Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Aug 29, 2013
    90
    The film is that rare modern horror movie that doesn’t simply fabricate its scares with the standard bag of postproduction tricks. Instead it builds them via a bracing command of traditional suspense tools... This is polished film craft.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Sep 25, 2013
    86
    Among the stronger American horror films of the year.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Sep 27, 2013
    85
    Mickle and co-writer Nick Damici gutted Grau's story to the bone. And they not only built something entirely new on that skeleton — they managed to equal and in many ways surpass the dark, bloody beauty of their source material.
  4. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Sep 25, 2013
    83
    It plays less like a contemporary horror film than an increasingly gruesome drama, building to a climax — completely original to this version — where the movie’s core themes are expressed through grotesque imagery.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 29, 2013
    83
    Make no mistake: Mickle wants to make you jump and scream, but death only arrives in this movie once its world comes to life, which makes each sudden turn all the more intense.
  6. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Aug 29, 2013
    83
    We Are What We Are is just a great yarn, well-acted, elegantly shot and put together cleverly so that even its more visceral delights feel well-earned.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror/thriller movies I've seen in the last couple of years. I love the Hawthornian Lovecrafting setting and mood. Michael Parks (Jean Renault from "Twin Peaks") is one of my favorite actors, and he delivers an outstanding performance here as the local village ME/doctor. The script is terrific it pulls you in without throwing in the standard horror shocks and scares. And it absolutely saves its best for last, so stick it out! Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Consensus: Terrific performances and intriguing premise perfectly executed, We Are What We Are is nasty and stressful (in a good way). 91/100 [A-]

    Directed by Jim Mickle, We Are What We Are is an american horror film screened at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival and in the Directors' Fortnight section at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival. It is a remake of the 2010 Mexican film of the same name. This poster caught my attention and i decided to see it. The film tells two stories at once, one is the actual story of this family and how they deal with the death of their mother and the other story is the story of their ancestors and how they seek for food (or human bodies).

    It was epic, an instant classic, it's not a crappy indie film, it's a quality film, the performances are excellent: Bill Sage as Frank Parker, Ambyr Childers as Iris Parker and Julia Garner as Rose Parker. i think that the best performance in the film by far was Julia Garner, she was believable and just terrific. Bill Sage does a remarkable job here too and Iris Parker solidly holds the saddest scenes. Not much flaws and the film perfectly.

    Never dull, always keeps the suspense and the violence. The opening scene is well-crafted and tragic. The production design is impressive and it's a low budget film that doesn't looks cheap or trashy. It's a bit slow for some people, but for me was entertaining and very original. There is not much movies like this one, it's a remake, who cares?. I will watch the original film some day, i respect the original but i've watched the trailer of the original film and i conclude that both films are very different!.

    Julia Garner was perfect for her role, she performs in a very natural and innocent way, she is the star of the film for me. The camera direction is notable and impressive, the soundtrack helps to elevate the atmosphere and most of the scares are effective. One problem that i have with the film is one scare at the last 20 minutes, was very predictable and annoyed me a little bit. The last act is full of violence and stressful moments, you'll see. The ending is amazing, it was astonishing and unbelievable. It's worth it if you're a horror fan or if you like good and underrated indie films. [A-] Visit my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Full Review »