year.
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Sep 27, 2013
    85
    Mickle and co-writer Nick Damici gutted Grau's story to the bone. And they not only built something entirely new on that skeleton — they managed to equal and in many ways surpass the dark, bloody beauty of their source material.
  5. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Sep 25, 2013
    83
    It plays less like a contemporary horror film than an increasingly gruesome drama, building to a climax — completely original to this version — where the movie’s core themes are expressed through grotesque imagery.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 29, 2013
    83
    Make no mistake: Mickle wants to make you jump and scream, but death only arrives in this movie once its world comes to life, which makes each sudden turn all the more intense.
  7. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Aug 29, 2013
    83
    We Are What We Are is just a great yarn, well-acted, elegantly shot and put together cleverly so that even its more visceral delights feel well-earned.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror/thriller movies I've seen in the last couple of years. I love the Hawthornian Lovecrafting setting and mood. MichaelOne of the best horror/thriller movies I've seen in the last couple of years. I love the Hawthornian Lovecrafting setting and mood. Michael Parks (Jean Renault from "Twin Peaks") is one of my favorite actors, and he delivers an outstanding performance here as the local village ME/doctor. The script is terrific it pulls you in without throwing in the standard horror shocks and scares. And it absolutely saves its best for last, so stick it out! Full Review »